Hardware MacBook & MacBook Pro battery & charger issue, Discussion on 3rd party battery as well

TSwei
post Nov 4 2009, 11:29 AM, updated 12y ago

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

The cases I received that caused by power adapter & battery are increasing at alarming rate, I would like to alert all Mac users in this forum about this matter. Do not fall for this cheap products, even if it's given warranty and so called OEM or Apple.

Very Important:
There are no such things as OEM product from Apple. It's either Apple or not. Not Apple means it's 3rd party or compatible model only. As Apple DO NOT resell bare parts to consumers in retail.

Here's a few cases I would shared with you:

Case#1:
OEM Battery for MacBook white
Owner original battery dead. So he went and bought a cheap OEM Battery. Upon using a few days. The MacBook refuse to detect and charge any battery at all even the owner has then bought a used original battery. Meaning the MacBook is currently only working with charger only. And the repair required replacing the whole logicboard, the on board charging component has gone faulty due to over current from the battery.

Case#2:
OEM 85W Charger for MacBook Pro
Owner bought this charger first few usage it's fine. After just a day or two usage on his MBP 2.4Ghz (Alu), the trackpad stop working when using the adapter. Also notice static/current shock all over the aluminium casing. Then he tried the same adapter on a MacBook white. No shock (cause of plastic body), but USB mouse won't work properly. He did not test further and already asked for refund.

Case#3:
OEM Battery for MacBook Pro
As usual original battery died after extensive usage in few years. Owner then bought OEM battery. Things works fine for few weeks. Then one day the his MacBook Pro refuse to boot up. After diagnose it was the battery causing over current and burned the logicboard. Repair cost him over RM2k.

There are a few more cases, but not handled by me so I will not put them here.

I'm not intend to harm anyone business here. But I would like to warn all Mac user to be smart and alert on these issue. Sure you save few hundred on buying these products, but in the end you might have to pay more when the damage is done on your unit.

Some explanation on why these product is cheaper/causing issues.

Chargers:
They look alot like the original. But upon inspecting carefully, you should notice the wordings on the adapter is not as sharp as the original. Also one type of the OEM charger have plastic grounding knob.
How does the adapter ground itself with a plastic knob?

You do know grounding is meant to protect you and your device from surge. So meaning there wont be any fuse jump should there be any overcurrent/ short circuit happen on the adapter.

Another thing to check after personally test some 3rd party/ OEM charger/ Replacement charger/ Or some so call First Class Replacement. First thing you will notice is, they felt marginally lighter than the Apple original adapter.

Why Apple charger cost so much?
#1 The design. Apple paid their engineer, designer, marketing ppl to invent and market the product. They even pay to patent the design. Then lastly package it nicely in a box for you.

For "OEM" they just copy. Maybe uses cheaper component (I can't testify). No packaging (just plastic wrap).

#2 Apple also give you the long cable and short adapter.

OEM give you 2 pin plug that need a converter. Some doesn't come with any connector.

#3 See all the icon and logo on the adapter? They meant the adapter are being tested to met such standard. And in Malaysia, SIRIM review the item and allowed it to be imported. All that cost $.

But for those OEM one, no one can testify. Those logo and terms are merely "copy".

Battery:
It's either the battery are being refilled/refurb, meaning the the exhausted battery cell are removed and replaced. It's unknown what type of cell they uses. But according to Apple they design the cell and manufactured by their appointed factory.

OEM type, these are the dangerous one. They look alike, but internally lack of the controller chip and microprocessor that help to maintain the battery health. So anything goes wrong Mac OS won't able to get the info from the battery. When things goes wrong it's already too late.

Why Apple battery cost so much?
More or less like the charger. But these battery include more technology than the charger. It has built-in chips that check the health of battery. Keep info as of model, date of manufacture, manufacturer, serial number, charge cycle, charge remaining, amperage and etc. It also support Apple battery update should Apple decide to release an update.

I do not know does those OEM batt have similar functions. Also original battery from Apple come with 12months warranty (thanks xaw5126 for clarifying).

-----------------------------------------------------

Update:
Info on static shock (electrostatic), minor electric shock, static/current noise over headphone/speaker/mic/recording on MacBook Pros/ Unibody MacBooks

If you having mild electric shock when using a power adapter on your Unibody MacBook, most likely you have grounding issue. Check if you are using the short 3-pin head. If yes, change it to the long cable that came with your mac.

Here's reason why using the short pin head cause shocks:

Many have reported using the long cable solve the issue. If you still have shocks after changing the plug, consult your technician.

If you have bought any 3rd party/ OEM charger or battery, do share your experience.

This post has been edited by wei: Jul 18 2011, 11:51 AM
dvlzplayground
post Nov 4 2009, 11:54 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

good post Wei

i have to agree with you. while i'm not against buying counterfeit product, anything regarding power (battery, charger) is something you don't want to skimp for. same goes to phone battery and chargers.
xaw5126
post Nov 4 2009, 01:54 PM

3,488 posts

yes, the Apple retail battery has a 1 year battery. Customer should keep the receipts for best results.

rx330
post Nov 4 2009, 02:32 PM

11,808 posts

limpe buy from online stores for all this hardware better....
nokia2003
post Nov 4 2009, 04:45 PM

5,786 posts

erm tell that to the folks over at the iPhone forum.

semua mau guna wall charger, car charger and even usb cable, cap ayam

when you tell them, such an occurrence may happen, they ask you to go...

picture extracted from kopitiam

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Nov 4 2009, 04:48 PM
TSwei
post Nov 4 2009, 04:49 PM

6,496 posts

Thats why I stay away from that section. Lucky the admin split that section out.
xaw5126
post Nov 4 2009, 04:51 PM

3,488 posts

well, that's fine.

both wei n I have met people like this. we're just putting the word out, so that more people will be informed.

I guess he and I are both not happy, cos people are selling replica / imitation products, and saying its OEM. then people getting ripped off and damaging their iPhone / iPod.

no such thing as OEM Apple smile.gif ...
TSwei
post Nov 4 2009, 04:58 PM

6,496 posts

I welcome 3rd party product if they are build with quality. But if it's not, then we are risking thousands ringgit of investment.

It's very sad to see Mac users ended up with faulty or semi-faulty Mac that could have lasted them many more years. Just because of these self-claimed items.
friends
post Nov 4 2009, 04:58 PM

Benjiro Kujo
1,291 posts

Perhaps buyers should have asked/survey before they are about to purchase items from that section...

Good thread Wei, thanks and very informative.
nokia2003
post Nov 4 2009, 05:14 PM

5,786 posts

actually, i do fly a fair bit and everytime i contemplate using my then MB and MBP on the plane via this

however, i'm also paranoid that the current from the plane's socket might be too overwhelming or under for the mac.

so in the end, i just leave it inside my bag.

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Nov 4 2009, 05:14 PM
elico
post Nov 4 2009, 05:55 PM

749 posts

i have experience with "exploding USB charger" as well... i have a third party USB charger for my iPod last time... but i didnt use it most of the time so i borrowed to my fren who use iphone and forgot to bring his charger... and after using sometimes... things happened... the charger exploded, luckily his iPhone was unharmed..

and btw.. the third party USB charger also does not has a ground pin, probably that why "things happened"

now i using charger that came with my iPhone to charge, n i never suggest anyone to bought any "ayam brand" USB charger... i would even suggest them to buy Apple nice 3-pin USB charger, which is way cooler and safe to use...

This post has been edited by elico: Nov 4 2009, 05:56 PM
TSwei
post Nov 4 2009, 06:12 PM

6,496 posts

Guys, try to focus in mac charger n battery only. iPod and iPhone have thier own section.
xaw5126
post Nov 4 2009, 09:38 PM

3,488 posts

yup yup... 5 years now, I've never dared to use any other chargers... been offered replacement / refurbished battery & cheaper 3rd party battery...

mainly I'm worried about burning out the charging pins... looks like many blur people prefer to be penny wise, pound foolish.
civic98
post Nov 4 2009, 10:01 PM

1,255 posts

Just for info, I just got my battery changed, after 2 years! My MB White CD's battery was a little deformed (bulging), and I immediately called AppleCare, after talking for less than 10 minutes (with someone with a heavy slang, later found out the call was directed to Apple Europe), they agreed to replace mine and gave me a case number. Got my new battery few days later.

For info, my AppleCare expired last month! Apple ROCKS!
cRazYee
post Nov 4 2009, 10:46 PM

2,642 posts

power adapter is just RM299
i see no reason go for OEM

battery well, cost quite a bit
still this thing has to be original

but, how about product from Sonnet?

Added on November 4, 2009, 10:48 pmjust found out sonnet dont have replacement battery for mac

This post has been edited by cRazYee: Nov 4 2009, 10:48 PM
TSwei
post Nov 4 2009, 11:13 PM

6,496 posts

I didn't notice Apple issue the pattern for Magsafe, MacBook, MacBook Pro Polymer battery design to any 3rd party.
dvlzplayground
post Nov 5 2009, 01:12 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

that's because they dont ;p
cRazYee
post Nov 5 2009, 01:31 AM

2,642 posts

the so called OEM charger cost how much
xeichaipao
post Nov 5 2009, 01:56 AM

87 posts

Nokia2003 : let them learn their lesson since advice is given
TSwei
post Mar 19 2010, 11:36 AM

6,496 posts

Added info on static shock with unibody macbooks.
ginolo
post Mar 19 2010, 07:07 PM

Bugs Bunny running over that way!
1,359 posts

QUOTE(civic98 @ Nov 4 2009, 10:01 PM)
Just for info, I just got my battery changed, after 2 years! My MB White CD's battery was a little deformed (bulging), and I immediately called AppleCare, after talking for less than 10 minutes (with someone with a heavy slang, later found out the call was directed to Apple Europe), they agreed to replace mine and gave me a case number. Got my new battery few days later.

For info, my AppleCare expired last month! Apple ROCKS!
Will they change the battery for you? if your battery is dead and u are still on ACPP.
TSwei
post Mar 19 2010, 10:53 PM

6,496 posts

If your battery is below 300 cycle and can't detect/ won't charge/ swollen.
keyven
post Mar 20 2010, 02:17 PM

373 posts

Better to use Hypermac batteries...

http://www.hypershop.com/

TSwei
post Mar 22 2010, 01:32 AM

6,496 posts

No local supplier, gonna be hassle to claim warranty or support.
And you have to lug another bulky battery pack along with not light-weight MacBook/MacBook Pro.
MetalZone
post Mar 22 2010, 02:07 AM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Mar 19 2010, 11:36 AM)
Added info on static shock with unibody macbooks.
Great advice! I never noticed that the stumpy adaptor didn't have a grounding contact.
man_hakim87
post Mar 27 2010, 07:30 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(MetalZone @ Mar 22 2010, 02:07 AM)
Great advice! I never noticed that the stumpy adaptor didn't have a grounding contact.
Me too. Nver notice until i read this forum. biggrin.gif
goliath
post Mar 29 2010, 03:47 PM

5,532 posts

I'm having a problem now. It was showing this...

Then it shows this...

And now, it shows this...

What should I do now?

I'm using unibody Macbook (late 2008).

This post has been edited by goliath: Mar 29 2010, 03:50 PM
TSwei
post Mar 29 2010, 04:00 PM

6,496 posts

Send it in to Service Center.
Have you try unplug the power cord? Does it shutdown immediately?
goliath
post Mar 29 2010, 04:03 PM

5,532 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Mar 29 2010, 04:00 PM)
Send it in to Service Center.
Have you try unplug the power cord? Does it shutdown immediately?
It lags for 10 seconds before shuts down.

I've called Apple Support. Followed their steps / instructions (remove battery and etc). Now it's charging again.
TSwei
post Mar 29 2010, 04:53 PM

6,496 posts

Glad to hear that.
absan
post Jan 16 2011, 11:28 PM

324 posts

hello there..

i am using my macbook pro 13' about a month. i just realize that when i'm charging sometimes it almost feels as though there is electricity running through the case, and I get a very (very) mild electric shock, it almost feels like a vibration. Anyone else getting this?
HaoYuan
post Jan 16 2011, 11:35 PM

Kai Qi Baby
1,401 posts

QUOTE(absan @ Jan 16 2011, 11:28 PM)
hello there..

i am using my macbook pro 13' about a month. i just realize that when i'm charging sometimes it almost feels as though there is electricity running through the case, and I get a very (very) mild electric shock, it almost feels like a vibration. Anyone else getting this?
go the place u buy from and request for warranty
baoz
post Jan 17 2011, 12:50 AM

963 posts

yup... it's a problem with Malaysia's earthing system.

use your macbook in any other country and you'd have no problems.

basically just keep off the aluminium body.

more methods have been discussed in the "Macbook/MBP/MBA users" thread...
more2teayap
post Jan 17 2011, 06:07 AM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

are you using the direct plug for the magsave? Try using the plug with extended cable, the direct plug doesn't have earth connection
nandayryu
post Jan 17 2011, 06:12 AM

1,072 posts

yeah,i'm getting mild vibration sometimes too,how do u mean by extended cable ?do u mean the extension plugs ?
corallinkz
post Jan 17 2011, 08:56 AM

1,387 posts

QUOTE(more2teayap @ Jan 17 2011, 06:07 AM)
are you using the direct plug for the magsave? Try using the plug with extended cable, the direct plug doesn't have earth connection
any link where to buy the direct plug for the magsave on amazon?

Jing-leBelle
post Jan 17 2011, 08:59 AM

Very New Member
2,003 posts

He mean that the plug that u use, did you use the long white cable attached? Or just use the 'white little box' direct plug to the adapter? smile.gif

Coz the extended cable has earth grounding inside. So it's safer.
TSwei
post Jan 17 2011, 09:26 AM

6,496 posts

Check my other topic:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1215928

This post has been edited by wei: Jan 17 2011, 09:27 AM
more2teayap
post Jan 17 2011, 05:30 PM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(nandayryu @ Jan 17 2011, 06:12 AM)
yeah,i'm getting mild vibration sometimes too,how do u mean by extended cable ?do u mean the extension plugs ?
Yeap... The 3-pin with long cable one
ahmadcivices01
post Jan 18 2011, 10:40 PM

94 posts

Really GOOD infor @WEI.
pluered
post Jan 21 2011, 05:21 PM

yes, the Apple retail battery has a 1 year battery.
phua1985
post May 14 2011, 06:32 PM

281 posts

How come the direct 3 pin plug from apple doesnt have grouding? why they only have it on the extended cord?

How come macbook pro 2011 short 3 pin plug dont come with grouding?

This post has been edited by phua1985: May 14 2011, 06:59 PM
TSwei
post May 14 2011, 07:07 PM

6,496 posts

It's not just MacBook Pro. It's been at such way since many years. Even they redesign the plug head recently to a slimmer one, yet they did not include the grounding for whatever reason. If you felt unsatisfied, you should call AppleCare and make a report. The more ppl report the better. And hopefully Apple engineer will rework the design.
phua1985
post May 15 2011, 04:14 AM

281 posts

QUOTE(wei @ May 14 2011, 07:07 PM)
It's not just MacBook Pro. It's been at such way since many years. Even they redesign the plug head recently to a slimmer one, yet they did not include the grounding for whatever reason. If you felt unsatisfied, you should call AppleCare and make a report. The more ppl report the better. And hopefully Apple engineer will rework the design.
If i continue to use the macbook pro without using the extended cord for grounding purpose....will the static affect the macbook pro components? because if it doesnt i dont mind the little static that are irritating me all the time.
dvlzplayground
post May 15 2011, 11:43 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(phua1985 @ May 15 2011, 04:14 AM)
If i continue to use the macbook pro without using the extended cord for grounding purpose....will the static affect the macbook pro components? because if it doesnt i dont mind the little static that are irritating me all the time.
that's a weird thing to say haha
TSwei
post May 15 2011, 01:03 PM

6,496 posts

The grounding issue are reported to interfere with tackpad movement and cause random click.
phua1985
post May 15 2011, 09:53 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(wei @ May 15 2011, 01:03 PM)
The grounding issue are reported to interfere with tackpad movement and cause random click.
In the long run will i cause any damage to the macbook pro itself?

Added on May 15, 2011, 9:54 pm
QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ May 15 2011, 11:43 AM)
that's a weird thing to say haha
haha ....is because i dont want to carry the long extended cord with me as my backpack is very slim type ....LOL

This post has been edited by phua1985: May 15 2011, 09:54 PM
TSwei
post May 15 2011, 10:30 PM

6,496 posts

So far no one i know willing to live with the static/electric shock in long term.
wiraone
post May 16 2011, 02:47 PM

Who cares about all the stars?
3,892 posts

My daughter's Macbook white (bought it March last year) suddenly couldn't turn on. Putting in a charger doesn't light up the charger LED. She is not a home right now, the last time she was using it, it was alright and I believe she left it w/o charging before she went back to her school. I'm trying to charge it up again, but it seems to be dead. Is this dead battery problem or a dead logic board. Somehow, I didn't bought any ACPP for her Macbook.

BTW, when I say couldn't turn on, it means .. nothing moving, no fan sound .. nothing at all.. just do nothing when I pressed the power button.

This post has been edited by wiraone: May 16 2011, 02:48 PM
TSwei
post May 16 2011, 02:57 PM

6,496 posts

If you have another MacBook / MacBook Pro around, you can plug the charger in and see any light on the charger tip. There's no way to tell the battery or board or anything else fault by just reading your mentioned symptoms. But to our experience if the charger is working, but battery faulty, there should be still green light and the MacBook should still turn on.
wiraone
post May 16 2011, 03:07 PM

3,892 posts

Tested the charger seems to be okay with my MBP and using my MBP charger on the white Macbook, the LED doesn't light up. I've tried doing the SMC reset (combination of left shift-ctl-option + power button) multiple times, nothing. I believe this probably a dead logic board then? Arghh, just last week my friend called me saying her MBP 13" has this symptom (she is lucky, she bought hers in May last year, till have few days warranty left). I will put it into charger for the whole day today and will see.. Couldn't see any traces of liquid spilled on the keyboard.. sad.gif

Added on May 16, 2011, 3:16 pmI guess only two things left according to this ifixit website:

http://www.ifixit.com/Wiki/MacBook_Unibody...Troubleshooting

1. Dead logic board or
2. Dead Magsafe board

Will need to bring it to VRTech then .. arghh.. money money money..

Did a search on magsafe board fault and found that 90% said that it wouldn't be the cause, but most probably a water damage/spill. Argh!

This post has been edited by wiraone: May 16 2011, 03:26 PM
BRY7
post May 16 2011, 03:18 PM

Siri: I'm your humble personal assistant
7,924 posts

Is this only for the latest MBP?
dvlzplayground
post May 16 2011, 08:58 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ May 16 2011, 03:18 PM)
Is this only for the latest MBP?
it's the MBW. also, since TS implied it is out of warranty so definitely not the current MBW which was launched on 18/5/2010.

is the magsafe connector on the MBW clean?
TSwei
post May 17 2011, 05:10 PM

6,496 posts

All unibody models have LSI as guide for Liquid damage. So it's very easy to tell if it's contact with liquid.
wiraone
post May 31 2011, 10:15 AM

3,892 posts

I've got a quotation from VRTech, it seems that the problem is with the logic board, RM1800 to change it. Is it worth it?

Added on May 31, 2011, 10:33 amI guess no choice really, need to pay for it .. I was expecting it to be more than that. So, I've made the payment, hopefully will get the MBW back RSN.

This post has been edited by wiraone: May 31 2011, 10:33 AM
Miyabi
post Jun 1 2011, 12:31 AM

馬鹿じゃない
1,592 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ May 31 2011, 10:15 AM)
I've got a quotation from VRTech, it seems that the problem is with the logic board, RM1800 to change it. Is it worth it?

Added on May 31, 2011, 10:33 amI guess no choice really, need to pay for it .. I was expecting it to be more than that. So, I've made the payment, hopefully will get the MBW back RSN.
kinda expensive.... top up get new one.
whats make the logic board dead anyway? i do always read about this logic board went kaput without the reason from user's feedback. i wonder if the logic board is way too vulnerable than motherboard found in any notebook?

This post has been edited by Miyabi: Jun 1 2011, 12:31 AM
wiraone
post Jun 1 2011, 07:16 AM

3,892 posts

I need to top up at least RM800 to get a new one, well, this MBW was rarely used, my daughter is in a boarding school, so she couldn't bring the MBW with her. She only use it when she is on her school break. Somehow, this is my second experience with logic board going kaput, once was with my old bondi blue back in 2004. No reason given by the service centre, they just told me that the logic board gone kaput, need to replace it. No symptom was given by my daughter. She said a night before she went back to school it was okay.. but few weeks after when I tried to switch it on, it just doesn't give any response at al. At first I suspected the battery was drained off, try to charge it .. no amber light on the charger tip. Tried resetting the power setting, no go too. Lesson learned, the next time I get myself any Apple products, I need to tell myself to go and buy ACPP too.
TSwei
post Jun 1 2011, 10:18 AM

6,496 posts

Should include ACPP into the budget when buying a new Mac. Instead of wasting it on upgrades and accessories. Those you can get later anytime.
ajul
post Jun 1 2011, 07:13 PM

100% ONLINE DEALER
1,258 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Jun 1 2011, 07:16 AM)
I need to top up at least RM800 to get a new one, well, this MBW was rarely used, my daughter is in a boarding school, so she couldn't bring the MBW with her. She only use it when she is on her school break. Somehow, this is my second experience with logic board going kaput, once was with my old bondi blue back in 2004. No reason given by the service centre, they just told me that the logic board gone kaput, need to replace it. No symptom was given by my daughter. She said a night before she went back to school it was okay.. but few weeks after when I tried to switch it on, it just doesn't give any response at al. At first I suspected the battery was drained off, try to charge it .. no amber light on the charger tip. Tried resetting the power setting, no go too. Lesson learned, the next time I get myself any Apple products, I need to tell myself to go and buy ACPP too.
after 1 year just sell ur macbook n get a new one..its better than u buy ACPP n use till it died..

KennethYM
post Jun 5 2011, 10:47 PM

Hi guys,
Can I ask how is the battery life like for a 2010 mbp 15 inches???

lets say the user has used it around 11 months.
Thx for replies.
20thCentury
post Jun 11 2011, 09:43 PM

138 posts

Hi.. want to ask, should i discharge the batt daily?
Appreciate any tips to prolong the batt shelf life.
TSwei
post Jun 12 2011, 05:38 AM

6,496 posts

Not nessacary. Read this topic: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1903203

Read the replies. I think mod should merge it.
20thCentury
post Jun 12 2011, 10:51 AM

138 posts

Ok.. thanks...

This post has been edited by 20thCentury: Jun 12 2011, 10:52 AM
Christopher7
post Jun 17 2011, 05:16 PM

Stay Hungry, Stay Foolish
1,044 posts

My adapter lights sometime the status indicate charged but not showing any lights. But when I pull off n in again it shows green light again.

TSwei
post Jul 18 2011, 11:52 AM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(Christopher7 @ Jun 17 2011, 05:16 PM)
My adapter lights sometime the status indicate charged but not showing any lights. But when I pull off n in again it shows green light again.
That's normal, we always seen that. Sometime the green light will be half bright. Just pull the MagSafe off and plug it back. It could be the pin did not align nicely.
aneip
post Aug 6 2011, 01:59 PM

2,466 posts

Anyone know how much for replacement battery for built-in battery for mbp mid-2010? Any reputable 3rd party battery? I had open mbp bottom a few time for hd and ram upgrade. Can see the battery and I don't think it's hard to do the replacement.. Only need to source for the battery itself.
googlefreak
post Aug 6 2011, 04:48 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(aneip @ Aug 6 2011, 01:59 PM)
Anyone know how much for replacement battery for built-in battery for mbp mid-2010? Any reputable 3rd party battery? I had open mbp bottom a few time for hd and ram upgrade. Can see the battery and I don't think it's hard to do the replacement.. Only need to source for the battery itself.
few hundreds i guess. check on apple malaysia
Masamune
post Aug 12 2011, 11:13 PM

Just A Kid
1,228 posts

Hey, starting yesterday my battery keep show not charging.

I did a SMC reset and the LED indicator on the charger turns red but its stuck at 67%. When i remove it and plug it back in it turns green and it states not charging again. This is quite a new battery cause i had it replaced about a year ago.

I'm using Macbook alu late 2008 running 10.7 Lion.
TSwei
post Aug 13 2011, 01:26 AM

6,496 posts

Age doesn't judge the health of the battery. Send it to service center and they will have proper diagnose software to tell is your battery healthy or not.
Masamune
post Aug 13 2011, 10:44 AM

Just A Kid
1,228 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Aug 13 2011, 01:26 AM)
Age doesn't judge the health of the battery. Send it to service center and they will have proper diagnose software to tell is your battery healthy or not.
Thx man, i will do that. Will they take the whole mac or just my battery?
@bout @perture
post Aug 25 2011, 05:57 PM

27 posts

Had a bad experience on my 1st Macbook white. The batt's dead just after warranty.

Now I'm using a 2nd hand MBP (SR). The batt that comes with it still working considerably ok after 546 cycles. But indicates the condition to "Replace Soon". So after long consideration, due to my tight budget and bad experience from MacBook white,I finally bought an OEM batt from www.laptop-battery.my.

Soon to found that this lousy over-priced batt can't be full charge (stop charging at 80%), deplete faster than original batt and the worst is, it suddenly cut OFF at exactly 30% of the batt storage. The original batt still can lasts for 90 mins usage with full charge despite after few hundreds cycles already. The lousy OEM batt lasts only 50~60mins.

The seller claims that their product comes with money back guarantee / 12 months warranty. But when contacted, the seller tends to ignore and argue with his crap.

So lesson learned, buy ORIGINAL.

Added on August 25, 2011, 5:59 pm
QUOTE(wei @ Aug 13 2011, 01:26 AM)
I use iStat Menu to monitor my battery.

This post has been edited by @bout @perture: Aug 25 2011, 05:59 PM
TSwei
post Aug 25 2011, 09:39 PM

6,496 posts

Great share!
x-199Tx
post Aug 25 2011, 09:50 PM

1,089 posts

always stay original smile.gif
Joe2011
post Aug 26 2011, 06:21 PM

39 posts

My macbook unibody late 2008 has gone through 207 cycle and its health is at 62% . Is it normal?
dvlzplayground
post Aug 26 2011, 11:10 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Joe2011 @ Aug 26 2011, 06:21 PM)
My macbook unibody late 2008 has gone through 207 cycle and its health is at 62% . Is it normal?
not normal. never calibrate?
HaoYuan
post Aug 30 2011, 02:44 PM

Kai Qi Baby
1,401 posts

Apple product must use Apple original accessories la ...dun save that kind of money, ur mac is much more exp than that
gizmodo
post Sep 12 2011, 08:12 AM

270 posts

i think you need to perform calibration and see how it goes...
olivur
post Sep 12 2011, 11:02 AM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,271 posts

anyone knows if i could acquire a plug head for the charger which has a metal contact?

while the longer cable has a metal contact, it's well, long. too long for me.
xandman
post Sep 12 2011, 11:08 AM

When Darkness is the only Light U See.
7,214 posts

QUOTE(olivur @ Sep 12 2011, 11:02 AM)
anyone knows if i could acquire a plug head for the charger which has a metal contact?

while the longer cable has a metal contact, it's well, long. too long for me.
check out machines.
i saw they are selling just the plug head.
i think it's original apple cos the packaging is really nice!
BRY7
post Sep 12 2011, 11:11 AM

7,924 posts

is is normal, my old 2010 MBP got nearly 300 charge cycles after 1 year usage.
discharge it every time
olivur
post Sep 12 2011, 11:14 AM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,271 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Sep 12 2011, 11:08 AM)
check out machines.
but the original plug head doesn't have any metal contact :s
dvlzplayground
post Sep 12 2011, 11:18 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Sep 12 2011, 11:08 AM)
check out machines.
sure that's not the iphone charger? tongue.gif never seen the plug head sold like that before
xandman
post Sep 12 2011, 11:19 AM

7,214 posts

QUOTE(olivur @ Sep 12 2011, 11:14 AM)
but the original plug head doesn't have any metal contact :s
owh really? i din know that...
hahahaha...
doh.gif
TSwei
post Sep 12 2011, 11:20 AM

6,496 posts

DIY for the time being, been looking for such 3-pin plug with grounding. Maybe 1 day I will have enough fund to manufacture it myself.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/weistudio/443.../in/photostream
xandman
post Sep 12 2011, 11:20 AM

7,214 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Sep 12 2011, 11:18 AM)
sure that's not the iphone charger? tongue.gif never seen the plug head sold like that before
iphone or not i dunno...
but it looks like a plug head to me... brows.gif
BRY7
post Sep 12 2011, 11:22 AM

7,924 posts

make sure theres the fastener on the surface, if it doesn't then its an USB plug for iPod/iPhone
olivur
post Sep 12 2011, 11:23 AM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,271 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Sep 12 2011, 11:20 AM)
DIY for the time being, been looking for such 3-pin plug with grounding. Maybe 1 day I will have enough fund to manufacture it myself.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/weistudio/443.../in/photostream
ingenius! gonna do that to both of mine. thanks wei
TSwei
post Sep 12 2011, 11:24 AM

6,496 posts

Retailer wont sell the plug head on shelve display. It's too cheap and it doesn't come with packaging unless it's the Universal Travel Kit.
xandman
post Sep 12 2011, 11:29 AM

7,214 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Sep 12 2011, 11:24 AM)
Retailer wont sell the plug head on shelve display. It's too cheap and it doesn't come with packaging unless it's the Universal Travel Kit.
oopsss...
my bad then i guess... icon_rolleyes.gif
wiraone
post Sep 12 2011, 12:03 PM

3,892 posts

Nice DIY there wei, I'm going to do the same thing .. the extension wire is too long for me.. thanks for sharing!!
TSwei
post Sep 12 2011, 12:25 PM

6,496 posts

For those that's going to DIY, please test the plug with something cheaper first, like USB charger. Do not test it on your RM299 magsafe.

But it's a simple cable lead only. Shouldn't be a problem for most of you. You will find it hard to insert the charger if you use thick cable. I've actually cut a small line on the plug to place the cable.
olivur
post Sep 12 2011, 12:49 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,271 posts

wonder if i could keep the plug head from my old 2008 mbp that i've to send in once the new one arrives and try to crack it open so i could do the wiring internally..
TSwei
post Sep 12 2011, 09:06 PM

6,496 posts

It's not easy to crack open. Whole thing is almost solid. Lol.
olivur
post Sep 12 2011, 09:20 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,271 posts

yeah after looking at it again i chickened out. scared i'd make it messy.

then ocd would kick in and i would smash it to the floor >.<
radiant
post Sep 19 2011, 04:50 PM

68 posts

How to solve this 'tenggelam' MagSafe pin? Need to buy new adapter meh?

TSwei
post Sep 19 2011, 05:09 PM

6,496 posts

Have you try pushing the pin with a toothpick? It might spring back.
radiant
post Sep 19 2011, 08:26 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Sep 19 2011, 05:09 PM)
Have you try pushing the pin with a toothpick? It might spring back.
only one pin spring back but the rest still tenggelam. so the solution is buy a new one adapter vmad.gif
TSwei
post Sep 19 2011, 08:31 PM

6,496 posts

Can send over la, we can swap the plug head for you. What model is it? 45W, 60W or 85W?
radiant
post Sep 19 2011, 08:35 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Sep 19 2011, 08:31 PM)
Can send over la, we can swap the plug head for you. What model is it? 45W, 60W or 85W?
Just bought 60W Adapter from Machine Sunway. RM299. cry.gif
limkj
post Sep 19 2011, 08:53 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(radiant @ Sep 19 2011, 04:50 PM)

Is you MacBook still under warranty? You can try to claim warranty.
radiant
post Sep 19 2011, 09:10 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(limkj @ Sep 19 2011, 08:53 PM)
Is you MacBook still under warranty? You can try to claim warranty.
Late 2009. Apple warranty is 12 month only right?
civic98
post Sep 20 2011, 12:17 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(radiant @ Sep 19 2011, 08:26 PM)
only one pin spring back but the rest still tenggelam. so the solution is buy a new one adapter  vmad.gif
Dont know it's safe or not, but you can try to spray some WD-40 in it, push it in out again. If ok let it dry before using again.
limkj
post Sep 20 2011, 11:18 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(radiant @ Sep 19 2011, 09:10 PM)
Late 2009. Apple warranty is 12 month only right?
Did you buy AppleCare? If you did then it is 3 years warranty

tan85ill
post Sep 21 2011, 02:31 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Nov 4 2009, 04:51 PM)
well, that's fine.

both wei n I have met people like this. we're just putting the word out, so that more people will be informed.

I guess he and I are both not happy, cos people are selling replica / imitation products, and saying its OEM. then people getting ripped off and damaging their iPhone / iPod.

no such thing as OEM Apple smile.gif ...
thumbup.gif totally agreed.. No such things as OEM Apple.. But these day if you ask youngster that using iphone. And you tell them about original & OEM different.... They'll ans you, I buy OEM charger just cost me rm10. If original expensive. LoL
TSwei
post Sep 21 2011, 09:57 AM

6,496 posts

They will learn the lesson when their iPhone one day stop charging or something else went wrong.

There's no need to always buy Apple original, there are plenty of trust-worthy 3rd party brand like belkin, griffin, padcase...
tan85ill
post Sep 21 2011, 12:28 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Sep 21 2011, 09:57 AM)
They will learn the lesson when their iPhone one day stop charging or something else went wrong.

There's no need to always buy Apple original, there are plenty of trust-worthy 3rd party brand like belkin, griffin, padcase...
instead of getting griffin.. i guess the price almost same wit original right..?
olivur
post Sep 21 2011, 03:26 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,271 posts

i'm still waiting for the day that apple provides a 3pin plug head that has earthing capabilities to it. since i chickened out on wei's diy step and all blush.gif

This post has been edited by olivur: Sep 21 2011, 03:26 PM
TSwei
post Sep 21 2011, 06:42 PM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(tan85ill @ Sep 21 2011, 12:28 PM)
instead of getting griffin.. i guess the price almost same wit original right..?
I'm just giving general example, I have no interest doing price check here.
tan85ill
post Sep 23 2011, 06:11 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Sep 21 2011, 06:42 PM)
I'm just giving general example, I have no interest doing price check here.
No offense bro...
Cheers... =)
Btw, just got my ACPP for my MBP 10' biggrin.gif
maxnergy
post Mar 12 2012, 03:04 PM

104 posts

I changed 4 times my macbook and im tired of changing and accepted the one with direct three pin with static.. only i found this forum...

lucky is not only me.. the seller never inform me about this problem..

but i did bring my macbook to garden and test with other display macbook.. the display will not have statics or shock.. only mine will have.. i tried with their charger on mine and back to the display.. the staff also said why mine have static/shock...

HellZoker
post Sep 22 2012, 09:29 PM

80 posts

can this grounding issue over come by using arm guard and cover case??

currently using the long cord 3 pin plug original comes with mac book pro, but i got bad grounding issue.

TSwei
post Sep 23 2012, 02:34 AM

6,496 posts

So long you are not touching the metal part of the Mac you won't get the shock, but prolong usage with bad grounding are known to cause other hardware issues, it's best to check your charger or power source to find our what causing it.
ally19
post Sep 29 2012, 02:47 PM

25 posts

My 15" MBP will turn 2 in October.
I recently updated it to the new mountain lion.

When it is charged to 100%, I continue to leave it plugged in.
When I'm home, I usually use the power source. Only when I take it out the house that I use the battery which is about 3 days a week. I usually drain the battery once a month. The cycle count is 255.

The problem is, after I updated the OS, when its fully charged at 100%, it will drop to 99% after a day and by the next day its 98%. It hasn't gone to 97% yet. The old OS used to display "Charged".

What I always do at the end of the day is shut down and switch off the power. The next time I use it, I turn the power back on. Does this have an effect on the battery?
TSwei
post Sep 29 2012, 05:22 PM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(ally19 @ Sep 29 2012, 02:47 PM)
My 15" MBP will turn 2 in October.
I recently updated it to the new mountain lion.

When it is charged to 100%, I continue to leave it plugged in.
When I'm home, I usually use the power source. Only when I take it out the house that I use the battery which is about 3 days a week. I usually drain the battery once a month. The cycle count is 255.

The problem is, after I updated the OS, when its fully charged at 100%, it will drop to 99% after a day and by the next day its 98%. It hasn't gone to 97% yet. The old OS used to display "Charged".

What I always do at the end of the day is shut down and switch off the power. The next time I use it, I turn the power back on. Does this have an effect on the battery?
When you shutdown the Mac, it uses very very little current. So it's safe to say that it's not using the battery life. Unless you stored the Mac for prolong period. There's no need to keep the charger powered when your Mac is off and fully charged. Although the new charger is smart enough to turn into power safe mode when it sense the battery is full.
ally19
post Sep 29 2012, 05:45 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Sep 29 2012, 05:22 PM)
When you shutdown the Mac, it uses very very little current. So it's safe to say that it's not using the battery life. Unless you stored the Mac for prolong period. There's no need to keep the charger powered when your Mac is off and fully charged. Although the new charger is smart enough to turn into power safe mode when it sense the battery is full.
So the percentage going down is not a worry? The battery is fully charged but the display shows 98% (it was 99% yesterday).
TSwei
post Sep 29 2012, 06:08 PM

6,496 posts

Not to worry. But it's good to unplug anything that's connected to your Mac when not in use.

Battery will looses charges even not in use.
ally19
post Sep 29 2012, 06:41 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Sep 29 2012, 06:08 PM)
Not to worry. But it's good to unplug anything that's connected to your Mac when not in use.

Battery will looses charges even not in use.
thanks a lot.
raeshad
post Oct 5 2012, 08:17 PM

242 posts

QUOTE(radiant @ Sep 19 2011, 04:50 PM)

My charger's dead due to the same reason as radiant's - seen in his pic. The Magsafe pin - on of them - at exactly the same spot as radiant's one - is tenggelam.

I've only realised Wei have answered my question/post in a misplaced post.

Thanks Wei! Will update later.

Most prob gonna go and claim for a new charger after my exams next week...

I just hope they dont give me any shi† about it, and just do a quick one to one. Crosses fingers!

This post has been edited by raeshad: Oct 5 2012, 08:25 PM
carbonfibre
post Oct 16 2012, 12:29 AM

PSN ID : ericgohsw
944 posts

How do you actually take care of your MacBookPro's Battery ?

I'm using my MBP 15" like a desktop , with 85 Cycles and 96% health over 3months of usage..

Should i be concerned ? And how does Apple's Warranty cover this ?

Cause i bought the ACPP too..

Do clarify thanks.. I was told to charge to 100% - unplug charger - use to 10-20% then charge again.
vicbro_95
post Nov 18 2012, 05:26 PM

42 posts

when the battery is fully charge,should we unplug the power or is safe to keep using it with the power on?some people say it will decrease the battery life if we dun unplug the power after fully charge.
TSwei
post Nov 23 2012, 12:42 AM

6,496 posts

If you are using original charger, the Mac will signal the charger when the battery is fully charge and the charger will goes into low power mode (Mac is off).
xproc
post Nov 23 2012, 10:15 AM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(maxnergy @ Mar 12 2012, 03:04 PM)
I changed 4 times my macbook and im tired of changing and accepted the one with direct three pin with static.. only i found this forum...

lucky is not only me.. the seller never inform me about this problem..

but i did bring my macbook to garden and test with other display macbook.. the display will not have statics or shock.. only mine will have.. i tried with their charger on mine and back to the display.. the staff also said why mine have static/shock...
use the charger with the apple original extension = no static shock...
fabianz03
post Nov 28 2012, 09:49 PM

4,649 posts

Ah crap, just bought the MBP 13" and I have the electric shock issue, found this thread and used the long cable, it's fixed now.
How can a company like Apple can possible mess up like this?

They include the grounding on the extension but not on the short one? gosh. doh.gif
BRY7
post Nov 28 2012, 10:27 PM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Nov 28 2012, 09:49 PM)
Ah crap, just bought the MBP 13" and I have the electric shock issue, found this thread and used the long cable, it's fixed now.
How can a company like Apple can possible mess up like this?

They include the grounding on the extension but not on the short one? gosh.  doh.gif
your power point could be the cause as well,
fabianz03
post Nov 28 2012, 10:31 PM

4,649 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Nov 28 2012, 10:27 PM)
your power point could be the cause as well,
no, i can confirm already, the plug head, oh god i dont know how to describe..
the plug head doesnt have the grounding metal to attach to the grounding metal outside.

while the longer, thicker's plug head has the metal to connect to the grounding metal.
i use that one, instant problem solved.
xproc
post Nov 30 2012, 01:51 PM

free for all
4,470 posts

brought the quirky cord wrap definately worth it

http://www.quirky.com/products/15-PowerCurl-Mac-Cord-Manager
dealer.merchant
post Dec 7 2012, 04:39 AM

508 posts

My clock on the top right wont update. Like it shows 4:06 but it is 4:40.

Once I click it, it will be back to the normal time. But it wont update.

Is it something to do with my battery? PRAM?
andcorps
post Dec 7 2012, 05:27 PM

252 posts

how long usually a mac battery would last? 1000 charge cycle?
TSwei
post Dec 7 2012, 08:00 PM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(andcorps @ Dec 7 2012, 05:27 PM)
how long usually a mac battery would last? 1000 charge cycle?
http://www.apple.com/batteries/notebooks.html
vicbro_95
post Dec 9 2012, 06:58 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(xproc @ Nov 30 2012, 01:51 PM)
brought the quirky cord wrap definately worth it

http://www.quirky.com/products/15-PowerCurl-Mac-Cord-Manager
where u bought it?any apple reseller selling?
lazyhut
post Dec 22 2012, 07:52 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Nov 4 2009, 11:29 AM)
The cases I received that caused by power adapter & battery are increasing at alarming rate, I would like to alert all Mac users in this forum about this matter. Do not fall for this cheap products, even if it's given warranty and so called OEM or Apple.

Very Important:
There are no such things as OEM product from Apple. It's either Apple or not. Not Apple means it's 3rd party or compatible model only. As Apple DO NOT resell bare parts to consumers in retail.

Case#1:
Owner original battery dead. So he went and bought a cheap OEM Battery. Upon using a few days. The MacBook refuse to detect and charge any battery at all even the owner has then bought a used original battery. Meaning the MacBook is currently only working with charger only. And the repair required replacing the whole logicboard, the on board charging component has gone faulty due to over current from the battery.

Case#2:
Owner bought this charger first few usage it's fine. After just a day or two usage on his MBP 2.4Ghz (Alu), the trackpad stop working when using the adapter. Also notice static/current shock all over the aluminium casing. Then he tried the same adapter on a MacBook white. No shock (cause of plastic body), but USB mouse won't work properly. He did not test further and already asked for refund.

Case#3:
As usual original battery died after extensive usage in few years. Owner then bought OEM battery. Things works fine for few weeks.  Then one day the his MacBook Pro refuse to boot up. After diagnose it was the battery causing over current and burned the logicboard. Repair cost him over RM2k.

I'm not intend to harm anyone business here. But I would like to warn all Mac user to be smart and alert on these issue. Sure you save few hundred on buying these products, but in the end you might have to pay more when the damage is done on your unit.

Chargers:
They look alot like the original. But upon inspecting carefully, you should notice the wordings on the adapter is not as sharp as the original. Also one type of the OEM charger have plastic grounding knob.

You do know grounding is meant to protect you and your device from surge. So meaning there wont be any fuse jump should there be any overcurrent/ short circuit happen on the adapter.

Another thing to check after personally test some 3rd party/ OEM charger/ Replacement charger/ Or some so call First Class Replacement. First thing you will notice is, they felt marginally lighter than the Apple original adapter.

#1 The design. Apple paid their engineer, designer, marketing ppl to invent and market the product. They even pay to patent the design. Then lastly package it nicely in a box for you.

For "OEM" they just copy. Maybe uses cheaper component (I can't testify). No packaging (just plastic wrap).

OEM give you 2 pin plug that need a converter. Some doesn't come with any connector.

#3 See all the icon and logo on the adapter? They meant the adapter are being tested to met such standard. And in Malaysia, SIRIM review the item and allowed it to be imported. All that cost $.

But for those OEM one, no one can testify. Those logo and terms are merely "copy".

Battery:
It's either the battery are being refilled/refurb, meaning the the exhausted battery cell are removed and replaced. It's unknown what type of cell they uses. But according to Apple they design the cell and manufactured by their appointed factory.

OEM type, these are the dangerous one. They look alike, but internally lack of the controller chip and microprocessor that help to maintain the battery health. So anything goes wrong Mac OS won't able to get the info from the battery. When things goes wrong it's already too late.

More or less like the charger. But these battery include more technology than the charger. It has built-in chips that check the health of battery. Keep info as of model, date of manufacture, manufacturer, serial number, charge cycle, charge remaining, amperage and etc. It also support Apple battery update should Apple decide to release an update.

I do not know does those OEM batt have similar functions. Also original battery from Apple come with 12months warranty (thanks xaw5126 for clarifying).

Update:
Info on static shock (electrostatic), minor electric shock, static/current noise over headphone/speaker/mic/recording on MacBook Pros/ Unibody MacBooks

If you having mild electric shock when using a power adapter on your Unibody MacBook, most likely you have grounding issue. Check if you are using the short 3-pin head. If yes, change it to the long cable that came with your mac.

Many have reported using the long cable solve the issue. If you still have shocks after changing the plug, consult your technician.

If you have bought any 3rd party/ OEM charger or battery, do share your experience.
GIVE YOU LIKE +1

u solved my problem..

i just bought my macbook pro last week. after i charging i feel static shock. i call apple reseller technician ask them about it. i got the result is like that one, very normal... i just can say Fxxx.. really unprofessional technician..i dunno why they still can be a apple technician how they going to fix us device without no basic knowledge..really worried.
cRazYee
post Dec 22 2012, 11:52 AM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Nov 28 2012, 10:31 PM)
no, i can confirm already, the plug head, oh god i dont know how to describe..
the plug head doesnt have the grounding metal to attach to the grounding metal outside.

while the longer, thicker's plug head has the metal to connect to the grounding metal.
i use that one, instant problem solved.
Wanna know why? Cuz some country simply don't need grounding. US, Japan and etc
Socket switch is a big thing to them

It's uk, malaysia running 230v that need it.

The adapter is designed to be universal

I can tell u in uk. I never have static problem

fabianz03
post Dec 22 2012, 01:03 PM

4,649 posts

QUOTE(cRazYee @ Dec 22 2012, 11:52 AM)

yea i understand but as a product that will sell globally why dont design an adapter that's suitable for each county's plug? i.e malaysia should have the grounding metal included because i believe almost all commonwealth countries are using the 3-pin plug design.

and, i've never been to US before and I wonder how their grounding system works, coz everything is just 2-pin there hmm.gif
cRazYee
post Dec 22 2012, 06:35 PM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Dec 22 2012, 01:03 PM)
yea i understand but as a product that will sell globally why dont design an adapter that's suitable for each county's plug? i.e malaysia should have the grounding metal included because i believe almost all commonwealth countries are using the 3-pin plug design.

and, i've never been to US before and I wonder how their grounding system works, coz everything is just 2-pin there  hmm.gif
I can tell you, in uk, there is no need of proper metal
Contact grounding pin

It's all down to the country electrical system.
Not apple fault

Japan and state are using 110-120v
This is the main reason. But I not sure the main detail either

This post has been edited by cRazYee: Dec 22 2012, 06:36 PM
fabianz03
post Dec 22 2012, 09:11 PM

4,649 posts

QUOTE(cRazYee @ Dec 22 2012, 06:35 PM)
I can tell you, in uk, there is no need of proper metal
Contact grounding pin

It's all down to the country electrical system.
Not apple fault

Japan and state are using 110-120v
This is the main reason. But I not sure the main detail either
Then where does the grounding current goes? Since there's only 2-pin, one is live and the other is neutral. hmm.gif

TSwei
post Dec 23 2012, 12:13 AM

6,496 posts

Let's face this.

1) We are in Malaysia, not UK or any European country.
2) Neither we want to perform costly re-wiring for whole house/ office, just to get rid of this pesky grounding issue.
3) We have tried to notify Apple about this and they seems aware. And yet, when they redesign the plug (few times). Why not just add the grounding?
4) If you say it's not necessary, then why the long extension have the ground point???

I continue to wonder.
Sony Lim
post Dec 23 2012, 01:52 PM

317 posts

Nice post let us learn a lot of things
mfitri77
post Dec 24 2012, 08:13 AM

1,167 posts

Probably cost. If I'm not mistaken, before this, the short head does have a contact point for grounding. At least, I had never ever experienced any electrical short pre 2011.

After that, every time I use my mac with the short head in my office building - Lo and behold, always get the static shock thing. Probably because my body like magneto also (I am the only one in the family that gets static shock pushing Jusco shopping carts). Didn't took me long to realise that the short heads were missing the important grounding point, shame that I sold my pre 2010 with everything included, just so I can compare.

goner
post Dec 24 2012, 10:18 AM

461 posts

guys wanna ask issue regarding MBP Retina Battery issue. i been reading forum about MBP battery.

some says it's best to ONLY use ur laptop battery until 5% then charge until 100 % ; rest of the time just leave it charge.

some says it's best to use your laptop battery until it's almost 0% then charge it 100%. this keep the battery cycle keep on going.

MBP Retina 2012 Battery Info

MY MBP Retina only 12 weeks old and has 71 charges on it.

usage on mac. 80% on Autocad 2013, Photoshop CS6, iTunes & Movies ; 20% on gaming on window 7 boot camp

please advice.
cRazYee
post Dec 27 2012, 10:41 AM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Dec 22 2012, 09:11 PM)
Then where does the grounding current goes? Since there's only 2-pin, one is live and the other is neutral.  hmm.gif
Best answer for you perhaps
http://wiki.answers.com/Q/What_is_the_main...language_please

"We usually get our electric power in DC or AC form. DC is constant voltage such as a batter output and is useful for most low power (think less than 100 watt light bulb) applications. The power coming from a normal home outlet is AC (alternating current) and swings back and forth from about 155V to -155V in a sine wave pattern 60 times per second (50 times per second in some countries). The average voltage (RMS) is 110V in USA. AC is useful because you can convert it to higher and lower voltages with a simple device called a transformer which makes it easier to send across large distances.

1 Phase is what is described above - it is your basic 110V outlet.

2 Phase is what goes into a home fuse box. It is two wires each carrying 110V with respect to ground but they are "out of phase" meaning when one sine wave reaches +155V, the other reaches -155V at the same moment. If you have a device that needs 220V AC (such as a stove or dryer) you can skip the ground and use the 2 110V 2-Phase wires.

3 Phase has 3 wires carrying power (a 4th wire has ground). The voltages on the 3 wires with respect to ground each look like a normal sine wave at 110V but the peaks of the sine waves are delayed evenly so that wire 1 peaks, then wire 2, then wire 3, then back to wire 1 in equally timed spacing. This is called 120 degree phase between any 2 wires. This is the power coming out of power plants. 3 Phase is easy to use or create with generators and motors. 3 Phase was chosen because it needs less copper to carry power long distances. Modern technologies (transistors) can be very efficient with converting DC voltages now but when the power grid system was created we mostly only had transformers and wires.

3 Phase can be found on most (but not all!) streets in America If you look at power lines, the topmost lines are the highest voltage. Usually there are 3 (each carrying 1 of the 3 phases). These are the most dangerous. Then every 10 houses or so you see a transformer that taps off one of these to create the 2 phase for homes. As the power gets down a remote area often the topmost lines branch apart and you only have one going down a particular street.
"

to be honest, i learn this before, just forget the details of them
BRY7
post Dec 27 2012, 10:46 AM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(goner @ Dec 24 2012, 10:18 AM)
guys wanna ask issue regarding MBP Retina Battery issue. i been reading forum about MBP battery.

some says it's best to ONLY use ur laptop battery until 5% then charge until 100 % ; rest of the time just leave it charge.

some says it's best to use your laptop battery until it's almost 0% then charge it 100%. this keep the battery cycle keep on going.

MBP Retina 2012 Battery Info

MY MBP Retina only 12 weeks old and has 71 charges on it.

usage on mac. 80% on Autocad 2013, Photoshop CS6, iTunes & Movies ; 20% on gaming on window 7 boot camp

please advice.
when you have chance to plug the adaptor while using, then do so.
but remember to discharge and charge till 100% (1 Full Cycle) atleast once a week
cRazYee
post Dec 27 2012, 10:53 AM

2,642 posts

or this one
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AC_power_plugs_and_sockets

basically it's down to the standard of country. Malaysia Standard (might) not enforce proper grounding in every building (maybe has been done in new built area)

quote:
"Japan also uses a grounded plug similar to the North American NEMA 5-15.[39] However, it is less common than its NEMA 1-15 equivalent. Since 2005, new Japanese homes are required to have class I grounded outlets for connecting domestic appliances. This rule does not apply for the outlets not intended to be used for domestic appliances, but it is strongly advised to have class I outlets throughout the home."

So basically, the socket itself is grounded, and there are running 2 phase
fatdonutx
post Jan 4 2013, 01:00 AM

guys .. wanna ask for help .. i'm new to mac world ..
on july, i bought mid '12 13inch base-line mbp with lion on it .. after few weeks, i update to ML .. and i saw changes in my battery life .. it wont get more than 5 hours for full charged battery and now, its already down to 89% from its design capacity (based on coconut battery) .. the battery cycle is only 24, and i only use my mbp for surfing, word processing and other student life usage (light usage only) . it is mostly used while plugged in and once a month, i did the battery drain thing .. and after ML, the battery drain like its really2 thirsty .. lost 1% for like every 2 minutes ..

anyone could help me with this? cuz im new with mac .. thanks guys
AveoHzq
post Jan 4 2013, 02:38 AM

172 posts

Anyone know the price for a Macbook white charger?
Should be same with macbook pro.
TSwei
post Jan 7 2013, 01:39 AM

6,496 posts

60W Magsafe should be RM249.
kokonut
post Jan 10 2013, 01:09 AM

57 posts

My mbp suddenly cant charge.. Connect the charger but the led on the magsafe charge not light up (green or orange).. Been try other power point still the same.. With extra long cable or with 3pin adapter still same..

Need advise please.. sad.gif

MBP 13" late 2011
2month out of warranty.. sad.gif
dinodog_Jr
post Jan 10 2013, 05:44 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

QUOTE(kokonut @ Jan 10 2013, 01:09 AM)
My mbp suddenly cant charge.. Connect the charger but the led on the magsafe charge not light up (green or orange).. Been try other power point still the same..  With extra long cable or with 3pin adapter still same..

Need advise please.. sad.gif

MBP 13" late 2011
2month out of warranty.. sad.gif
Try reset PRAM on your mbp...SMC reset.. Anything about reset you can google bout it.

TSwei
post Jan 10 2013, 11:38 PM

6,496 posts

Check your charger tip is all the pin are rise up. And Mac side, see if the port have any alien object it.

Else you try to test the charger on another Mac and loan a working charger to test is its your Mac and charger problem.
kokonut
post Jan 11 2013, 10:33 AM

57 posts

thank god it work now..

did the pram and smc reset but no work.. what i do before it work.. safely unpluged the power cord from the adapter cleaning the pin inside the adapter.. then connect together, power on, it light up.. at first the orange light blink and turn off.. after several attempt it works good.

thank a lot guys for the help.. biggrin.gif
dlaz
post Feb 5 2013, 07:59 AM

302 posts

Hi wei,just read your 2009 post.
is it still advisable to avoid the third party/oem charger today?
need to ganti my 85W charger,but so expensive.in stores is RM249.found one here in LYN trade zone its RM189.ebay is also around $50.
the third party/oem is only $25. please advise me.i have read your first post regarding grounding etc on the OEM charger. but still undecided biggrin.gif
cheers!
TSwei
post Feb 5 2013, 08:51 AM

6,496 posts

You want to risk your few thousand equipment because you want to save on hundred plus? Your call.
khmy2013
post Feb 5 2013, 11:01 PM

45 posts

Hi. I'm considering to upgrade my ram to 16GB (MBP 13' Mid 2012)

Apple Original Ram is too pricy and I afraid I cannot afford it.

well I'm considering Crucial's Ram.

And I heard some rumour that although Apple has stated MBP 13' Mid 2012 can only recognise up to 8GB ram, but somehow there are people trying for 16gb ram and the result was encouraging.

I wish I can get some opinion from you. smile.gif
TSwei
post Feb 5 2013, 11:46 PM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(khmy2013 @ Feb 5 2013, 11:01 PM)
Hi. I'm considering to upgrade my ram to 16GB (MBP 13' Mid 2012)

Apple Original Ram is too pricy and I afraid I cannot afford it.

well I'm considering Crucial's Ram.

And I heard some rumour that although Apple has stated MBP 13' Mid 2012 can only recognise up to 8GB ram, but somehow there are people trying for 16gb ram and the result was encouraging.

I wish I can get some opinion from you. smile.gif
Wrong topic for asking upgrade.
I believe this photo says it all:
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=389...&type=3&theater

This post has been edited by wei: Feb 5 2013, 11:50 PM
khmy2013
post Feb 6 2013, 12:13 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Feb 5 2013, 11:46 PM)
Wrong topic for asking upgrade.
I believe this photo says it all:
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=389...&type=3&theater
Yeah I know it is a little of off-topic

but it seems like you know much about those technical things

so I asked at here.

Good pic btw.

Then how about using ram of other brand? (Crucial or whatever)
TSwei
post Feb 6 2013, 12:18 AM

6,496 posts

I believe there are plenty of discussion on that already.
ahaksz28
post Mar 17 2013, 09:38 PM

174 posts

Hi I'm new to Mac. Just curious with my battery stats. Is it normal? Thank you.

TSwei
post Mar 17 2013, 11:49 PM

6,496 posts

That depends how old is your unit.
ahaksz28
post Mar 18 2013, 01:03 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Mar 17 2013, 11:49 PM)
That depends how old is your unit.
Based on that stats mine is 4.3 months old.
TSwei
post Mar 18 2013, 10:26 AM

6,496 posts

The age on coconut battery is estimated based on manufactured info on the battery. If that is correct, your usage is consider normal.
ahaksz28
post Mar 18 2013, 09:23 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Mar 18 2013, 10:26 AM)
The age on coconut battery is estimated based on manufactured info on the battery. If that is correct, your usage is consider normal.
Ok thank you. smile.gif
yuka
post Apr 29 2013, 07:15 PM

ヾ(\ ̄ー ̄)
2,265 posts

Update:

Hi, I bought used set of MBP Mid 2010, only came with laptop and charger. But he gave me only the short pin head, where to get only the long cable plug? If you do, please drop me a PM.

Thanks!
goner
post Apr 29 2013, 11:20 PM

461 posts

QUOTE(yuka @ Apr 29 2013, 07:15 PM)
Hi, I bought used set of MBP Mid 2010, only came with laptop and charger. But he gave me only the short pin head, where to get only the long cable plug? If you do, please drop me a PM.

Thanks!
the long cable plug is INCLUDED with the laptop. please ask it from him. i did went to apple outlet they don sell it as i know for now
BRY7
post Apr 29 2013, 11:37 PM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(goner @ Apr 29 2013, 11:20 PM)
the long cable plug is INCLUDED with the laptop. please ask it from him. i did went to apple outlet they don sell it as i know for now
included when you buy a brand new one, when it comes to secondhand its like 'as it is' wink.gif
goner
post Apr 30 2013, 06:22 PM

461 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Apr 29 2013, 11:37 PM)
included when you buy a brand new one, when it comes to secondhand its like 'as it is'  wink.gif
but by right the seller should give it to you as well right? @.@ shocking.gif
yuka
post May 2 2013, 02:16 AM

ヾ(\ ̄ー ̄)
2,265 posts

QUOTE(goner @ Apr 30 2013, 06:22 PM)
but by right the seller should give it to you as well right? @.@ shocking.gif
He does not have, and I'm the third owner of the laptop. sweat.gif
Luckily, someone selling it. nod.gif
goner
post May 2 2013, 08:57 AM

461 posts

QUOTE(yuka @ May 2 2013, 02:16 AM)
He does not have, and I'm the third owner of the laptop.  sweat.gif
Luckily, someone selling it.  nod.gif
3rd owner? hmmmm.... do you still have contact to whoever selling it? i'm looking for the 2 pin long cord. =X
yuka
post May 2 2013, 10:47 AM

ヾ(\ ̄ー ̄)
2,265 posts

QUOTE(goner @ May 2 2013, 08:57 AM)
3rd owner? hmmmm.... do you still have contact to whoever selling it? i'm looking for the 2 pin long cord. =X
1st owner nope. Btw, you might want to ask MacCore Solutions about the cord. smile.gif
TSOM
post Oct 25 2013, 07:20 PM

2,145 posts

How to solve this??

and is this normal???

Khalid21
post Oct 27 2013, 10:16 AM

1,138 posts

Where to buy macbook pro ori batery other than apple store....

BRY7
post Oct 27 2013, 12:05 PM

7,924 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Oct 25 2013, 07:20 PM)
How to solve this??

and is this normal???

thats not normal at all, your battery only has 50% of capacity left
mhdsaifulaziz
post Jan 13 2014, 02:46 PM

563 posts

Very Important:

Case#1:

Case#2:

Case#3:
As usual original battery died after extensive usage in few years. Owner then bought OEM battery. Things works fine for few weeks.  Then one day the his MacBook Pro refuse to boot up. After diagnose it was the battery causing over current and burned the logicboard. Repair cost him over RM2k.

Chargers:

Battery:

Update:

good~ for Apple stuff, is better to not but OEM products~ always go to ori~
sat
post Mar 28 2014, 05:17 PM

Where can I find macbook pro original battery? Checking with apple reseller service center in mid valley only cause misery - they need a whopping 2 weeks to replace battery because stock is from spore! Counter staff is no where close to live by apple's best in class standard of service excellence! Its the bolehland!
one2ka4
post Mar 31 2014, 02:17 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(sat @ Mar 28 2014, 05:17 PM)
Where can I find macbook pro original battery? Checking with apple reseller service center in mid valley only cause misery - they need a whopping 2 weeks to replace battery because stock is from spore! Counter staff is no where close to live by apple's best in class standard of service excellence! Its the bolehland!
Can't. All apple battery comes from Apple service centre.. some more, they will charge you for RM100 for labour!!! Ever heard of DS(lowyat plaza)? the shop there sell so call "OEM".. 1/2 the price, and instant delivery(pay and get on the spot)
eau-rouge
post Mar 31 2014, 04:02 PM

counting sheeps
550 posts

i bet there is a replacement set (ori or oem) in ebay..

need to diy though
one2ka4
post Apr 9 2014, 06:14 AM

438 posts

you could try owc --> macsales.com

worth a shot
one2ka4
post Apr 9 2014, 06:17 AM

438 posts

QUOTE(sat @ Mar 28 2014, 05:17 PM)
i changed my battery with machine north point mid. The cost is quite high cry.gif

But the good news is it only takes less than 2 weeks to repair (plus order)

I was also told that the battery price affects by the currency rate
lch36
post Apr 14 2014, 02:44 PM

~Testing~
1,452 posts

Is it safe to use 3rd party connector which connect MBA to HDMI monitor? Or use original from Apple is better?
melvintcs
post Apr 14 2014, 06:16 PM

♥ Photography ♪
1,350 posts

may i know how is the proper way to charge macbook?

should i removed the charger from macbook if it's already fully charged? or just let it be?
TSwei
post Apr 15 2014, 10:13 AM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(melvintcs @ Apr 14 2014, 06:16 PM)
may i know how is the proper way to charge macbook?

should i removed the charger from macbook if it's already fully charged? or just let it be?
http://www.apple.com/batteries/notebooks.html
CastonJ
post May 27 2014, 01:47 AM

Hello, interested on a Macbook 13" charger, and would you be free tomorrow to trade? Thanks, please get back to me, stupid charger's not working, can't proceed with my work. Also do reach me on what'sapp or email

012 - 2018 388
castonj@hotmail.com

thank you!
Sky.Live
post May 29 2014, 05:02 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(cRazYee @ Dec 22 2012, 11:52 AM)

I got shocked when I was in UK too, but I don't have the problem back in Malaysia.
It's down to your grounding design.. apparently there's underlying problem apple's adapter
fdazmi
post May 31 2014, 12:31 PM

22 posts

Hello guys, it seems that my macbook pro won't charge even though my battery level is low and the LED indicator on the magsafe still remain green and does not change to orange colour. I've tried resetting the SMC and PRAM but it's still not working.

Can anyone advise on this?

MBP 13" early 2011 and my APP still valid.

Thanks smile.gif

This post has been edited by fdazmi: May 31 2014, 12:34 PM
freez930
post Aug 24 2014, 12:14 PM

13 posts

how much would original battery cost?
kueh
post Sep 19 2014, 04:19 PM

25 posts

my macbook pro is less than 6 months. when using it, being charged at the same time, i could feel some mild shocks. a couple of days ago, the charger went kaput. repairing would take a month plus. strange as i expect the store would replace it with new one as it's still under warranty.
xaw5126
post Sep 19 2014, 05:04 PM

3,488 posts

@ kueh go to service centre. retail store usually don't have / keep service parts.
TSwei
post Sep 22 2014, 01:03 PM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(kueh @ Sep 19 2014, 04:19 PM)
my macbook pro is less than 6 months. when using it, being charged at the same time, i could feel some mild shocks. a couple of days ago, the charger went kaput. repairing would take a month plus. strange as i expect the store would replace it with new one as it's still under warranty.
1month+ is really slow, maybe you send to VR Technology if you are around KL. Their usual turn-around is 2 weeks.
one2ka4
post Sep 23 2014, 10:00 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(freez930 @ Aug 24 2014, 12:14 PM)
how much would original battery cost?
depends on model.. mine is 6++ at machines

early 2011
Sky.Live
post Sep 26 2014, 11:38 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

My MBA which was dead 1 year ago (due to water spillage) was ressurrected again when I tried to turn it on again. But I found out that the battery is totally kaput and I need a replacement.

I want to do it myself, anyone know where can I get the pentalobe screwdriver

0.0896sec    0.33    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 06:29 AM