Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
4 Pages  1 2 3 > »  
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Which components would you choose? , If all same price but different brands?

Budget Component speaker system, which brand?

Alpine [ 28 ] ** [70.00%]
db Drive [ 0 ] ** [0.00%]
Macrom [ 5 ] ** [12.50%]
Orion [ 2 ] ** [5.00%]
Polk audio [ 5 ] ** [12.50%]
Total Votes: 40
Guests cannot vote 
IceCube
post Sep 22 2009, 01:39 PM

Group: Junior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

Okie, I bump into one audio shop which are putting these brand on sale. I checked all are original , got Pro Ice sticker on the Polk audio and got Soundstream authorize dealer cert also at the shop. So i guess they sells original stuff only.

I didnt put soundstream cos their components are different league (they only have the above RM480).

From look of the Alpine, they dont have separate crossover ,its sticking on the midbass sort of. The rest have separate crossover module.
Polk audio looks good in design.

I know, i know , should audit before choosing, but the shop dont have sample. i guess it would be troublesome to audit each and every set since they have 5 different sets on the same price.

Which would you choose and why?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
craziechild
post Sep 22 2009, 04:24 PM

Group: Senior Member

would choose polk from the rest... because the rest are bright while polk are not too harsh for me... imknso though...
+Quote Post
matt wee
post Sep 22 2009, 07:28 PM

QUOTE(IceCube @ Sep 22 2009, 01:39 PM)
Okie, I bump into one audio shop which are putting these brand on sale. I checked all are original , got Pro Ice sticker on the Polk audio and got Soundstream authorize dealer cert also at the shop. So i guess they sells original stuff only.

I didnt put soundstream cos their components are different league (they only have the above RM480).

From look of the Alpine, they dont have separate crossover ,its sticking on the midbass sort of. The rest have separate crossover module.
Polk audio looks good in design.

I know, i know , should audit before choosing, but the shop dont have sample. i guess it would be troublesome to audit each and every set since they have 5 different sets on the same price.

Which would you choose and why?

Bro how much u been quoted for polk audio comp set?and which shop do you visited?
+Quote Post
IceCube
post Sep 23 2009, 12:52 AM

QUOTE(craziechild @ Sep 22 2009, 04:24 PM)
would choose polk from the rest... because the rest are bright while polk are not too harsh for me... imknso though...

thanks brian, i thought so too after much reading. have to check what model is the polk audio and maybe i can find more review or details on it. thanks bro.

QUOTE(matt wee @ Sep 22 2009, 07:28 PM)
Bro how much u been quoted for polk audio comp set?and which shop do you visited?

its a shop at cheras. price wise maybe its on clearance sale so cheaper then usual. better not post here . roughly below rm400.
+Quote Post
matt wee
post Sep 23 2009, 01:10 AM

can pm me for more details bro?i interested to buy one since the price not so expensive....are those original product?
+Quote Post
IceCube
post Sep 23 2009, 01:18 AM

QUOTE(matt wee @ Sep 23 2009, 01:10 AM)
can pm me for more details bro?i interested to buy one since the price not so expensive....are those original product?

Polk audio from Pro Ice wor...sure original lah~~ got serial number .. go check it out, call me if u going, i want to audit after u install in ur waja...huhuhuhu...
+Quote Post
matt wee
post Sep 23 2009, 01:27 AM

ya now i was thinking which comp set should i buy...and can i audit their comp set first before buy?hehe...

others than polk audio they still selling what model bro?others brand also got?same range price?
+Quote Post
craziechild
post Sep 23 2009, 01:42 PM

Group: Senior Member

anytime bro... just pm me if you ever need any help...

anyway... for discussion sake... would love to listen to the others who voted as well...

cheers...
+Quote Post
gavinchong
post Sep 23 2009, 03:11 PM

Around RM480 budget, I think there are more options le
Not just Alpine, db Drive, Macrom, Orion, Polk audio

+Quote Post
IceCube
post Sep 23 2009, 03:42 PM

QUOTE(gavinchong @ Sep 23 2009, 03:11 PM)
Around RM480 budget, I think there are more options le
Not just Alpine, db Drive, Macrom, Orion, Polk audio

Its below RM400. Not RM480. i meant the soundstream is rm480 which is above the rest of the brand i listed which is below RM400.

This post has been edited by IceCube: Sep 23 2009, 03:43 PM
+Quote Post
lonerider
post Sep 24 2009, 12:04 PM

ALPINE rocks!!
+Quote Post
zennn
post Sep 24 2009, 04:31 PM

Group: New Member

save up la, this range are entry level china made ones

700-800 will be much better, even though still china made, hehe

i can offer u alpine type S for 550 , boston S60 for 660

This post has been edited by zennn: Sep 24 2009, 04:31 PM
+Quote Post
IceCube
post Sep 26 2009, 01:08 AM

wah got 9ppl vote for alpine.

but the turn off for alpine is the crossover sticking on the 6.5" mid .... looks weird and incase u want to run active u have to void the warranty by cutting the passive crossover off the terminal...... thats not too good eh?

and the orion have two model, one is orion cobalt (below rm300) and another is orion west coast custom (same price as the other).

lets see if tomorrow i got time i want to check out the polk audio model and also Macrom model........ since this two is the second highest voted brand.

I think alpine should be out of the list due to the crossover design. just my opinion.
+Quote Post
matt wee
post Sep 26 2009, 01:39 AM

cool bro..you got check them out first then let me know ya...pricing or sound or detail..lol
+Quote Post
IceCube
post Sep 26 2009, 07:18 PM

MACROM M3S.61
http://www.mudah.my/Ori-MACROM-M3S.61-6.5I...ker-3839683.htm

POLK AUDIO DB6500
http://www.polkaudio.com/caraudio/products/recent/db6500/
Amazon.com Product Description
Enjoy a serious boost in audio performance while driving or boating with the Polk DB 6500 two-way vehicle speaker system. Unlike most traditional full-range systems, the DB 6500 comes with a separate tweeter that's mounted apart from the main speakers, so you can find the very best location for playing the high frequencies without losing any low-end thump. Add in an external "fiddle-free" crossover that helps balance the sound and you have a powerful, full-bodied system that satisfies everyone from casual listeners to serious audiophiles.

The speakers are certified to withstand the toughest marine environments, so you can install them in ski and wakeboarding boats in addition to cars and trucks. More importantly, the audio performance is as robust as the housing thanks to the 6.5-inch, dynamic balance, polymer/mica composite cone woofers, whose stiffness and light weight create a big sound with little distortion. Meanwhile, the 1-inch silk/polymer composite dome tweeter includes flush and surface mount swivel cups for added audio and installation flexibility.

Also along for the ride are low-mass, two-layer Kapton voice coils that produce a high sound output and robust power handling, along with durable Butyl rubber surrounds that won't fall apart under the stress of extreme temperatures, long exposure to sunlight, or the rigors of time.

Installation is abetted by the multi-hole mounting pattern and shallow mounting depth--a mere 2.31 inches for the main speakers--for easy drop-in installation in almost any vehicle. The vented crossover housing adds to the system's versatility by offering hidden wire channels. The channels are designed to facilitate easier, more professional-looking installs without sacrificing access.

Other features include a pole-plate heat sink that promotes better heat dissipation for superior power handling and reliability; a flat spider that enables faster and longer excursions; flexible woven leads sewn directly into the spider for greater dependability; an electronic tweeter protection circuit; rock-solid, acoustically inert stamped steel baskets with a rustproof gunmetal gray finish; and muscular, computer-optimized ABS grilles.

The DB 6500 system, which offers a frequency response of 40 Hz to 22 kHz and a peak power handling of 300 watts (100 watts continuous), requires a mounting cutout diameter of 5 inches for the main speakers and 2 inches for the tweeter. The system is also backed by a one-year warranty.

What's in the Box
Two main speakers, one tweeter, external crossover, mounting hardware, user's manual.

Product Description

Really good stuff at a really good price is where it's at. Polk Audio mixed it up with patented Polk technologies and a reckless desire for big volume output. Polk Audio created speakers with better performance, bigger volume and better value - the db Series. db Series is classic Polk Audio: outrageous performance and durability at a price that will please your wallet.

This post has been edited by IceCube: Sep 26 2009, 07:34 PM
+Quote Post
matt wee
post Sep 26 2009, 07:41 PM

Bro this is the two that you saw at that shop right?i think the polk audio got better design....

when i get my salary might go there audit..if really suit i might take it..hehe!
+Quote Post
IceCube
post Sep 26 2009, 07:54 PM

QUOTE(matt wee @ Sep 26 2009, 07:41 PM)
Bro this is the two that you saw at that shop right?i think the polk audio got better design....

when i get my salary might go there audit..if really suit i might take it..hehe!

I ask them regarading your waja door, they say 6" if stock... have to bring ur car over then talk about audit lah. not too sure what the meaning.
but they are friendly, so i guess its okie lah. but last time in zth got ppl sell second hand used 5 months also sell rm550.... now new also Rm3XX only somemore Pro Ice one.
+Quote Post
matt wee
post Sep 26 2009, 08:32 PM

oh..okok their promotion until when bro?because maybe next month just get my salary..within this period i still can think and plan which comp set i will go for.hehe but of course need to audit first also la,but before audit also need some review or advise on the comp spec,sound lo..but polk audio db6500 really can get rm3xx bro?summore original product..abit worry also..not saying about their product are fake,just "too good to be true",and i also kinda noob at ice..so better to get at recommended shop or forumer better..and one more thing,i plan not to use amp first,because no budget for the amp yet..so what comp set is better just power from hu only?
+Quote Post
IceCube
post Sep 27 2009, 12:19 PM

QUOTE(matt wee @ Sep 26 2009, 08:32 PM)
oh..okok their promotion until when bro?because maybe next month just get my salary..within this period i still can think and plan which comp set i will go for.hehe but of course need to audit first also la,but before audit also need some review or advise on the comp spec,sound lo..but polk audio db6500 really can get rm3xx bro?summore original product..abit worry also..not saying about their product are fake,just "too good to be true",and i also kinda noob at ice..so better to get at recommended shop or forumer better..and one more thing,i plan not to use amp first,because no budget for the amp yet..so what comp set is better just power from hu only?

u want more expensive can, i tell them sell u rm750 for the polk audio. i think they also dont mind lah. sell cheap customer say "Too good be true must be something wrong" , sell expensive customer say "Wah lan so expensive one! must untung alot !! " ........ HAHHAHAHHAHAHAa.......

so funny lah these days customer reaction.

nvm, i better delete all the pricing and start buy from the shop and sell here at RM750 , then u sure believe its original coz its market pricing, with serial number and pro ice sticker. tongue.gif
+Quote Post
matt wee
post Sep 27 2009, 10:03 PM

haha no lah bro..its normal mah that reaction...LOL...sometimes when people offer us very cheap and affordable price we also feel weird right?hehe...

so bro when got time go with me k the shop..because i also not familiar with the road around leisure mall too...and for sure need you to make me get any cheaper and good workmanship la because you know them mah!hehe...
+Quote Post

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » 
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th November 2009 - 01:14 AM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)