Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
2 Pages  1 2 > 
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Saga Brake Fade, Brake fade when stopping from high speed

badshah
post Nov 3 2009, 03:02 PM

Group: New Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

Good Day everyone,
I recently bought a new Saga Aeroback 1.3L. I am usually a laid back driver but few days back had to drive the car at around 120Km/Hr with a few stops from high speed. The car performed well but then on my fourth stop the car refused to stop for a U-Turn and I had to take it doing 40 something, which was not amusing to say the least sad.gif . Allowed the brakes to cool down a bit and did not drive fast after that.
I suspect that it is a brake fade issue, anyone experience something similar? I was thinking of changing the pads to something more resilient to higher temp. The car has only 3.5K Km on it and still is under warranty so I don't want to perform any warranty voiding mods at the moment. smile.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
imperialrealcs
post Nov 3 2009, 06:20 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!

Group: Senior Member

maybe the brake pad was not break in properly.. u may try RS 450c brake pad for saga.. very good brake even always brake when downhill genting still can tahan biggrin.gif
+Quote Post
badshah
post Nov 4 2009, 01:54 AM

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Nov 3 2009, 03:20 PM)
.. u may try RS 450c brake pad for saga.. very good brake even always brake when downhill genting still can tahan biggrin.gif

Hey thanks for that. any link for that paticular iterm? By the way I don't want anything too aggressive that may eat my discs or produce too much dust.
+Quote Post
the_catacombs
post Nov 4 2009, 02:19 AM

8 stars wooo....

original saga disc rotor is solid disc... vr easily prone to overheating due to bad heat dissipation...

my suggestion, change to this one..

+Quote Post
akubudakshahalam
post Nov 4 2009, 03:23 AM

Group: Junior Member

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Nov 4 2009, 02:19 AM)
original saga disc rotor is solid disc... vr easily prone to overheating due to bad heat dissipation...

itu twin pot ye?
+Quote Post
imperialrealcs
post Nov 4 2009, 03:50 AM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!

QUOTE(badshah @ Nov 4 2009, 01:54 AM)
Hey thanks for that. any link for that paticular iterm? By the way I don't want anything too aggressive that may eat my discs or produce too much dust.

u may contact maddriver from this forum.. btw, i've been using it for quite long time on my wira and my disc is still good after 2 terms of usage.. dust wise not sure

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Nov 4 2009, 02:19 AM)

all saga also solid ah? including those lmst?

QUOTE(akubudakshahalam @ Nov 4 2009, 03:23 AM)
itu twin pot ye?

i dont think it is.. maybe is ventilated rotor
+Quote Post
the_catacombs
post Nov 4 2009, 02:22 PM

8 stars wooo....

QUOTE(akubudakshahalam @ Nov 4 2009, 03:23 AM)
itu twin pot ye?

single pot jer... brek dari mitsu rvr...

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Nov 4 2009, 03:50 AM)
all saga also solid ah? including those lmst?

yeap... all saga solid rotor... not ventilated..
+Quote Post
rozz_1291
post Nov 4 2009, 03:51 PM

4G15 injection 12valves

I would rekomen dis type too... nod.gif

Poison2 tongue.gif

RVR is PnP... VR4 must mod abit only @ da knuckle... nod.gif Mirage n Perdana brakes I m not sure... hmm.gif

But there r a few 4 Sagas icon_rolleyes.gif
+Quote Post
loong2020
post Nov 4 2009, 04:38 PM

wah...means saga/iswara/lmst also solid disc brakes???...
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
the_catacombs
post Nov 4 2009, 04:58 PM

8 stars wooo....

QUOTE(loong2020 @ Nov 4 2009, 04:38 PM)

yes..
+Quote Post
rozz_1291
post Nov 4 2009, 06:15 PM

4G15 injection 12valves

QUOTE(loong2020 @ Nov 4 2009, 04:38 PM)

Saga/Iswara/Aeroback/UK spec/LMSS/LMST all same only... facelift looks diffrnt... Aeroback got short butt tongue.gif
+Quote Post
akubudakshahalam
post Nov 4 2009, 08:24 PM

QUOTE(rozz_1291 @ Nov 4 2009, 03:51 PM)
I would rekomen dis type too... nod.gif

Poison2 tongue.gif

RVR is PnP... VR4 must mod abit only @ da knuckle... nod.gif  Mirage n Perdana brakes I m not sure... hmm.gif

But there r a few 4 Sagas icon_rolleyes.gif

RVR is PNP? then i can put this on my Iswara rear brake without modifying anything?

how about the price with installation?
+Quote Post
rozz_1291
post Nov 5 2009, 02:57 AM

4G15 injection 12valves

QUOTE(akubudakshahalam @ Nov 4 2009, 08:24 PM)
RVR is PNP? then i can put this on my Iswara rear brake without modifying anything?

Front n rear brakes r not da same ler... nod.gif Dis type is 4 front disc only... Rear must mod 2 fit in... Perdana n Mirage can use on Saga/Iswara as rear disc but not PnP nod.gif

This post has been edited by rozz_1291: Nov 5 2009, 02:57 AM
+Quote Post
mADmAN
post Nov 5 2009, 05:42 AM

} InSAnITY PErSoNaFIeD {

since u dun wanna do any warranty voiding mods yet....

id recommend the RS 450C pads from maddriver as well.

but id also recommend getting some cold air intake hoses and pointing them to towards ur disc to help cool them down and avoid more brake fade. only thing is..i dunno if this is gonna make the discs/pads too cold later on.

think id do the hoses first... and see how it goes...

pads later. performance pads usually dont perform very well when theyre cold.
+Quote Post
badshah
post Nov 5 2009, 10:39 AM

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Nov 5 2009, 02:42 AM)

id recommend the RS 450C pads from maddriver as well.
but id also recommend getting some cold air intake hoses and pointing them to towards ur disc to help cool them down and avoid more brake fade. only thing is..i dunno if this is gonna make the discs/pads too cold later on.
think id do the hoses first... and see how it goes...

pads later. performance pads usually dont perform very well when theyre cold.

interesting to know that last bit. Would be taking it to the SC as they want to check it out unsure.gif apparently they don't believe it is brake fade issue.
I may order the RS 450C only problem is they are in My and I am in Pk tongue.gif
by the way which Mitsu model should I search under for the pads/ ventilated discs. It would be easier to get performance stuff by using Mitsu model.
+Quote Post
the_catacombs
post Nov 5 2009, 09:07 PM

8 stars wooo....

QUOTE(rozz_1291 @ Nov 4 2009, 06:15 PM)
Saga/Iswara/Aeroback/UK spec/LMSS/LMST all same only... facelift looks diffrnt... Aeroback got short butt tongue.gif

ronzai say his uk spec iswara uses ventilated disc wor...

QUOTE(akubudakshahalam @ Nov 4 2009, 08:24 PM)

the only rear disc brake pnp into saga iswara is from mirage c62...

+Quote Post
rozz_1291
post Nov 6 2009, 10:10 AM

4G15 injection 12valves

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Nov 5 2009, 09:07 PM)
ronzai say his uk spec iswara uses ventilated disc wor...

blink.gif Later I go n check.... hmm.gif
+Quote Post
akubudakshahalam
post Nov 7 2009, 08:31 AM

thanks bro cata,i thought RvR can pNp into rear.

only front oni.didnt think want to change front one.

thinking of installing disc brake at back for more safety.
+Quote Post
the_catacombs
post Nov 7 2009, 08:53 PM

8 stars wooo....

QUOTE(akubudakshahalam @ Nov 7 2009, 08:31 AM)
thanks bro cata,i thought RvR can pNp into rear.

only front oni.didnt think want to change front one.

thinking of installing disc brake at back for more safety.

nola... rvr plug n play to the front... not rear... rear pnp ones only from mirage c62....

rear disc brakes dont play a major role in slow speed braking... u can only feel its benefits when slowing down from speeds exceed 130-140kmh... if u alwiz travel around town below 80kmh, jz maintain ur drum brakes can d... upgrade to twin layer servo and good brake pads can d...
+Quote Post
rozz_1291
post Nov 8 2009, 01:05 AM

4G15 injection 12valves

UK spec oso normal soleed disc wor... nod.gif

Japan Specs only ventilated disc wit twin pot calipers.... whistling.gif tongue.gif
+Quote Post

2 Pages  1 2 >
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th November 2009 - 08:39 AM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)