4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Filters Talk, Does it really make a different?

ifer
post Jun 29 2009, 05:53 PM

4,637 posts

shutter speed of 1/60 and higher will show the flickering of the light...

that's why i was asking you to redo the whole thing again and see any differences or not
HiroBoroi
post Jun 29 2009, 06:10 PM

1,319 posts

QUOTE(shootkk @ Jun 29 2009, 05:18 PM)
It's not recommended to use CPL for indoors unless you want it specifically to cut some reflection on some surfaces. If you want protection then use UV. CPL more for outdoors. CPL as protection is overkill plus it cuts down on light.

If you want best IQ and you're shooting indoors with no obvious hazards then just remove all filters lor.
I always thought that no filter gives the best IQ. Apparently not from Vincent's study. No filter second last in terms of IQ.

1) Hoya HD
2) B+w (alloy)
3) Hoya Pro1
4) No filter <---------- see ... Very yellow. cry.gif
5) Hoya HMC
5za9
post Jun 29 2009, 07:20 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(chucky @ Jun 29 2009, 01:46 PM)
Shooting fluorescent lighting is bad if you wanna compare colour, because depending on which phase of the 50 Hz you are shooting, you will get different colour white balance.

(FYI the fluorescent lighting is flickering at a frequency of 50Hz because that's what our power supply is running at.)

Sorry if this has been pointed out before...
QUOTE(shootkk @ Jun 29 2009, 01:53 PM)
Actually, using a fluorescent light is not the best choice of light source to show flaring or ghosting.

Reason being fluorescent lights flickers! We can't see it with our eyes as it flickers much too fast for us but the camera is able to capture as it goes through its cycles.

Those yellow or sometimes brown colour patches are caused by the flickering of the tube. You can try it. Set your cam to continuous shots, aim it at the tube and fire away. You can get similar kind of yellow or brown patches in some of your shots.
Hi Vincent Pang,

i just try to shoot a fluorescent light using lens with hoya hmc uv filter and without filter in burst mode. what i get is same. same as all your image result in one burst mode shoot.

im not a pro. maybe u can reshoot again with a Hoya HD and B+W(alloy) in burst mode. see how the result is?...

My opinion is ur filter quality comparison is not ideal if u using a fluorescent light as a object. icon_rolleyes.gif
dpenalty
post Jun 29 2009, 08:57 PM

337 posts

from the result ... best to get is Hoya HD tongue.gif
TSSeng_Kiat
post Jun 30 2009, 07:28 AM

5,580 posts

guys, morning!

is it cheap, B+W 010M MRC UV HAZE Filter 77mm at RM220 and B+W 010M MRC UV HAZE Filter 67mm at RM160?

are they good? any1 here using B+W 010M MRC UV HAZE Filter?
Sp00kY
post Jun 30 2009, 07:41 AM

3,366 posts

this might help u:
http://www.calvinstudio.net/?p=523
TSSeng_Kiat
post Jun 30 2009, 08:02 AM

5,580 posts

QUOTE(Sp00kY @ Jun 30 2009, 07:41 AM)
a good comparison indeep .. smile.gif .. Thanks for sharing ..
dpenalty
post Jun 30 2009, 08:54 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Jun 30 2009, 07:28 AM)
guys, morning!

is it cheap, B+W 010M MRC UV HAZE Filter 77mm at RM220 and B+W 010M MRC UV HAZE Filter 67mm at RM160?

77mm price i get is RM250 ... 67mm price i get is the same with yours ... are they Alloy ring? where you get them from?
DanielYee
post Jun 30 2009, 08:54 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Jun 30 2009, 07:28 AM)
guys, morning!

smile.gif You can't go wrong with B+W MRCs. For RM50 more you may opt for their XS-Pro which is the slim type.
dpenalty
post Jun 30 2009, 09:12 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(DanielYee @ Jun 30 2009, 08:54 AM)
smile.gif You can't go wrong with B+W MRCs. For RM50 more you may opt for their XS-Pro which is the slim type.
where to get it from?
HiroBoroi
post Jun 30 2009, 09:22 AM

1,319 posts

Some interesting charts hmm.gif

Plain Glass.

B+W 72mm 010M UV-Haze MRC Slim.

Hoya 72 mm HMC UV-0.

What info can you get from the charts?

20 Filter Comparison <-- More info here.
dpenalty
post Jun 30 2009, 09:37 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(HiroBoroi @ Jun 30 2009, 09:22 AM)
Some interesting charts  hmm.gif

What info can you get from the charts?

20 Filter Comparison <-- More info here.
Hoya is the best tongue.gif
TSSeng_Kiat
post Jun 30 2009, 10:21 AM

5,580 posts

QUOTE(dpenalty @ Jun 30 2009, 09:37 AM)
Hoya is the best  tongue.gif
u sure hoya? I think, it is B+W 72mm 010M UV-Haze MRC in UV .. biggrin.gif .. 0 for less than 320nm while small amount for hoya uv ..

I am getting b+w uv today .. wink.gif ..
HiroBoroi
post Jun 30 2009, 10:30 AM

1,319 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Jun 30 2009, 10:21 AM)
u sure hoya? I think, it is B+W 72mm 010M UV-Haze MRC in UV .. biggrin.gif .. 0 for less than 320nm while small amount for hoya uv ..

I am getting b+w uv today .. wink.gif ..
Kindly post the before and after 200 ringgit plus damage pics. whistling.gif

p/s- Err ... normal scenery pics please ... dun wan pic of fluorescent tube la doh.gif

rclxm9.gif
Vincent Pang
post Jun 30 2009, 10:33 AM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(HiroBoroi @ Jun 30 2009, 09:22 AM)
aiseh, tak ada Hoya HD ka... highest range of Hoya smile.gif

u can see from the test that some filters like Tiffen and King can really introduce more flare

Added on June 30, 2009, 10:39 am
QUOTE(HiroBoroi @ Jun 30 2009, 10:30 AM)
Kindly post the before and after 200 ringgit plus damage pics.  whistling.gif

p/s- Err ... normal scenery pics please ... dun wan pic of fluorescent tube la  doh.gif

rclxm9.gif
hahaha, it was at night, my only source of light for flare is fluorescent smile.gif

i still don't get why one part of the tube was yellow and not both sides since the tube is round...

This post has been edited by Vincent Pang: Jun 30 2009, 10:39 AM
HiroBoroi
post Jun 30 2009, 10:48 AM

1,319 posts

QUOTE(Vincent Pang @ Jun 30 2009, 10:33 AM)
aiseh, tak ada Hoya HD ka... highest range of Hoya smile.gif

u can see from the test that some filters like Tiffen and King can really introduce more flare

Added on June 30, 2009, 10:39 am

hahaha, it was at night, my only source of light for flare is fluorescent smile.gif

i still don't get why one part of the tube was yellow and not both sides since the tube is round...
Maybe the shop in Poland dun have the HD. But what is interesting is that the Hoya HMC, the cheapest of the Hoya, is no different than the Digital Pro 1 with regard to IQ. shocking.gif doh.gif What is also interesting is that the Hoya HMC is rated last in your fluorescent tube test. hmm.gif whistling.gif

wKkaY
post Jun 30 2009, 11:43 AM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

QUOTE(Vincent Pang @ Jun 30 2009, 12:33 PM)

Some knowledge of an SLR's focal-plane shutter would help explain that. chucky mentioned this earlier.

Normally, your first shutter opens, exposes the scene for N seconds, and the second shutter closes after it. Let's say it takes 1/100s for a shutter to open and close across the frame.

What happens if you take a 1s exposure? The first shutter opens, and one second after, the second shutter closes.

What happens if you take a 1/200s exposure? The first shutter opens, and 1/200s after, the second shutter closes.

What's the difference? In the 1/200s case, the first shutter is still opening halfway as the second shutter is closing. So at any one time, only a maximum of half the frame is exposed. In addition, one side of the frame is delayed from the other side.

Like this:

So when you took that photo, you managed to capture varying phases of the fluroscent light phosphors in a single frame. One side of the light is yellow and the other not as a consequence of 1) the shutter exposing your photo in a horizontal slit moving down/upwards, and 2) your diagonal orientation of the lights.

In short, there's a solid reason explaining why your photos turned out that way, and it doesn't have anything to do with the filters.

Here ya go - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Focal_plane_shutter

Added on June 30, 2009, 11:48 am
QUOTE(chucky @ Jun 29 2009, 03:46 PM)
1. Shooting fluorescent lighting is bad if you wanna compare colour, because depending on which phase of the 50 Hz you are shooting, you will get different colour white balance.

2. (FYI the fluorescent lighting is flickering at a frequency of 50Hz because that's what our power supply is running at.)

Sorry if this has been pointed out before...

1. Only matters if you're doing high speed shooting.

2. Electronic ballasts for fluorescent lights switch at about 20,000Hz. They're more energy efficient and have instant startup too biggrin.gif
TSSeng_Kiat
post Jun 30 2009, 11:52 AM

5,580 posts

QUOTE(HiroBoroi @ Jun 30 2009, 10:30 AM)
Kindly post the before and after 200 ringgit plus damage pics.  whistling.gif

p/s- Err ... normal scenery pics please ... dun wan pic of fluorescent tube la  doh.gif

rclxm9.gif
haha .. with your statement above, u made me think twice to get an expensive or cheap one .. haha .. tongue.gif .. since I own b+w CPL 67mm and dont use it more than 5 minutes since the day I got it a month, I will trade in it with 2 uvs filter with additional RM140, b+w 010m uv haze mrc, 1 is for 77mm and another for 67mm .. wink.gif .. a good deal i think .. wink.gif ..
DanielYee
post Jun 30 2009, 01:33 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(dpenalty @ Jun 30 2009, 09:12 AM)
where to get it from?
Clubsnap smile.gif here is the link. I got my B+W from him, plan to get a slim KSM CPL next month.
dpenalty
post Jun 30 2009, 02:14 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(DanielYee @ Jun 30 2009, 01:33 PM)
Clubsnap smile.gif here is the link. I got my B+W from him, plan to get a slim KSM CPL next month.
aiks ... so far away doh.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0222sec    0.54    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:08 PM