Lowyat.NET Forums

Paypal WTS topics will be closed after 14 Nov. Read here.
2 Pages  1 2 > 
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> blog or website? that's the question

wadvert
post Jul 4 2009, 09:47 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1

Group: Junior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

I can't make up my mind. Surely don't want to waste the time to make both. And is there a support group in lyn. i really need the boost to start of one, i guess.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
gmos
post Jul 4 2009, 09:58 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2

BlogMasterAddict

Group: Senior Member

what is your purpose to make one?
+Quote Post
wadvert
post Jul 4 2009, 10:10 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #3

QUOTE(gmos @ Jul 4 2009, 09:58 PM)
what is your purpose to make one?

o thanks god. there a reply. i tot this thread is total island. well, actually idont have much strong point to make one. but just out to try out 1. does one really need a good purpose then can only start?
+Quote Post
clementcpteh
post Jul 4 2009, 10:18 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #4

Find the business that's right for you.

QUOTE(wadvert @ Jul 4 2009, 10:10 PM)
o thanks god. there a reply. i tot this thread is total island. well, actually idont have much strong point to make one. but just out to try out 1. does one really need a good purpose then can only start?

dont have aim and plan, how to make beautiful blog or web page? get a paper write down what you like do, see soemone web page how the designed.
+Quote Post
wadvert
post Jul 4 2009, 10:36 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #5

You're right. I do have the basic idea. But i'm an average joe who don't have any forte. And i'm sure as hell that even so i know i would like to have a website. Any solution for heck of ppl like me?
+Quote Post
speed393
post Jul 4 2009, 10:49 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #6

Erm... So... What really matters is the thing you wanna discuss in that site... If it's related to your life, go for blog... If you're planning to do some professional sites, go for a website.... Actually, I don't think people really categorize everything in this way now... They just create a website and just write whatever comes into your head... Just my 2 cents...
+Quote Post
wadvert
post Jul 4 2009, 11:03 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #7

QUOTE(speed393 @ Jul 4 2009, 10:49 PM)
Erm... So... What really matters is the thing you wanna discuss in that site... If it's related to your life, go for blog... If you're planning to do some professional sites, go for a website.... Actually, I don't think people really categorize everything in this way now... They just create a website and just write whatever comes into your head... Just my 2 cents...

It's rather both. i was there wandering how you guys start of your blog/website? Do you guys just think of a niche then just start build it up and then just hope the best of it? Any research tool and just any tool to help the process?
+Quote Post
djzen
post Jul 5 2009, 01:57 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #8

Banned for having fun.

I started with a personal blog, if you ha to know smile.gif
+Quote Post
lifeplayer
post Jul 5 2009, 02:31 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #9

Blog is easy to start.
+Quote Post
Faivon
post Jul 5 2009, 08:07 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #10

Well, if you are a starter then go for a blog, it's free and dependable most of the time.

If you want to start a website, you need a domain and web-hosting which cost bucks. I learn my stuffs, don't go for free domain and free web-hosting.
+Quote Post
silvadesk
post Jul 6 2009, 10:07 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #11

Start on a blogging platform. Understand what you really like blogging/writing about. Then when you already have a focus of what you like discussing, you can move to your own domain. THEN CAN START MAKE MONEY!!!!

Ok, kidding on the last part. Heh.
+Quote Post
funtasy
post Jul 6 2009, 10:33 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #12

they just a platform, and well blog are really easy for anyone. but for prowebmaster , that's all same. much hosting are giving wysiwyg coding tool already ,that's not a big problem to build a simple one.
+Quote Post
tehcc
post Jul 7 2009, 03:29 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #13

It depends on your expertise and time frame you have.

You can easily use blogs software such as Wordpress to create a website faster without need to design everything from scratch.

And also it is good for future content management systems for updates, e-commerce purpose also.
+Quote Post
bryanyeo
post Jul 7 2009, 07:50 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #14

Apple rox

I started with personal blogspot blog, then slowly learn about webhoting and other stuff and bought a webhosting
+Quote Post
Cyrus2k
post Jul 7 2009, 08:13 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #15

ehh, why most people suggest TS to start from a blog first? A blog can be a website, and other types of website can include a blog in the site as well (as you can see from various applications website, normally you can find their development 'blog').

Blog itself is a type of website, so the question TS asking are kind of invalid. The question should be: "Should I create a website?"

To help you answer it, then you need to clearly understand your goal or purpose for creating a website (as suggested by some replies above). A website is a powerful virtual space that you can put whatever you want (even illegal stuff... but bear the risk yourself).
+Quote Post
silvadesk
post Jul 8 2009, 10:30 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #16

QUOTE(Cyrus2k @ Jul 7 2009, 08:13 PM)
ehh, why most people suggest TS to start from a blog first? A blog can be a website, and other types of website can include a blog in the site as well (as you can see from various applications website, normally you can find their development 'blog').

Blog itself is a type of website, so the question TS asking are kind of invalid. The question should be: "Should I create a website?"

To help you answer it, then you need to clearly understand your goal or purpose for creating a website (as suggested by some replies above). A website is a powerful virtual space that you can put whatever you want (even illegal stuff... but bear the risk yourself).

Start off with a blog because you can mess it up all you want la. If website, you definitely need a good domain name. What if you take a domain name and later figure that you don't want/like it? So, if you blog on some blogging platform like blogspot or wordpress, you can create as many names as you want. Hate it, then can leave. If straight away take a domain, pai seh... Trial and error beb. Haha.
+Quote Post
Cyrus2k
post Jul 8 2009, 11:16 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #17

QUOTE(silvadesk @ Jul 8 2009, 10:30 AM)
Start off with a blog because you can mess it up all you want la. If website, you definitely need a good domain name. What if you take a domain name and later figure that you don't want/like it? So, if you blog on some blogging platform like blogspot or wordpress, you can create as many names as you want. Hate it, then can leave. If straight away take a domain, pai seh... Trial and error beb. Haha.

There are also free website hosts that provide free hosting; you will get subdomain just like blogspot/wordpress. You can still use the trial and error method through this way.

The important point is, TS wants to create what type of website or, does he need a website?

Not everyone that build websites start from a blog. Heck, my first website built 10 years ago was a game fan site. Remember, blog is NOT a beginning stage for a website, it is just one of various TYPE of websites.
+Quote Post
silvadesk
post Jul 8 2009, 11:59 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #18

QUOTE(Cyrus2k @ Jul 8 2009, 11:16 AM)
There are also free website hosts that provide free hosting; you will get subdomain just like blogspot/wordpress. You can still use the trial and error method through this way.

The important point is, TS wants to create what type of website or, does he need a website?

Not everyone that build websites start from a blog. Heck, my first website built 10 years ago was a game fan site. Remember, blog is NOT a beginning stage for a website, it is just one of various TYPE of websites.

Yeay, yea, I get your point there.

Anyway, TS wanted opinion. So, hey, it was an opinion. flex.gif
+Quote Post
Cyrus2k
post Jul 8 2009, 06:52 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #19

QUOTE(silvadesk @ Jul 8 2009, 11:59 AM)
Yeay, yea, I get your point there.

Anyway, TS wanted opinion. So, hey, it was an opinion.  flex.gif

Surely you can give your opinion, so did I.

I'm not denying the fact that blog is easy to start, but even a website that talks about yourself is easy to start. Just put up some of your own photos, couple of paragraphs to introduce yourself and its done. smile.gif

What I'm trying to correct here is the perception of blog being as the beginning of website creating, which is not true. And, the so called blogging platform such as blogspot.com and wordpress.com are just normal webhosts, but they provide a blog-type CMS by default to users to start blogging easier (without have to go through the installation stuff). You can actually use such platform to do other stuff other than blogging (but, of course, there are number of limitations); I had seen more and more people using the free hostings to start their small business online. This clearly defines that you need to have a purpose to create a website (although you can create one without purpose, just that it was pointless), anything from blog to portal, e-commerce, etc.
+Quote Post
silvadesk
post Jul 9 2009, 10:36 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #20

QUOTE(Cyrus2k @ Jul 8 2009, 06:52 PM)
Surely you can give your opinion, so did I.

I'm not denying the fact that blog is easy to start, but even a website that talks about yourself is easy to start. Just put up some of your own photos, couple of paragraphs to introduce yourself and its done.  smile.gif

What I'm trying to correct here is the perception of blog being as the beginning of website creating, which is not true . And, the so called blogging platform such as blogspot.com and wordpress.com are just normal webhosts, but they provide a blog-type CMS by default to users to start blogging easier (without have to go through the installation stuff). You can actually use such platform to do other stuff other than blogging (but, of course, there are number of limitations); I had seen more and more people using the free hostings to start their small business online. This clearly defines that you need to have a purpose to create a website (although you can create one without purpose, just that it was pointless), anything from blog to portal, e-commerce, etc.

It was a PERSONAL opinion. And unfortunately for you, many share the same enthusiasm. That's all. doh.gif

flex.gif flex.gif flex.gif

This post has been edited by silvadesk: Jul 9 2009, 10:37 AM
+Quote Post

2 Pages  1 2 >
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 8th November 2009 - 06:09 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)