Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
126 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > »  
RSS feedBump TopicClosed TopicStart new topicStart Poll

> Nikon D40/D40x/D60/D5000 V5, Best entry level DSLR from Nikon (Photography)

illegaldragon87
post Jul 3 2009, 04:40 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1101

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠

Group: Senior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Jul 3 2009, 04:31 PM)
actually im facing 2 limitations now wif my kit lens, which oso cause the headache im having now
1)kit lens aperture not high enaf for bokeh shots
2)most significant, zoom not enaf! really hate cant zoom in on subjects when i went HK recently >.<

i guess u really need to see wat is the thing tat u enjoy to shoot?? landscape?? macro?? portrait??

for me, i love food... i like to shoot any food tat is nice n share wit other ppl... tatz the reason i get a prime lens... afterall, itz still depends on wat u really wan... smile.gif

p/s: my frenz jus went to aus wit D40 + kit lens only... n all the pic tat she took look nice to me...
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mafiaboy34
post Jul 3 2009, 04:42 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1102

Group: Junior Member

yeah.. the picture quality is good ma.. but is it worth it for a price of RM 820 ( include filter, lens hood & pouch).. J One offer me that price.
+Quote Post
aaron1kee
post Jul 3 2009, 06:40 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1103

XimpliXity.com

QUOTE(mafiaboy34 @ Jul 3 2009, 04:42 PM)
yeah.. the picture quality is good ma.. but is it worth it for a price of RM 820 ( include filter, lens hood & pouch).. J One offer me that price.

If it includes filter then I must say it's quite worth the price.
+Quote Post
alpha_company
post Jul 3 2009, 08:17 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1104

One Hand Punch Mega

18200VRii
+All in one lens. No need to change a lot.
+Light travelling / Versatile
-Lower IQ
-Pricy

Prime lens like 50mm/35mm
+Nice bokeh
+Higher IQ
-Need to change lenses more often for most situations / Not so versatile
-Will suit mostly portraits only.

I will go for something in between.
18-55vr + 55-200vr Cheaper options for beginners and will suit a variety of situations
OR
18-105VR + 70-300VRii - Longer reach and higher IQ overall compared to 18200VR

OR if got money get the Tamron 18-270VC one of the best superzoom lens around
+Quote Post
project-o
post Jul 3 2009, 09:00 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1105

PROJECT-O

Another way to go about it would be to get 35 f1.8 and a Tamron 90 f2.8 and get a 2x Teleconverter. Image quality should be better and you will have a more useful range as 35 x 2= 70 and 90 x 2 = 180. But if one were to choose this method one has to swap lenses very often.
+Quote Post
latias93
post Jul 3 2009, 09:27 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1106

Mafia Wars Addict

Guys, I'd like to ask a few questions here.. does anyone know where I can buy replica/3rd party lens hood for Nikkor lenses? If anyone remembers some time ago I stated that my HB-35 hood broke.. it's for my 18-200VR.

Also, my father let me use his SB-600 + Lambency Flash Diffuser (the mangkuk type). What kind of shooting would require/best used with the flash diffuser? Say I were to shoot in a large, enclosed area (stadium), what angle should my flash best be pointed at?
+Quote Post
General_Nic
post Jul 3 2009, 09:27 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1107

D5000 fully loaded n ready to shoot~!!

i decided to get 18-200 1st then save to get 35
thx for all advise given!

nxt question is,
which model?
if can get Nikon 18-200VRii it would be best, but expensiv...
i dun wan Tamron cos slow AF...
is Sigma 18-200 OS HSM good?

n how do 3rd party brand prime lenses fare?

Added on July 3, 2009, 9:29 pm
QUOTE(latias93 @ Jul 3 2009, 09:27 PM)
Guys, I'd like to ask a few questions here.. does anyone know where I can buy replica/3rd party lens hood for Nikkor lenses? If anyone remembers some time ago I stated that my HB-35 hood broke.. it's for my 18-200VR.

Also, my father let me use his SB-600 + Lambency Flash Diffuser (the mangkuk type). What kind of shooting would require/best used with the flash diffuser? Say I were to shoot in a large, enclosed area (stadium), what angle should my flash best be pointed at?

the lambency diffuser is designed for use when there is no ceiling to bounce flash
n i tot using this diffuser normally point 90degree up?

This post has been edited by General_Nic: Jul 3 2009, 09:29 PM
+Quote Post
project-o
post Jul 3 2009, 09:34 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1108

PROJECT-O

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Jul 3 2009, 09:27 PM)
Sigma OS HSM should be about the same as the Tamron but the HSM motor should be much faster than the Tamron's micro motor.

Depends on which range and just like original brand lenses, there are some that are good and some that are not so good. 2 examples outstanding ones (sharpness, good contrast, smooth bokeh)  are the Sigma 50 f1.4 HSM and the Tamron SP90 Di f2.8.

the lambency diffuser is designed for use when there is no ceiling to bounce flash

This diffuser can be used 90 degrees, 45 degrees or straight. Depends on the situation and power setting of your flash.

This post has been edited by project-o: Jul 3 2009, 09:36 PM
+Quote Post
alpha_company
post Jul 3 2009, 10:11 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1109

One Hand Punch Mega

the 18200VRii speed of af motor is compareble with sigma 18200 OS HSM, but im not so sure about the IQ. i would safely say the 18200VRii is better.

if tamron 18270, the IQ is on par, some say better than 18200VRii. but it has normal built in motor.

sigma 18250 os hsm could have better optics because it's newer, but im just guessing.
+Quote Post
AlphaBeta
post Jul 3 2009, 10:30 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1110

I belong to the DarkSide

nth beats the 18200vr....It is up to u...go test out all the lenses...and check on ur pc.. IMO u really cant see the difference. but af apeed should be ovbious.. nikkor no doubt the best in af speed. others suffer under low light situation. These were wht i read from the internet.
+Quote Post
mafiaboy34
post Jul 3 2009, 10:45 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1111

never tried the new 18-200..but for me who travels a lot, its sufficient for me to use my trustful 18-135mm with nissin di466 for its compactness.. i takes a lot of event photo and landscape.. even when i shoot indoor ( Communicasia 2009) i only use this setup.. but with high iso ( iso 800).. i've used 50mm f1.8 before.nice for shoot static things like flower, toys etc.. since have to manual AF it with my d40..tired already!.. but for fast action event like wedding or low light event like PC fair, i'm thinking of getting the new AFS DX 35mm.. nice for chicks potraits..hehe... my next list would be Tammy 18-70mm f2.8 ( RM 1300).. hehe
+Quote Post
alpha_company
post Jul 3 2009, 10:54 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1112

One Hand Punch Mega

tammy 18-70 2.8?

sigma 1770 got.. tammy 1750 2.8 got.. but i never heard of 1870 tammy
+Quote Post
mafiaboy34
post Jul 3 2009, 11:13 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1113

sorry 17-50mm.. ade org pakai dgn d40? best tak??
+Quote Post
yuweio
post Jul 3 2009, 11:20 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1114

Group: New Member

-deleted-

This post has been edited by yuweio: Jul 3 2009, 11:20 PM
+Quote Post
kimurastanley
post Jul 3 2009, 11:21 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1115

Freak

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Jul 3 2009, 09:27 PM)
i decided to get 18-200 1st then save to get 35
thx for all advise given!

nxt question is,
which model?
if can get Nikon 18-200VRii it would be best, but expensiv...
i dun wan Tamron cos slow AF...

Sigma 18-200mm OS HSM is quite good for the price i can say. Of course lower IQ compared to Nikon 18-200 or Tammy 18-270. But so far I'm satisfied with it
+Quote Post
Oxburg
post Jul 3 2009, 11:29 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1116

i wanna ask nissin di466 good enough? What the different with SB600?
+Quote Post
General_Nic
post Jul 3 2009, 11:30 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1117

D5000 fully loaded n ready to shoot~!!

QUOTE(kimurastanley @ Jul 3 2009, 11:21 PM)
Sigma 18-200mm OS HSM is quite good for the price i can say. Of course lower IQ compared to Nikon 18-200 or Tammy 18-270. But so far I'm satisfied with it

i agree Sigma is quite good,
since Kimura u told me b4 thumbup.gif

but is it worth spending 1k less to get Sigma instead of Nikon?

Added on July 3, 2009, 11:32 pm
QUOTE(Oxburg @ Jul 3 2009, 11:29 PM)

comparing di466 wif SB600?? blink.gif
totally different class la

ppl compare di622 wif SB600

This post has been edited by General_Nic: Jul 3 2009, 11:32 PM
+Quote Post
jsc_tidus
post Jul 3 2009, 11:37 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1118

QUOTE(Oxburg @ Jul 3 2009, 11:29 PM)

go for SB600 sweat.gif
+Quote Post
alpha_company
post Jul 3 2009, 11:37 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1119

One Hand Punch Mega

di466 can compare with sb400 la i think..

di622 with sb600..and some even compared it with sb800

there's an upcoming sb800/sb900 class nissin competitor..not sure when it will be launched..

Added on July 3, 2009, 11:39 pmshould i go for sb900 or sb600+tripod? cause sb900 really expensive.

im still poisoned with sony's f58 tilting flash head.

This post has been edited by alpha_company: Jul 3 2009, 11:39 PM
+Quote Post
jsc_tidus
post Jul 3 2009, 11:44 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1120

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Jul 3 2009, 11:37 PM)
di466 can compare with sb400 la i think..

di622 with sb600..and some even compared it with sb800

there's an upcoming sb800/sb900 class nissin competitor..not sure when it will be launched..

Added on July 3, 2009, 11:39 pmshould i go for sb900 or sb600+tripod? cause sb900 really expensive.

im still poisoned with sony's f58 tilting flash head.

SB800 should be enough already, but if u got some big bucks, go straight for SB900.. but prepare for large space in ur bag, its huge.. laugh.gif
+Quote Post

126 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » 
Bump TopicClosed TopicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th November 2009 - 08:52 AM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)