Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
2 Pages < 1 2 
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Malaysia ISPs Price [Discuz]

Is the following price acceptable?

Yes [ 16 ] ** [26.67%]
No (Please post your price) [ 44 ] ** [73.33%]
Total Votes: 60
Guests cannot vote 
post Nov 5 2009, 05:27 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #21

Group: Senior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

“William Yeung, Chief Executive Officer of HKBN noted that at least 32% of Internet users in Hong Kong suffer from broadband speeds below 10Mbps, and the Hong Kong special administrative region of the People’s Republic of China lags behind Korea and Japan in terms of fiber to the home service, something Yeung would like to see changed.”

Check this out at lowyat.net.

For the home lite I wish to see higher speed. Also RM300+ for 100mbps is super expensive. Somemore it is UP TO, not guaranteed. If a company can guaranteed at least 80%, it will be good. Otherwise, sweat.gif get 100mbps but real speed at 1mbps, what's the point? Now I'm paying RM88 already get 1.7-1.8 mbps, I can't see much improvement to subscribe the home lite package which is ONLY 2MBPS.

Added on November 5, 2009, 5:29 pmAlso, the upload speed is way too low. home lite-4mbps download 1mbps upload will be alright.

This is what happened when a company monopoly in a country, overpriced their services.

This post has been edited by 5564321: Nov 5 2009, 05:29 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
slimyboy
post Nov 5 2009, 08:02 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #22

Group: Junior Member

My girlfriend gets 10mb/s for 15 euroes every month via Virgin Media in the UK (Which is the only company to provide fibre optics/Monopoly). So I guess for the 12mb/s package around RM90-RM110 should be fair smile.gif

So it's a no for me.

This post has been edited by slimyboy: Nov 5 2009, 08:03 PM
+Quote Post
brian12988
post Nov 5 2009, 08:36 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #23

Looking for ideas for Android programming..

QUOTE(vista enthusiasist @ Nov 4 2009, 05:27 PM)
LOL Goverment should subsidize and make the price as low as possible...

nod.gif

QUOTE(Borsch Soup @ Nov 4 2009, 05:53 PM)
KL- need to work multiple job to survive, not the kind of life I would like to live.

SPM leavers earn how much? Fresh grads earn how much? So how much you would like to charge?

internet is not a life neccesity, its just a tool, charge too much, people will not use.

internet is a must for me.. cry.gif

frankly..given 100Mbps..or even 10Mbps...can we even use it all?? but consider that we dont torrent..i dont see why we need such speeds...even for me...IF my bro dont torrent...i can load international pages..real fast..but when he starts torrenting..it slows down..
plus i dont quite see which home user needs such speeds...unless u are starting a web server of some sort at home.. laugh.gif
+Quote Post
eGlobal
post Nov 5 2009, 08:38 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #24

Agree =)
+Quote Post
hermes15184
post Nov 5 2009, 08:46 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #25

if hsbb is launched, i think price should be affordable for everybody since our govt wants 50% broadband penetration by the end of next year.

the avg price i think for 1mbps should be around RM10-15. 4mbps should be RM40-50, 10 mbps - RM80-100, 100 mbps - RM 200-250 max.
+Quote Post
Suk
post Nov 5 2009, 09:01 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #26

QUOTE(azwan92 @ Nov 4 2009, 06:17 PM)
100MBPS should be RM150, 12MBPS should be RM100, 8MBPS should be at RM60, 2MBPS sohuld be RM30/40. Seriously, the OP's suggested price is too expensive. Its like 80 euros for 100MBPS while my friend in overseas get like 100MBPs\S for 40 euros. :S

Possible, with bandwidth capped like 20GB per month, 100GB per month.

If 100Mbps - RM300 shared with 5 neighbor's then not bad also.
20Mbps each for RM60 biggrin.gif

100Mbps local, 10mbps international- RM150 --> using this method can reduce the cost of purchasing additional bandwidth from oversea. and espeicially when come to BT/Emule/Torrent. 1 seed from local can upload every user. just like PenangFon.

for me, 4Mbps international link is enough.
+Quote Post
brian12988
post Nov 5 2009, 09:17 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #27

QUOTE(hermes15184 @ Nov 5 2009, 08:46 PM)
if hsbb is launched, i think price should be affordable for everybody since our govt wants 50% broadband penetration by the end of next year.

the avg price i think for 1mbps should be around RM10-15.  4mbps should be RM40-50, 10 mbps - RM80-100, 100 mbps - RM 200-250 max.

i would stick to 10Mbps... laugh.gif coz it hovers around the current package i am paying for..

QUOTE(Suk @ Nov 5 2009, 09:01 PM)
Possible, with bandwidth capped like 20GB per month, 100GB per month.
If 100Mbps - RM300 shared with 5 neighbor's then not bad also.
20Mbps each for RM60 biggrin.gif

100Mbps local, 10mbps international- RM150 --> using this method can reduce the cost of purchasing additional bandwidth from oversea. and espeicially when come to BT/Emule/Torrent.  1 seed from local can upload every user.  just like PenangFon.
for me, 4Mbps international link is enough.

true aso...but local traffic has to flow smoothly...and users MUST share...then it would work...but if 100Mbps get 10Mbps international speed..then 10Mbps get 1Mbps international..oh..and provided that there is a content server in malaysia as well...then it would help in easing the need to purchase bandwidth..
+Quote Post
aiyoyo
post Nov 6 2009, 12:34 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #28

Group: New Member

8mbps around rm100 pls~

if government want to achieve the target penetration, they need to force the isp to supply package below rm30. maybe slower speed, but at least allow more ppl to get online.
+Quote Post
eGlobal
post Nov 6 2009, 12:37 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #29

QUOTE(aiyoyo @ Nov 6 2009, 12:34 AM)
8mbps around rm100 pls~
if government want to achieve the target penetration, they need to force the isp to supply package below rm30. maybe slower speed, but at least allow more ppl to get online.

I think msia goverment cant since they know (MAKAN WANG) rclxub.gif
+Quote Post
d3l4croix
post Nov 6 2009, 08:22 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #30

i dun mind the cost at all, as long as we get what we paid for. for now i think price/speed ratio are very high
+Quote Post
yangxi
post Nov 6 2009, 10:40 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #31

Violinist ^.^ 囧 囧

I can afford..

10mb for RM200-RM240 or 8mb @RM160

(i pay my 2mb+4mb also this price)

+Quote Post
azwan92
post Nov 6 2009, 09:33 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #32

Hey guys check this out.

+Quote Post
takkicom
post Nov 6 2009, 11:08 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #33

china broadband 8mpbs 3 month = Rm99
Philippine 4mpbs 3 month = rm99
therefore malaysia is one of the top 10 most expensive ISP
+Quote Post
brian12988
post Nov 7 2009, 12:02 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #34

QUOTE(takkicom @ Nov 6 2009, 11:08 PM)
china broadband 8mpbs 3 month = Rm99
Philippine 4mpbs 3 month = rm99
therefore malaysia is one of the top 10 most expensive ISP

but is this price relevant to the earning power and cost of living there as well..
simply converting USD to RM is not a good comparison....which is why we have the BigMac test.. nod.gif
+Quote Post

2 Pages < 1 2
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd November 2009 - 04:52 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)