Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > 
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Which components would you choose? , If all same price but different brands?

Budget Component speaker system, which brand?

Alpine [ 28 ] ** [70.00%]
db Drive [ 0 ] ** [0.00%]
Macrom [ 5 ] ** [12.50%]
Orion [ 2 ] ** [5.00%]
Polk audio [ 5 ] ** [12.50%]
Total Votes: 40
Guests cannot vote 
craziechild
post Oct 16 2009, 09:23 AM

Group: Senior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

meeting with me is no problem... but you have to wait till dec then i will be in miri la...

currently in west malaysia... and the setup is in the sig is here is the project that is on going with my car here...

have another setup in miri...

meeting up is no problem... usual meeting point, megashine accesories shop. you know any of the member of megasound audio team?

and a ICE setup is not like "i like this speaker then i spend the most on it.. other cincai la..." if you are gonna put it that way then better dun waste the moey at all... cuz garbage in garbage out... even if good HU but low grade amps... it will be garbage out of the amps thus garbage into the speaker and garbage out to your ears...

why the advise sound a bit harsh? like waters you with cold water? well actually its not... because good speaker tend to be very revealing on the flaws of your setup. and those flaws revealed... most of the time cant be tuned to get rid of it... so thats why a lot of new icers i met said that ice is just waste of time and money...

my advise is level matching... a mid end speaker pair with mid end amp and mid end speakers... high end pair with high end... low end pair with low end... china goes with china.

cheers... cool.gif

This post has been edited by craziechild: Oct 16 2009, 09:33 AM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ckmoy007
post Oct 16 2009, 11:16 AM

5 Star ICE Noob

eh? craziechild changed direction, no more rainbow and RS? now DLX-F17 d? u've got them? ur choice are quite exotic... biggrin.gif cheers bro, gud luck in ur project.
+Quote Post
craziechild
post Oct 16 2009, 01:03 PM

ck... quitting... retiring... need something that is simpler and normal... actually havent got them... the thing that i got in that setup is the HU and amps...

now focusing more some other stuff...

cheers...
+Quote Post
ckmoy007
post Oct 16 2009, 07:12 PM

5 Star ICE Noob

hehe, u consider Z1 simpler? very humble of u.biggrin.gif i believe Z1 can stand head to head with Alpine 7990. why quit so early bro? achieved ur audio nirvana d? or now going into home audio or DSLR or getting married? laugh.gif btw, u playing active or passive now? i am gathering funds for my HU now but dunno which to get...
+Quote Post
craziechild
post Oct 17 2009, 11:19 AM

Z1 is somehow the most simple HU in the market like the MC, HX-D1 and sorts... SQ wise different story.... and i mean simpler by the whole setup... not equipment expensive or not/good or not... and yea its passive...

audio nirvana to me has no end as long as i can still find area to upgrade... hasnt end but just have to stop for a few years probably...

anyway... not yet getting married... still young... home audio always had been playing it even before i started ice... and dslr yes i do have thast hobby as well...

cheers...
+Quote Post
iamkroll
post Oct 17 2009, 11:43 AM

Group: New Member

hey bro craziechild, anytime ur free man smile.gif it takes time to gather the cash needed to get the items i want (need? tongue.gif) anyway. no i dont know anyone in megashine la bro. but ofcourse i know where megashine is smile.gif i also might be going to KL end of the year (dunno when yet) and i think i wanna use that opportunity to buy the HU since i think it should be much cheaper on that side of the world. wanna get what ckmoy007 recommended. the P80RS? i intend to get a second hand one coz it could get really expensive if bought new. i just fear that the second hand might have lens issues. if anyone is selling their P80RS in KL or whatever, im pretty interested in it TQ~ hehe.

and yea, i get what u mean bro. i think people need to think that way.
set a benchmark. your benchmark can be any of the items in ur system be it HU, components, amps etc. from the benchmark you build your system. you will want to get the most out of ur benchmark item so everything else you wanna get must be at least the same or better than the benchmark item. you can basically say your benchmark item is ur 'bottle neck'.

so right now im thinking i wanna make my coming HU to be the 'bottle neck', the P80RS. i just hope i can save enough on time. scanspeak will have to wait next year sad.gif sad.gif

+Quote Post
craziechild
post Oct 17 2009, 01:57 PM

i think you got me wrong there... the benchmark i set is not about equipment i own... but the sq i wan to achieve... on the score sheet and also my personal goal...

and well... if you really wan go a mark higher than conventional... look for D1 or 9255... which is around that P80's price as well 2nd hand... it might be cheaper along the way down going passive... but be warned... it might be a lot more expensive as well...

cheers...
+Quote Post
iamkroll
post Oct 17 2009, 02:28 PM

ahh right, i get you now.

hehehe but if i do it that way, for sure there wont be an end to it. so im gonna limit myself thru my equipments. well, at least i'll try to. for sure i end up having the same mindset like you in the end tongue.gif haha.

ill consider what you recommend too. those HU u mentioned is what make?

and since you wrote this in the same paragraph,

"if you really wan go a mark higher than conventional... look for D1 or 9255... which is around that P80's price as well 2nd hand... it might be cheaper along the way down going passive"

do u mean that P80 is suitable for active setup and the DI and 9255 is for passive?

please enlighten, thank you!
+Quote Post
ckmoy007
post Oct 17 2009, 03:54 PM

5 Star ICE Noob

D1 and 9255 is clarion, full model name is HX-D1 and DRX9255, there is oso DRZ9255 which is the USA and japan's model name for our local HX-D2. and yes, D1 and DRX9255 are puredecks, meaning no internal amp or any kind of DSP(digital sound processor), and can play CDs onli, no MP3 and stuffs, wat i have now is the DRX9255. HX-D2 is the one can play active 4 way. Using equipment to benchmark ur setup is not the way, i've tried, trust me. the phrase 'add another rm150 can get a much better one' alwez pop up in my head when purchasing stuffs. that is what killing the pocket. biggrin.gif

craziechild, ur hobbies are really expensive, hehe. all the big boy's toys. smile.gif
+Quote Post
craziechild
post Oct 17 2009, 10:43 PM

dslr low end only la... not really high end... more concentrated on home audio and ice...

cheers...
+Quote Post
iamkroll
post Nov 8 2009, 01:41 AM

hey guys sorry ive been away for quite some time. assignments piling up lar.

im not happy with the sound of my system la. im still using the old setup. but at times it sounds alright, sometimes it sounds crap. i don't know. i keep changing the faders between +2 (F) to 0 (Balanced). Its because my sub is being 'pulled' from the rear-left sound (output?). howww?? its frustrating at times!

btw craziechild, i went to Megasound the other day, they do have some quality stuff there huh hehe.

anyways, im going to KL in january (most likely) so im thinking of getting a good midbass (RM1200?) for the front first and get a normal HU (RM300-400) for now because im really unhappy with the weak sounding 5.25" boston that i have now. i know your gonna tell me to get a good HU first but im desperate for a good midbass la. the 5.25" boston is really too weak for my liking. if i do get the midbass, im thinking of putting the boston to the back , which means i gotta move the tweeters too since the crossovers will have to move with the midbass. then, how my front leh? >.< ill need another set of tweeters!!! omg this is going to cost a bomb! What say you?

not aiming for pure SQ, i want balanced sound front and back but front will still dominate

if i wanna get a HU first, im thinking eclipse 3200. i don't have the budget to go higher im still a student. but somehow, my priority now is still midbass. DILEMMA!

p/s: i have some spare wiring from my home hi-fi (Van Der Hul Royal Jade Hybrid) i think i have at least 5m of it. was thinking of using it for my sub, or sell it (but for how much?). I bought it from the Netherlands.

This post has been edited by iamkroll: Nov 8 2009, 02:04 AM
+Quote Post
craziechild
post Nov 8 2009, 03:54 PM

well... i have a solution in mind but not sure if it works my self... but you can try if you are a DIYer...

change the 5" to 6"... thats it... or with that budget, go get another component set which imknso is better... unless you are going for raw drivers la...

unless your car is huge, i dun think it would be easy to get total front imaging with the rear speaker intefering...

and with my experience on my sis car, 5" dun sound lack on mid bass... unless you are a bass head la...

cheers...
+Quote Post
ckmoy007
post Nov 8 2009, 04:23 PM

5 Star ICE Noob

iamkroll, the royal jade u bought for how much? 5m is stereo pair or mono?
+Quote Post
iamkroll
post Nov 8 2009, 05:59 PM

QUOTE(craziechild @ Nov 8 2009, 03:54 PM)
well... i have a solution in mind but not sure if it works my self... but you can try if you are a DIYer...

change the 5" to 6"... thats it... or with that budget, go get another component set which imknso is better... unless you are going for raw drivers la...

unless your car is huge, i dun think it would be easy to get total front imaging with the rear speaker intefering...

and with my experience on my sis car, 5" dun sound lack on mid bass... unless you are a bass head la...

cheers...

thats what i was actually thinking of the vifa or DLS R6A. the DLS is a component set, but im not sure abt the vifa. which is a better choice in ur opinion? people (or was it you?) say that vifa is the poorman's version of the scanspeak?

i dont know man, my 5" lacks it la and im pretty sure im not a bass head. whats disturbing is that it sounds like the 6" stock drivers behind is a little 'louder' in terms of delivering the mid frequencies compared to the 5" boston. its way to soft. is it the frequency range or sth?

Added on November 8, 2009, 6:01 pm
QUOTE(ckmoy007 @ Nov 8 2009, 04:23 PM)
iamkroll, the royal jade u bought for how much? 5m is stereo pair or mono?

im sorry i dun get what u mean by stereo pair or mono? its like the +ve and -ve wire thingy.... lol.

This post has been edited by iamkroll: Nov 8 2009, 06:01 PM
+Quote Post
craziechild
post Nov 8 2009, 09:02 PM

hmm.. lets just say vifa shared their interlectual properties with scans... yes vifa is a good driver manufacturer... price wise is different though...

anyway... its not fair to compare a 6" with a 5"... think of it as comparing a 10" with 12" then you i think you will get the idea... at certain freq, the 6" will have an upper hand and i didnt know there is a 6" behind... in this case i think you will have to swap to a 6" to try if it solves your problem or unplug the 6" behind to completely have uninterfered stage... you can try the second method first see if you like the sound...

and for the wires,

stereo pair means its in a pair with + - + - and can connect to 2 speakers...
mono means its only single sided with + - and can connect to only one speaker...

cheers.gif

+Quote Post
CaptDupe
post Nov 10 2009, 04:16 AM

Group: Junior Member

QUOTE(iamkroll @ Nov 8 2009, 01:41 AM)

anyways, im going to KL in january (most likely) so im thinking of getting a good midbass (RM1200?) for the front first and get a normal HU (RM300-400) for now because im really unhappy with the weak sounding 5.25" boston that i have now. i know your gonna tell me to get a good HU first but im desperate for a good midbass la. the 5.25" boston is really too weak for my liking. if i do get the midbass, im thinking of putting the boston to the back , which means i gotta move the tweeters too since the crossovers will have to move with the midbass. then, how my front leh? >.< ill need another set of tweeters!!! omg this is going to cost a bomb! What say you?

Try changing your amp highpass to a lower frequency like 80Hz. Maybe its currently cut high to get better vocals?
+Quote Post
iamkroll
post Nov 12 2009, 09:12 PM

oh i have the mono one i guess. but can be cut to 2 right? obviously it will shorten it by 1/2 la =S

back to components, right now i kinda like the makes of vifa, morel, dls, seas, scanspeak etc. but i've no idea about the pricing. im looking for a component set that's around RM1.2-1.3k with good mid and airy tweets. i wish there were shops around here that i can go to and survey the performance and price sad.gif

if its not too much can u list out the prices (kl price estimation) for these brands of components that fall around my budget?
+Quote Post
craziechild
post Nov 13 2009, 12:41 AM

there is a place in miri which you could do a survey or audition if you make appointments...

in megashine we have megasound audio team which members consist of full vifa setup, scans, morel, ODR, DLS, F#1, Dynadio, RF, Helix etc etc... both SQ/SQL and SPL people... some golden/silver/bronze/copper ear, and some pro-tuners as well...

thing is timing... hehe...

have to be there at the right timing... cuz many of them are working people as well... tell me if you are keen...

cheers...

This post has been edited by craziechild: Nov 13 2009, 12:47 AM
+Quote Post
iamkroll
post Nov 13 2009, 01:21 AM

hey yes i would love that actually. but they kool with me just surveying ka?

Added on November 13, 2009, 1:22 amactually i was planning to check megashine tmr (aka today lar). hopefully some of them will be there.

This post has been edited by iamkroll: Nov 13 2009, 01:22 AM
+Quote Post
craziechild
post Nov 13 2009, 08:30 AM

good luck bro...

they are ok actually... its your money in the end... i hang out there for 3 years and never bought a thing from them... cuz i like old school stuff which off which they dun have it on shelves... and i DIY my own setup...

cheers...
+Quote Post

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th November 2009 - 06:04 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)