> Samsung OMNIA II small review

Andrewtst
post Aug 1 2009, 09:16 PM

Group: Senior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

Just get it on 27/July/2009 rclxm9.gif Purchase at Singapore SGD$ 748.00 (without contract)

Recently kinda busy, no time write a full review. More review coming soon after have more times playing on it. Stay tune. smile.gif

Design:
- This is one of the reason I buy it, the menu crystal button is damn beauty. (All button is customize to whatever you like)
- The device is extremely slim, only 11.9mm for such 3.7inch screen size.

Speed:
- 2nd reason I buy this, ya they still got certain place not enough smooth. (I believe future firmware will solve it.)
- Overall is speedy, the most speedy WinMo phone I ever try.

Interface:
- WOW! Nearly 90% customize. (and it still let you return back to old boring, ugly design of WinMo)
- The most beauty Photo Viewer and Music/Video player ever done by Samsung.
- The contact scrolling is damn cool like iPhone / iPod Touch
- Can added more pages than default 4 pages by just scroll to left during edit.

Camera:
- It is only 5Mega but the quality still really great. At least it still far far better than LG Crystal and Viewty Smart 8Mega (Off course my ultra touch 8Mega is better)

Screen:
- Extremely WOW! For WinMo, WinMo limited to 65k color but Samsung mention this unit run 16M color and it really look like 16M
- AMOLED is stunning! LCD is ugly for me now, I already feel my iPod touch screen less attractive now.

SMS-MMS :
- A lot people complain this as it is not as fast as original ugly WinMo, actually it is ok, it slow for 1st opening, after that it will be ok.

Specification:
- 256 RAM, 512 ROM, 8GB Internal Storage + up to 32GB MicroSD! Wow! (Official only came with 1GB MicrsoSD)
- 800Mhz Processor with Hardware acceleration. Another WOW! Effect.
- Upgradable to WinMO 6.5 for free. 3rd WOW!

Cons:
- below left corner and center difficult to press, after playing around I just notice seems like Samsung count the location not correctly where you need to press more lower to select it. (This is happen to my Ultra Touch also, but the new firmware already fix it)
- some selection still tinny, but this issue will be fix once WinMO 6.5 is out.
- No Chinese input but capable to view.
- No normal phone keypad. I not really get use to QWERTY pad. (Found it, thanks a lot help from Wen Qiang which point out to me at my blog on how to select others keypad mode, by press and hold the MODE X9 key to switch between 12keys, 20 keys or QWERTY mode.
- No Landscape mode for Office Application. (This is kinda stupid)
- No landscape manual rotate function.
- Fingerprint lover.
- Scrolling is not optimize in others area like OMNIA I900 (none Samsung TouchWiz part). Anyway I believe this issue will be solved once Samsung out Windows Mobile 6.5 firmware updates. (Free in future updates)

Third party Software install at the moment:
- NAVFone PPC (GPS software came with package)
- PushStock (pre-install)
- Rednano (pre-install)
- Resco File Explorer
- Application Store (the installer file is hide inside the My Storage)
- Oxford 7 Eng - Eng| Eng - Chinese | Chinese - Eng Dictionary
- Lexisgoo 3.6 English Dictionary
- CorePlayer 3.2 (not really smooth, slighty jerky even tune, suggest use back pre-install touch player)
- Facebook
- Skype 3.6 (can made Skype call)
- WorldMate Live
- TouchPal 4.0 (with Eng & Chinese Simplified Input)
- Capture Screen Utility

Third party Games install at the moment: (all support WVGA resolution)
- Asphalt 4 Elite Racing
- BlockBreaker Deluxe 2
- Bejeweled 2
- Brain Challenge 2
- BubbleBash
- CSI Miami
- Dogz 2
- Jumba
- UNO
- Astraware Solitaire (download from Application Store)
- Astraware Sudoku (download from Application Store)
- Text Twist (download from Application Store)

My OMNIA II interface capture:
user posted image user posted image

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Aug 17 2009, 02:11 AM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Andrewtst
post Aug 1 2009, 09:17 PM

More Screen Capture:
+Quote Post
jianjie
post Aug 1 2009, 09:31 PM

Group: Junior Member

hey bro u buy from SG shop? do u know any dealer that will buy tis phone and sell at msia for slightly higher price? like no more than 100...cz if 748 convert to MYR it'll be around 1825 only (base on today's conversion rate which is 2.44)
let say conversion is 2.5, 748 => 1870...
+Quote Post
Andrewtst
post Aug 1 2009, 09:41 PM

Sorry, I not sure about that.

You may check the following two dealer whether doing export or not.

http://www.whymobile.com

http://www.mobilesquare.com.sg/
+Quote Post
hanieyf
post Aug 1 2009, 10:03 PM

maruku berhenti sekejap,oom noom noom

demm, nice phone there.. how bout sound ? loud enough ?
+Quote Post
chyaw
post Aug 1 2009, 10:07 PM

Andrewtst,
How do you find touchwiz 2.0? Is it better than SPB mobile shell? I'm used to SPB mobile shell...
Anyway, when windows mobile 6.5 is out, you'll need to reinstall all your application unless you stick back on 6.1? Ouch!

Added on August 1, 2009, 10:09 pmBTW andrewtst, why not we turn this tread into official Omnia II tread?

This post has been edited by chyaw: Aug 1 2009, 10:09 PM
+Quote Post
Andrewtst
post Aug 1 2009, 10:23 PM

QUOTE(chyaw @ Aug 1 2009, 10:07 PM)
Andrewtst,
How do you find touchwiz 2.0? Is it better than SPB mobile shell? I'm used to SPB mobile shell...
Anyway, when windows mobile 6.5 is out, you'll need to reinstall all your application unless you stick back on 6.1? Ouch!

Added on August 1, 2009, 10:09 pmBTW andrewtst, why not we turn this tread into official Omnia II tread?

Both got it pros and cons. Can't decide which is better.

I think Samsung will out a custom made version 6.5.

I don't know how to made this as official OMNIA II thread and not sure it is capable to be official thread or not.

If OK, any help is appreciate, I don't might this thread being move to official OMNIA II thread.
+Quote Post
Andrewtst
post Aug 1 2009, 10:29 PM

QUOTE(hanieyf @ Aug 1 2009, 10:03 PM)
demm, nice phone there.. how bout sound ? loud enough ?

Sound Quality during calling is clear (better than my previous Ultra Touch a lot)

Sound Quality during song player is fantastic once you on the W-HD effect.

The only drawback is the SMS tones a bit soft. (No issue for calling tones)
+Quote Post
Andrewtst
post Aug 1 2009, 10:36 PM

Attached with sample photos taken with Samsung OMNIA II:

+Quote Post
hanieyf
post Aug 1 2009, 10:45 PM

maruku berhenti sekejap,oom noom noom

can do utube review meh for this phone? look sooooooo yummy ! wub.gif
especially when playing music wub.gif
+Quote Post
Andrewtst
post Aug 1 2009, 10:46 PM

QUOTE(hanieyf @ Aug 1 2009, 10:45 PM)
can do utube review meh for this phone? look sooooooo yummy ! wub.gif
especially when playing music  wub.gif

Hmm.. eh.... no time doing that at the moment. Sorry.

Anyway they is plenty people post the video already at youtube. smile.gif
+Quote Post
evilpuppy
post Aug 1 2009, 11:10 PM

www.sgvision.net

how does the cam work? <press> straight away capture or press hold (2sec of focusing) before it goes capturing the image?
been using HD which quite difficult for it to capture my kids always has shadow sweat.gif

+Quote Post
Andrewtst
post Aug 1 2009, 11:30 PM

QUOTE(evilpuppy @ Aug 1 2009, 11:10 PM)
how does the cam work? <press> straight away capture or press hold (2sec of focusing) before it goes capturing the image?
been using HD which quite difficult for it to capture my kids always has shadow  sweat.gif

Actually you can press and let it auto focus capture ... or press and hold let it focus and capture (I prefer second way as it snap photo better)

* All recent Samsung, SE and even normal digital camera shall behave like that.
+Quote Post
koopig
post Aug 2 2009, 05:22 PM

excellent photo quality, dude!
my dream phone currently~~
+Quote Post
fhfoomelaka
post Aug 2 2009, 05:53 PM

how is the video recording function?
And the camera has anti hand shake function?
+Quote Post
kming
post Aug 2 2009, 09:12 PM

Great photo. smile.gif
+Quote Post
Andrewtst
post Aug 2 2009, 10:07 PM

QUOTE(fhfoomelaka @ Aug 2 2009, 05:53 PM)
how is the video recording function?
And the camera has anti hand shake function?

The camera have Anti Shake, and you get all the function of recent Samsung Phone camera features.

The Video record support up to 30fps of 720x480 resolution. Quality is good but not fantastic. (I never impress of Samsung phone video record at all, it always cannot fight with LG or Nokia)

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Aug 2 2009, 10:10 PM
+Quote Post
Andrewtst
post Aug 2 2009, 10:16 PM

Sample shot of Games running on OMNIA II

+Quote Post
enCORe
post Aug 3 2009, 09:11 AM

-Radical Audiofreak & PDAophiles-

wattaheck,
this canot do manual lansdscape mode ? have you check display settings to change orientation ?

settings > screen

I think the main strength is the AMOLED screen, very nais tongue.gif
+Quote Post
Andrewtst
post Aug 3 2009, 09:37 AM

QUOTE(enCORe @ Aug 3 2009, 09:11 AM)
wattaheck,
this canot do manual lansdscape mode ? have you check display settings to change orientation ?

settings > screen

I think the main strength is the AMOLED screen, very nais tongue.gif

Cannot, is confirm Samsung take out. I check forum and the answer I get also same. Hope Samsung put it back as some applications really need it.

At the moment only Music & Video Player(Touch Player), Photo browser, sms & Internet Browsing can do auto rotate to Landscape. (For applications that default landscape than it can)
+Quote Post

19 Pages  1 2 3 > » 
Bump TopicClosed TopicTopic OptionsStart new topic

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st March 2010 - 06:20 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)