Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
2 Pages  1 2 > 
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> [WTA] Condo don't have phone line?, need all your advise.. pls share~

post Oct 30 2009, 11:12 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1

Group: Junior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

Hi all,

I'm moving into a year 2006 built condo in OFF OLD KLANG ROAD - Sri Jati 2 condo and now only i realise there's no phone line for this "new" condo as told by TM.. any residence staying in Sri Jati 2 mind to confirm?

this is Msia year 2009 and i really can't believe a new condo does not have a single inch of fixed line? even worst than KAMPUNG la! for those who used to live at condo, some condo really NO phone line in wall?

i need to install a fixed line for calls and Streamyx.. sighh.. hope you guys can brighten my sky~ thanks~!

This post has been edited by 13579: Oct 31 2009, 12:14 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ahcheap
post Oct 31 2009, 12:22 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2

When was the last time u apply?
+Quote Post
kons
post Oct 31 2009, 07:06 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #3

smallpox
Linux & Networking

Group: Moderator

Check with the condo management.
+Quote Post
post Oct 31 2009, 12:07 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #4

QUOTE(kons @ Oct 31 2009, 07:06 AM)

ya lo.. goin to check with condo managemnt nex week when i move in.. but what's the normal condo standard? usual have phone line or mostly don't have?
+Quote Post
hhbks
post Oct 31 2009, 03:26 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #5

go ask the condo management. Maybe they gave it to Maxis or Time? tongue.gif
+Quote Post
post Oct 31 2009, 03:53 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #6

shit lo.. i only want TM.. i used a lot fixed line calls.. die die.. aighh..
+Quote Post
automan5891
post Oct 31 2009, 05:07 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #7

Because everyone now use handphone only and also laying copper wire = extra cost for the developer. All new housing areas and buildings are like this.
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
cameltoe
post Oct 31 2009, 08:40 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #8

NO phone line but at least must be fiber ready!

Take the effort to push the developer to get a telco company to provide their services there. If TM refuses, get Time or Jaring or even Maxis to provide fixed line to the building.
+Quote Post
post Oct 31 2009, 09:42 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #9

hmmm.. thank all for the previous advise.. i need Streamyx.. i really can't survive with wireless fair usage quota.. P1 rm99 only 20GB.. sighh..
+Quote Post
automan5891
post Oct 31 2009, 10:14 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #10

QUOTE(13579 @ Oct 31 2009, 09:42 PM)
hmmm.. thank all for the previous advise.. i need Streamyx.. i really can't survive with wireless fair usage quota.. P1 rm99 only 20GB.. sighh..

They have unlimited at RM160.
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
post Nov 1 2009, 12:33 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #11

Rm160 so expensv.. with streamyx Rm160 i can get 4MB.. read a lot review on P1.. not really stable.. sometimes fast sometimes can't even move at all T_T .. still Streamyx the best for me..

This post has been edited by 13579: Nov 1 2009, 12:34 AM
+Quote Post
muyyaqdhom
post Nov 1 2009, 09:15 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #12

streamyx 4mbs not stable. not all streamyx server build for 4 mbps account.
+Quote Post
sexualpower
post Nov 1 2009, 12:11 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #13

Broadband Internet Provider

Group: Senior Member

QUOTE(kons @ Oct 31 2009, 07:06 AM)

I advise the same~ you may get Maxis or TM fixed line~

For single user, I advise nothing more than 1Mbps~
+Quote Post
kons
post Nov 1 2009, 12:18 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #14

smallpox
Linux & Networking

Group: Moderator

QUOTE(13579 @ Oct 31 2009, 12:07 PM)
ya lo.. goin to check with condo managemnt nex week when i move in.. but what's the normal condo standard? usual have phone line or mostly don't have?

Most condo has phone lines.
But maybe some extraordinary condos does not provide them..

The stories I've heard before is that, these copper wires was stolen some time back (copper fetch good price in the market) and no one is willing to share the cost to replace all of them, in the end, all of them ended up without phone line.
+Quote Post
post Nov 1 2009, 11:10 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #15

hmmm.. really thank u all for the valuable comment.. most prob will get P1 if really no Tm fixed line.. sighhh.. seems like P1 now quite stable? pls correct me if i'm wrong..

Added on November 1, 2009, 11:43 pm
QUOTE(sexualpower @ Nov 1 2009, 12:11 PM)
I advise the same~ you may get Maxis or TM fixed line~

For single user, I advise nothing more than 1Mbps~

bro.. saw ur ad for the AMAX broadbnd.. good aR? rm118 1.5Mbps unlimited usage seems good la..

This post has been edited by 13579: Nov 1 2009, 11:43 PM
+Quote Post
rajulkabir
post Nov 2 2009, 05:07 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #16

QUOTE(automan5891 @ Oct 31 2009, 05:07 PM)
Because everyone now use handphone only and also laying copper wire = extra cost for the developer. All new housing areas and buildings are like this.

I don't think so. I know many people who have moved into new buildings finished over the past couple years. They all have Streamyx (and hence they all have fixed lines).

If the developer is so cheap they didn't allow a few ringgit per unit for copper phone wiring, I would be worried they also used old rice porridge mix in the cement. Better get lots of insurance - and a parachute!
+Quote Post
sexualpower
post Nov 2 2009, 01:11 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #17

Broadband Internet Provider

QUOTE(13579 @ Nov 1 2009, 11:10 PM)
hmmm.. really thank u all for the valuable comment.. most prob will get P1 if really no Tm fixed line.. sighhh.. seems like P1 now quite stable? pls correct me if i'm wrong..

Added on November 1, 2009, 11:43 pm
bro.. saw ur ad for the AMAX broadbnd.. good aR? rm118 1.5Mbps unlimited usage seems good la..

no coverage from Amax there~ you should wait for management's reply on wired broadband~ wired always beat wireless~ if there is no choice, then only consider wireless~
+Quote Post
lanny
post Nov 2 2009, 04:07 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #18

Some area's do not have fixed line due to the fact that there may not be enough port to install yet. Or, ports sudah habis, so temporarily, dont install yet

Some Developers may have signed contract with Telco / internet broadband provider that they provide the entire condo with internet connection via WIFI. cost is ofcourse bared by the tenants.

still same, talk to the management
+Quote Post
post Nov 2 2009, 09:49 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #19

hmm.. thanks all for the precious comment.. Amex sounds nice but too bad no coverage.. thanks guys!
+Quote Post
C-Note
post Nov 3 2009, 12:41 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #20

6-Stars Wanted Level

eh guys,

Is there a way to add another phone line? me living in condo too and only have one which is in the living room( my desktop in room). Sometimes I get really fed up with wireless and wish to install another phoneline in my room. Do I call TM or my condo management?

Thx!
+Quote Post

2 Pages  1 2 >
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th November 2009 - 01:17 AM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)