Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
29 Pages  1 2 3 > »  
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topic

> Cohabitation for Unmarried Couples, beneficial in maintaining relationship? (Serious)

debbieyss
post Jun 12 2009, 08:48 AM

I've got 6 stars already

Group: Senior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

Do you guys agree with cohabitation with gf/bf?

At which level of relationship would you commit it?

Any testimonials to share as at the end you both finally get married?

This post has been edited by debbieyss: Jun 15 2009, 12:30 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
B@rt
post Jun 12 2009, 08:53 AM

Group: Junior Member

I agree to this and have suggested to my fiance to move in together to see if we can stand living under the same roof before getting married and making it permanent. But... what to do she lives with her parents and being chinese... MANA BOLEH???
+Quote Post
ahchun
post Jun 12 2009, 08:55 AM

its more like trial period. if you can tahan to cohabit with your partner for this time frame. then you can take a step further
+Quote Post
Kinci
post Jun 12 2009, 09:03 AM

Personally I dont mind. I think it helps me get know more of the girl and learn how to stay together. Getting used to having someone in your life. But it probably will cast a bad image on the girl though. And the parents most probably will kill her, after that me.
+Quote Post
barista
post Jun 12 2009, 09:14 AM

QUOTE(B@rt @ Jun 12 2009, 08:53 AM)
I agree to this and have suggested to my fiance to move in together to see if we can stand living under the same roof before getting married and making it permanent. But... what to do she lives with her parents and being chinese... MANA BOLEH???

If registered already ok, even though no ceremony yet.

Added on June 12, 2009, 9:14 am
QUOTE(ahchun @ Jun 12 2009, 08:55 AM)
its more like trial period. if you can tahan to cohabit with your partner for this time frame. then you can take a step further

So what if you cannot tahan? You dump her?

This post has been edited by barista: Jun 12 2009, 09:14 AM
+Quote Post
Kampung2005
post Jun 12 2009, 09:14 AM

Proudly Kampungite, will always be one.

If appropriate and possible, yes...

But the shadow maybe casted on the girl than me though....

So, wait and see
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
barista
post Jun 12 2009, 09:20 AM

You have to be loving each other enough to want to live together. This is what marriage vows are for. You will stick together no matter what, care for each other, accept each other and work things out.

If you think you're just going to cabut when you cannot tahan... you're not the person someone should marry.
+Quote Post
AngelOfDestruction
post Jun 12 2009, 10:09 AM

when both reached a certain maturity level and the relationship is stable .. why not ?
there are certain things in a person when you cant see even though you have dated him/her for years until you really slept beside the him/her..

snoring ? even not closing the toilet lid after using may also cause trouble to others ...

well .. needless to say .. to cohabitat means you started exploring each other sexually in a day-to-day basis ... these are minefields and proceed with caution ...laugh.gif .. good luck ...
+Quote Post
Gr3yL3gion
post Jun 12 2009, 10:10 AM

I support, for those all night free secks.

After bored then dump lor.
+Quote Post
zalmerox
post Jun 12 2009, 10:14 AM

Why not.

* Close to marriage.
* 3to5 years relationship. (dependant on the partner believes as well)

- Nope, only my sister with my brother in law. But she was already married legally to begin with. (just without ceremony and that normal nonsense).
+Quote Post
debbieyss
post Jun 12 2009, 10:15 AM

I've got 6 stars already

but you guys know, people in olden days didn't cohabitate yet could still living happily with each other and maintained long lasting marriage.

I don't know why people nowadays get to stay together before marriage to test out if both are compatible in terms of living style and habits.
+Quote Post
vall
post Jun 12 2009, 10:17 AM

Group: New Member

last time not happy oso must tahan till end la now can divorce ma.
last time women divorce no ppl wan liao.
now women oso can one foot step 2 boat.
+Quote Post
Kampung2005
post Jun 12 2009, 10:20 AM

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Jun 12 2009, 10:15 AM)
but you guys know, people in olden days didn't cohabitate yet could still living happily with each other and maintained long lasting marriage.

I don't know why people nowadays get to stay together before marriage to test out if both are compatible in terms of living style and habits.

Last time, the word divorce is a taboo

Nowadays, not so

And then, lifestyle in those days and current days................are different
+Quote Post
zalmerox
post Jun 12 2009, 10:24 AM

Think of it as a test drive before buying a car.
But in this scenario, the tester is both parties. =)
+Quote Post
teongpeng
post Jun 12 2009, 10:25 AM

I want it to happen ASAP!
+Quote Post
AngelOfDestruction
post Jun 12 2009, 10:25 AM

QUOTE(zalmerox @ Jun 12 2009, 10:14 AM)
Why not.

* Close to marriage.
* 3to5 years relationship. (dependant on the partner believes as well)

- Nope, only my sister with my brother in law. But she was already married legally to begin with. (just without ceremony and that normal nonsense).

well .. ppl last time was not really free marriage yet .. believe it or not ... until 20 years ago .. there is still arranged marriage among chinese ... *i picked the race here to be more specific and i also chinese* ...
in arranged marriage .. there is no real sparks in relationship .. jus mere responsibilities and family ... since less sparks .. means less quarrals ... cos there were learn to love each other only after when they are already together .. not the other way round these dayz ...

+Quote Post
Kampung2005
post Jun 12 2009, 10:26 AM

QUOTE(zalmerox @ Jun 12 2009, 10:24 AM)
Think of it as a test drive before buying a car.
But in this scenario, the tester is both parties. =)

In the past, marriages were often arranged, not of your own will

So, like it or not, the couple have to learn to accommodate each other after marriage vow, unlike today
+Quote Post
^Hobbes^
post Jun 12 2009, 10:27 AM

I'm surreal only imaginary

As we inch closer to gender equality, our society no longer stereotypes single moms and divorcees.
Women back then have to endure whatever abuse their husbands hurled at them and divorce isnt an option, its different now adays, they have got the backing of certain NGOs, society's understanding and so forth.

To a point sometimes we abused that privilege, IMHO in a marriage its always about mutual respect very much less about individual or gender rights.

I believe the notion of trying out stems out from individual rights awareness, you have the right to choose before marriage so do i; as we are equal you dont loose anything so do i

This post has been edited by ^Hobbes^: Jun 12 2009, 10:30 AM
+Quote Post
zalmerox
post Jun 12 2009, 10:32 AM

In the past, marriages were often arranged, not of your own will

So, like it or not, the couple have to learn to accommodate each other after marriage vow, unlike today

Yes, yes ... we can keep remembering the good ol' days. Where the wife is expected to stay at home, and the man should be out getting the $$ for the family.

But times have change..
We're now at the PRESENT. Where RIGHT NOW has become more important than ever before. Life is too short for silly mistakes.
+Quote Post
Kampung2005
post Jun 12 2009, 10:34 AM

QUOTE(zalmerox @ Jun 12 2009, 10:32 AM)
Yes, yes ... we can keep remembering the good ol' days. Where the wife is expected to stay at home, and the man should be out getting the $$ for the family.

But times have change..
We're now at the PRESENT.  Where RIGHT NOW has become more important than ever before. Life is too short for silly mistakes.

Still, it is a wonder how perceptions can be changed within just a couple of decades
+Quote Post

29 Pages  1 2 3 > » 
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd November 2009 - 06:07 PM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)