Lowyat.NET Forums

LYN wins Intel-Lenovo-Tangs Blogathon challenge. Thank you everybody!
126 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > »  
RSS feedBump TopicClosed TopicStart new topicStart Poll

> Nikon D40/D40x/D60/D5000 V5, Best entry level DSLR from Nikon (Photography)

pleasuresaurus
post Jul 3 2009, 12:02 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1081

spin spin sugar

Group: Senior Member
Ratings earned: 0+, 0-
Ratings given: 0+, 0-

QUOTE(rickylaw86 @ Jul 2 2009, 11:21 PM)
But the difference is in the lenses  blush.gif

If that were true, I'd have left the darkside and become Jedi. Sony/Minolta's 135mm f/2.8 STF is to die for.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rickylaw86
post Jul 3 2009, 12:29 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1082

Group: Junior Member

QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Jul 3 2009, 12:02 AM)
If that were true, I'd have left the darkside and become Jedi. Sony/Minolta's 135mm f/2.8 STF is to die for.

Haha, well technically not a Sony made lens right? Well correct me if I was misinformed, there's an adapter to mount Nikon lenses on Canon body but no adapter to mount Canon lenses on Nikon body, which tells you no matter wat body you have, the lenses are what makes the real difference.
+Quote Post
alpha_company
post Jul 3 2009, 12:32 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1083

One Hand Punch Mega

QUOTE(zio @ Jul 2 2009, 06:49 PM)
Frankly speaking. Whichever is cheaper. And make it comprehensive.

Draw a list of all the lens you think you will purchase in the future, whether its dream or wish lens, both sides should have similar range. Then compare the price for both system.

Performance-wise, I don't think there is a huge difference. Looks-wise, sorry I really don't like Alpha's design tongue.gif

So, it all boils down to the finance. Whichever is cheaper to maintain as a system, that is probably your answer.

thanks for the advice.. especially for the unbiased advice. thumbup.gif
@thanks to pleasuresaurus too biggrin.gif
+Quote Post
pleasuresaurus
post Jul 3 2009, 12:44 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1084

spin spin sugar

QUOTE(rickylaw86 @ Jul 3 2009, 12:29 AM)
Haha, well technically not a Sony made lens right? Well correct me if I was misinformed, there's an adapter to mount Nikon lenses on Canon body but no adapter to mount Canon lenses on Nikon body, which tells you no matter wat body you have, the lenses are what makes the real difference.

True,but this is more of an issue of back focus. Its not feasible to mount a Canon lens on a Nikon body due to the fact that Nikon bodies require longer back focal length, which a Canon lens cannot provide. Man, if i can afford it I'd run multiple systems. Just love that smooth trans focuz drool.gif .

Added on July 3, 2009, 12:46 am
QUOTE(alpha_company @ Jul 3 2009, 12:32 AM)
thanks for the advice.. especially for the unbiased advice.  thumbup.gif
@thanks to pleasuresaurus too  biggrin.gif

most welcome

This post has been edited by pleasuresaurus: Jul 3 2009, 12:46 AM
+Quote Post
alpha_company
post Jul 3 2009, 01:49 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1085

One Hand Punch Mega

guys.. recommend me a good tripod with removable centre column. around rm500
+Quote Post
project-o
post Jul 3 2009, 09:46 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1086

PROJECT-O

Sigma is in a totally different level and is a different design. You have to test it to then you will know. I have... even wide open the image is sharp. Stopped down..even better.
QUOTE(sOuLx @ Jul 2 2009, 11:45 PM)
why does sigma 50f1.4 is more expensive than nikkor 50f1.4?
does the IQ different is noticeable?

Added on July 3, 2009, 9:50 amI saw one around that price in a shop a few days back. I forgot the model but the brand is Giottos.
QUOTE(alpha_company @ Jul 3 2009, 01:49 AM)
guys.. recommend me a good tripod with removable centre column. around rm500

This post has been edited by project-o: Jul 3 2009, 09:50 AM
+Quote Post
alpha_company
post Jul 3 2009, 10:26 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1087

One Hand Punch Mega

got at the shop im buying..manfrotto.. later i ask him the model. can remove center column
+Quote Post
shinjun
post Jul 3 2009, 10:57 AM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1088

Starting is always a hard one

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Jul 3 2009, 10:26 AM)
got at the shop im buying..manfrotto.. later i ask him the model. can remove center column

Hope to hear form u more about the tripod, coz I'm looking for 1 with the same budget.
+Quote Post
mafiaboy34
post Jul 3 2009, 03:29 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1089

anyone has use the new afs dx 35mm f 1.8 lense? thinking of buying it after boring enough adjusting manual on 50mm. how much is the price?
+Quote Post
chewlf
post Jul 3 2009, 03:40 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1090

Share with you some photos taken by 35mm

http://www.flickr.com/photos/22860231@N04/...57619360680364/

A must have lens for DX camera especially D40/D60/D5000 model.
+Quote Post
General_Nic
post Jul 3 2009, 03:48 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1091

D5000 fully loaded n ready to shoot~!!

Guys, i nid suggestions here
shud i save up to buy 18-200 now, then save to buy 50 f1.4 or 50 f1.8 much much later?(very long cos mahal)
OR save to buy 18-200, then buy 35 f1.8 much earlier as dun nid save so much?
OR buy 35 f1.8 1st then only save for 18-200?

i really like to do portraits n bokeh shots now, so interested to get prime lenses,
but i dun have zoom lens, which will giv me problems if i travel
so not sure get all in 1 zoom lens 1st so can do all purpose shot
or sacrifice zoom shots to get great portraits n bokeh shots?
+Quote Post
edministrator
post Jul 3 2009, 03:56 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1092

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Jul 3 2009, 03:48 PM)
shud i save up to buy 18-200 now, then save to buy 50 f1.4 or 50 f1.8 much much later?(very long cos mahal)

i really like to do portraits n bokeh shots now, so interested to get prime lenses,

i owned a D40. I dived in for a 18-200 VR for general purpose photography, which means i can use it in most scenarios/conditions. Now i am aiming for AFS 35mm f/1.8 as a fast indoor/bokeh lens. Depends on your priority and what type of shooting your do the most.
+Quote Post
calvin_gsc
post Jul 3 2009, 03:58 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1093

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Jul 3 2009, 03:48 PM)

At the end of the say, it's which one you prefer having first. Zoom or prime. noone but yourself can make that decision.

The 18-200mm VR maybe convenient for travel if you have a limited number of lens. But once you start using f/2.8 lens. You wont be using the 18-200mm VR anymore. Ever since i got my Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8. I bring the 18-200mm to travel but never use it, just waste space and add extra weight. The 50mm 1.8 also I abandon, cause thought i like the bokeh, i dislike the fact that I have to take steps back and forward instead of turning the lens to zoom.
+Quote Post
General_Nic
post Jul 3 2009, 04:07 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1094

if ask which lens i really wan, i wan prime lens >.<
but 2 things make me hesitate:
1)if i go on travel, prime lens would b practically not usefull for me
2)u think will it be a waste for a beginner like to get a prime lens?
+Quote Post
chewlf
post Jul 3 2009, 04:13 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1095

It's depend on what you shoot mostly. If you go travel frequently then you might think that zoom lens is more useful but if most of the time you are taking photo of your family and friends, then prime lens is more fun and produce more sharp photo. Some more the prime lens can produce very nice bokeh. smile.gif
+Quote Post
shinjun
post Jul 3 2009, 04:14 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1096

Starting is always a hard one

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Jul 3 2009, 04:07 PM)
if ask which lens i really wan, i wan prime lens >.<
but 2 things make me hesitate:
1)if i go on travel, prime lens would b practically not usefull for me
2)u think will it be a waste for a beginner like to get a prime lens?

If u buy and keep the prime then it's waste.

It wont go waste if u utilize it and capture photo with it.

How about think this way, do u think that it will be a waste for a beginner to get the top-of-the-line sb-900 speedlight? smile.gif

No offence ya, juz my honest opinion.
+Quote Post
General_Nic
post Jul 3 2009, 04:23 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1097

thx for all the advice n suggestion! notworthy.gif

final few advice for me to make decision
is 35 worth buying?
how much d price now?
if price affordable,
then i decide to buy 18-200 1st, then can buy 35 not long after that
+Quote Post
illegaldragon87
post Jul 3 2009, 04:24 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1098

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠

actually i would say buying prime lens will be good for u.... since u like portrait n bokeh so much... n i think kit lens will be enough for u to go travel...

actually kit lens can perform quite well... try to play around wit it 1st be4 getting any lenses...
+Quote Post
chewlf
post Jul 3 2009, 04:30 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1099

I do agree with illegaldragon87.

I still keep my kit lens today as it is lighter and easy to carry for daily shooting. Only once in a while I will go travel. When going travel, I will bring along my 55-200mm in backpack. Otherwise I will just use small sling bag to carry my kit lens + flash or kit lens + 35mm.

Carry lighter will make you shoot more photos. This is the philosophy I learnt from pro.
+Quote Post
General_Nic
post Jul 3 2009, 04:31 PM
Show posts by this member only |This post's rating (0+, 0-) | Post #1100

QUOTE(illegaldragon87 @ Jul 3 2009, 04:24 PM)
actually i would say buying prime lens will be good for u.... since u like portrait n bokeh so much... n i think kit lens will be enough for u to go travel...

actually kit lens can perform quite well... try to play around wit it 1st be4 getting any lenses...

actually im facing 2 limitations now wif my kit lens, which oso cause the headache im having now
1)kit lens aperture not high enaf for bokeh shots
2)most significant, zoom not enaf! really hate cant zoom in on subjects when i went HK recently >.<
+Quote Post

126 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » 
Bump TopicClosed TopicTopic OptionsStart new topic

----debug section please ignore----
Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th November 2009 - 02:12 AM
All Rights Reserved 2003-2009 Vijandren Ramadass (~living on a prayer~)