Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
3 Pages  1 2 3 > 
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Is Core i7 the right choice? (Hardware)

astria
post Oct 12 2009, 01:18 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1

Onion

Group: Senior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

quoting myself, from SXPS16 thread:
QUOTE(astria @ Oct 11 2009, 02:01 AM)
it's really very hard to say...

basically u re comparing high clock dual core against a low clock quad core with HT...

the uncertainty here is optimization... it all depends on how the games are optimized for quad core, turbo boost and HT...

u'll ve better performance with Core i7 in Resident Evil 5, but comes to Left 4 Dead, u probably won't see any difference... at GTA4, HT will even drag the performance instead, even though quad core is preferred...

moreover, i dun think game developers would spend resources on optimizing for HT, since only Core i7 and low-lvl Core i5 have it... others like Pentium in the entry market, Core i3 in the mainstream market and AMD dun ve such thing...

Studio 15 thread:
QUOTE(astria @ Oct 11 2009, 05:49 PM)
the key pt abt Core i7 is optimization...

Resident Evil 5, i7 will win anytime, due to optimization for HT...

GTA4, C2Q probably will be better, since it's not optimized for HT, in fact HT will even drag the performance...

L4D, a C2D is more than enuf...

Added on October 11, 2009, 2:50 pmanyway, i7 with HD4570... it's totally imbalance...

QUOTE(astria @ Oct 12 2009, 12:02 PM)
yes, i7 is a quaddie, but the problem lies in HT... it's a double edged sword...

the keyword here is optimization... if the software is optimized for HT, u'll haveĀ  up to 30% performance boost (as Intel claims), but if the application is not optimized, then u'll see performance loss instead...

as far as games are concerned, HT is not a useful, if not totally bad, feature to have... that's the main reason y desktop Core i7 didn't really pick up when it was launched last year...

if u re talking abt balancing, in fact GTX 280M SLI and HD4870 CF are probably piece of cake for it... and to quote Intel again, Core i7 was not designed for gamers...

and Alienware thread
QUOTE(astria @ Oct 12 2009, 09:30 AM)
if u get i7 now, chances are u'll probably disable HT so that u can get more performance from it for games, but that totally defeats the purpose of getting i7, since HT is wat separates i7 from i5 (assuming quaddie without HT)... so u'll be paying for sth which u dun use...

moreover, the speed difference a mobile Core i7 and mobile Core 2 Quad is not as great as that between desktop Core i7 and desktop Core 2 Quad (in fact Core i7 800 iirc runs at around 3GHz, same lvl as Core 2 Quad Q9050, desktop models for both), so for now, u're probably better off with Core 2 Quad...

remember, Intel have already said clearly last year that Core i7 is not designed for gamers... rather it's for servers and workstations...

After Intel Developer Forum Fall 2009, some laptop makers have followed Intel's roadmap and introduced Clarksdale in their product lines, notably Dell and Sager...

I have noticed in the forum lately that many people are undecided betwen a future resistant Core i7 setup (READ: NOT future proof) or much cheaper Core 2 Duo or Core 2 Quad combo... there is no definite answer... rather, it all depends on wat u re using the laptop for...

a slight search in google would reveal tonnes of reviews on the desktop Core i7 and how they stack against Core 2 Quad and Core 2 Duo, and it's easy to realize that Hyper Threading Technology is not games friendly at all... yes, Resident Evil 5 is the exception, but have u wondered why Intel only ran the RE5 demo during IDF and not other titles as well??? laugh.gif

and of course, HT is not the only new feature... but heck, AMD has been using integrated memory controller for 7 or 8yrs already...

the real benefit of Core i7, imho, will be the new mobo design it brings about... the new PM55 chipset, like it's desktop counterpart, is a single chip design with no Northbridge at all... this makes the mobo size to shrink compared to the older PM45 and thus, better cooling and ventilation, or more space for other hardware like GPU...

imho, for those who are looking for a laptop to play games, Core i7 is not the one for u... but if u re looking for a setup for works like video editing, graphic rendering, programmers, etc... Core i7 is the perfect choice...

This post has been edited by astria: Oct 12 2009, 01:19 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
miahahaha
post Oct 12 2009, 01:27 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2

Little One

So by means that Core i7 is perfect for ultra-multitasking jobs like video rendering/editing or maybe doing multimedia type of jobs...

but not recommended for those hardcore gamers?? hmm.gif
+Quote Post
astria
post Oct 12 2009, 01:30 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #3

Onion

yup, that would be the case...

let me quote Intel (for the third time, or maybe fourth) again: Core i7 is not designed for gamers...

gamers go Core i5... hardcore gamers fo Phenom II... laugh.gif
+Quote Post
Cheesenium
post Oct 12 2009, 01:47 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #4

Pro Imperator nos addo nex

Just like the same case back then with P4 HT.

It doesnt really give much performance boost to gamers,except games that is optimised for it.

Thinking back to that time,how many games were optimised for HT?
+Quote Post
Mr.Docter
post Oct 12 2009, 02:03 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #5

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Oct 12 2009, 01:47 PM)
Just like the same case back then with P4 HT.

It doesnt really give much performance boost to gamers,except games that is optimised for it.

Thinking back to that time,how many games were optimised for HT?

as far as i know, RE5 only. sweat.gif
+Quote Post
Cheesenium
post Oct 12 2009, 02:09 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #6

Pro Imperator nos addo nex

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Oct 12 2009, 02:03 PM)
as far as i know, RE5 only. sweat.gif

I mean the games back then,in 2004 or 2005?

Isnt the current HT technology in i7 similar to the ones back in P4?
+Quote Post
astria
post Oct 12 2009, 02:23 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #7

Onion

nah... they are different...

previously it was called SMP (Simultaneous Multi-thread sth??? can't really remember...), it only shortly before Core i7 launch last year that Intel decided to call it Hyper Threading as well for simplicity sake...
+Quote Post
stlkelvin
post Oct 12 2009, 08:34 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #8

Group: Junior Member

now want buy a laptop, better buy i7 spec laptop if don't want outdated later on. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by stlkelvin: Oct 12 2009, 08:36 PM
+Quote Post
astria
post Oct 13 2009, 10:35 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #9

Onion

this i beg to differ...

Core i7 is juz totally overkill for many people...

rather, i would suggest wait for Core i5, which is better suited for gamers (at least), and cheaper as well...
+Quote Post
Mr.Docter
post Oct 13 2009, 11:55 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #10

^ +1.
agree biggrin.gif
+Quote Post
deleted
post Oct 13 2009, 01:49 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #11

Restored

assuming i want to do video editing and rendering on a laptop (yes, yes, get a desktop blablabla, am a student, need the portability)

will i7 be better or should i wait for i5 as well?

i do play games but not a whole lot, i7 cant be that bad for games right? sweat.gif
+Quote Post
astria
post Oct 13 2009, 01:55 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #12

Onion

the keyword again is optimization...

check and see if the software that u re going to use and see if they are optimized for HT...
+Quote Post
uzairi
post Oct 13 2009, 02:14 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #13

Team almostthere

Core i7 itself is a quad core proc with HT, so it doesnt make that much of a differences if any software or games are not optimized for it. smile.gif
+Quote Post
astria
post Oct 13 2009, 02:19 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #14

Onion

QUOTE(uzairi @ Oct 13 2009, 05:14 PM)
Core i7 itself is a quad core proc with HT, so it doesnt make that much of a differences if any software or games are not optimized for it. smile.gif

performance will drop if the software is not optimized... iirc, game performance dropped by as much as 20% when HT is enabled... u re better off without HT in cases like this...

it's different from the case where u run a dual core optimized software on a quad core...
+Quote Post
uzairi
post Oct 13 2009, 02:32 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #15

Team almostthere

Doesnt make much of a difference i7 HT enabled and i5 non HT. The higher end model would compensate the HT performance drop with its higher speed/cache/qpi architecture.
+Quote Post
astria
post Oct 13 2009, 02:49 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #16

Onion

QUOTE(uzairi @ Oct 13 2009, 05:32 PM)
Doesnt make much of a difference i7 HT enabled and i5 non HT. The higher end model would compensate the HT performance drop with its higher speed/cache/qpi architecture.

i7 and i5 are basically the same stuff, so cache and QPI are basically the same...

as for speed, imho i5 will probably be able to match wat i7 can run at... since disabling HT will result in lower power consumption, and thus the speed can be pushed further...

a very rough assumption...

i7 at 2GHz running a non-HT optimized software, is as good as i5 running at 1.6-1.8GHz...

so basically u re paying more money for the same performance, and a feature that u re not going to use...
+Quote Post
uzairi
post Oct 13 2009, 03:52 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #17

Team almostthere

They are basically the same, but QPI speeds are diff bro. Dont forget the Turbo Boost feature also as the max speed achievable differs between those i5 and i7. wink.gif
+Quote Post
Loki[D.d.G]
post Oct 13 2009, 05:28 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #18

Un Regalo Que Te Dio La Vida

I was under the impression that the mobile i7 uses DMI instead of QPI. Am I wrong?
+Quote Post
astria
post Oct 13 2009, 05:33 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #19

Onion

yup, Clarksfield uses DMI juz like Lynnfield...
+Quote Post
Reizz
post Oct 13 2009, 07:21 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #20

Group: Junior Member

lets say core i7 and Phenom2 X4 955... what is the disadvantage that AMD have?.. but i see all proc works all the same.... loadlng.. gaming etc.. some advice from the guru's pls ^^
+Quote Post

3 Pages  1 2 3 >
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th November 2009 - 09:31 AM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)