Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
2 Pages  1 2 > 
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Nokia N900, want to know

joshualeong87
post Aug 29 2009, 02:22 AM

Group: Junior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

hi , i'm planning to buy N97 in this year end but found out the new Nokia N900 will be release soon.

So i think i'm better reconsider for what i'm picking up

anyone know what's the different from symbian OS and Maemo OS?
is Maemo OS user friendly enough ?

just wanna know ... laugh.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Leo the Lion
post Aug 29 2009, 02:25 AM

XleoVengences

Group: Senior Member

QUOTE(joshualeong87 @ Aug 29 2009, 03:22 AM)
hi , i'm planning to buy N97 in this year end but found out the new Nokia N900 will be release soon.

So i think i'm better reconsider for what i'm picking up

anyone know what's the different from symbian OS and Maemo OS?
is Maemo OS user friendly enough ?

just wanna know ...  laugh.gif

Like people said, if you love Apple, you love iPhone

This one, if you love Nokia, you love N900.

As far I can tell, YES. Despite the video from youtube, it is user friendly and have some nokia feels too smile.gif
+Quote Post
joshualeong87
post Aug 29 2009, 02:29 AM

just wanna know if this N900 is worth a wait...

as you say apple and iphone user , this N900 will be a brand new experience as it's run with different OS rite?

wonder this OS will work faster or not...
+Quote Post
Leo the Lion
post Aug 29 2009, 02:33 AM

XleoVengences

QUOTE(joshualeong87 @ Aug 29 2009, 03:29 AM)

as you say apple and iphone user , this N900 will be a brand new experience as it's run with different OS rite?

Then just wait for more review. 600Mhz is definitely good. Plus 1GB application memory 256MB RAM, probably work faster. Heard boot alot quicker then N97 though the reviewer mention it's still prototype. Hence, wait for it tongue.gif
+Quote Post
squall_kay
post Aug 31 2009, 07:21 AM

~ B-o-R-e-D ~

QUOTE(joshualeong87 @ Aug 29 2009, 02:29 AM)

after 2 sept (nokia world convention), there must be preview / video about n900. then u can know, izit worth or not. many ppl look fwd 4 it. if the preview not so good, Nokia will lost many potential customers
+Quote Post
r47z
post Sep 3 2009, 06:35 PM

haha I heard a saying. Apple sells apples, Nokia sells fruits.
+Quote Post
numbernine
post Sep 4 2009, 02:53 AM

Group: New Member

is the Maemo OS based on the linux platform?something like the iphone rite?
+Quote Post
williamkow
post Sep 6 2009, 06:09 PM

QUOTE(numbernine @ Sep 4 2009, 02:53 AM)

The new model of Nokia N900, intelligent and smart mobile phone - http://maemo.nokia.com/n900/ or http://www.nokiaN900.com/

This phone is running Maemo which is not Symbian. Maemo is linux-based (Debian) operating system, that why it is very cool… there are much much more features that Symbian.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maemo_(operating_system)

And iPhone O/S is Darwin-based (Unix), for a bit more understanding, just read the first 1-2 paragraphs of the below few links.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Darwin_(operating_system)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NEXTSTEP

What is MAC OS X ? http://www.apple.com/macosx/what-is-macosx/

So, what is Debian ? see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Debian

Cheers for Linux, cheers for Nokia N900 success smile.gif

Note, Symbian applications cannot run on Maemo OS devices.

In the future, all the high-end Nokia mobile phones will be only Maemo-based, and it can compete with iPhone OS, bcos of its technology & features.

So, Symbian will be running in the middle/lower range of Nokia phones, which is lower price.
+Quote Post
nghj
post Sep 10 2009, 10:48 AM

"nuff said, bub"

QUOTE(squall_kay @ Aug 31 2009, 07:21 AM)
after 2 sept (nokia world convention), there must be preview / video about n900. then u can know, izit worth or not. many ppl look fwd 4 it. if the preview not so good, Nokia will lost many potential customers

i heard the podcast here
http://www.allaboutsymbian.com/news/item/1...Mini_X6_X3_.php

according to them, maemo 6 which will be released in another 12-18 mths will overtake maemo 5. so n900 is xpected to have short life. the two n97 (ori and mini) will still dominate the nokia market, because its running the 'long term' s60. eg : n95 has been here for long and is still going.
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
raptorclans
post Sep 15 2009, 03:20 PM

I wonder how will the pricing be... seems promising...
+Quote Post
rahuldave
post Sep 16 2009, 08:48 AM

Just saw this thread. Really interested in N900!!

Will Garmin support N900 as some site is showing an email from claimed to be staff of Garmin that it is not providing any updates for symbian after ver 5.00.60.

And, does all the application for N900 can be downloaded from maemo.org for FREE?

Nokia has excluded DVB-H from N900, can we use a DVB-H Dongle for this?

Appreciate some comments biggrin.gif
+Quote Post
aneip
post Sep 16 2009, 07:26 PM

is 3k reasonable price to expect?
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
Lionheart216
post Sep 19 2009, 06:43 PM

^.^Red Devil^.^

I can't imaging wat is the opening price for this phone..
surely very expansive..should be above 3k..
+Quote Post
chenster
post Sep 24 2009, 04:30 PM

so many n900 threads..
dunno which one to follow
+Quote Post
saiya
post Sep 29 2009, 10:44 AM

do you believe this n900 its not just a propaganda just like n97? im frustrated with my n97.. can i get trust for this time? dont know lah...
+Quote Post
Leo the Lion
post Sep 29 2009, 10:55 AM

XleoVengences

QUOTE(numbernine @ Sep 4 2009, 03:53 AM)

Maemo = GNU/Linux
Android = Google/Linux

More freedom on Maemo then Android.

Take note that it will be release the same or higher price then N97 RRP. I think will be RM2,899 like that la.

@saiya - what do u mean propaganda? N97 is nice, but require more firmware update to tweak it up since S60 v5 not mature enough. Part of other problem (lens scratch), you won't get this problem with N97 mini (no lens cover). wink.gif

This post has been edited by Leo the Lion: Sep 29 2009, 10:57 AM
+Quote Post
saiya
post Sep 29 2009, 01:51 PM

oh, i mean the slide transition on the demo video on youtube very frustrating, just like mau tunjuk hebat. same to this n900 before selling their product all the demo seems promising.. heh heh..

at the end user hav a little pain to update firmware.. beside that its all ok. i feel not so satisfied with my n97. hope with the new firmware keep coming will be much better.

ok back to n900, what is the processing speed eh..
+Quote Post
Leo the Lion
post Sep 29 2009, 07:10 PM

XleoVengences

QUOTE(saiya @ Sep 29 2009, 02:51 PM)
oh, i mean the slide transition on the demo video on youtube very frustrating, just like mau tunjuk hebat.  same to this n900 before selling their product all the demo seems promising.. heh heh..

at the end user hav a little pain to update firmware.. beside that its all ok.  i feel not so satisfied with my n97. hope with the new firmware keep coming will be much better.

ok back to n900, what is the processing speed eh..

Arm-8 Cortex 600Mhz, faster then regular qualcomm processor. The processor is same as iPhone 3gs
+Quote Post
Vervain
post Sep 29 2009, 09:15 PM

got hit by a chick, now i can see stars

wow, another N900 thread. Well, all I can say nokia better release this gem out soon to gain more enthusiast. Looks promising, the only draw back is no MMS. But hey, who uses MMS nowadays. If you need to send something Email is the way to go. Well was looking forward on it's release, but I guess will wait a bit longer for touch HD2. Since multitouch is my cup of tea.

Marketing price, I don't think it will touch 3k. Introductory price should walk around 2.5k. This should be affordable.
+Quote Post
joshualeong87
post Oct 26 2009, 05:35 PM

as i know it doesnt support chinese izzit?
+Quote Post

2 Pages  1 2 >
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd November 2009 - 04:31 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)