Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!

RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> SHARP air cond, Sharp vs York, tips

mzms
post Aug 11 2009, 07:15 AM

Group: Junior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

Hello all,
Anyone here using sharp airconds? are they reliable? I'm buying a new aircond for one small room. I wanted to buy York but no stock, the sellers here say Sharp is better than York but donno can trust or not! Seems like I can find no review or opinions on sharp air conds in the internet. Thanks for any info.

update:
see my latest post for some tips on choosing Sharp and York or other brand.

This post has been edited by mzms: Aug 13 2009, 11:08 AM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rayfoo
post Aug 11 2009, 08:08 AM

Group: Senior Member

try panasonic
+Quote Post
skystrike
post Aug 11 2009, 08:14 AM

why so unker???!!

try lg
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
kira_mha
post Aug 11 2009, 09:03 AM

try cap ayam.
+Quote Post
limj881128
post Aug 11 2009, 09:04 AM

tajam is Gooood~~~
+Quote Post
New Hunk
post Aug 11 2009, 09:12 AM

buy any japanese brand is same..dont buy haier mec pensonic all that local shit
+Quote Post
megat89
post Aug 11 2009, 09:23 AM

try the one with the inverter like panasonic/daikin..it will reduce ur electricity bill..
+Quote Post
mzms
post Aug 12 2009, 08:27 AM

already bought and installed it. it is very quiet, i am so surprised and pleased. even the outdoor unit very quiet.
+Quote Post
Syphon
post Aug 12 2009, 08:29 AM

i don't buy what the salesman rekemen one.coz they earn more komisen and want to clear stock. nextime got problem they ajiajo with excuses.
+Quote Post
Syphon
post Aug 12 2009, 08:30 AM

QUOTE(mzms @ Aug 12 2009, 08:27 AM)
already bought and installed it. it is very quiet, i am so surprised and pleased. even the outdoor unit very quiet.

u buy aircond because of the quietness? not coolness?
+Quote Post
soyaben86
post Aug 12 2009, 10:19 AM

bewbies taker my soul

sharp is not that gud to kiddo liao..
+Quote Post
ahjames
post Aug 12 2009, 10:21 AM

My Name James

QUOTE(Syphon @ Aug 12 2009, 08:29 AM)
i don't buy what the salesman rekemen one.coz they earn more komisen and want to clear stock. nextime got problem they ajiajo with excuses.

yes all dealer promote item based on stock/ incentive scheme of that brand.

that why u NEVER hear dealer say panasonic good, cos their incentive is the most worstesttesttt of all brands.
+Quote Post
mzms
post Aug 12 2009, 10:51 AM

hard to find reviews or comments on sharp. anyway i'll be the guinea pig. so far so good. i set at 27C only and from 29, the room quickly drops to 27 then the compressor stops for about 10-15 minutes before starting to cool the room again.

i got the normal model, it has a turbo fucntion which blows air at high speed at 16C to quickly cool a hot room. the cooling unit also has LED display to show either set temperature or room temperature. This can be turned off from the remote for total darkness when sleeping since i have blackout curtains. it is super quiet. at low fan hard to notice it is even on, at mid fan it is whisper quiet. the outdoor unit also very quiet, just a low hum. becos the compressor turns off when optimal temp achieved, i find myself pressing my ear to the wall to check if it is on or not as it is hard to tell becos of its very low noise.

Added on August 12, 2009, 10:56 amactually the seller wasn't trying to promote any particular brand, he has many khind, panasonic, sharp, mistral, akira and york but york only left one. he said china mari like akira, mitac, midea, elba etc etc no good (even though he sells them) so he rekemen sharp and panasonic. york oso good but he no new stock. since he can say akira etc not good even though he sells them (for ppl on tight budget?) i don't think he was trying to push any particular brand (he rekemen panasonic, sharp, york and khind to me).

we have many units of khind standing fan and table fan and they are all many years old, all still good. donno about their aircond.

i also asked the aircond installer/service man who accepts assignments from many different shops, he said sharp is good and is one of the quietest units. i guess he would know better. time will tell...

Added on August 13, 2009, 11:07 ami want to add that i buy the York for another room. here is what i have to share and hopefully helpful for others buying new aircond.

both are normal non-inverter models. York Essential YWM09G vs. Sharp AHA9KCV.
Sharp efficiency rating is 9000/925 = 9.73 cost RM950 with installation
York efficiency rating is 9000/880 = 10.23 cost RM880 with installation (promotion price, normal price is 900+)

This is a difference of 0.50. What does efficiency rating mean? it means the York uses less electricty to do the same job as the Sharp and although minimal difference but if you use your aircond a lot for long hours everyday, in the long term you can see the difference in cost.

Now, Sharp also has low wattage high efficiency 1HP unit but it costs a lot more around RM1300-rm1400. Its rating is 9000/780 = 11.54 but it will take a very long time before recover the cost in price difference. It is meant for people who use aircond for many long hours every day.

Both are quiet.

What I like about the Sharp is it has a lighted panel on the blower unit. It has a big number display to show the current room temperature as well as the set temperature. This lighted panel can be turned off. It also has a power switch in case you lose your remote (it will be in AUTO mode if turned on with the unit switch).

So if you use your aircond a lot for long hours every single day, pay attention to the efficiency rating. In general, buy units with rating of 10 and above for best savings.

This post has been edited by mzms: Aug 13 2009, 11:07 AM
+Quote Post

Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd November 2009 - 03:34 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)