Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!

RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Can ping but cannot browse

shingo
post Nov 4 2009, 04:27 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1

Group: Junior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

I have a problem with my pc.
It was working fine yesterday but today it suddenly cant suft the net.
I try ping a website it work but with something funny.
It make a loud beep sound before start to ping and the normal IP address turn to [?] like the attachment.

I scan for virus with Kaspersky everything was fine.
So now i cant even update my antivirus nor surf the net.
Can help me please?
Thank you
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
WaCKy-Angel
post Nov 4 2009, 04:32 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2

PeACe~~

Group: Senior Member

tools -> internet option -> Connection -> Lan setting -> Make sure PROXY is not checked
+Quote Post
kiasu_kid
post Nov 4 2009, 04:38 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #3

Check and see if your kaspersky is blocking the connection.
+Quote Post
BrotherHoe
post Nov 4 2009, 04:39 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #4

set ur dns

streamyx

User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
breaker84
post Nov 4 2009, 04:41 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #5

tools -> internet option -> advanced -> click that "Restore Advanced Settings"
+Quote Post
shingo
post Nov 4 2009, 04:42 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #6

already check on kaspersky. i only use antivirus and nothing is blocking.
dns already set to 202.188.0.133
and confirm no proxy.
+Quote Post
gohkokho
post Nov 4 2009, 04:43 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #7

Try other browser. Firefox.
+Quote Post
jimmydotnet
post Nov 4 2009, 04:43 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #8

Jimbo da Riverian

streamyx prob...
+Quote Post
shingo
post Nov 4 2009, 04:53 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #9

erm..got safari and firefox install but nothing works.
My laptop can online wor...
and i already restore settings
still failed
+Quote Post
kons
post Nov 5 2009, 10:35 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #10

smallpox
Linux & Networking

Group: Moderator

sounds like winsock corrupted.

try google around on how to fix your winsock.
+Quote Post
IcyDarling
post Nov 6 2009, 05:53 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #11

me too, my internet is connected. When i press IE 7, it says
"Google(working offline)" as my title

when i click on lowyat, it pops up a screen
"connect / work offline "

i closed the box and a few more times came up, but im still able to surf the net, i even closed the box till here lol.. very annoying.
And it keep dc'ing now.

Thank you streamyx for the best service ever. You are about to give me the best school holiday of my life
+Quote Post
mindspring
post Nov 6 2009, 11:23 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #12

tumpang thread.

my modem connected @ 1mbps
but the problem is, im getting high latency to everything in internet
i already restart the modem several times.
i tried to ping google and tm.net.my, and im getting +800ms for both
i called tm already, but even they cannot solve this problem @_@

RAGE!!
+Quote Post
IcyDarling
post Nov 7 2009, 06:14 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #13

QUOTE(mindspring @ Nov 7 2009, 12:23 AM)
tumpang thread.

my modem connected @ 1mbps
but the problem is, im getting high latency to everything in internet
i already restart the modem several times.
i tried to ping google and tm.net.my, and im getting +800ms for both
i called tm already, but even they cannot solve this problem @_@

RAGE!!

you could be experiencing the same problem as me. Is your ping always that high? Or does it gets higher as time goes by. If so, try touch your modem, it should be very hot. Normally i switch off the modem to let it rest and then continue. Work for me but not the best solution though
+Quote Post
St.Paul
post Nov 8 2009, 06:44 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #14

RJ45 cable stable or not?
+Quote Post
guardioo
post Nov 9 2009, 05:08 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #15

Go to Files, untick the Work Offline?
+Quote Post

Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th November 2009 - 06:15 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)