> WTA; Amplifier Power Cbale Wiring

cicin
post Oct 16 2009, 04:45 PM

Group: Junior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

I have a situation like this.

Now i put my power amp under the passenger seat.

therefore the power cable for the amp is only length just under the seat.

i've in mind to remove the amp to the rear trunk.

so the question is, can i just joint the new power cable to the previous power cable or

have to change the entire power cable from the battery?

im very confuse about this.

hope you guys can give opinion regarding this..thank you very much..

Im a noob in ICE... icon_idea.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ckmoy007
post Oct 16 2009, 07:30 PM

5 Star ICE Noob

Group: Senior Member

usually change the whole power cable. reason 1, safety, 2. efficiency and 3 is safety. another solution to join 2 cables together is add a fuse in between them.
+Quote Post
cicin
post Oct 16 2009, 08:23 PM

so that mean,if i want to joint the cable just add fuse between them?

so how about the efficientcy? does it will disturb my sound system?

and one more thing is why my speaker have noise? i try to figure it but didnt find....i ask the accesories shop it says that it come from my HU...

or does it come from the pre amp?

any suggestion?
+Quote Post
ckmoy007
post Oct 16 2009, 10:05 PM

5 Star ICE Noob

mostly the noise come from the pre amp or poor grounding, u using cap ayam pre amp? mind to list out wat ur system consist of?
+Quote Post
cicin
post Oct 20 2009, 08:32 AM

my grounding wire use the same as power cable and ground it to the handbrake screw...

yaa...my pre amp is cap ayam one... ALINE brand...and dun know why the letter be is gone....thats why it called ALINE...not ALPINE

and Im using Revenge Digital V22 2200watt 4 channel Power amp for my OEM speaker.

and Caliber 1200watt 2 channel for the subwoofer....
+Quote Post
Conroe
post Oct 20 2009, 01:59 PM

Most likely,ur pre amp is the one producing the noise. wink.gif
+Quote Post
cicin
post Oct 21 2009, 08:07 AM

so that mean the noise were not coming from the wiring isnt it?

so just change the pre amp and it will be ok?

and one more thing, whenver my mobile phone got called there is also some annoying noise coming from my speaker...before i put power amp to my car there is no annoying sound coming from it but after i've put the power amp the annoying is disturbing me whenver my mobile phone got signal from calling or messaging. how could this happen? and how to avoid this?

do you guys got any comment regarding this??
+Quote Post
Pajero 4D56
post Oct 28 2009, 02:10 AM

Group: New Member

Your RCA cable are not the good quality one and it were route too close to the place u usually put your HP at,(i quess you put it under the seat and the HP in your pocket) hmm.gif wink.gif

Another reason is the setting of the frequency of the amp are being setted wrong,there maybe 2 setting,one is 70Hz and another is 110Hz,try 2 setting 1st before made any conclusion wink.gif
+Quote Post
cicin
post Nov 4 2009, 11:05 AM

QUOTE(Pajero 4D56 @ Oct 28 2009, 02:10 AM)
Your RCA cable are not the good quality one and it were route too close to the place u usually put your HP at,(i quess you put it under the seat and the HP in your pocket) hmm.gif  wink.gif

Another reason is the setting of the frequency of the amp are being setted wrong,there maybe 2 setting,one is 70Hz and another is 110Hz,try 2 setting 1st before made any conclusion wink.gif

i admit that my RCA are cheap one.... but i route the RCA from HU to the pre amp below my steering column. and from pre amp i route the RCA under the gear console to go the under seat amp... yes it inside my pocket but whent i pt at the door panel also make noise also.

urmm...setting the frequency? i never done the frequency setting as i the accs shop done it for me..

how does it cost for the good quality RCA? i saw at acc shop it cost like a bomb.. i juz wanted a good want and the cheap one...any suggestion?
+Quote Post
freestyler_jg
post Nov 4 2009, 11:15 AM

Buy at this forum la hehe..
+Quote Post
craziechild
post Nov 4 2009, 02:42 PM

buy online or at the Hi-Fi shops...... there are a few good and well priced brands to look for... belden, chords, wireworld, JPS etc etc...
+Quote Post
zennn
post Nov 4 2009, 03:17 PM

or can look for car audio specialist cables, like monster, streetwire, stinger, audison, lightning

if still beyond your budget, try searching for aura
+Quote Post
Pajero 4D56
post Nov 23 2009, 01:24 AM

QUOTE(cicin @ Nov 4 2009, 11:05 AM)
i admit that my RCA are cheap one.... but i route the RCA from HU to the pre amp below my steering column. and from pre amp i route the RCA under the gear console to go the under seat amp... yes it inside my pocket but whent i pt at the door panel also make noise also.
urmm...setting the frequency? i never done the frequency setting as i the accs shop done it for me..

how does it cost for the good quality RCA? i saw at acc shop it cost like a bomb.. i juz wanted a good want and the cheap one...any suggestion?

Abt the frequency,look at your amp there...there should be 1 switch with 70 or 110Hz mark on it,try 2 setting and choose the one which nt making noise when ur phone ring wink.gif
+Quote Post

Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th November 2009 - 12:09 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)