Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
3 Pages  1 2 3 > 
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Worth to get ULV Thin and light lappy?, ULV more expensive than normal proc

Will u get a ULV thin and light lappy?

Yes [ 28 ] ** [75.68%]
No [ 5 ] ** [13.51%]
What is ULV? [ 4 ] ** [10.81%]
Total Votes: 37
Guests cannot vote 
new in IT
post Oct 30 2009, 09:31 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1

Group: Junior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

Hello,

Regarding to the emerging market of thin and light netbook/notebook, most of them will be using either Intel or AMD ultra-low-vlotage processor. Some say these kind of processor are far better than current Atom processor that storm the netbook market. However, the price for these processor are far more higher than the Atom processor and probably higher than those normal/common notebook processor.

So is it worth to pay more for longer battery life and mobility?
Or just get a normal lappy instead for more processing power?

What's you guys opinion?

From Wikipedia, :' Ultra low voltage (ULV) is a class of microprocessors that are deliberately underclocked to use less power at the expense of performance. This reduces the heat produced, and extends battery life, and so ULVs are often seen in subnotebooks, netbooks, and ultraportables and embedded devices.'

From Wikipedia, :' Consumer Ultra-Low Voltage (CULV) is a computing platform developed by Intel. Some of the lowest power using processors for the ultra thin CULV category may be only a few watts more than the Intel Atom, which is rated at no more than 2.5 W. Because of their low energy use and low heat output, CULV enables very thin computer systems, and long battery life in notebook computers.

While the first processors in this category were single core, (such as the SU3500), newer CULV processors are dual core (e.g., the SU9600). They are all based on the Intel Core 2 architecture, but the ultra-low voltage versions use 5.5 W, more than the Intel Atom but a fraction of the dual-core mainstream Intel mobile chips rated at 25 and 35 watts, and they come in a small 22 mm chip package."

This post has been edited by new in IT: Nov 2 2009, 11:47 AM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ultimate66
post Oct 30 2009, 09:36 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2

i5 and i7 rules...
+Quote Post
new in IT
post Oct 30 2009, 09:42 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #3

QUOTE(ultimate66 @ Oct 30 2009, 10:36 PM)
i5 and i7 rules...

Yup, in terms pf processing power.

How long can the battery tahan?
+Quote Post
cloudstrife07
post Oct 30 2009, 10:18 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #4

let's turn the chessboard around

Group: Senior Member

to me it's worth it.

i've been using laptops that only has 2 hours of battery life (blame the graphic cards, they're medium end ones during their time so it drains the battery faster) so now i need a longer battery life laptops without sacrificing the visuals (10inch LCD are too small for me) and faster processing speed than atoms too. so i chose CULV laptops to do the job for me.

right now from what i see, judging from battery life, performance and price comparison, the Asus UL80VT is the most worth it.

This post has been edited by cloudstrife07: Oct 30 2009, 10:19 PM
+Quote Post
kucingfight
post Oct 30 2009, 10:20 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #5

I Want My B00bs back!!

Group: Elite

again, it's all depending on ur need.
processing power + long batt life? culv's ur choice
+Quote Post
Loki[D.d.G]
post Oct 30 2009, 10:20 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #6

Un Regalo Que Te Dio La Vida

QUOTE(ultimate66 @ Oct 30 2009, 09:36 PM)
i5 and i7 rules...

You can ignore this post, he generally spams with plenty of useless, or next to useless comments.

About the poll, perhaps you should state in what terms we are comparing the processors. Because some people, me included, like laptops with power, whilst others want as much battery longevity as possible. So as I said, our opinion will depend on our personal preferences.
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
Miyabi
post Oct 30 2009, 10:35 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #7

Katana

if you always on the go, mobility is your priority. thenrefore, it worth to go with ULV notebook. its expensive than Atom, but it has better performance over it.

my priority when buying notebook usually goes like this:
1. lightweight
2. better batt. life
3. powerful
4. better built

of course powerful is not totally focus on how well the gpu is, but its overall performance for daily task.

anyway, like the rest mention, see what is your priority.
i vote for yes since mobility comes first when i were choosing the notebook smile.gif

cheers.
+Quote Post
Loki[D.d.G]
post Oct 30 2009, 10:42 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #8

Un Regalo Que Te Dio La Vida

QUOTE(Miyabi @ Oct 30 2009, 10:35 PM)
anyway, like the rest mention, see what is your priority.
i vote for yes since mobility comes first when i were choosing the notebook smile.gif

Mobility is a subjective word. There are those who travel a lot and cant get a decent desktop and hence have to rely on powerful notebooks i.e. workstations to provide the performance they need. Funny thing is, you may move around lots and still be near a power socket at all times, hence making a CULV lose its appeal.

But then again, there are those who consider mobility as being able to use their laptop without plugging it in most of the time. So, again, its kind of a double edged thing.
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
bibbyGirl
post Oct 31 2009, 12:09 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #9

QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Oct 30 2009, 10:18 PM)
to me it's worth it.

i've been using laptops that only has 2 hours of battery life (blame the graphic cards, they're medium end ones during their time so it drains the battery faster) so now i need a longer battery life laptops without sacrificing the visuals (10inch LCD are too small for me) and faster processing speed than atoms too. so i chose CULV laptops to do the job for me.

right now from what i see, judging from battery life, performance and price comparison, the Asus UL80VT is the most worth it.

how much is the asus UL80vt?
+Quote Post
kucingfight
post Oct 31 2009, 12:09 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #10

I Want My B00bs back!!

Group: Elite

QUOTE(bibbyGirl @ Oct 31 2009, 12:09 AM)
how much is the asus UL80vt?

2899rm
+Quote Post
alien3d
post Oct 31 2009, 02:09 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #11

If you are working guy and want to present something.Opppss batery out?how?
1.battery
2.durability
+Quote Post
new in IT
post Oct 31 2009, 09:35 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #12

So far, what we have here in the market are the followings processors:

Intel® Centrino® 2 processor technology

SU9600 SU9400 SU9300

Intel® Centrino® processor technology

SU3500 SU3300

Intel® Core™2 Duo processor

SU9600 SU9400 SU9300 SU7300

Intel® Core™2 Solo processor

SU3500 SU3300

Intel® Pentium® processor

SU4100(2 cores) SU2700

Intel® Celeron® processor

SU2300(2 cores) 743 723

The higher the processor no. , the pricier it be.

According to some reviews, the processor is much more energy saving then the chipset.
Which means the chipset consumes more power. sweat.gif
Maybe Intel should pay a little attention on their power-craving chipsets.

This post has been edited by new in IT: Oct 31 2009, 09:36 AM
+Quote Post
astria
post Oct 31 2009, 09:39 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #13

Onion

well, but dun forget CPU and dedicated GPU are wat consumes the most power...

a C2D T consumes 35W, while a GPU like HD4570 can consume 20W easily... while mobo consumes 10-15W, depends on if there's integrated graphic or not...

so by using only integrated graphic and reducing the power consumed by a CPU to 1 like 10W on a C2D SU and 5.5W on a C2S SU, it's already quite a lot of power saved here...
+Quote Post
new in IT
post Oct 31 2009, 09:53 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #14

QUOTE(astria @ Oct 31 2009, 10:39 AM)
well, but dun forget CPU and dedicated GPU are wat consumes the most power...

a C2D T consumes 35W, while a GPU like HD4570 can consume 20W easily... while  mobo consumes 10-15W, depends on if there's integrated graphic or not...

so by using only integrated graphic and reducing the power consumed by a CPU to 1 like 10W on a C2D SU and 5.5W on a C2S SU, it's already quite a lot of power saved here...

Agree, some energy savings form here and there is small. However, when all add together, u can see the difference.

For those who need longer battery life, mobility and a little more processing power than Atom processor, ULV may be a better choice than traditional notebook despite of it's higher price.

However, this market growing slow. Maybe not much know about the advantage of ULV processor.

Anyway, we still need real world testing to make a clearer vision whether in real life performance, ULV processor worth the price or not.

This post has been edited by new in IT: Oct 31 2009, 09:53 AM
+Quote Post
astria
post Oct 31 2009, 09:56 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #15

Onion

well, considering that BGA doesn't really come at a cheap price also, the extra care in cooling, and the pretty massive amount of battery life u ve, all with the monitor size of a regular laptop, imo their price is still quite reasonable...

but i ve a feeling it's sort of getting out of hand... dedicated GPU and CPU overclocking... those are not wat CULV intended to ve in the first place... sweat.gif
+Quote Post
nevland
post Oct 31 2009, 07:51 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #16

after using for 3 days Asus UL30a, i'm satisfied with the performance of this notebook... and off course excited with the battery life...
+Quote Post
new in IT
post Oct 31 2009, 08:02 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #17

QUOTE(nevland @ Oct 31 2009, 08:51 PM)
after using for 3 days Asus UL30a, i'm satisfied with the performance of this notebook... and off course excited with the battery life...

I see. What are the programs u run during these days and how long the battery last?
+Quote Post
cloudstrife07
post Nov 1 2009, 12:30 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #18

let's turn the chessboard around

QUOTE(astria @ Oct 31 2009, 09:56 AM)

but i ve a feeling it's sort of getting out of hand... dedicated GPU and CPU overclocking... those are not wat CULV intended to ve in the first place... sweat.gif

u're toking about the Asus ULxxVT ones eh? tongue.gif
+Quote Post
Reizz
post Nov 1 2009, 12:39 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #19

i think ASpire Timelines like 4810TZ... will do the trick.. or a new aspire 1 with celeron proc... i tred b4.. surprisingly the aspire 1 with celeron proc load windows vista ulti very fast...
+Quote Post
astria
post Nov 1 2009, 06:59 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #20

Onion

QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Nov 1 2009, 03:30 AM)
u're toking about the Asus ULxxVT ones eh? tongue.gif

not juz that... the dedicated GPU itself is already a bit funny to me...

CULV sells long battery life, not performance... and yet the OEM throw in sth that will decrease battery life...

u want both performance and battery life, there's regular models like BenQ S42 (hybrid graphic) and Asus U80Vg (long batt life for a regular laptop)...
+Quote Post

3 Pages  1 2 3 >
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd November 2009 - 06:02 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)