Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
2 Pages < 1 2 
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> 1TB ST31000333AS Failed, HELP-HELP-HELP-HELP-HELP-HELP

ceo684
post Jul 6 2009, 03:34 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #21

Component Burner

Group: Senior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

QUOTE(Irishcoffee @ Jul 6 2009, 03:31 AM)
wkkay is this wht u mean?
there is something call fail rate
for example u got 1% chance to fail your hdd
means u got 99% chance to get a good hdd
so once u used your chance to fail your hdd
that mean the next drive shld having more "surviving chance" icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif
but once u get frm others manufacturer mean u reset your fail rate , thus u still got 1% to fail your drive tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
juz for fun thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

there's something called Murphy's law.

if a hdd can fail, it will fail. regardless of brand.

if u use capalang psu, whether u use WD seagate etc also doesnt matter

This post has been edited by ceo684: Jul 6 2009, 03:35 AM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Irishcoffee
post Jul 6 2009, 03:41 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #22

ilX / Espressivo

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jul 6 2009, 03:34 AM)
there's something called Murphy's law.

if a hdd can fail, it will fail. regardless of brand.

if u use capalang psu, whether u use WD seagate etc also doesnt matter

everything will fail , juz matter of time , the fail rate used by manufacturer is within their warranty period
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
wKkaY
post Jul 6 2009, 05:46 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #23

Smile, what's the use of crying?

Group: Forum Admin

QUOTE(Mokuton @ Jul 6 2009, 01:58 AM)
1. no, as seagate have and sell the most defect hdds. i use my samsung hdds without any problems. cant say the same thing for wd, hitachi or others...

2. edit2: btw i never said that same thing won't happen, you say that smile.gif

1. Do you have data (e.g. a survey of sales vs returns), or are you just basing your statement off your experience?

2. No need to be so defensive. From what you say, it's clear that you want to avoid the problem recurring by buying another manufacturer's disks. And that's the foolish approach, given that you won't know what you're going to get. You are better off switching lotteries where at least you know the odds up front wink.gif

Added on July 6, 2009, 6:05 am
QUOTE(Irishcoffee @ Jul 6 2009, 05:31 AM)
so once u used your chance to fail your hdd that mean the next drive shld having more "surviving chance" icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif

I know you're just joking.. but that sort of thinking is prevalent if you look around some of the threads here where users vow to never buy manufacturer X anymore smile.gif
+Quote Post
Mokuton
post Jul 6 2009, 02:30 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #24

Group: Junior Member

try to search in google

seagate hdd failed

wd hdd failed

samsung hdd failed

edit : simply i will not buy seagate anymore and lets say when i continue with samsung, the day i stop with samsung will be the day when it fails biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Mokuton: Jul 6 2009, 02:32 PM
+Quote Post
mikicun
post Jul 6 2009, 02:38 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #25

i just send my 500gb seagate for warranty 2 months ago and they replaced it with new ones... (green edge sticker with Recondition Hard Disk sticker) totally loss all data inside.
but then after using the replacement hdd for 2 weeks.. the bloody hdd rosak again and now waiting for another hdd after sending it back to seagate for second warranty claim...

never gonna buy seagate again...
+Quote Post
Mokuton
post Jul 6 2009, 02:41 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #26

its a known thing that seagate discs have firmware problems. and there wasnt any update for my hdd. crappy support, they just ignore you...
+Quote Post
wKkaY
post Jul 6 2009, 03:30 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #27

QUOTE(Mokuton @ Jul 6 2009, 04:30 PM)
try to search in google

seagate hdd failed

wd hdd failed

samsung hdd failed

edit : simply i will not buy seagate anymore and lets say when i continue with samsung, the day i stop with samsung will be the day when it fails  biggrin.gif

Results 1 - 10 of about 84,500 for seagate hdd failed. (0.24 seconds)
Results 1 - 10 of about 78,100 for wd hdd failed. (0.21 seconds)
Results 1 - 10 of about 120,000 for samsung hdd failed. (0.18 seconds)

I'm not sure what the point of that was? sweat.gif

Numbers aside, you'll see that drives from all manufacturers fail. So good luck to you if you're not going to take any other precaution.
+Quote Post
uzer85
post Jul 6 2009, 03:47 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #28

Searching for a mod to kill......

true that other manufacture HDD oso failed, but seagate tend to failed faster and what make it worst, it failed on LYN member!!

that's why u see lots of ppl in here tend to avoid seagate! well, that's include me...

i wont buy seagate and maxtor! it's just personal though...

my next target is 1TB WD Black Caviar! drool.gif

but

how rare for u to be here.... laugh.gif

+Quote Post
JinXXX
post Jul 6 2009, 03:54 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #29

hahah seagate ah.. padan muka...

by the way did the harddisk operate in a quite a warm environment ?

keep the HD cool.. it will last longer...

been using WD since year 2000, only 1 failed me ..
+Quote Post
Mokuton
post Jul 6 2009, 04:33 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #30

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Jul 6 2009, 03:30 PM)
Results 1 - 10 of about 84,500 for seagate hdd failed. (0.24 seconds)
Results 1 - 10 of about 78,100 for wd hdd failed. (0.21 seconds)
Results 1 - 10 of about 120,000 for samsung hdd failed. (0.18 seconds)

I'm not sure what the point of that was? sweat.gif

Numbers aside, you'll see that drives from all manufacturers fail. So good luck to you if you're not going to take any other precaution.

i am not talking about the numbers. you can easily see more seagate failed topics/links

and their support is crap, they just ignore you smile.gif

you can continue to buy seagate but i will not rclxms.gif

lol the hdd was near the aircon 16 C and i only used it like 5-6 hour every week. (it was my second hdd.)

This post has been edited by Mokuton: Jul 6 2009, 04:37 PM
+Quote Post
ventrilocks
post Jul 6 2009, 04:51 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #31

~Kawaii~

is this regarding to new HDD of seagate?
my seagate serve me well 3@4 years until now..still in good condition.. laugh.gif
+Quote Post
wKkaY
post Jul 6 2009, 07:44 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #32

QUOTE(Mokuton @ Jul 6 2009, 06:33 PM)
you can continue to buy seagate but i will not  rclxms.gif

Over the past 1 year I've bought for personal use four WD drives, two Seagates, one Hitachi, one Samsung. Three pairs of these are in RAID-1 (different manufacturers), another two are backup disks. I don't care about the manufacturer, as far as I'm concerned they're all more or less decent.

I do care about managing my risk, and I do this by diversifying my RAID-1 and by backups. I do not do it by practicing (anti-)fanboyism biggrin.gif
+Quote Post
ZeneticX
post Jul 6 2009, 07:49 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #33

path changed i7 -> i5

my seagate is still running fine after 6 months,the doomed 500gb 7200.11 model with the doomed firmware.the 1st 1 failed me and i exchged it for a new 1 with a newer firmware,SD1A.and it lasted till now

well maybe its still too early to judge from my case.but there's another maxtor diamondmax9 80gb sata1 of mine,lasted for 5 years tongue.gif and still running now as extra storage

+Quote Post
CHEEKSEO
post Jul 25 2009, 02:44 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #34

so scary even new hard disk so unreliable. becoz of this i used to burn hd like hell b4 i attempt to copy it.
samsung burn 24 hour for a month b4 using it
seagate continue torture with seagate seatools utility including write zero for few times.
currently burn turn test -hitachi hd-still in profress b4 any attempt copy movie into it.
+Quote Post

2 Pages < 1 2
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th November 2009 - 07:48 AM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)