Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
2 Pages  1 2 > 
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Why do you guys opt for Linux instead of Windows ?

Pewufod
post Jun 20 2009, 11:40 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1

Group: Junior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

im really wondering, why are they people using linux instead of windows
if its Mac i understand since the graphical capabilities is a bit better than windows,but Linux ?
what are the advantages of Linux over Windows ?

thanks..been bothering me for a while
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
oshiri
post Jun 20 2009, 11:56 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #2

Group: Senior Member

Because I lived in third world country and so poor that I cannot afford to invest thousands of ringgit for commercial OS and softwares on my refurbished PC.
I also don't compare commercial products with free/opensource products.
It's like comparing "kambing" and "lembu".
What matters at the end, I got all my work done.

+Quote Post
ayob99
post Jun 20 2009, 05:23 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #3

I do not want to use pirated softwares anymore neither do I want my children, grandchildren and grandchildren's children to do the same too.
+Quote Post
bhullar
post Jun 20 2009, 05:25 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #4

QUOTE(oshiri @ Jun 20 2009, 11:56 AM)
Because I lived in third world country and so poor that I cannot afford to invest thousands of ringgit for commercial OS and softwares on my refurbished PC.
I also don't compare commercial products with free/opensource products.
It's like comparing "kambing" and "lembu".
What matters at the end, I got all my work done.

Why?
+Quote Post
Pewufod
post Jun 20 2009, 06:01 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #5

QUOTE(ayob99 @ Jun 20 2009, 05:23 PM)
I do not want to use pirated softwares anymore neither do I want my children, grandchildren and grandchildren's children to do the same too.

pirated software ? which ?
+Quote Post
sweemeng
post Jun 20 2009, 06:44 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #6

just a random code monkey

because using an OS is more than glittering graphics, and attractive eye candy.....

it is about getting the job done...

Added on June 20, 2009, 6:45 pmif you prefer windows, use it, don't force it into other people throat..

i use linux as personal preference..

This post has been edited by sweemeng: Jun 20 2009, 06:45 PM
+Quote Post
baby26
post Jun 20 2009, 07:29 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #7

The best things in life are free.......Ubuntu is doing a much better job making it available and it is definitely better than XP. There is really no need to pay RM1k for MS Windows+Office when I can get all my work done with Linux
+Quote Post
zaidi
post Jun 20 2009, 07:44 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #8

I got paid handsomely supporting linux smile.gif go linux ...
+Quote Post
joker_jr
post Jun 20 2009, 09:05 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #9

Price for windows server 2008 is around rm3k. this price not include anti virus license, hardware n bla2.....
often in one company, one server is for one purpose like exchange/email server, web server, dns/dhcp server n bla2.
imagine the cost if all server using windows.

thats why my boss forcing me to study linux or to be exact, debian. lol

don't compare with big company who is using big server like ibm system I, AIX, HP-UX, etc for production. that another story....

+Quote Post
umarnet
post Jun 20 2009, 09:21 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #10

hmm, there are many advantages and also cons too. but, nowdays i saw many company migrating from windows to linux, one of them said that "now days, i don't see any differences between windows and linux, they both can use office application such open office, and that all pretty much application that really required in the office, they have nice gui, so the employee don't have hard time adapting to it. maybe some others application only can run on windows so there's no helping that, and now days, everything pretty much can be use online, like e-filing and all. so if we have this alternative, we rather use this alternative. but, it doesn't mean that there are no problem and issue, if there's one we have to face it. now days, there are many bright people that can solve computer problem. they can use their skill to move our economy forward."
+Quote Post
bizkutrai
post Jun 20 2009, 09:31 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #11

I am myself using Mac for personal and Linux especially Ubuntu for personal and work.

I am interested with "why are they people using linux instead of windows". How about "why are they people using windows instead of linux or mac".

and "if its Mac i understand since the graphical capabilities is a bit better than windows,but Linux ?"

I think Ubuntu graphical capabilities A LOT better than mac and windows. I know because I use ALL 3 OSes in my daily life.
my 2 cents.
+Quote Post
Bakakuk
post Jun 21 2009, 12:20 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #12

Group: New Member

so i can concentrate on php, java coding because linux is not a game friendly. flex.gif
+Quote Post
bizkutrai
post Jun 21 2009, 12:41 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #13

QUOTE(Bakakuk @ Jun 21 2009, 12:20 AM)
so i can concentrate on php, java coding because linux is not a game friendly.  flex.gif

Yes linux sucks with few commercial games. But my experience working with games/softwares porting between windows and linux show that games on linux is better than windows with proper graphic driver and libraries installed. For example Counter Strike and Doom 3 for Linux. Most people choose Linux to host Counter Strike dedicated server hosting. Why? because it's lot of stable on Linux than on Windows.

It's about choice and game developer who make money out of it. They make games for windows because most gamers use windows and these people will buy the game. What will happen when everybody using Linux? Developer will make games for Linux and windows will become "not a game friendly" just like Linux now nod.gif
+Quote Post
ongte
post Jun 21 2009, 08:54 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #14

I think lugradio got the answer right to this question. It's down to these 5 things.
1. Tinkering
2. Cost
3. Belief in Software Freedom
4. Supporting the Underdog
5. Community

As to the question 'Why should I want Linux?'
oneandoneis2 says it best.
Instead of asking this, ask instead. 'Why should Linux want you?'

Cheers wink.gif

This post has been edited by ongte: Jun 21 2009, 09:04 PM
+Quote Post
TMUkmkd
post Jun 22 2009, 07:14 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #15

y linux not windows?

for me easy to answer. coz i like to use it.
coz it free. coz its community
help the others. strong together.
+Quote Post
jing_kohkoh
post Jun 23 2009, 05:37 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #16

Let's kick some AutoBUTTs

QUOTE(ongte @ Jun 21 2009, 08:54 PM)
I think lugradio got the answer right to this question. It's down to these 5 things.
1. Tinkering
2. Cost
3. Belief in Software Freedom
4. Supporting the Underdog
5. Community

As to the question 'Why should I want Linux?'
oneandoneis2 says it best.
Instead of asking this, ask instead. 'Why should Linux want you?'

Cheers wink.gif

IMO, Linux does not serve as a good personal computer compared to windows for it's compatibility, but linux server is much stronger, flexible and more stable then windows server. With all the commands linux server can be configured very easily and we dun have to suffer the sluggish network like when using Remote admin or remote desktop to windows server.

I am java and php programmers so I wanna get myself as acquainted in linux environment as possible because many clients opt for linux because:

- low cost
- easier, flexible to support and maintain
- scalable

and lastly I believe in software freedom and I dun like MS monopoly.
+Quote Post
umarnet
post Jun 23 2009, 08:44 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #17

QUOTE(jing_kohkoh @ Jun 23 2009, 05:37 PM)
IMO, Linux does not serve as a good personal computer compared to windows for it's compatibility, but linux server is much stronger, flexible and more stable then windows server. With all the commands linux server can be configured very easily and we dun have to suffer the sluggish network like when using Remote admin or remote desktop to windows server.

I am java and php programmers so I wanna get myself as acquainted in linux environment as possible because many clients opt for linux because:

- low cost
- easier, flexible to support and maintain
- scalable

and lastly I believe in software freedom and I dun like MS monopoly.

i agree flex.gif
+Quote Post
aranur
post Jun 23 2009, 11:02 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #18

fact of the matter is Linux is more compatible with a wider range of hardware compared to windows. people are forgetting their older hardware being tossed into the junkyard because it cannot carry Vista, etc, when in fact those pc's can still work fine if lighter version of linux is installed.

sure, latest hardware would require some waiting till someone hacks up the support. windows only advantage in that area is that hardware makers are writing drivers for windows platform. otherwise, it will be worse of than linux.
+Quote Post
lilwong
post Jun 24 2009, 01:54 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #19

QUOTE(jing_kohkoh @ Jun 23 2009, 05:37 PM)
IMO, Linux does not serve as a good personal computer compared to windows for it's compatibility

Ummm... compared to windows for its compatibility with what? Windows? smile.gif
+Quote Post
spanker
post Jun 24 2009, 02:40 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #20

Custom Made e-Penis

QUOTE(Pewufod @ Jun 20 2009, 11:40 AM)
im really wondering, why are they people using linux instead of windows
if its Mac i understand since the graphical capabilities is a bit better than windows,but Linux ?

Are you sure? laugh.gif

QUOTE(Pewufod @ Jun 20 2009, 11:40 AM)
what are the advantages of Linux over Windows ?

thanks..been bothering me for a while

Well... the advantages I can see on using Linux over Windows is the ease of setting up a service (like telnetd, ftpd, and other daemons) without having to install additional 3rd party apps. In addition to that, I guess Linux being somewhat free is an advantage too.

But overall as a desktop OS, windows is still better in terms of hardware drivers availability, ease of use, and it's more intuitive than the other 2 popular OS.
+Quote Post

2 Pages  1 2 >
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd November 2009 - 05:04 AM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)