Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
3 Pages  1 2 3 > 
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Build a 3D Workstation, Budget RM8000

rad
post Jul 2 2009, 08:29 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1

Group: Junior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

Hello everyone.
This is my 1st build for 3D workstation computer & Im not really expert with this setup. I need a hand from any pros & expert users regarding this matter. Here I will state the detail.

Budget: RM8000 Max (all item bought, only left for the cooler.) Price refer from C-Zone 3rd of July 2009.
Software using: Autodesk 3DS Max 2010 64 bit (V-Ray Render Engine)

Processor: Intel Core-i7 920 2.6Ghz
Cooler: Not yet decide.
Motherboard: Asus Rampage II Exreme
Memory: Corsair TR3X 1600C9 6GB kit x 2 (total 12GB) Revised!
Graphic card: I already owned NVIDIA Quadro FX 4600 768MB
Hard Disk Drive: Western D VelociRaptor 150GB 16MB x 2 Revised!
Optical Disk Drive: Pioneer SATA DVDRW
Power Supply Unit: OCZ Mod X Stream Pro 600W Revised!
Computer Casing: Silverstone Raven (black) Revised!
Monitor: HP 24" W2448C
Operating System: Windows Vista Ultimate 64 bit Revised!
Mouse: Razer Krait
Keyboard: Microsoft Sidewinder X6

Motherboard
I choose Asus Rampage II Extreme because of the built-in SupremeFX X-Fi Audio Card laugh.gif & for the overclocking features too....but unfortunately this mobo didnt support Xeon processor. And for the Asus P6T6 WS Revolution, this mobo support both Core-i7 & Xeon & a lil bit expensive. I dont mind add a few hundred but as long not exceed my budget.

Thats all for now. Any recommendations or questions are welcome.

user posted image user posted image user posted image user posted image user posted image

user posted image user posted image user posted image user posted image

This post has been edited by rad: Jul 30 2009, 02:51 AM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
efarhan
post Jul 2 2009, 08:40 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2

QUOTE(rad @ Jul 2 2009, 08:29 AM)
Hello everyone.
This is my 1st build for 3D workstation computer & Im not really expert with this setup. I need a hand from any pros & expert users regarding this matter. Here I will state the detail.

Budget: RM8000 Max.
Software using: Autodesk 3DS Max 2009 (V-Ray Render Engine)
Motherboard: Asus Rampage II Exreme (or Asus P6T6 WS Revolution)
Memory: Corsair TR3X 1600C9 3GB x 3
Graphic card: I already owned Quadro FX4600 768MB
Hard Disk Drive: Western D VelociRaptor 150GB 16MB
Power Supply Unit: OCZ Mod X Stream 700W
Computer Casing: Undecided yet.
Operating System: Windows XP Pro 64 bit
Motherboard
I choose Asus Rampage II Extreme because of the built-in SupremeFX X-Fi Audio Card  laugh.gif & for the overclocking features too....but unfortunately this mobo didnt support Xeon processor. And for the Asus P6T6 WS Revolution, this mobo support both Core-i7 & Xeon & a lil bit expensive. I dont mind add a few hundred but as long not exceed my budget is fine.

Hard Disk Drive
FYI, I already have my old hard disk, Seagate Barracuda 160GB (SATA) & Western Digital Caviar 120GB (PATA). Above HDD is mainly for OS. Or should I add another one VelociRaptor?  unsure.gif

Power Supply Unit
700 Watt, is this too much? Or need more watt?

Thats all for now. Any recommendations are welcome.

with a quadro..u can do wonders already..haha.. smile.gif
+Quote Post
ventrilocks
post Jul 2 2009, 09:14 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #3

~Kawaii~

Group: Senior Member

QUOTE(rad @ Jul 2 2009, 08:29 AM)
Hello everyone.

Budget: RM8000 Max.
Software using: Autodesk 3DS Max 2009 (V-Ray Render Engine)
Motherboard: Asus Rampage II Exreme (or Asus P6T6 WS Revolution)
Memory: Corsair TR3X 1600C9 3GB x 3
Graphic card: I already owned Quadro FX4600 768MB
Hard Disk Drive: Western D VelociRaptor 150GB 16MB
Power Supply Unit: OCZ Mod X Stream 700W
Computer Casing: Undecided yet.
Operating System: Windows XP Pro 64 bit
Motherboard
I choose Asus Rampage II Extreme because of the built-in SupremeFX X-Fi Audio Card  laugh.gif & for the overclocking features too....but unfortunately this mobo didnt support Xeon processor. And for the Asus P6T6 WS Revolution, this mobo support both Core-i7 & Xeon & a lil bit expensive. I dont mind add a few hundred but as long not exceed my budget is fine.

Hard Disk Drive
FYI, I already have my old hard disk, Seagate Barracuda 160GB (SATA) & Western Digital Caviar 120GB (PATA). Above HDD is mainly for OS. Or should I add another one VelociRaptor?  unsure.gif

Power Supply Unit
700 Watt, is this too much? Or need more watt?

Thats all for now. Any recommendations are welcome.

since ur budget is 8k..
proc i7-965 EE..
+Quote Post
goldfries
post Jul 2 2009, 09:21 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #4

not so clever but got 26k++ post!!!

Group: Forum Admin

btw can state the price of the total spec as in 1st post ah? smile.gif

you could consider lowering motherboard and power supply and boost the processor and graphic card.
+Quote Post
rad
post Jul 2 2009, 12:07 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #5

QUOTE(efarhan @ Jul 2 2009, 08:40 AM)
with a quadro..u can do wonders already..haha.. smile.gif

Wonders? I hope so laugh.gif

QUOTE(ventrilocks @ Jul 2 2009, 09:14 AM)
since ur budget is 8k..
proc i7-965 EE..

I think that is too much. I cant afford Extreme Edition sad.gif

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jul 2 2009, 09:21 AM)
btw can state the price of the total spec as in 1st post ah? smile.gif

you could consider lowering motherboard and power supply and boost the processor and graphic card.

Thanks goldfries. Already stated.
Any suggestion for the motherboard & power supply unit? So far I have the graphic card already. Thank you notworthy.gif

Added on July 2, 2009, 12:44 pmJust for sharing, one of my 1st 3D work. Low quality of textures & lightings. Waiting for the render to complete is really boring..+- 30 minutes! doh.gif
And of course, with my ancient computer spec laugh.gif Here

This post has been edited by rad: Jul 2 2009, 12:44 PM
+Quote Post
campsol2k
post Jul 2 2009, 02:07 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #6

Hi. Here are my thoughts...

Motherboard
- Stick with Asus Rampage II Extreme. Asus P6T6 WS is unnecessary for home workstation. Do u really need 3-way SLI, SAS storage, and ECC RAM?

PSU
- 700W is quite overkill. 500W~550W should be enough.

This post has been edited by campsol2k: Jul 2 2009, 02:07 PM
+Quote Post
awang
post Jul 2 2009, 02:21 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #7

-edited-

if you are serious in your work, pls be extremely careful if you intend to OC..leave it at default configuration if possible..a lot of my fren got wasted in their final design due to crashes...extend 1 year of study is not worth your OC.........

This post has been edited by awang: Jul 2 2009, 02:23 PM
+Quote Post
rad
post Jul 2 2009, 04:13 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #8

QUOTE(campsol2k @ Jul 2 2009, 02:07 PM)
Hi. Here are my thoughts...

Motherboard
- Stick with Asus Rampage II Extreme. Asus P6T6 WS is unnecessary for home workstation. Do u really need 3-way SLI, SAS storage, and ECC RAM?

PSU
- 700W is quite overkill. 500W~550W should be enough.

I choose Asus P6T6 WS Revolution because it support 2 different socket, i7 & Xeon. In the next future, I MIGHT want to change to Xeon. Who knows? You are correct, I dont need 3-way SLI (im not rich fella sweat.gif) Ok for now I will stick with Asus Rampage II Extreme. Thank you.

Regarding the PSU, what brand is the best? I prefer modular.

QUOTE(awang @ Jul 2 2009, 02:21 PM)
-edited-

if you are serious in your work, pls be extremely careful if you intend to OC..leave it at default configuration if possible..a lot of my fren got wasted in their final design due to crashes...extend 1 year of study is not worth your OC.........

I will keep that in mind. Thank you awang smile.gif

Anyone can suggest me for casing? I like Silverstone TJ10B but, that is too expensive sweat.gif
+Quote Post
piumiu
post Jul 2 2009, 04:16 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #9

Angel From Above

Corsair TX750w at 490? Thats is good.
+Quote Post
AlexLee277
post Jul 2 2009, 04:17 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #10

sup /k/

funny, y waste so much in KB n mouse?
+Quote Post
piumiu
post Jul 2 2009, 04:20 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #11

Angel From Above

Keyboard and mouse are the human interface. I rather spend more in monitor, keyboard and mouse as you will interface with it rather than the super parts inside the hood.
+Quote Post
AlexLee277
post Jul 2 2009, 05:01 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #12

sup /k/

i suggest u spend more on HDD...
+Quote Post
campsol2k
post Jul 2 2009, 06:51 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #13

QUOTE(rad @ Jul 2 2009, 04:13 PM)
I choose Asus P6T6 WS Revolution because it support 2 different socket, i7 & Xeon. In the next future, I MIGHT want to change to Xeon. Who knows? You are correct, I dont need 3-way SLI (im not rich fella sweat.gif)   Ok for now I will stick with Asus Rampage II Extreme. Thank you.

Any reason why do u want to use Xeon? U know, right...both Xeon Socket 1366 and Core i7 deliver same performance except Xeon supports ECC RAM and Core i7 doesnot...
If u decide to go for Asus P6T6 WS+Xeon... u might want to consider changing your RAM to ECC capable RAM but its not really compulsary though because its not necessary for non-server environment...

QUOTE(rad @ Jul 2 2009, 04:13 PM)
Regarding the PSU, what brand is the best? I prefer modular.

550W range... Corsair HX550HX520 is highly recommended... Silent, 80 Plus, Modular....

Spend your money more on CPU power because you'll be using that alot....
Why dont u opt cheaper board instead?.. for me Asus Rampage II Extreme is overkill... with 3-way-SLi support.. anyway its your choice...

This post has been edited by campsol2k: Jul 3 2009, 02:06 PM
+Quote Post
Racerx
post Jul 2 2009, 08:10 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #14

casing i suggest you look at lian li.they offer nice,discreet designs with good build quality

i also suggest using windows 7 rc first and buy the retail when it's out,7 has xp mode which is the same as using normal xp

one more thing,if you want speed,i suggest getting an x-25m ssd and wd caviar black in raid-0
+Quote Post
holypredator
post Jul 2 2009, 08:13 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #15

NVIDIA Quadro FX 4600 768MB can play games ah???

MAX SETTINGS IN CRYSIS?? LOLZ
+Quote Post
Eoma
post Jul 2 2009, 11:49 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #16

- ,. -

Group: Elite

I'd consider upping the RAM to 6GB (2GB x 3).
3GB (1GB x3) is the bare minimum.
+Quote Post
yanhui95
post Jul 2 2009, 11:59 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #17

I ♥ Tennis

QUOTE(holypredator @ Jul 2 2009, 08:13 PM)
NVIDIA Quadro FX 4600 768MB  can play games ah???

bro, here is not ur kopitiam, he said wanna use for work not playing games
+Quote Post
goldfries
post Jul 3 2009, 07:35 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #18

not so clever but got 26k++ post!!!

Group: Forum Admin

sometimes the stupidity of this section could be seen like when people keep thinking every single setup IS FOR GAMES!
+Quote Post
piumiu
post Jul 3 2009, 09:01 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #19

Angel From Above

ts. your setup is good enough.
i only recomend to change to gigabyte odin 800w rm500.
reason why is its cheap at 800 whereby most 750w is around 500.
and its modular. and 80 plus psu. its also ensure if you need extra hardisk for your work
and sli ready in the future.
+Quote Post
rad
post Jul 3 2009, 09:12 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #20

QUOTE(piumiu @ Jul 2 2009, 04:16 PM)
Corsair TX750w at 490? Thats is good.

Thanks piumiu. I will check the spec.

QUOTE(AlexLee277 @ Jul 2 2009, 04:17 PM)
funny, y waste so much in KB n mouse?

I want to try something different. The Sidewinder X6 has a yellow backlight. While Razer Krait also have yellow light. This lights really really give me special mood, or better say good mood..and will improve working mood laugh.gif thumbup.gif

QUOTE(AlexLee277 @ Jul 2 2009, 05:01 PM)
i suggest u spend more on HDD...

150GB VelociRaptor not enough? Add another one 150GB? unsure.gif

QUOTE(campsol2k @ Jul 2 2009, 06:51 PM)
Any reason why do u want to use Xeon? U know, right...both Xeon Socket 1366 and Core i7 deliver same performance except Xeon supports ECC RAM and Core i7 doesnot...
If u decide to go for Asus P6T6 WS+Xeon... u might want to consider changing your RAM to ECC capable RAM but its not really compulsary though because its not necessary for non-server environment...
550W range... Corsair HX550 is highly recommended... Silent, 80 Plus, Modular....

Spend your money more on CPU power because you'll be using that alot....
Why dont u opt cheaper board instead?.. for me Asus Rampage II Extreme is overkill... with 3-way-SLi support.. anyway its your choice...

Well, from what I know, Xeon is for workstation, so I thought it much better in 3D application. I havent done any research about Xeon...need some time to do it. If Xeon has +- performance than the i7, then better I stick with i7..cheaper.

Regarding the PSU, I will check the spec later. Thank you for your suggestion.

QUOTE(Racerx @ Jul 2 2009, 08:10 PM)
casing i suggest you look at lian li.they offer nice,discreet designs with good build quality

i also suggest using windows 7 rc first and buy the retail when it's out,7 has xp mode which is the same as using normal xp

one more thing,if you want speed,i suggest getting an x-25m ssd and wd caviar black in raid-0

I already check the website(Lian Li), I like their full tower chasis, TYR PC-X2000, but Im not sure this case available in Lowyat or not...& must be killer price.

Regarding the Windows 7, how about the compatibility with 3DS Max 9 & V-Ray engine? And about HDD, how much it cost for X-25 SSD?

QUOTE(holypredator @ Jul 2 2009, 08:13 PM)
NVIDIA Quadro FX 4600 768MB  can play games ah???

I believe this card still can play game. Its just maybe not smooth or not so perform like the gaming card. I mainly use for working. I am retire from gaming.

QUOTE(Eoma @ Jul 2 2009, 11:49 PM)
I'd consider upping the RAM to 6GB (2GB x 3).
3GB (1GB x3) is the bare minimum.

Im quite confuse, I stated 3GB x 3, means total is 9GB (each slot has 3GB). Or am I mistaken the pricelist? sweat.gif
In the pricelist (C-Zone), for the tripple channel memory, it stated 3GB and 6GB. Is this mean 3GB consist of 1GB x 3, or 3GB per piece? unsure.gif

QUOTE(yanhui95 @ Jul 2 2009, 11:59 PM)
bro, here is not ur kopitiam, he said wanna use for work not playing games

Ah thanks for your explanation! laugh.gif

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jul 3 2009, 07:35 AM)
sometimes the stupidity of this section could be seen like when people keep thinking every single setup IS FOR GAMES!

LOL
+Quote Post

3 Pages  1 2 3 >
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th November 2009 - 10:08 AM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)