http://thestar.com.my/lifestyle/story.asp?...&sec=lifeliving

So many of them in here mad.gif vmad.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Sear...topics&hl=&st=0

The Star Online > Lifeliving
Monday September 7, 2009

Crocs bares its teeth

By PATSY KAM

Don’t fall for a pair of fake Crocs

THEY say imitation is the sincerest form of flattery, but Crocs isn’t biting. Following a story in The Washington Post last July that reported “the impending demise of Crocs,” there has been a proliferation of fake Crocs from China flooding the Malaysian market, touting themselves to be the real deal with marked down prices.

Described by some people as “bizarre gardening shoes”, the colourful Crocs was an overnight success, having sold 100 million pairs in seven years.

However, given the current worldwide recession, the company took a beating in 2008 and one financial commentator, Damon Vickers, who manages an investment fund at Nine Points Capital Partners in Seattle, went as far as to say: “The company’s toast.’’

The real thing: When viewed up close, you can see the difference in the logo between the real and fake pair of crocs (the fake is on the right).

This, apparently, is far from the truth, as the financial results for the second quarter (Q2) from Crocs announced last month that the innovative footwear brand is still going strong, contrary to the mischievous rumours.

While it was true that the company was in the red and downsizing at one point, the latest results were highly satisfactory with revenue in Asia up 30.5% in Q2 of 2009 from Q2 of 2008, overcoming the initial challenges from rapid growth. Crocs has also completely repaid the US$17.3mil (RM60.5mil) borrowed under the company’s credit facility as of June 30 this year.

Due to the growing popularity of the brand, there has been a growing presence of counterfeit Crocs products. In the past, Crocs was not too bothered as the imitation products often bore different design elements, didn’t carry logos and were branded differently. These appealed to consumers who clearly knew that they were not original Crocs but were willing to accept the inferior quality by paying much lower prices.

However, thanks to market gossip of how Crocs is currently “stuck with a surplus of shoes” and “facing bankruptcy”, fuelled further by the Washington Post article, importers of counterfeit Crocs are having a field day.

The fakes come with hangtags, plastic bags, logos and embossed wording that is similar to original Crocs, and being sold as “marked down real Crocs” for anything between RM35 and RM100. These are often seen at night and morning markets, in residential areas and are also sold via several blogs and websites.

According to these pirates, the “original Crocs are now being sold cheaply” because the company is dumping stocks, to explain why they are now available outside of Crocs concept stores and authorised dealers.

The most often cited reasons are “Crocs owes its suppliers in China a lot of money, the company along with the China factory is closing down, and therefore the China suppliers are disposing of the shoes at cost to recover their money.” The counterfeiters use these excuses to justify why they only have limited colours and sizes compared to Crocs concept stores and authorised dealers.

Conversely, Kinderdijk, the official distributor of Crocs in Malaysia, says such rumours are unfounded and Crocs Asia is doing better than ever before.

“In fact, Asia was the first to come up with concept stores while Crocs were still being sold online, at small booths or in shoe stores along with other brands in the United States. This has stamped the idea that Crocs is a serious brand. The financial crisis is not so bad in Asia and our stores have been doing well as our marketing approach is more aggressive. Only now the States is going into concept stores as well,” explains managing director Gwei Tze-Co.

“Crocs is such an easy shoe to copy. The difference lies in the material used. The patented material Crosslite is odourless, slip resistance, anti-bacterial and offers unparalleled comfort in that it moulds to your feet. The fakes use really poor quality plastic and you can feel a difference when your wear them,” explains senior marketing manager Warren Chan.

The only other authorised dealer in the country is Pinang Medical Suppliers, and its stores carry similar models to those brought in by Kinderdijk as well as the Crocs RX (medical shoes) exclusively.

Altogether, there are 18 Crocs concept stores nationwide, and the shoes are also sold by authorised dealers at department stores like Parkson and Isetan which stock some exclusive designs. The only authorised factory outlet is located at the Mines Shopping Fair in Balakong, Kuala Lumpur, which sell out-of-season models at discounted prices.

“Any other ‘warehouses’, ‘online sales’ and unofficial setups touting to offer discounted Crocs are selling fakes. In fact, there is no way the factory in China could have ‘overruns’ or ‘rejects’ as there is never any excess of material supplied by the United States for the shoes. And, even if there are ‘mistakes’, these are recyclable, and thrown back in the mould and remade. In a worst-case scenario if the shoes are problematic, these are recalled and incinerated, and this has to be verified by insurance to ensure that things are properly done,” says Gwei.

Contrary to claims that Crocs is a one-shoe company, Crocs actually offers more than 120 styles of casual, comfortable footwear, including sandals, boots, heels, wedges and flats, along with the signature model, the “Beach”. Crocs also offers functional footwear for people who work on their feet, as well as products especially designed to help people who have foot or back problems.

The Star Online > Lifeliving
Monday September 7, 2009

Telling the real from the fake

Can you tell the difference between a real and fake pair of Crocs?

Crocs would like to warn consumers not to be deceived by those offering counterfeit products and learn to identify real Crocs products by using these simple guidelines:

1. Every pair of Crocs has its own unique barcode/serial number printed on its hangtag. If you see the same serial number appearing on the hangtags of any other pair of shoes of the same model or other models, then you definitely have an imitation in your hands.

2. Every original Crocs hangtag contains information relating to its corresponding pair of Crocs shoes such as its style name, colour description and size.

3. Check for authorised retailers and Crocs concept stores selling Crocs footwear listed in the official website at crocs.com.my. Only stores listed on the website sell genuine Crocs shoes.

4. Check the website product listing and compare the available designs and colours. If you see a shoe with the brand Crocs in a design or colour that is not shown on the website, then it is not an authentic Crocs product.

5. You can also go to facebook.com/crocsmalaysia and post a query.

>Customers can contact the official Crocs Service Centre ( 03-6203 2336) if they have any enquiries about the availability of genuine Crocs products in Malaysia.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ejiema
post Oct 22 2009, 10:04 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2

Group: Junior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

Thanks for the info..
+Quote Post
availyboy
post Oct 22 2009, 10:08 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #3

Heya bro nice info there you have shared with us
Though, the admin will discuss about this matter if not mistake
adios..=)
+Quote Post
i-phone33
post Oct 22 2009, 10:13 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #4

Group: New Member

actually not all these sellers are not original sellers...i bought before CROCS shoes from pasar malam for rm25 only and i actually check at CROCS website n i find it totally original and then indirectly i checked at CROCS outlet coz i intended to buy an original shoe to try n feel it...the manager told me tat mine was 100% original
+Quote Post
abubin
post Oct 22 2009, 10:22 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #5

Group: Senior Member

just ban all the crocs seller unless it is someone selling not for profit. Eg, bought wrong or secondhand and so on.

Buy from proper shop if you want to support crocs. Now you see how fake/imitation/piracy is killing a business. We can't force people to buy original but educate them. Hope everyone will do the right thing and support original crocs and buy from shop.
+Quote Post
interestingsht
post Oct 23 2009, 12:34 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #6

i kena twice.. sellers from lyn.. all fakes.. my fren bought in pasar malam for 30 bucks.. exactly same as the one i bought from these sellers.. 80+ bucks =.=
+Quote Post
netmatrix
post Oct 23 2009, 03:11 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #7

I used to spend some time telling people about this at some of the crocs selling threads here. But that was 2 months ago. Seems like they fall to deaf ears. And there are actually people still buying them online even knowing they are fakes. Silly as they would be better off saving the parcel fees by buying at pasar malam.

And the funny thing is the regular ruse of using parallel import, direct from manufacturer, rejects and off season items are usually used. Yet all are lazy to think of one thing, that in Malaysia, there are Crocs boutiques. And NO WAY Crocs would offer them to be sold by agents or anyone to protect the franchise owner of Crocs brand in Malaysia. No way crocs intl would do double dealing under their noses.

Anyway Crocs is not doing well is the truth as their sales is affected fromo the economic downturn. Of course they would issue news that they are doing fine to keep investors trust.

Anyway its also the same for a lot of branded garments here. I see them all the time. RM500 shirts going for RM100. Which is ridiculous discounts. Even off season items sold by off season shops in KL like Melium do not go lower than that! doh.gif
+Quote Post
i-phone33
post Oct 23 2009, 08:25 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #8

QUOTE(interestingsht @ Oct 23 2009, 12:34 AM)
i kena twice.. sellers from lyn.. all fakes.. my fren bought in pasar malam for 30 bucks.. exactly same as the one i bought from these sellers.. 80+ bucks =.=

if like tat then better stop buying from these sellers so tat our money won't burned off
+Quote Post
phone_maniac
post Oct 23 2009, 09:37 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #9

QUOTE(i-phone33 @ Oct 23 2009, 08:25 AM)
if like tat then better stop buying from these sellers so tat our money won't burned off

haha...buy rm20 crocs shoes wear can edi...as long comfortable oh...original crocs shoe too expensive edi
+Quote Post
cutejams2004
post Oct 23 2009, 11:30 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #10

the admins arent gonna care serously. Few months back, i remember commenting the same thing in main desk where we requested for all crocs thread to be closed, but i still see some around. And honestly, i think all of them are fake. To be safe, if you really want an ori one, get it from the crocs retail outlet itself.

If you want the fake one, ur better off getting at pasar malam or jusco/giant/carrefour
+Quote Post
abubin
post Oct 24 2009, 03:17 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #11

QUOTE(cutejams2004 @ Oct 23 2009, 11:30 PM)
the admins arent gonna care serously. Few months back, i remember commenting the same thing in main desk where we requested for all crocs thread to be closed, but i still see some around. And honestly, i think all of them are fake.  To be safe, if you really want an ori one, get it from the crocs retail outlet itself.

If you want the fake one, ur better off getting at pasar malam or jusco/giant/carrefour

I hope mods are having meeting about banning crocs sales here. Cause this is a community and the forum can play a part in improving the community and educating it's users. Malaysians are already with the boleh attitudes, educating users only is not good enough. If can ban then better. Cause I know there are lots of cheapskates here that will buy crocs knowing it is fake. They don't care if they are contributing to closing down crocs' business. By banning selling of crocs, LYN is saying Tak-Nak to something for the better.

But also do understand, this would also bring up problems in the future. When other things being sold here...people start complaining why ban this but not ban that. Oh well...mods have a meeting and decide.
+Quote Post
codex
post Oct 24 2009, 04:48 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #12

i bought mine direct from Crocs shop and i think worth for what i've paid
so soft and so nice plus smart too!

i hope we can say TAK-NAK to all those cheap2 "so-called-ori-crocs"

+2 for abubin =)
+Quote Post
b00n
post Oct 24 2009, 10:13 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #13

delusional

Group: Staff

Moved from dispute corner to front desk for the admin's consideration.
+Quote Post
gs20
post Oct 25 2009, 05:31 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #14

There are also ink/toner seller selling remac/compatible toner and claim it as original. Buyer simply don't care, as long as they get it at a much cheaper price.
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
pikacu
post Oct 25 2009, 06:30 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #15

OMG D:

QUOTE(gs20 @ Oct 25 2009, 05:31 PM)
There are also ink/toner seller selling remac/compatible toner and claim it as original. Buyer simply don't care, as long as they get it at a much cheaper price.

But problem arise when they buy it pricier than what it suppose to be.

+Quote Post
xeda
post Oct 25 2009, 10:59 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #16

QUOTE(pikacu @ Oct 25 2009, 06:30 PM)
But problem arise when they buy it pricier than what it suppose to be.

Then u might as well close every single thread that overprices their stuff. The argument is that whether its original or not, not the price.

+Quote Post
KillerSerpent
post Oct 26 2009, 12:25 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #17

Greed, cheap and everything online must be original mentality.

Until buyers clear this from their mind before transferring the money, it will still happen regardless how hard moderator act smile.gif

If we want to stop them, the buy stop from consumer itself, like how we going to stop wildlife trading. Stop purchasing, stop the business. Until this is stop completely, this argument/debate won't end.
+Quote Post
Joey Christensen
post Oct 26 2009, 09:15 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #18

Purgamentum init, exit purgamentum

I believe it is not thoroughly the authoritative personnel of LYN forum to instigate each and every Crocs sellers. It would be a strain in their human/capital resources.

Therefore, when a person wants to buy, please do some readings, cross references to confirm that what they are purchasing is genuine. Sometimes, the end user should do their part and not relying on the Moderator/Staff/Admin entirely.

Regards, Joey
+Quote Post
vader7
post Oct 26 2009, 12:32 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #19

QUOTE(phone_maniac @ Oct 23 2009, 09:37 AM)
haha...buy rm20 crocs shoes wear can edi...as long comfortable oh...original crocs shoe too expensive edi

haha bro...if rm 20 must be crocks then.. hmm.gif
remember...: good thing no cheap, cheap thing no good icon_idea.gif
+Quote Post
ahchun
post Oct 26 2009, 12:53 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #20

QUOTE(vader7 @ Oct 26 2009, 12:32 PM)
haha bro...if rm 20 must be crocks then.. hmm.gif
remember...: good thing no cheap, cheap thing no good  icon_idea.gif

totally agree on good thing no cheap
i am using the original crocs shoes and believe me it last quite long with my abusive usage. so soft and comfortable.
worth for every RM u paid.
+Quote Post

2 Pages  1 2 >
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th November 2009 - 02:51 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)