Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
2 Pages  1 2 > 
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> confuse, itouch or nano?

mieeshell
post Oct 20 2009, 06:51 PM

Group: Junior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

sigh.
i'm confuse of which to get??
nano or touch??
i like nano because the latest version has camera.. while touch is because the have wifi.
that's the main reason la.

and then i kinda found a perfect one which is Zii Egg. have you heard of it before? it has all the feature that i wan.. but it's not Apple brand.. which i've not seen it in msia at all.. even havent heard of it till i saw a post in this forum.. dunno whether to trust a not.. and i dont know where to get too.

btw, if i choose touch, which capacity shud i get? 8gb enough ah??
budget not much..

so which shud i get?? the nano or touch?? icon_question.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
chingwooi
post Oct 20 2009, 07:35 PM

~Doctor Wannabe~

Group: Senior Member

QUOTE(mieeshell @ Oct 20 2009, 06:51 PM)
sigh.
i'm confuse of which to get??
nano or touch??
i like nano because the latest version has camera.. while touch is because the have wifi.
that's the main reason la.

and then i kinda found a perfect one which is Zii Egg. have you heard of it before? it has all the feature that i wan.. but it's not Apple brand.. which i've not seen it in msia at all.. even havent heard of it till i saw a post in this forum.. dunno whether to trust a not.. and i dont know where to get too.

btw, if i choose touch, which capacity shud i get? 8gb enough ah??
budget not much..

so which shud i get?? the nano or touch??  icon_question.gif

First, I don't think it's available in M'sia yet. The price is $399~ which is around Rm1200. iPod touch vs Nano wise, if you don't mind the size of iPod touch, you should go for the iPod touch. Tho iPod touch doesn't hv the camera, I don't see there's a big advantage of Nano having the camera since the camera is only capable of taking VIDEO ONLY not picture. Capacity wise, let say if you hv only around 2-4 gb of songs to put into ur iPod, then 8gb will b sufficient enuf. Frankly speaking, the iPod touch worth every single pence u spent on it. if you still insist on having the camera, then may b you can consider getting an iPhone xD
+Quote Post
eusened
post Oct 20 2009, 09:53 PM

QUOTE(chingwooi @ Oct 20 2009, 07:35 PM)
First, I don't think it's available in M'sia yet. The price is $399~ which is around Rm1200. iPod touch vs Nano wise, if you don't mind the size of iPod touch, you should go for the iPod touch. Tho iPod touch doesn't hv the camera, I don't see there's a big advantage of Nano having the camera since the camera is only capable of taking VIDEO ONLY not picture. Capacity wise, let say if you hv only around 2-4 gb of songs to put into ur iPod, then 8gb will b sufficient enuf. Frankly speaking, the iPod touch worth every single pence u spent on it. if you still insist on having the camera, then may b you can consider getting an iPhone xD

I agree too.
Anywhere chingwooi, thanks for being a good advisor over here.
If the camera is just for video ONLY, then totally not worth it.
I was figuring iPod Touch or iPhone 3GS, but today I found the answer.
That is iPod Touch. For me is ok because I have a 5 mp camera phone.
And going to buy a GPS device. LOL.
Frankly speaking, iPod Touch worth every single cents.
+Quote Post
nkloong08
post Oct 20 2009, 10:47 PM

just buy itouch u wont regret
+Quote Post
the pain
post Oct 20 2009, 11:35 PM

u can wait for the new touch with camera..i dont get the release date as i heard from rumors..
+Quote Post
fizz6487
post Oct 21 2009, 08:41 AM

Lets join me for more fun with ipod touch. for me, ipod touch is more useful.
Why not, by using this ipod touch, U can do a lot of things, more application.... And of course, only using ONE appratus, u can do many things.. dictionary, games, reading pdf file, chatting, email, mp3 and more.

VOTE for IPOD TOUCH....
+Quote Post
mieeshell
post Oct 22 2009, 10:08 PM

erm, if im not mistaken the new ipod touch have gps.
btw, i feel like grabbing itouch..it's so tempting.
QUOTE(eusened @ Oct 20 2009, 09:53 PM)
I agree too.
Anywhere chingwooi, thanks for being a good advisor over here.
If the camera is just for video ONLY, then totally not worth it.
I was figuring iPod Touch or iPhone 3GS, but today I found the answer.
That is iPod Touch. For me is ok because I have a 5 mp camera phone.
And going to buy a GPS device. LOL.
Frankly speaking, iPod Touch worth every single cents.

+Quote Post
chingwooi
post Oct 22 2009, 10:18 PM

~Doctor Wannabe~

QUOTE(mieeshell @ Oct 22 2009, 10:08 PM)
erm, if im not mistaken the new ipod touch have gps.
btw, i feel like grabbing itouch..it's so tempting.

Oh, I think you've misunderstood the "Maps" function in iPod touch. That's definitely not GPS, it's more like Google Map and you will definitely need WIFI in order for it to work.

This post has been edited by chingwooi: Oct 22 2009, 10:18 PM
+Quote Post
v1900130
post Oct 23 2009, 10:27 AM

having the same problem too. Nano or Touch ???

since the price is not too big difference... seems like i can find the answer here. tongue.gif
+Quote Post
chingwooi
post Oct 23 2009, 03:54 PM

~Doctor Wannabe~

Franky speaking, I don't think there's much to compare btw iPod touch and Nano coz iPod touch will definitely b the answer to ur query. I found it to be more interesting to compare both iPod touch and the Sony X series, since the one of the LYN member is selling the X series at very gd price ~RM700 for 16gb. no warranty tho, whereas the iPod touch is ady ~Rm750 for the 8gb version.

Reason? Becoz both of them are touch screen PMP, X series(OLED), iPod touch( LCD). The Sony X series SQ is btr than iPod touch SQ, X series has Noise cancelling feature as well(you'll need the stock earphone for this to work) whereas the iPod touch is superior when it comes to software(App store). The X series design is btr than iPod touch design IMO, smaller is another bonus to it coz easier to bring it around, battery that lasts longer than iPod touch. Both of them has WIFI but X series one is pretty pathetic xD X series has FM radio that iPod touch doesn't hv.

Still feel like getting Nano instead of X series? Think TWICE buddy smile.gif
More comparison: http://www.head-fi.org/forums/f15/sony-x-s...0-se530-437891/

This post has been edited by chingwooi: Oct 23 2009, 03:55 PM
+Quote Post
kingdomanga
post Oct 23 2009, 07:53 PM

I also want some opinion, the difference between ipod touch 32GB and 64GB is GB and the price(RM400 difference ), will u go to 32GB or 64GB?
+Quote Post
chingwooi
post Oct 23 2009, 10:41 PM

~Doctor Wannabe~

QUOTE(kingdomanga @ Oct 23 2009, 07:53 PM)
I also want some opinion, the difference between ipod touch 32GB and 64GB is GB and the price(RM400 difference ), will u go to 32GB or 64GB?

First, do you hv a lot of songs or videos to put inside ur iPod? For me 32gb is more than enuf coz I only hv around 12gb of songs (2k songs with most 320kbps) n few videos ( around 2gb) only.

This post has been edited by chingwooi: Oct 23 2009, 10:42 PM
+Quote Post
mieeshell
post Oct 29 2009, 10:22 PM

QUOTE(chingwooi @ Oct 23 2009, 03:54 PM)
Franky speaking, I don't think there's much to compare btw iPod touch and Nano coz iPod touch will definitely b the answer to ur query. I found it to be more interesting to compare both iPod touch and the Sony X series, since the one of the LYN member is selling the X series at very gd price ~RM700 for 16gb. no warranty tho, whereas the iPod touch is ady ~Rm750 for the 8gb version.

Reason? Becoz both of them are touch screen PMP, X series(OLED), iPod touch( LCD). The Sony X series SQ is btr than iPod touch SQ, X series has Noise cancelling feature as well(you'll need the stock earphone for this to work) whereas the iPod touch is superior when it comes to software(App store). The X series design is btr than iPod touch design IMO, smaller is another bonus to it coz easier to bring it around, battery that lasts longer than iPod touch. Both of them has WIFI but X series one is pretty pathetic xD X series has FM radio that iPod touch doesn't hv.

Still feel like getting Nano instead of X series? Think TWICE buddy smile.gif
More comparison: http://www.head-fi.org/forums/f15/sony-x-s...0-se530-437891/

ok.. now it seems like i've more choice.. but then sony Xseries dont have applications?? cannot install games and all?? it seems like it's only for songs and videos..
yep, and i know that the itouch have trouble in convertion of songs and videos too..

what about cowon S9??? mana boleh dapat dekat malaysia??? how much eh??
+Quote Post
chingwooi
post Oct 30 2009, 07:35 AM

~Doctor Wannabe~

Yea, that's why when it comes to apps(software) , iPod touch will win hands down. Advantage of having the X series is they hv btr SQ(important for audiophile), OLED screen and FM radio(until iPod has decided to put the FM radio inside). No chance of getting the Cowon S9 here. Ordering from LYN member will cost around ~RM1k at least, not really worth it.
+Quote Post
dynames07
post Oct 30 2009, 09:21 AM

IMO, itouch is worth for the price as compared to nano. it become even superior when you are in area that have wireless internet connectivity. even though i must go around to find places with wifi, i still find my itouch to be great.

if camera is what you want, i dont think the one that nano have is good enough. furthermore, is there any significant having a camera on a music device?
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
mieeshell
post Oct 30 2009, 01:39 PM

ok.. now i really understand..
and yes, i can see the differences.. the sony x-series and the cowon9 is great.. but both have it's own weakness..

btw, any can tell about the zune hd?? the specs and all compare with itouch..
+Quote Post
chingwooi
post Oct 30 2009, 03:50 PM

~Doctor Wannabe~

Zune HD, another PMP that is not available in M'sia market, but this time we r not lousy at all, bcoz Zune HD is only available in US, not other countries tongue.gif so can't blame M'sia xD Zune is said to gonna hv their own store that is similar to Apple app store but until today there's still no news regarding this(may b they r still busy buidling it or may be there won't b one at all) Zune OLED as well, customize EQ(not very sure about this), btr FM radio reception than Sony X series( bcoz of btr technology they're using on receiving the signal but forgot the name of it ~.~) That's pretty much about it. Price wise ~RM1.1-1.2k oops.gif
+Quote Post
mieeshell
post Oct 30 2009, 07:27 PM

wah.. i tell you, good stuff is not cheap..
but still i love itouch.. but it's just apple stuff a bit difficult to use.. need to convert the song and videos and all..

and i'm not use to apple stuff yet.. is it easy to use??? some say it's hard..
+Quote Post
chingwooi
post Oct 30 2009, 07:43 PM

~Doctor Wannabe~

Haha, let me ask you, how much do you know about Windows? xD Frankly speaking, out of 100 persons that said Apple stuff is hard to use, I bet 90 if not 99 of them nvr even try Apple products, before I move from Windows to Mac, my bro also told me don't buy Mac, it's hard to use, but after I bought it, it only took me one day to learn all, actually just few hours to learn to utilize those basic stuffs(those things that we normally use on Windows) Am I genius? tongue.gif I don't think so =.='''

You don't need to convert ur musics to another formats, iPod does support most of the audio codec out there, except WMA and FLAC(Urghhh). How I wish iPod can support them sad.gif ( I wonder what happens to the rockbox maker?) oops.gif sign0006.gif Okay, back to the topic, you only need iTunes to transfer songs, videos and stuffs into ur iPod, which I later found it to b very useful bcoz it's more organized this way. Why? Bcoz my Sony X series does support drag and drop, but when I pasted all the musics into the X series, those albums are not very organized, some without album arts, some without labels all sorts of prob(coz Mac doens't support the software that's given) sweat.gif
+Quote Post
llsphinxll
post Oct 31 2009, 12:19 AM

hey. i vote for Apple iPod Touch. definitely worth the money that you're paying for. and now with the price drop and the added higher capacity versions, its a must have thing. and for the software issues, what boss chingwooi said is correct. it doesnt take very long for one to get used to the softwares and ways of a mac or iTunes. once you do, you'll find it easier and friendlier to use compare to the one of other brands or pc. iTunes really does do everything for you. and when you transfer everything from you iTunes to your iPod, the layout and configuration will b pretty similar from how you play music/videos from your iTunes on your desktop/laptop. biggrin.gif i wud also like to add that the iTouch screen sensitivity is something that other brands lack. and the comparison of the nano's camera (VGA i think) to the capabillities of an iPod touch, the winner goes to the touch hands down. biggrin.gif
+Quote Post

2 Pages  1 2 >
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd November 2009 - 10:03 AM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)