Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: NETWORK ATTACHED STORAGE (NAS)
Lowyat.NET > Computers > Hardware
Pages: 1, 2
zhen^wei
let's make a NAS discussion here since everyone is torrent fans...
anyone own a NAS enclosure ? and let's discuss the model and spec

p/s: pls har, i am not do advertisement here. haha biggrin.gif

Hotway
Hotway, HD9-SU2LA, NAS USB2/LAN. Silver, Network Attached Storage

3.5" SATA Dual HDD, Hotway, HUR1-SU2LA, NAS/Raid 0/1, USB2.0/Lan, Black

any nice brand ?
doodoo
QUOTE(zhen^wei @ Jul 27 2008, 01:21 PM)
let's make a NAS discussion here since everyone is torrent fans...
anyone own a NAS enclosure ? and let's discuss the model and spec

p/s: pls har, i am not do advertisement here. haha biggrin.gif
Hotway
Hotway, HD9-SU2LA, NAS USB2/LAN. Silver, Network Attached Storage

3.5" SATA Dual HDD, Hotway, HUR1-SU2LA, NAS/Raid 0/1, USB2.0/Lan, Black
any nice brand ?

dlink dns 323
zhen^wei
dlink dns 323 how much u bought ?
i am looking for one nas btw.aahah
doodoo
QUOTE(zhen^wei @ Jul 27 2008, 01:29 PM)
dlink dns 323  how much u bought ?
i am looking for one nas btw.aahah

rm420 from a good retailer...

at first i wanted to buy a single drive nas but i fell in love with dns323 and now i have to regret..

fyi,dlink also made single drive nas
sunmaster
QUOTE(doodoo @ Jul 27 2008, 01:31 PM)
rm420 from a good retailer...

at first i wanted to buy a single drive nas but i fell in love with dns323 and now i have to regret..

fyi,dlink also made single drive nas

Have to regret? any reason for that? I'm interested in Dlink DNS-323.
And RM420 for Dlink 323? where did u get that?
zhen^wei
yup RM420 sound cheap for the dual hdd one.
jasonkwk
I heard you can build your own NAS server. What OS u all use to control your NAS server? interested to build one for torrenting.
K for Ketamine
QUOTE(zhen^wei @ Jul 29 2008, 02:00 PM)
yup RM420 sound cheap for the dual hdd one.

PC Fair will be even cheaper smile.gif
zer0hour
I'm using a QNAP NAS with BT server. Internal HD is a 750GB WD.
K for Ketamine
btw, check this out NAS
over here
maybe need admin help tweak/merge the topic smile.gif
jasonkwk
QUOTE(zer0hour @ Jul 30 2008, 05:59 PM)
I'm using a QNAP NAS with BT server. Internal HD is a 750GB WD.

when u buy the NAS server, what software did QNAS provide?
zhen^wei
QNAP NAS wat brand is that ? can know the price?

i think i better build one one mini PC so can download using WIFIhaha
juine
In sg alot user use dlink 323. I saw it before but felt it was not so need yet n the price r stil quite high. This is a good stuff even better if can put 4 hdd. Dlink is coming with more slot version. Pricing is an issue also. The torrent n network function are not really what i after. To keep the hdd on standby are what i need n i dont want hot swap. I probably will get this after i get another few F1 n use this to power up my 4x 500gb hdd.
fariz
QUOTE(zhen^wei @ Jul 30 2008, 10:56 PM)
QNAP NAS  wat brand is that ? can know the price?

i think i better build one one mini PC so can download using WIFIhaha

QNAP is QNAP tongue.gif

this model is RM599, http://www.qnap.com/pro_detail_feature.asp?p_id=67

jasonkwk
which QNAP model is suitable for small user?

Dlink DNS 323 and QNAP TS100 , 2 of almost same price.which one is better?
zhen^wei
qnap got media player eh
jasonkwk
i want to ask is there a less powerful kind of NAS,I just need to download torrent only no need NFS/PHP/SSL/HTTPS/FTP........
sakurakinomoto
I'm getting a 2TB network drive with mirroring raiding O_O

I think its NAS, lets see what I got when i receive it XD
zer0hour
QUOTE(fariz @ Jul 31 2008, 06:52 AM)
QNAP is QNAP tongue.gif

this model is RM599, http://www.qnap.com/pro_detail_feature.asp?p_id=67

Yupyup exactly the model I'm using. No issues so far, 3 months d.
mghong
QUOTE(zer0hour @ Aug 1 2008, 12:09 AM)
Yupyup exactly the model I'm using. No issues so far, 3 months d.

Just asking did you use it for torrent usage ? any idea wat torrent client is it using .

I read comment abt this before and they claim it is slow and no upgrade can be done on the bt client any idea ?

anyone can validate this ? blush.gif
K for Ketamine
Dual Gigabits. brows.gif

MZK-NAS01SG (1x HDD SATA) RM399
http://www.planex.net/product/nas/mzk-nas01sg.htm
MZK-NAS02SG (2x HDD SATA) RM549
http://www.planex.net/product/nas/mzk-nas02sg.htm
jasonkwk
QUOTE(K for Ketamine @ Aug 2 2008, 10:46 PM)
Dual Gigabits. brows.gif

MZK-NAS01SG (1x HDD SATA) RM399
http://www.planex.net/product/nas/mzk-nas01sg.htm
MZK-NAS02SG (2x HDD SATA) RM549
http://www.planex.net/product/nas/mzk-nas02sg.htm

what is the advantage of dual Gigabits ?
rosihan
can plug 2 lan cable lah!
and speed up to 1Gbps
Traveler
Just bought a Synology DS408 NAS box with 4x1TB Seagate 7200.11 HDs hooked up in RAID-5. Looking forward to checking out its features such as download suppor, iTunes server, and hibernation.
denhock
Synology Download link

remember to get the latest firmware:

Synology Disk Station DS408 Release Notes

Version: DSM 2.0-0722

(2008/09/22)

Change log

=>RAID 6 Support: RAID 6 volume type cuts off the risk of volume failure and provides extra data protection.

=> NFS Support: With built-in NFS option, admin can quickly enable NFS and set up privileges on the UI by a few checks only.

=> Virtual Host: Hosting up to 30 websites on one single server for a more efficient and economical purpose; name-based virtual hosting is supported.

=> Batch Users Creating: By importing the user list, admin can now efficiently create a number of user accounts on a batch basis.

=> SSL Certificate Support: Admin can now host a valid SSL server by importing the certificate issued by trusted Certificate Authority (CA) and the private key.

=> HDD S.M.A.R.T.: The S.M.A.R.T. information and S.M.A.R.T. test are available on the management UI for admin to monitor, detect, and report the hard disks status, in a way to alert possible HDD failures.

=> Enhanced Surveillance Station (supported on Internet Explorer browser):

=> Alarm Recording Support: Other than Continuous Recording and Motion Detection Recording modes, a new option of Alarm Recording mode is now supported. In Alarm Recording mode, Surveillance Station records videos when receiving external I/O signals from the camera.

=> MPEG-4 Support: Other than M-JPEG video format, MPEG-4 format streaming and video recording is also supported, which significantly reduces the storage capacity requirement.

=> Megapixel Support: Depending on the IP cameras capability, megapixel video live-view and recording can be supported.

=> Snapshot: Snapshot taking in live-view and event play back is available.

=> Enhanced Management: Admin can go to Privilege page of Surveillance Station and grant other users the privileges of managing Surveillance Station, simply watch the live-view and events, or nothing at all. In addition, admin can now monitor the live-view on full screen, and manage the cameras by enabling/disabling cameras without deleting all the settings. Event recording can be stopped at anytime and played back immediately.

=> Enhanced Performance: Depending on the IP cameras capability, admin can choose to implement the motion detection by camera rather than Surveillance Station, which further enhances the system performance.

=> Additional 45 IP Cameras Support: 45 more IP camera models from Panasonic, Vivotek and LevelOne are added into the support list. Synology Surveillance Station now support up to almost 70 IP camera models in total from 7 renowned brands. Read the detailed camera list here.

=> Enhanced Local Backup: Enables multiple scheduled Local Backup tasks with the assistance of Local Backup wizard, the backup destination can be either the external HDD or the shared folders on the internal HDD. From now on, the external attached HDD (EXT3 or FAT format) can be used as storage and backup disk simultaneously.

=> Enhanced FTP Server: The advanced privilege of "write-only" is supported. In addition, limiting the maximum connections from each individual IP provides better bandwidth management together with the bandwidth restriction option. UTF-8 filename support which better handles multilingual characters is also optional.

=> New Download Station 2: Other than BitTorrent/FTP/HTTP download, new download channels eMule and NZB are now supported by the Download Station 2. In addition, partial files download from BitTorrent is also allowed. Download Station 2 is now separated from the management UI and stands on an individual webpage.

=> Enhanced File Station: Admin can designate his/her own File Station with a different port as well as customize webpage banner, so that users will login the File Station independent from the NAS server management UI. The advanced privilege of "write-only" is also supported.

=> Enhanced Audio Station: No USB speakers are required for playing music stored on the server anymore. The new streaming mode streams .mp3 audio files to the client PC(1) and delivers by built-in speakers. A built-in playlist "Random100" will randomly choose and play 100 songs each time it is selected.

=> Enhanced Photo Station 3: Admin can now customize Photo Station 3 background and theme in his/her own fashion, and sort photos and albums according to personal preference in the Settings area. Language setting is also modifiable based on his/her choice. The media RSS feed is now supported. Moreover, users can now enjoy the Photo Station 3 with Cooliris (formerly known as PicLens) dazzling full screen 3-dimensional photo slideshow(2). FLV video files are now supported.

=> Enhanced Windows ADS Compatibility: Better handles the Windows domains especially for those with a large number of domain users. Windows Server 2008 is also supported now.
Enhanced Mac OS Usability: Synology NAS servers will be automatically found by Bonjour protocol, including Finder and Safari browser (Bookmarks > Bonjour).

=> Enhanced iTunes Server: M4A and M4P file formats are correctly indexed on iTunes server with tags information. WAV and AIF files are now supported to be streamed, but metadata may not be indexed.
Enhanced Hibernation: Improved hibernation mechanism is introduced particularly to solve the problem of Western Digital Green Power series HDDs' not sleeping while in hibernation.

=> Enhanced Concurrent Connection Capability: The maximum concurrent connection number is now expanded to 256.

=> Perl Support: Perl 5.8.6 is formally included in Synology Disk Station Manager 2.0.

=> Package Management & Logitech SqueezeCenter Support: The Logitech SqueezeCenter will be supported on Synology NAS servers after installing the SqueezeCenter package (download here) provided by Synology. Users can easily install and uninstall this package, run and stop the SqueezeCenter service on Synology NAS servers on the [System > Package Management] page.
----------

binjai
im taking a wild shot here, but any1 ever seen any NAS with rapidshare d/l feature? hehe... torrents r so passe dy hehe... dont b angry ahhh

anyway, zhen^wei... is the hotway unit realiable? m planning to get a really basic nas ler...

cheers
denhock
QUOTE(binjai @ Sep 29 2008, 10:47 AM)
im taking a wild shot here, but any1 ever seen any NAS with rapidshare d/l feature? hehe... torrents r so passe dy hehe... dont b angry ahhh

anyway, zhen^wei... is the hotway unit realiable? m planning to get a really basic nas ler...

cheers

if you looking for low budget NAS , than Synology DS-108j or QNAP TS-101.

It have:

File server
Print server
BT
Backup ( from PC to NAS, from NAS to NAS or others Rsyn NAS)
File station
FTP
support MAC/PC
Photo station

zhen^wei
Synology DS-108j or QNAP TS-101

got photo ?
cube328
u got the $$$ i got heaps of good brand to recommend
denhock
QUOTE(zhen^wei @ Sep 29 2008, 02:41 PM)
Synology DS-108j or QNAP TS-101

got photo ?

Prince of Andalus
sorry, noob question.... smile.gif

can i use this NAS with BItcomet 0.66 modded?????
denhock

How to use QGet to manage the BT download of multiple QNAP NAS servers remotely

QNAP NAS supports Download Station which you can use to download files independent of PC in a more energy-saving way. You can also manage the download tasks remotely even if you were away from home.

To access the Download Station of the NAS, you can login the web-based interface by web browser or use the Windows/ Mac QGet utility provided by QNAP.

Features of QGet

1. Allows access to the NAS over the Internet and remote management of the download tasks after setting up QNAP NAS and configuring the DDNS settings.
2. Multiple QNAP NAS servers can be maintained simultaneously.
3. After you have downloaded a torrent file to your computer, e.g. from http://www.bittorrent.com, you can double click the file or drag and drop the file to QGet and execute the download instantly.
4. You can view the download percentage, pause/ restart/ delete the download tasks, configure the download settings of different NAS servers, etc.
5. The download percentage of all running download tasks is shown on a mini floating window for convenient browsing.
6. QGet is a license-free utility which can be used on Windows and Mac.

Mac QGet Interface

Windows QGet Interface

Besides PC-less download, QNAP NAS supports UPnP/ DLNA media sharing that you can play the multimedia contents on the NAS by any compatible media player in LAN. You can set up your home multimedia centre by the NAS.

QNAP's Download Station supports BitTorrent, FTP, and HTTP download. You can also set up PC-less download eMule and NZB by QPKG installation.

syazone
any idea on torrent speed using NAS??
zhen^wei
dpeends on ur line speed i think. but if running toreent using nas, wil affct ur line stability ?
sniper69
hello all...
is the D-Link DNS-323 support 1.5TB HDD? buy two HDDs and is it supprot 3TB?
zhen^wei
we are not dlink salesman.haha
i think can't support latest 1.5TB bah.
sniper69
QUOTE(zhen^wei @ Oct 30 2008, 03:40 PM)
we are not dlink salesman.haha
i think can't support latest 1.5TB bah.

tongue.gif tanya saja... because on the box said up to 2000GB, just curious whether can support up to 3000GB or 3TB since we have 1.5TB HDD available in Malaysia isn't it?
denhock
QUOTE(syazone @ Oct 30 2008, 02:59 PM)
any idea on torrent speed using NAS??

so far, we try before about 97kb/s

Added on October 30, 2008, 11:18 pm
QUOTE(sniper69 @ Oct 30 2008, 03:51 PM)
tongue.gif tanya saja... because on the box said up to 2000GB, just curious whether can support up to 3000GB or 3TB since we have 1.5TB HDD available in Malaysia isn't it?

enh..... Synology and QNAP is testing the 1.5TB now... should take some time to certify...

but some Synology user claim that it work with 1.5TB, Seagate ST31500341AS ,1500TB, SATA II

http://www.synology.com/wiki/index.php/Use...ble_Hard_Drives

I believe the new model of Synology/QNAP NAS will be able to support.

model like:
Synology
DS-508, RS408/DS408

QNAP
TS409/509 series....

anyway, once the disk is tested and working fine, than we can post here...smile.gif
syazone
QUOTE(zhen^wei @ Oct 30 2008, 03:14 PM)
dpeends on ur line speed i think. but if running toreent using nas, wil affct ur line stability ?

of coz that will depend on line speed, but we all know rite, screamyx throttle our line, thats the problem, whethe using nas can bypass those throttle or not

QUOTE(denhock @ Oct 30 2008, 11:10 PM)

enh..... Synology and QNAP is testing the 1.5TB now... should take some time to certify...
but some Synology user claim that it work with 1.5TB, Seagate ST31500341AS ,1500TB, SATA II 

model like:
Synology
DS-508, RS408/DS408

QNAP
TS409/509 series....

anyway, once the disk is tested and working fine, than we can post here...smile.gif

speed not bad, using QNAP? what about dlink 323? anyone have screen shot on how torrent speed using this NAS?
ndgoh
Just bought a Intel Entry Storage System SS4000-E... for RM600... drool.gif

Hehehe... thumbup.gif
ozak
QUOTE(denhock @ Oct 30 2008, 11:10 PM)

model like:
Synology
DS-508, RS408/DS408

QNAP
TS409/509 series....

I m using NAS DS107+. My download speed is worst. What can I do to speed up the download? The torrent I show you here, have been run for 1week. And it still at 48%
zhen^wei
depends on ur torent file and ur house line speed one
ozak
QUOTE(zhen^wei @ Oct 31 2008, 12:39 PM)
depends on ur torent file and ur house line speed one

I download halfway in Utorrent and transfer it to NAS synology download station and try. Compare to my PC download speed, the NAS download is damn slow.
doormen
Anyone try the Buffalo Linkstation Live with BT NAS ? I just bought 1 unit and BT speed seems to be very slow , download rate can only be describe with Bs instead of Kbs . Any solution ? and I'm d/l those latest movie , seed should not be a problem . With Xunlei I can get 150Kbs .
syazone
QUOTE(ozak @ Oct 31 2008, 12:46 PM)
I download halfway in Utorrent and transfer it to NAS synology download station and try. Compare to my PC download speed, the NAS download is damn slow.

maybe now we should do some comparison on NAS, which one perform better when downloading torrent file in Malaysia (can bypass throttle)

denhock
QUOTE(ozak @ Oct 31 2008, 12:35 PM)
I m using NAS DS107+. My download speed is worst. What can I do to speed up the download? The torrent I show you here, have been run for 1week. And it still at 48%

Ok. pls try

1) use the latest firmware version : DSM 2.0-0722; Build Date: 2008/09/20
2) In download Station =>setting => set the BitTorrent Network Setting , BitTorrent protocol encryption: "Auto/Always "
3) use the default BT port range ( unless u know the actual port)
4) Enable DHT network ( this normally will increase 25% )

Added on November 1, 2008, 12:38 am
QUOTE(syazone @ Oct 31 2008, 08:13 PM)
maybe now we should do some comparison on NAS, which one perform better when downloading torrent file in Malaysia (can bypass throttle)

one of the good buying point / value added to QNAP/Synology NAS is ,they will release new firmware with improved performance as well as new feature every 2~3 months.

so far, as what I know the first NAS come with BitTorrent protocol encryption: is QNAP TS-109 model. and than they apply to all the TS-109 , TS-209 series.. and also implement the DHT

and than Synology also implement this ...... (with new latest firmware upgrade for Synology :NEW Download Station 2: Supports two new download channels – eMule and NZB, and allows partial file download form BitTorrent.)

some idea of DHT info
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
The Download Station enhancements include DHT support, 25% performance increase, BT encryption support, and flexible seeding rule settings. The download enhancements imply a shorter time needed to download the same files; this pushes the Green idea Synology has always kept in mind another step forward.

The DHT support allows trackerless torrents downloading. It means you do not need to connect to a tracker in order to download, but connect to a distributed DHT Network to find other peers. The upgraded Download Station also supports TCP trackers, UDP trackers, and Peer Exchange Protocol, all that are for increasing the ability to find more peers when downloading. In addition, flexible seeding options are also available in this release.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

others NAS which offer BT just normal BT... wihtout BitTorrent protocol encryption:... and download speed is just less than 19Kb/s...

personally, I manage to get the max is 120KB/s, and some time 97KB/s or even 55KB/s..... refer to the manufacture explaining is the total speed will depands on your ISP line, how many BT server/PC holding/storing the file that u need to download, the more service/PC online with that particular file than your speed will fast..

so, if you monitoring closely, you can "SEE" the download speed up and down.... and don't forgot to leave the file open for sharing at least 1~2 hours... let others ppl to BT your file.... BT is mainly for sharing...

if you like to try,

for synology: port 5000
http://midi.serveftp.net:5000 ,

for QNAP : port 8080 ( only IE, user can use others port, but for this example, we use port 8080)
http://midi.serveftp.net:8080 ,

or for QNAP you can use the QGet this is free utility.

you can use :
1) user ID: midi password :midi
2) user ID: test password :test
3) user ID: abc password :abc
4) user ID :admin password: admin

if you had jump out from the page that's mean others user using the same ID to login.... as this is a demo site.

e-jump
Guess soon i'll be joining this legion.
Main priority is replace the use of usb external drive to NAS via wifi.
Currently still looking for the most power efficient setup between NAS enclosure or self built NAS
Nidz
wanna ask here, if use qget remote control software, can i queue and instruct the NAS to download files from rapidshare or megaupload remotely? lets say that the NAS is at home while im at uni or 'balik kampung', is that possible? ive preferred dload using RS or MU rather than BT...
denhock
QUOTE(Nidz @ Nov 2 2008, 10:55 PM)
wanna ask here, if use qget remote control software, can i queue and instruct the NAS to download files from rapidshare or megaupload remotely? lets say that the NAS is at home while im at uni or 'balik kampung', is that possible? ive preferred dload using RS or MU rather than BT...

Remotely to download the file?

Yes. there is.

QNAP and Synology NAS can do this.

QNAP : admin user can do without using any others software,
QNAP demo link: ID/PAss: admin

QNAP also product MLDonkey (電子騾)How to Install & Run MLDonkey (EMule) via QPKG on the QNAP NAS
http://www.qnap.com/pro_features_QPKG.asp

QNAP also come with Qget How to use QGet to manage the BT download of multiple QNAP NAS servers remotely

QNAP user can use this Qget to control fews QNAP NAS all over the world... this mean, NAS can be at JB, Melake, PG, Sabah, Sarawak ,Singapore and others place as long as internet connected.

for Synology: they have Download station ( web base, come with synology NAS and FREE to use),

Synology admin as well as user to remotely to put the link. but now only admin can use the eMule and user only can use BT,

u can try this link: http://midi.serveftp.net:5000, user/pass: admin

if you know chinese, please see this link: Synology NAS DS207+ V.S PC µTorrent 下載速度PK賽

Added on November 3, 2008, 1:01 am
QUOTE(e-jump @ Nov 1 2008, 11:47 PM)
Guess soon i'll be joining this legion.
Main priority is replace the use of usb external drive to NAS via wifi.
Currently still looking for the most power efficient setup between NAS enclosure or self built NAS

this will depends on your technical skill and the time you have....

like QNAP / Synology : they release new firmware every 2~3 months and they also have official forum (in chinese/english/others launguge)...

for example, now they are ( actually some user had done before) : PHPXmail ( build your own email)

more info for QNAP :http://www.qnap.com/pro_features.asp

for Synology :http://www.synology.com/enu/products/features/index.php

others feature like

How to link PS3/
How to Access Your Turbo NAS from the Internet - DDNS
NextGEN gallery plugin for WordPress
WordPress Installation via QPKG
How to install Squeeze Centerâ„¢ 7 via QPKG to serve music files to Squeezeboxâ„¢ Duet
How to set up the Surveillance Station of QNAP NAS
How to Install & Run MLDonkey (EMule) on the QPKG Platform of the QNAP NAS
Using NFS Sharing of QNAP NAS to Set up Home Multimedia Center and Play HD Video
Start to establish your interactive website by using Joomla! CMS on QNAP NAS
Online RAID Capacity Expansion & RAID Level Migration
How to use QNAP NAS with Sony PSP and Nokia N95 for Wireless Media Playing
Procedure of hot-swapping hard drive when a drive crashes in RAID 1
How to Establish a PC-less Home Multimedia Center by Using QNAP NAS and Sony PlayStation3 Game Console
How to Use PHP & MySQL to Create a Forum in Your Turbo Station
How to Set up Server System for Your Small-sized Business by QNAP Turbo Station
How to Use P2P Download Independent of Computer by QNAP Turbo Station
Enrich Your Digital Life by QNAP Turbo Station's UPnP Media Server
How to Set up Your Own FTP Server in an Easy Way by QNAP Turbo Station
How to Back up & Share Your Digital Photos by QNAP Turbo Station
Enjoy Your Music by QNAP Turbo Station's iTunes Server

Synology Applications :
A PC File Server Alternative
Surveillance Station
Photo Station 3
File Station
Audio Station
Download Station 2
Web Station
iTunes Server
Multimedia Service

Security
Windows ADS Support
Encrypted FTP
Encrypted Network Backup
HTTPS Support

Backup Solutions
Desktop Backup
Local Backup
Network Backup
USB Copy

Utility
Add Printer Wizard
Download Redirector
Data Replicator 3
ozak
QUOTE(denhock @ Oct 31 2008, 11:58 PM)
Ok. pls try

1) use the latest firmware version  : DSM 2.0-0722; Build Date: 2008/09/20
2)  In download Station =>setting => set the BitTorrent Network Setting , BitTorrent protocol encryption: "Auto/Always "
3)  use the default BT port range ( unless u know the actual port)
4) Enable DHT network ( this normally will increase 25% )

Added on November 1, 2008, 12:38 am

one of the good buying point / value added to QNAP/Synology NAS is ,they will release new firmware with improved performance as well as new feature every 2~3 months.
so far, as what I know the first NAS come with BitTorrent protocol encryption: is QNAP TS-109 model. and than they apply to all the TS-109 , TS-209 series.. and also implement the DHT

and than Synology also implement this ......  (with new latest firmware upgrade for Synology :NEW Download Station 2: Supports two new download channels – eMule and NZB, and allows partial file download form BitTorrent.)
some idea of  DHT info
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
The Download Station enhancements include DHT support, 25% performance increase, BT encryption support, and flexible seeding rule settings. The download enhancements imply a shorter time needed to download the same files; this pushes the Green idea Synology has always kept in mind another step forward.

The DHT support allows trackerless torrents downloading. It means you do not need to connect to a tracker in order to download, but connect to a distributed DHT Network to find other peers. The upgraded Download Station also supports TCP trackers, UDP trackers, and Peer Exchange Protocol, all that are for increasing the ability to find more peers when downloading. In addition, flexible seeding options are also available in this release.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
others NAS which offer BT just normal BT... wihtout BitTorrent protocol encryption:... and download speed is just less than 19Kb/s...
personally, I manage to get the max is 120KB/s, and some time 97KB/s or even 55KB/s..... refer to the manufacture explaining is the total speed will depands on your ISP line, how many BT server/PC holding/storing the file that u need to download, the more service/PC online with that particular file than your speed will fast..

so, if you monitoring closely, you can "SEE" the download speed up and down.... and don't forgot to leave the file open for sharing at least 1~2 hours... let others ppl to BT your file.... BT is mainly for sharing...

if you like to try,

for synology: port 5000
http://midi.serveftp.net:5000 , 

for QNAP : port 8080 ( only IE, user can use others port, but for this example, we use port 8080)
http://midi.serveftp.net:8080 ,

or for QNAP you can use the  QGet  this is free utility.
you can use :
1) user ID: midi password :midi
2) user ID: test password :test
3) user ID: abc password :abc
4) user ID :admin password: admin

if you had jump out from the page that's mean others user using the same ID to login.... as this is a demo s

Thanks for your help. The setting you mention, I have done it early. The only different is the "Bittorrent protocol ecryption" was disable. I have found another way. To speed up the download, I ve to enable the DMZ in the router setting. But this would cause my NAS without a firewall protection. Here is the latest result. The speed is still about 30-40KB/s slow than the pc download speed.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.