This post has been edited by RyoKenzaki: May 23 2009, 04:54 PM
TSRyoKenzaki
post May 22 2009, 07:15 PM

★★ ~*\Arachnoid/*~ ★★
2,312 posts

Frequently Asked Question

Are all scorpions venomous?

Is it true that the large scorpions are most dangerous?

How can I tell if a scorpion is dangerous?

Can i cut the scorpion's venom gland?

How long does scorpions live?

How large/how small can scorpions get?

What is a good starter scorpion?

How to differentiate a Asian Forest Scorpion and Emperor Scorpion?

How long can Scorpion survive without food?

What is instar?

Scorpion will sting themself to death when a drop of alcohol is drop on them

Scorpion will commit suicide when surrounded with a ring of fire

Copy and paste from:
http://kenthebugguy.com/scorpions.html
http://www.ub.ntnu.no/scorpion-files/faq.php
http://www.dnp.go.th/FIG/misc%5Cscorpions%5Cfaq_e.htm
http://wiki.answers.com/Q/How_long_can_a_s..._food_and_water

This post has been edited by RyoKenzaki: Jun 23 2009, 11:12 PM
TSRyoKenzaki
post May 22 2009, 07:16 PM

★★ ~*\Arachnoid/*~ ★★
2,312 posts

OMG My scorpion gave birth! What should I do????!!!!
Most of the scorpion available in the pet trade are mostly wild caught or being keep communally
It's not odd to find that your Scorpion suddenly gave birth after keeping it for 1year because their gestation period can range from 8-13months depending on their diet, environment and other factors
So this is what I do when I notice my Scorpion gave birth last year

Step1: Leave the mom alone until she finish giving birth

Step2: To feed or not to feed?

Step3: Separating the scorpling

They are still quite fragile in 2nd instar and tend to die when they molt to 3rd instar
The key is to keep the substrate damp (Not wet!) and make sure your scorpling is hydrated to keep them survive
With this method i have successfully raised 30 scorpling to 2nd instar out of 31 scorpling, 1of them died cause felt from the mom's back

FAQ
Can I feed my scorpling before they molt?

When can i start feeding my scorpling?

What should I feed to my scorpling?

Disclaimer:
This method is only apply for Heterometrus and Pandimus Sp, for other sp, they need different care
For bark scorpion can refer to: http://www.mtsociety.com/forums/index.php?topic=290.0
For desert scorpion can refer to: http://www.mtsociety.com/forums/index.php?topic=291.0

This post has been edited by RyoKenzaki: May 23 2009, 04:55 PM
TSRyoKenzaki
post May 23 2009, 04:55 PM

★★ ~*\Arachnoid/*~ ★★
2,312 posts

Useful Link
Scorpion Sting 1st Aids <------ Good information, recommended
The Scorpion Forum
Arachnoboards
The Venom List
Mes Scorpion <------ Very good info for identifying a scorpion, recommended
How to ship a scorpion
Raising Crickets
Raising Mealworms
Raising Roaches

Scorpion Keeper List
- Rafiqos
- TAGreptiles
- RyoKenzaki
- Rideon
- s98432512
- junshern222
- dizzychef
- Izzulogy
- Aros
- akagidemon
- HyourinMaru
- K.Fai
- joshkyj
- Girugamesshu
- rism
- yhuii
- Jamien
- Corner32
- littlesaint
- aimeh
- girugaga
- ccling
- geo

Previous Version
::V1::Scorpion-Thread::V1::
::V2::Scorpion-Thread::V2::
::V3::Scorpion-Thread::V3::

This post has been edited by RyoKenzaki: Jul 9 2009, 07:21 PM
TSRyoKenzaki
post May 24 2009, 06:38 AM

★★ ~*\Arachnoid/*~ ★★
2,312 posts

QUOTE(akagidemon @ May 24 2009, 12:08 AM)
i was going thru the v1 and v2 thread and notice that alot of those people from the v1&2 are not anymore in v3. have they stopped keeping scorps?

and about educating. my frinds are all saying that 1 bite from the longimanus can kill me.

haih difficult to explain to them.

that is not including the superstition that the brother/mother/uncle scorpion will come and find me because taking one of the family away.
Alot senior ady stop this hobby cause working/ still keeping bt nt in forum anymore

QUOTE(rideon @ May 24 2009, 12:19 AM)
the one aros is displaying is a longimanus. Because at that time we cant name the sp well so some say its spinifer and some say its longimanus (its longimanus by the way) so he decided it should be a new sp.. so he names it LongimAROS....
Lol there are spinifer with longer chela actually
If compare2 the longimanus posted by akagi, really looks different nod.gif

QUOTE(akagidemon @ May 24 2009, 12:45 AM)
i have read that page before. so it is the same but i think a little more dramatic considering the pedes are not how shall i put it "cooperative". if you know what i mean.
Get a vial tat a lil bit bigger than ur pede, stuff in some tissue on the base and the side and place in front the pede
Gently push it inside
They love humid and dark area so there is a high chance for them to crawl into it

QUOTE(akagidemon @ May 24 2009, 01:53 AM)
"How do you control the water flow?Manually or by any other means?"

there is a slide controller that lets you adjust how many drops per minutes. you can open it up fully or adjust it to any time intervals that you want.

let say 1 drop every 20 seconds.

calculate the dehydration factor and the amount of fluid lost in a given time span and you can set the drops nicely.

"Have you tried sprinkler over dripper?"
well at the end of the line is a hypodermic needle. the needle makes it easy for me to position where i want the water dropslets to land without being intrusive to the scorps. to my knowledge there is no low preasure sprinklers or is there?

hmm maybe i can diy a sprinkler. see what i can think up.

Added on May 24, 2009, 2:13 amguys, any idea what to feed my scorps since they don't take meal worms. baby lizards, earthworms,??? anything.

crickets and pinheads are out of the question becoz i cant find any here.
I think u can ask leetplayer to sell u some superworm
If nt mistaken aros bought from him rite?
_____________________________________________________________________________________________

Btw paiseh la, i was sleeping tongue.gif
Welcome to V4

ccling
post May 24 2009, 08:18 AM

Congrate on the V4 of scorpion thread. ^^
Keep up the good work .
TSRyoKenzaki
post May 24 2009, 08:53 AM

★★ ~*\Arachnoid/*~ ★★
2,312 posts

Ar, forgot to update ur name in scorp keeper list
Any new pic for ur scorp? tongue.gif
ccling
post May 24 2009, 09:19 AM

Thanks Ryo ^^

Here's some picture..

Can anyone tell me, is she gravid or just fat? Thanks ^^
rideon
post May 24 2009, 09:32 AM

239 posts

wuhuhuuh V4 baby... hahahah lol..
ccling - i think shes just fat but i might be wrong.. Your substrate is kinda wet.. is it flooded or you just mist it?
ccling
post May 24 2009, 09:52 AM

QUOTE(rideon @ May 24 2009, 10:32 AM)
wuhuhuuh V4 baby... hahahah lol..
ccling - i think shes just fat but i might be wrong.. Your substrate is kinda wet.. is it flooded or you just mist it?
I just mist the substrate (once a week), i really hope she's gravid, as i'm expecting some babbies......

Never seen any scorpling b4.

For me, they seems kinda cute. XD
TSRyoKenzaki
post May 24 2009, 10:00 AM

★★ ~*\Arachnoid/*~ ★★
2,312 posts

Ur substrate are those fiber type coco peat?
Anw, did her together with a male in the tank?
Have u see them mate b4?
If no then they wont automatic pregnant unless ady gravid b4 u gt her
She doesnt looks fat to me anw, juz normal
ccling
post May 24 2009, 10:35 AM

That day i saw her with a male XXXX ...
1 month after that, her belly start buldging, that's y i suspect her pregnant.

I might be wrong, if she's not pregnant, ok for me also. ^^
akagidemon
post May 24 2009, 10:35 AM

453 posts

about the topic Scorpion Conservation.

i like it. how about "Scorpion Conservation Through Education".

i believe strongly that threads like this, aracnoboard, and other site dedicated to scorpions are on this mindset.

TSRyoKenzaki
post May 24 2009, 10:45 AM

★★ ~*\Arachnoid/*~ ★★
2,312 posts

QUOTE(ccling @ May 24 2009, 10:35 AM)
That day i saw her with a male XXXX ...
1 month after that, her belly start buldging, that's y i suspect her pregnant.

I might be wrong, if she's not pregnant, ok for me also. ^^
Then good luck lol
Wait 8-12months biggrin.gif

QUOTE(akagidemon @ May 24 2009, 10:35 AM)
about the topic Scorpion Conservation.

i like it. how about "Scorpion Conservation Through Education".

i believe strongly that threads like this, aracnoboard, and other site dedicated to scorpions are on this mindset.
U mean change the topic name to scorpion conservation through education?
Anw, tats wat we are trying2 do here smile.gif
Hopefully will have a chance to do another exhibition soon
akagidemon
post May 24 2009, 10:47 AM

453 posts

i'm off herping for pedes. and scorpions. and that "land crab". i hope it is a land crab.
TSRyoKenzaki
post May 24 2009, 10:48 AM

★★ ~*\Arachnoid/*~ ★★
2,312 posts

Good luck and update us with pic smile.gif
s98432512
post May 24 2009, 11:48 AM

49 posts

Congrats on ver 4 scorpion thrread ... smile.gif
lol ...

Good effort in version 4 ... u are making us proud ..
Veri informative and useful for both experience and newbies ...smile.gif

thumbs ups ...

p/s: damxxx.... i amnot #1 to post in ver 4 ...
rideon
post May 24 2009, 11:52 AM

239 posts

hahah i was waiting in the middle of the night till early morn to b the 1st or second to post but went as sleep. Ryo was asleep aswell so woke up the thread already publish.. ayo.. at least im the 3rd person in here..
lol...

akagidemon- good luck in ur herping mission...

talking about mission hows ur mission going lester?

125 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0286sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 04:21 AM