Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Casing Modifications Tools.
Lowyat.NET > Computers > Casings and Modifications
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
ocz
Hi guys.

I open this thread just to share with you all on how to use casing modifications at the correct ways.

-Dremel
-Grinder
-Jigsaw
-Holesaw
-Heat gun (hot gun)
-Compressor
-Mitre Saw
-Drill

You can share any other tools that you have in here. smile.gif

Let us all newbie learn to mod by ourself. icon_rolleyes.gif

p/s : I hope the moderator will allow me to open this thread with the support of all modders in malaysia. notworthy.gif
ocz
The Tools :

For Beginner / Starter
Grinder

Power Drill

Cordless Drill

Jigsaw

Heat Gun

Dremel

For Advance User

Table Drill- Press Drill

Miter-Saw

Laser Cutting Machine

CNC Machine
ocz
Here is some of the accessories :

Work Bench

Riveter

Epoxy

Masking Tape

Wax

Rubbing Compound

Bondo

Double-Sided Tape

Autosol

Safety Glass
sepulgilo
good im still noob with the tools

should have many info that i can gain here tongue.gif
ocz
QUOTE(sepulgilo @ Jul 26 2008, 12:06 AM)

You're got skill and tools.Not noobies. laugh.gif
Bro,lets share with them on how to use some of the tools. smile.gif

Well,sharing is caring.I am still looking for source / link for the tutorial.
mfcm
QUOTE(sepulgilo @ Jul 26 2008, 12:06 AM)

yayaya great..then noobies like us can improve our skills..lai lai modder's of alien worklog n noname rig post sum pic plzz..myb tarantula modder oso laugh.gif tongue.gif
sepulgilo
heheheheeheh by the way u should remove ur wts sign for the ram ekekkeeee
ocz
QUOTE(mfcm @ Jul 26 2008, 12:13 AM)
yayaya great..then noobies like us can improve our skills..lai lai modder's of alien worklog n noname rig post sum pic plzz..myb tarantula modder oso laugh.gif tongue.gif

Theres no excuse for you too.Please contribute some for other. laugh.gif
You a multi modder. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(sepulgilo @ Jul 26 2008, 12:14 AM)
heheheheeheh by the way u should remove ur wts sign for the ram ekekkeeee

Orite boss. laugh.gif
sepulgilo
QUOTE(mfcm @ Jul 26 2008, 12:13 AM)

YA YA YA RITE UR NOOBIES

WANNA ME SHOW UR EX CASE AND LET THEM KNOW HOW PERFECT S UR WORK kekekekekekekkeee
ocz
QUOTE(sepulgilo @ Jul 26 2008, 12:29 AM)
YA YA YA RITE UR NOOBIES

WANNA ME SHOW UR EX CASE AND LET THEM KNOW HOW PERFECT S UR WORK kekekekekekekkeee

Ops..pls don't show it because it can be call as spamming. laugh.gif
omara86
QUOTE(ocz @ Jul 26 2008, 12:30 AM)
Ops..pls don't show it  because it can be call as spamming. laugh.gif

pok.. sine mok beli dramel d kuching tok? brapa agak2 pricing nya?
sepulgilo
kuching sik tauk ku pi kl mengarei kekkekeeeee
range below 100 and above from cap ayam to branded
omara86
QUOTE(sepulgilo @ Jul 26 2008, 11:08 AM)
kuching sik tauk ku pi kl mengarei kekkekeeeee
range below 100 and above from cap ayam to branded

mun ku ngirim? ekekekeke.... mun lagik 100+... quite ok.. sebab mok pakei lamak ba~ mun brand dremel pun.. ada sik 100++?

p/s: sorry to others who dun understand swk language.. ekekekeke
tnhafiz
so,pros please give us some tips n techniques to use these machines.i want to learn.smile.gif
ocz
QUOTE(omara86 @ Jul 26 2008, 10:59 AM)
pok.. sine mok beli dramel d kuching tok? brapa agak2 pricing nya?

Kuching susah skit nak dapat.Try tanyak bombman. smile.gif

QUOTE(tnhafiz @ Jul 26 2008, 11:17 AM)
so,pros please give us some tips n techniques to use these machines.i want to learn.smile.gif

Hi bro,which of tools that you want to know about? smile.gif I hope we can help you out.
sepulgilo
better give us specific tools u need to know

if to many tools at one time ur pening edi hahahhahaa
LExus65
oca add a table drill to ur list.... this is very good for drilling screw hole or on some very hard surface.
chyu89
This is serious,even joker also be serious in this thread. else u will end up having a dremel in ur mouth .
I would suggest this to be pinned if ocz do it extremely with self-demo. biggrin.gif
ocz
QUOTE(sepulgilo @ Jul 26 2008, 06:34 PM)
better give us specific tools u need to know

if to many tools at one time ur pening edi hahahhahaa

Yeah,that's right. smile.gif

QUOTE(LExus65 @ Jul 26 2008, 06:45 PM)
oca add a table drill to ur list.... this is very good for drilling screw hole or on some very hard surface.

1st & 2nd Post Updated. notworthy.gif

QUOTE(chyu89 @ Jul 26 2008, 07:36 PM)
This is serious,even joker also be serious in this thread. else u will end up having a dremel in ur mouth .
I would suggest this to be pinned if ocz do it extremely with self-demo. biggrin.gif

Nice suggestions. thumbup.gif
Well,don't only rely on me to give the infos as i am also still in the process of learning.

I would like all of the modders to contribute their knowledge and informations regarding modifications. smile.gif
chyu89
Dont ever use a grinder with 1 hand. eventhough it's not heavy and u "think" u can handle it. but accident happens, teruk padahnya. Lastime my dad's worker action ,rokok and use grinder. end up grinder hurt his face and arm. deep wound.
omara86
QUOTE(chyu89 @ Jul 26 2008, 07:55 PM)
Dont ever use a grinder with 1 hand. eventhough it's not heavy and u "think" u can handle it. but accident happens, teruk padahnya. Lastime my dad's worker action ,rokok and use grinder. end up grinder hurt his face and arm. deep wound.

waaa really? i did that with 1 hand... thx god ntg happened to me...

chyu89
the direction u hold the grinder wouldnt be a problem. coz it's stable . my dad's worker grind rough and sharp area.
sepulgilo
drills when u choose a drill do make sure that it has a tight grip head to hold the bit

coz sometime like cap ayam drill thats it weekness when drilling a tick steel plate

ive had that expirience and now so so sad when i see my mobo tray cry.gif

chyu89
QUOTE(sepulgilo @ Jul 26 2008, 08:15 PM)
drills when u choose a drill do make sure that it has a tight grip head to hold the bit

coz sometime like cap ayam drill thats it weekness when drilling  a tick steel plate

ive had that expirience and now so so sad when i see my mobo tray  cry.gif

at least u dint drill thru the mobo plate together with ur hand.
sepulgilo
QUOTE(chyu89 @ Jul 26 2008, 11:05 PM)
at least u dint drill thru the mobo plate together with ur hand.

i want to but thats not important and cant claim socso tongue.gif
chyu89
QUOTE(sepulgilo @ Jul 26 2008, 11:09 PM)
i want to but thats not important and cant claim socso tongue.gif

buy a 10k insurance for ur hand. then get the 10k for new pc drool.gif
ocz
All the tools are harmful,so use it carefully no matter how pro you are. smile.gif

Its better to lose a case than to lose a finger,eyes,hands,etc.
sepulgilo
rotary tools pro can u tell me all the accesories type and use
chyu89
Will u lose 1 of ur fingers to get 15k and buy a new pc? brows.gif
sepulgilo
15k hmmm not enough bro tongue.gif

at least 50k kekekekekke
chyu89
QUOTE(sepulgilo @ Jul 27 2008, 03:10 PM)
15k hmmm not enough bro tongue.gif

at least 50k kekekekekke

finger only leh..if wan 50k.....
omara86
any1... what's the best method for cutting acrylic.. i mean the tool needed.. i dun want to use cutter knife... coz to hard and need extra effort./.. if use normal grinder... will melt the acrylic... so what's the otherw ay to do that?
ocz
QUOTE(omara86 @ Jul 27 2008, 04:48 PM)
any1... what's the best method for cutting acrylic.. i mean the tool needed.. i dun want to use cutter knife... coz to hard and need extra effort./.. if use normal grinder... will melt the acrylic... so what's the otherw ay to do that?

Try to use jigsaw with the wood teeth cutter.If you use the steel teeth cutter,it will make the acrylic melt.
mfcm
QUOTE(ocz @ Jul 27 2008, 06:00 PM)
Try to use jigsaw with the wood teeth cutter.If you use the steel teeth cutter,it will make the acrylic melt.

hmm wont the wood blade teeth more gap compared to metal one hmm.gif then the cutting will be abit rough..not too smooth..for me u can use metal blade..but using slow speed..hehe
ocz
QUOTE(sepulgilo @ Jul 27 2008, 02:42 PM)
rotary tools pro can u tell me all the accesories type and use

What do you mean bro? hmm.gif

QUOTE(mfcm @ Jul 27 2008, 06:45 PM)
hmm wont the wood blade teeth more gap compared to metal one hmm.gif then the cutting will be abit rough..not too smooth..for me u can use metal blade..but using slow speed..hehe

Yes,the teeth gap are big.

I tried to cut a 5mm acrylic with steel teeth,it melt down the acrylic.I need to stop and continue again every time the teeth make the acrylic melt.

I then try the wood cutting teeth,it works fine without making the acrylic melt.

@omara86,if you are using a variable speed jigsaw,then you can try mfcm's method. smile.gif
mapTray
QUOTE(ocz @ Jul 27 2008, 06:00 PM)

yes..you can use wood blade for cutting acrylic but use blade that has very fine teeth..check the label that says clean for wood not speed for wood..usually it has at least 20 TPI..my personal fav is bosch T101AO wood blade. If your jigsaw has speed control,choose speed 2-4.

miter saw? sweat.gif i guess it's only for woodworking..for cutting metal,use cut-off machine instead..

for drill press, i will substitute it will cheaper alternative,drill stand..
ocz
QUOTE(mapTray @ Jul 27 2008, 10:33 PM)
yes..you can use wood blade for cutting acrylic but use blade that has very fine teeth..check the label that says clean for wood not speed for wood..usually it has at least 20 TPI..my personal fav is bosch T101AO wood blade. If your jigsaw has speed control,choose speed 2-4.

miter saw? sweat.gif i guess it's only for woodworking..for cutting metal,use cut-off machine instead..

for drill press, i will substitute it will cheaper alternative,drill stand..

Thank you for contributing friend. thumbup.gif

As i saw in the pictures,its a thing that attached with drill to make the drill become press drill.Do you have any idea how much will it costs and where can we get it?

I am using a normal jigsaw with full speed.So sad its not a variable kind of jigsaw. sad.gif
chyu89
QUOTE(omara86 @ Jul 27 2008, 04:48 PM)

If use grinder. u draw extra allowance for the acry to melt shouldnt be a problem. eg. 2cm u add another 1-2 cm for it to melt.
mapTray
QUOTE(ocz @ Jul 27 2008, 10:37 PM)
Thank you for contributing friend. thumbup.gif

As i saw in the pictures,its a thing that attached with drill to make the drill become press drill.Do you have any idea how much will it costs and where can we get it?

I am using a normal jigsaw with full speed.So sad its not a variable kind of jigsaw. sad.gif

I'm not sure the current price for this drill stand..last time in 2000, i bought it during promotion in johor, it was rm143..not exactly like that, but still do the same job as that..try to ask from hardware dealer shop for power tool..you might find a few model u like..

Normal jigsaw will do just fine as long as you do it with patience..slowly but steadily..try to cut bit by bit,a little cut then back off until the jobs done..and use a good quality blade too..
ocz
QUOTE(chyu89 @ Jul 27 2008, 10:52 PM)
If use grinder. u draw extra allowance for the acry to melt shouldnt be a problem. eg. 2cm u add another 1-2 cm for it to melt.

Yes.I think the melting depends on the thickness of the acrylic.
Any other factor than can make an acrylic melt during cutting?

QUOTE(mapTray @ Jul 27 2008, 11:01 PM)
I'm not sure the current price for this drill stand..last time in 2000, i bought it during promotion in johor, it was rm143..not exactly like that, but still do the same job as that..try to ask from hardware dealer shop for power tool..you might find a few model u like..

Normal jigsaw will do just find as long as you do it with patience..slowly but steadily..try to cut bit by bit,a little cut then back off until the jobs done..and use a good quality blade too..

Thanx.
I tried to use the D&B Pirannha and Bosch cutting teeth for steel,its still same.The melting still happened.
mfcm
@ocz
got brand new ah for piranha?D&B? laugh.gif
too bad urs cant adjust the speed..coz the higher speed make more heat while cutting..ive np cutting using slow speed tongue.gif

@map
yeah dats can be more cheaper solution rather then get stand drill..but i still prefer the stand drill..coz for metal cutting u need quite power motor to spin the tools like adjustable cutter or holesaw..i mean for bigger holesaw like i got 120mm one..tried with hand drill but not enuf power to spin it doh.gif
ocz
QUOTE(mfcm @ Jul 28 2008, 12:02 AM)
@ocz
got brand new ah for piranha?D&B? laugh.gif
too bad urs cant adjust the speed..coz the higher speed make more heat while cutting..ive np cutting using slow speed tongue.gif

I got only 1 piece for the pirannha.I bought around RM11.

Yeah,too bad the jigsaw is not variable speed.I am still funding for a new dremel and jigsaw.
mapTray
QUOTE(mfcm @ Jul 28 2008, 12:02 AM)
@map
yeah dats can be more cheaper solution rather then get stand drill..but i still prefer the stand drill..coz for metal cutting u need quite power motor to spin the tools like adjustable cutter or holesaw..i mean for bigger holesaw like i got 120mm one..tried with hand drill but not enuf power to spin it doh.gif

that machine cost a bomb! sweat.gif at least we should use drill that rated at least 550W or drill that has high-torque rating..but our standard casing shouldn't be more 5mm thick..any decent drill will do..i tried once making a 120mm hole with holesaw using drill with some oil to lubricate the process thumbup.gif

ocz, did u ever try using saw blade that was design to cut curve to cut the acrylic?
mfcm
QUOTE(mapTray @ Jul 28 2008, 01:19 AM)
that machine cost a bomb! sweat.gif at least we should use drill that rated at least 550W or drill that has high-torque rating..but our standard casing shouldn't be more 5mm thick..any decent drill will do..i tried once making a 120mm hole with holesaw using drill with some oil to lubricate the process  thumbup.gif

ocz, did u ever try using saw blade that was design to cut curve to cut the acrylic?

yup..iinmat my place the small stand drill oredi cost 3k..kekeke bout the wattage drill yeah i truely aggre..need to find hight wattage one..if not not enuf power rclxub.gif btw u said u hv done making 120mm hole using hole saw..mind to tell me where u got?coz im findin holesaw with 4 1/2 "..around 114mm..but hrad to find locally sad.gif
ocz
QUOTE(mapTray @ Jul 28 2008, 01:19 AM)
that machine cost a bomb! sweat.gif at least we should use drill that rated at least 550W or drill that has high-torque rating..but our standard casing shouldn't be more 5mm thick..any decent drill will do..i tried once making a 120mm hole with holesaw using drill with some oil to lubricate the process  thumbup.gif

Haven't dude.
I did the curve also using a jig saw.I tried to use a angle grinder with a carbon cutting disc,but its very hard.

Can you show me the pictures of the saw blade that you mean? I think there are few types.
skylineGTR
keep it up, bro ocz, this is good esp for beginner like me
plan to start mod my cap ayam case (bajet mod), but still dun know well about modding tools and how to use it blush.gif
nchuan
where i get those acrylic?
lightonokira
just wondering how much is one cnc machine cost
bokbeng
QUOTE(lightonokira @ Jul 28 2008, 03:36 PM)

if can get the manual one is enough
sepulgilo
QUOTE(lightonokira @ Jul 28 2008, 03:36 PM)

can buy car la bro hehhehehheee
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.