Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
3 Pages < 1 2 3 
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Compact Digital Camera = DSLR image quality?, nearly as DSLR image quality..

ahyie
post Nov 4 2009, 07:43 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #41

Group: Junior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

Lumix LX3, Canon G10 and G11, Canon S90
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
latias93
post Nov 4 2009, 11:33 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #42

Mafia Wars Addict

Group: Senior Member

From experience, I'd say Panasonic Lumix LX-3. Costs about RM1,400 if not mistaken, at the moment. It's only slightly bigger than a compact. Don't have to carry around a baby DSLR (prosumer) camera this way biggrin.gif
+Quote Post
cypher
post Nov 4 2009, 02:04 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #43

CYPHER - CRAPPY SPEAKER

depends on what u want from your camera...there is someone compare compact camera with mine by saying that theirs got some special mode to do special things, u know..photo taken with some frame on it... *sweat* ><" while my DSLR need lens or cannot do...

but i dont care la..their needs is not my needs...
+Quote Post
Hico
post Nov 4 2009, 08:14 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #44

true..it really depend on what u need..some prefer LX3 cos its not over exposed when taking the photos, then the photo can be adjusted again using photoshop or other program which is good.. but some required something which is brighter or a bit exposed which look very fresh and bright...etc etc .but this will be difficult to correct using the program after that...this is what i read from review of the users ...

but i think if i am doing travelling often and not that often doing the professional photo takers, Lx3, S90 or G11 should be more than enough..imagine when u wan to take the photo, u need to take out ur dslr, fit ur lens, put up ur flash adjust the setting etc etc, the scene or people u wan to take already gone.. for me, the most important thing is easy, portable, fast and accurate..

at first i was thinking like u, either get a dslr or semi pro camera, but after consider all the above factor etc, i decided to get a semi pro first.. and i also dun wan to carry half of the luggage which is full of the camera assesories when go to travelling..

but i will still get a micro 4/3 later.. this is for me when really want to take some serious photos..but not that soon.. cos i am satisfy with my LX3 already..and i dun need dslr quality so often yet..and from what i look, S90 is not bad too..and receive a lot of compliment from many users.. what it really attract me is the pocketable.. LX3 's advantage is can use lens like telephoto, wide angle, micro, uv, lens hood etc etc and got hot shoe on it. yet its not that big too... both produce good quality photos.. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by Hico: Nov 4 2009, 08:17 PM
+Quote Post
ShenWoo
post Nov 4 2009, 08:49 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #45

So what's new?

Those lens for LX3 like wide angle or telephoto actually ruins the picture. Infact anything short of the blocking the beautiful lx3 lens will prohibit its strongest feature, taking clear and fast images.

Only thing I would recommend for the LX3 are filters, like polarizers since they improve the image further rather then making it worse. I just got those filter and I tell you, it really further open up the possibilities of this camera.

If you are still new to photography, I would suggest Canon S90. I had problems getting used to LX3. Not only its a Panasonic camera (diff menus, diff settings) but also the number of manual controls around this thing is simply too much (ratio, focus, AE lock, focus lock, FLASH LOCK).

But then again, if you are serious and want to take on a DSLR in the near future, LX3 is a damn good camera to start practicing your inner shutterbug. I've also recently learned about Flash Guns, Filters, photo ratio angles and low light photography because of it.

In short, long run for LX3. Immediate use, S90 (the wheels is simply AMAZING)
+Quote Post
Hico
post Nov 4 2009, 10:36 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #46

QUOTE(ShenWoo @ Nov 4 2009, 08:49 PM)
Those lens for LX3 like wide angle or telephoto actually ruins the picture. Infact anything short of the blocking the beautiful lx3 lens will prohibit its strongest feature, taking clear and fast images.

Only thing I would recommend for the LX3 are filters, like polarizers since they improve the image further rather then making it worse. I just got those filter and I tell you, it really further open up the possibilities of this camera.

If you are still new to photography, I would suggest Canon S90. I had problems getting used to LX3. Not only its a Panasonic camera (diff menus, diff settings) but also the number of manual controls around this thing is simply too much (ratio, focus, AE lock, focus lock, FLASH LOCK).

But then again, if you are serious and want to take on a DSLR in the near future, LX3 is a damn good camera to start practicing your inner shutterbug. I've also recently learned about Flash Guns, Filters, photo ratio angles and low light photography because of it.

In short, long run for LX3. Immediate use, S90 (the wheels is simply AMAZING)

haha...definately agree with your last sentence! S90 is very easy to use compare with LX3...but for me i feel the other way round, i really like the manual controls like u said ratio, focus, AE lock, focus lock, flash lock..i feel that cos of all the controls, then can produce even better pic compare to the camera which cant set much controls...u know after i used LX3, i tried my dad's olympus u9000 again which used to be very trendy and good especially the zoom for me last time, now olympus really look nth.. the colour produce by that camera compare with my LX3 really can say one is sky and another is ground.. tongue.gif

wat type of filters u got? i just ordered the uv filter, plr filters, flourescent filters from ebay too..and few more lens like wide angle, telephoto lens, macro lens, gray filter lens..but not yetreceive it..so cant try it yet..what i dun like its the built in flash..when flash directly it will ruin the photos taken..so i am finding flash diffuser too..its kinda cheap.. dun think i am overspent on a semi pro camera.or ask me go get dslr..as i said i will get one but i still prefer point and shoot camera ..so LX3 is really look like a semi dslr.. laugh.gif

saying the truth..s90 really move my heart too..lx3 can become my professional camera and s90 can become my walking partner? rolleyes.gif doh.gif brows.gif

This post has been edited by Hico: Nov 4 2009, 10:39 PM

+Quote Post
Sugarilla
post Nov 20 2009, 01:26 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #47

Group: Junior Member

QUOTE(Hico @ Nov 4 2009, 10:36 PM)
haha...definately agree with your last sentence! S90 is very easy to use compare with LX3...but for me i feel the other way round, i really like the manual controls like u said ratio, focus, AE lock, focus lock, flash lock..i feel that cos of all the controls, then can produce even better pic compare to the camera which cant set much controls...u know after i used LX3, i tried my dad's olympus u9000 again which used to be very trendy and good especially the zoom for me last time, now olympus really look nth.. the colour produce by that camera compare with my LX3 really can say one is sky and another is ground..  tongue.gif

wat type of filters u got? i just ordered the uv filter, plr filters, flourescent filters from ebay too..and few more lens like wide angle, telephoto lens, macro lens, gray filter lens..but not yetreceive it..so cant try it yet..what i dun like its the built in flash..when flash directly it will ruin the photos taken..so i am finding flash diffuser too..its kinda cheap.. dun think i am  overspent on a semi pro camera.or ask me go get dslr..as i said i will get one but i still prefer point and shoot camera ..so LX3 is really look like a semi dslr..  laugh.gif

saying the truth..s90 really move my heart too..lx3 can become my professional camera and s90 can become my walking partner?  rolleyes.gif  doh.gif  brows.gif

hey i'm planning to get a LX 3 too ^^ may i know roughly much those filters and lens cost?
+Quote Post
NasiLemakMan
post Nov 20 2009, 02:10 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #48

oh hai! wan naslemak?

Laurance Kim would like to talk to you...
+Quote Post

3 Pages < 1 2 3
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th November 2009 - 01:48 AM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)