Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
80 Pages  1 2 3 > »  
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> LYN F1 Thread V9. Austrian Toto Wolff Buys William, Toto Wolff Williams takeover in due time

linkinstreet
post Aug 6 2009, 08:28 AM

Damn you Anno! Asuka is not dead

Group: Senior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

Streaming Channel
http://www.justin.tv/tonton2 <--- South Africa's Super Sport Live. Uses BBC. Shows GP2 also

This post has been edited by linkinstreet: Nov 20 2009, 05:18 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
linkinstreet
post Aug 6 2009, 08:29 AM

Engine informations for all drivers
Red - Engine likely finished due to normal use
Blue - Engine finished due to failure.

This post has been edited by linkinstreet: Aug 6 2009, 08:38 AM
+Quote Post
linkinstreet
post Aug 6 2009, 08:30 AM

GET WELL FELIPPE!

This post has been edited by linkinstreet: Aug 6 2009, 08:35 AM
+Quote Post
linkinstreet
post Aug 6 2009, 08:31 AM

Michael Schumacher's return to Formula One is not yet a done deal and he still needs a doctor's seal of approval, his spokesperson has confirmed.

The seven-time World Champion is set to replace Felipe Massa at this month's European Grand Prix in Valencia after the Brazilian suffered a career-threatening accident in Hungary last month.

His spokesperson Sabine Kehm confirmed on Wednesday that his return is subject to a medical, which is expected to take place next week.

"He's still not absolutely certain that his neck will hold up. His return depends on medical examinations which have yet to take place. Only after these tests will it be clear if he can drive," Kehm told German agency SID.

She added: "Michael is committed 100 percent to his return and is completely immersed in preparations for the Valencia meeting.

"It all depends on his health and the doctors' opinion."

Schumacher admitted on Tuesday that his neck was still bothering following a motorcycle accident earlier this year.

"All in all, the training is going pretty well, although I have to admit my neck pinches a bit," he told his official website.

"We have to get a grip on that as health has priority. That's the clear arrangement made with Ferrari and, by the way, with my wife (Corinna) too."
+Quote Post
linkinstreet
post Aug 6 2009, 10:04 AM

Alonso is tired of listening to all these rumours about his future

“There! Like this I will be able to concentrate 100% on my 2009 season with Renault”

+Quote Post
hack3line
post Aug 6 2009, 03:27 PM

Group: Junior Member

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Aug 6 2009, 10:04 AM)
Alonso is tired of listening to all these rumours about his future

“There! Like this I will be able to concentrate 100% on my 2009 season with Renault”

doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

THIS IS EMBARASSING!
+Quote Post
linkinstreet
post Aug 6 2009, 04:02 PM

pfft, you just need to read Fizman's comic more

2009 Season:
Aussie

Malaysia

China

Bahrain

Spain

Monaco
+Quote Post
linkinstreet
post Aug 6 2009, 11:42 PM

BMW team boss Mario Theissen insists the team is still seeking a "solution" despite missing Wednesday's deadline to sign the new Concorde Agreement.

Last Friday all 2010 teams, including the three new outfits, signed the new Agreement, which will run until 2012.

BMW, though, did not put pen to paper as the German manufacturer had announced prior to the signing that they would be withdrawing from the sport at the end of this year's Championship. They were given until Wednesday, 5 August, to sign the deal.

But with the team failing to find a buyer within the week, Theissen revealed they failed to meet the deadline, although that doesn't mean the outfit, under new ownership, won't make the 2010 grid.

"Since the announcement on 29 July of our strategic realignment, we have done everything in our power to reach a rapid agreement on the sale of the team based at Hinwil. Regrettably, despite every effort, this has proved unsuccessful," Theissen said.

"The tight timeframe we faced simply did not allow us and the interested parties and investors enough time to find a solution for such a complex transaction. This means the team cannot sign the Concorde Agreement at present.

"The aim now is, over the coming weeks, to find a solution together with potential interested parties and Peter Sauber. Beyond that, we will see the 2009 season through to its conclusion with our unstinting sporting commitment
+Quote Post
linkinstreet
post Aug 7 2009, 07:28 AM

Peter Sauber has put the blame squarely on BMW for the failure to the sell the BMW-Sauber F1 team, saying the German manufacturer is demanding too much money.

BMW announced late lst month that they would be withdrawing from F1 at the end of the season, putting their 80 percent stake in the BMW-Sauber team up for sale.

Almost immediately Sauber, who owns the other 20 percent of the team he founded in 1993, put together a bid hoping to have a deal signed ahead of Wednesday's deadline for the Concorde Agreement.

However, his bid wasn't successful as he claims BMW are asking too much for the purchase of the team's Hinwil base.

"Following the announcement by BMW that it will be pulling out of Formula 1 at the end of the 2009 season, I tried to launch a takeover and rescue of the team," Sauber told Autosport.

"However, the negotiations with BMW have failed because the demands were simply far too high for me. Consequently, I have been unable to sign the Concorde Agreement, which guarantees payments worth millions and would have secured the future of the team."

Sauber, though, hasn't given up, confident that a solution can be found that will not only keep the team on the grid but also ensure that their name is added to the Concorde Agreement, which guarantees the team a share in F1's earnings.

"I am incredibly disappointed and disconsolate," said Sauber. "For me this is the bitterest day in my 40-year career in motor sport. It is also a devastating setback for the team.

"Other solutions must now be sought. The responsibility for that lies in the hands of BMW. Needless to say, I am willing to help, as before.
BMW is just being stubborn here. The team is now gone. Why they want to hold out for more money for something they dissolved themselves?

This post has been edited by linkinstreet: Aug 7 2009, 07:29 AM
+Quote Post
SeaGates
post Aug 7 2009, 03:27 PM

Hello World (=

Group: VIP

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Aug 7 2009, 07:28 AM)
BMW is just being stubborn here. The team is now gone. Why they want to hold out for more money for something they dissolved themselves?

Going down with a bang, an high asking price can be a wound licker for them after bleeding that much money in the past few years.
+Quote Post
bob
post Aug 7 2009, 07:35 PM

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Aug 7 2009, 07:28 AM)

B M W ................... Banyak Makan Wang ..

....... n wonder lorrrr ...

whistling.gif
+Quote Post
sqwerk2
post Aug 7 2009, 10:26 PM

The Big One

QUOTE(SeaGates @ Aug 7 2009, 03:27 PM)
Going down with a bang, an high asking price can be a wound licker for them after bleeding that much money in the past few years.

agreed. they are trying to minimise their losses at least. still hoping that Peter Sauber can find a buyer to take the team.
+Quote Post
linkinstreet
post Aug 8 2009, 04:53 PM

Danica Patrick has effectively been ruled out of a drive in Formula One for next season.

The IndyCar racing star has long been linked with a potential seat with the new American team, USF1, for 2010.

However, given Patrick's profile in American motorsport, USF1 boss Peter Windsor feels the 27-year-old would not suit the fledgling marque.

"A lot of people are saying to us, 'Are you interested in Danica?' And my reply is, in some respects, Danica is too big for us now," Windsor told Sports Illustrated.

"She'll probably go to NASCAR, probably do very well there and she'll probably make a fortune.

"For her to do Formula One, it's a huge commitment at this stage of her career, and her expectation level would be very high.

"We're not going to be fighting for the World Championship in year one.

"Reliability and driveability are going to be very important for us, just getting the car designed and built, and a new group working together as a team."

Windsor, though, is intent on standing by his original claim that American drivers will be in the car, but due to circumstances knows the field is limited.

"We need to make the effort to get Americans in our car. That was always our goal and it is still our goal," added Windsor.

"There are very good American drivers out there.

"To be honest, shame on Formula One and on American motorsport that some of these great young Americans with single-seater talent have not been nurtured more and given more opportunity.

"If they'd all been out there racing Formula Renault, Formula Three, GP2, we'd be in a different ballpark right now."
America, where Formula 1 is lower ranking than Nascar...
+Quote Post
DikkieD
post Aug 8 2009, 07:14 PM

Could someone let me know when tickets will roughly be available for the new 2010 race? Besides, I was orientating on some nice seats, which seats are the best to take? I mean, is it better to get a pricy ticket on the straight part of the circuit, or are there other and better positions to be at during the race?

Anybody can recommend a good position? (budget around RM500)...
+Quote Post
linkinstreet
post Aug 8 2009, 10:41 PM

The FIA has re-opened the selection procedure for the final place on the 2010 Formula 1 World Championship entry list, in the wake of BMW's announcement that it is withdrawing from the sport at the end of the year.

AUTOSPORT understands that yesterday, FIA president Max Mosley wrote to the seven teams on the 'reserve list' - those under consideration for a place on the grid that did not receive an automatic entry in July - as well as BMW Sauber, to inform them that a place on the grid has become available.

Peter Sauber is still working with BMW to put a rescue package in place for the team he is a 20% partner in, but the Swiss was not able to secure the necessary funding in time to meet last Wednesday's deadline to sign the new Concorde Agreement.

Therefore, while sources suggest that Sauber is making progress to secure the budget to save his eponymous outfit, the FIA is inviting whatever BMW Sauber should become to tender its application alongside the other seven hopefuls selected from the original 15 applications, to pitch for the final place on the grid.

Epsilon Euskadi has already signalled its intention to re-apply, while David Richards' Prodrive outfit is believed still to be interested should the conditions be right to enter F1.

Epsilon Team boss Joan Villadelprat told AUTOSPORT last week: "We are still working on the project, at a much slower rate obviously because we don't have the security [to be on the grid].

"What we can say is that the people who were interested in helping us are still interested, which is something incredible. And if the opportunity arises, we are going to attack it, there's no doubts about it."
+Quote Post
linkinstreet
post Aug 8 2009, 10:50 PM

The F1 helmet manufacturer Schuberth has reacted immediately to the injury sustained by Felipe Massa with a revised model.

Michael Schumacher will debut the updated version, revealed in the pages of the German newspaper Bild, when he makes his return to Formula One at the forthcoming European grand prix.

Although Massa's carbon fibre Schuberth withstood the force of the 800 gram steel spring that struck at more than 265kph, the left visor mounting was knocked off.

Bild reports that Schuberth has reacted by adding a titanium disc to the mounting point.

"Felipe's visor only came off when the doctors pulled on it," Oliver Schimpf insists, "but we have inserted a titanium disc at the transition from the visor to the helmet where previously there was only plastic.

"It is a reaction to the accident," Schimpf confirmed, explaining that the mounting is now twice as strong.

Bild said Schumacher's Schuberth RF1, with a slightly modified livery for his F1 comeback, costs 12,000 euros
+Quote Post
Raikkonen
post Aug 9 2009, 02:28 PM

♥♥ 'Raikkonen oppa! ;p' ♥♥

Schuberth revises F1 crash helmet design
Link ~ http://en.f1-live.com

Michael Schumacher will debut the updated version, revealed in the pages of the German newspaper Bild, when he makes his return to Formula One at the forthcoming European Grand Prix.

Bild said Schumacher's Schuberth RF1, with a slightly modified livery for his F1 comeback, costs €12,000.
+Quote Post
linkinstreet
post Aug 9 2009, 04:18 PM

QUOTE(Raikkonen @ Aug 9 2009, 02:28 PM)
Schuberth revises F1 crash helmet design
Link ~ http://en.f1-live.com

Why are you posting something that I already posted above?
QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Aug 8 2009, 10:50 PM)

+Quote Post
CoffeeDude
post Aug 11 2009, 03:52 PM

Schumacher calls off comeback

Michael Schumacher has called off his return to Formula One due to a neck injury.
+Quote Post
linkinstreet
post Aug 11 2009, 03:53 PM

Michael Schumacher has called off his return to Formula One due to a neck injury.

.."Yesterday evening, I had to inform Ferrari President Luca di Montezemolo and Team Principal Stefano Domenicali that unfortunately I'm not able to step in for Felipe (Massa)," he said on his website.

"I really tried everything to make that temporary comeback possible, however, much to my regret it didn't work out. Unfortunately we did not manage to get a grip on the pain in the neck which occurred after the private test in Mugello, even if medically or therapeutically we tried everything possible.

"I am disappointed to the core. I am awfully sorry for the guys of Ferrari and for all the fans which crossed their fingers for me. I can only repeat that I tried everything that was within my power. All I can do now is to keep my fingers crossed for the whole team for the coming races."

This post has been edited by linkinstreet: Aug 11 2009, 03:53 PM
+Quote Post

80 Pages  1 2 3 > » 
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th November 2009 - 12:52 AM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)