Lowyat.NET Forums

RSS feedBump TopicClosed TopicStart new topicStart Poll

> Which Forum software is good?, free one.. (Web Applications)

lled1975
post Jul 8 2009, 09:42 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1

Group: Junior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

Dear all,

Hi, i am setting up a forum.. just some typical forum but might support many users...

So far i saw like what forum.lowyat.net using is IP Board and ohters like vBullentin.. but both have to purchase..

is there any similiar forum software which is free? Thanks!
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Azlan96
post Jul 9 2009, 08:19 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2

do you have your own domain?

you can check out http://www.phpbb.com/ but i am not sure if its free or not
+Quote Post
lled1975
post Jul 9 2009, 08:42 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #3

QUOTE(Azlan96 @ Jul 9 2009, 08:19 PM)
do you have your own domain?

you can check out http://www.phpbb.com/ but i am not sure if its free or not

ya i have own domina

phpbb is free, but it seems the features is not as good as Vbulletin and IVBoard..
+Quote Post
HMMaster
post Jul 9 2009, 09:35 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #4

^ My expression after browsing /k/

Group: Moderator

QUOTE(lled1975 @ Jul 9 2009, 08:42 PM)
ya i have own domina

phpbb is free, but it seems the features is not as good as Vbulletin and IVBoard..

phpbb is one of the best free forum already... sweat.gif

you can also try this:
http://www.simplemachines.org/
+Quote Post
solstice818
post Jul 10 2009, 12:16 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #5

You'll Never Walk Alone

Group: Senior Member

QUOTE(lled1975 @ Jul 9 2009, 08:42 PM)
ya i have own domina

phpbb is rated as one of the best among the free options for hosting a forum.Of course they will be lacking some features.Other wise, how are they going to make money.You pay for what you get which is why Vbulletin and IVboard have better features than it.
+Quote Post
sinner
post Jul 10 2009, 04:19 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #6

can anyone what is the features different between phpbb and Vbulletin? thanks!

This post has been edited by sinner: Jul 10 2009, 04:56 PM
+Quote Post
yusazie
post Jul 13 2009, 12:31 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #7

???? flex.gif
+Quote Post
CuteSanSan
post Jul 13 2009, 12:47 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #8

Look at All My ★★★★★★

seems like u r spamming? blush.gif

btw i'm using forums-free.com, so far stil happy wif it^^
+Quote Post
yusazie
post Jul 13 2009, 09:12 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #9

forum free?? cool.gif
+Quote Post
CuteSanSan
post Jul 13 2009, 11:46 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #10

Look at All My ★★★★★★

QUOTE(yusazie @ Jul 13 2009, 09:12 AM)
forum free?? cool.gif

o.o yes, y dn u google it ? forums-free.com blush.gif
+Quote Post
sanjayws
post Jul 17 2009, 01:33 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #11

QUOTE(lled1975 @ Jul 8 2009, 09:42 PM)
Dear all,

Hi, i am setting up a forum.. just some typical forum but might support many users...

So far i saw like what forum.lowyat.net using is IP Board and ohters like vBullentin.. but both have to purchase..

is there any similiar forum software which is free? Thanks!

I like simplemachines forum...clean, good development speed and good support community. Works with large user base very well too.
+Quote Post
Kedirenffet
post Aug 13 2009, 09:54 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #12

I prefer PhpBB. It is a nice software and free. Also it's open source so integrate it into your site and do really cool things. It has an active forum where the development staff remain quite active to help you with bugs you may encounter.
Demo : free forums
+Quote Post
dy/dx
post Aug 15 2009, 09:26 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #13

♥ Tiffany ♥

+Quote Post
Vail
post Aug 15 2009, 06:16 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #14

LightHaze Pirate

Discuz =]

Free for personal use. Good features *better than PHPbb*
+Quote Post
iWeed
post Aug 19 2009, 04:55 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #15

dont wanna go back to darkdays of mine

vbulletin, got free version? smile.gif
+Quote Post
failed.hashcheck
post Sep 19 2009, 11:12 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #16

If u want IPB feeling then I would recommend simple machine forum(SMF), quite powerful with functionality at par with IPB brows.gif . it oso lightly coded, very fast to load.

This post has been edited by failed.hashcheck: Sep 19 2009, 11:17 AM
+Quote Post
Dannyl
post Nov 5 2009, 12:22 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #17

la la la

QUOTE(failed.hashcheck @ Sep 19 2009, 11:12 AM)
If u want IPB feeling then I would recommend simple machine forum(SMF), quite powerful with functionality at par with IPB brows.gif . it oso lightly coded, very fast to load.

I'm setting up SMF on my XP machine. Just a quick question - if I want to maintain separate SMF copies for different communities on the same server, is it possible?
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
TheGigabit.com
post Nov 9 2009, 11:13 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #18

yes u can, just create another user for it / folders. so the url will be different
+Quote Post
rmvalues
post Nov 12 2009, 08:59 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #19

+1 here for simplemachines (SMF)

it's my favorite forum software.

clean, beautiful layout, highly secure.
+Quote Post
HMMaster
post Nov 12 2009, 09:58 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #20

^ My expression after browsing /k/

Group: Moderator

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Nov 5 2009, 12:22 PM)
I'm setting up SMF on my XP machine.  Just a quick question - if I want to maintain separate SMF copies for different communities on the same server, is it possible?

just place it in a different folder and use a different prefix for the database table naming. (better if use different db)
+Quote Post

Bump TopicClosed TopicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th November 2009 - 10:02 AM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)