Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Cheers for PC gamers
Lowyat.NET > Computers > Gamers Hideout
Pages: 1, 2
ben3003
Square Enix Migrates to PC Development Tools—News
Square Enix has gone PC. On the first day of the show, the Japanese game publisher announced that Final Fantasy XIII is coming to PlayStation 3, Xbox 360 (in Europe and North America only) and PC. During a press conference following the Microsoft event, Final Fantasy XIII Producer Yoshinori Kitase discussed the new development strategy that Square Enix has taken with its upcoming games.

Aside from the new The Last Remnant game, which is being created for Xbox 360 and PS3 using Epic Games’ Unreal Engine 3 externally, all new internally-developed games from Square Enix, including Final Fantasy XIII, Final Fantasy XIII Versus, and an untitled new massively multiplayer online game, utilize the new PC-based Crystal Tools development environment. These tools allow development teams to create cross-platform games.

"The content will be the same on all platforms," said Kitase. "However, we have yet to determine how many discs will be required for the 360 version. We'll have to consider the differences between formats. Currently the game is being built on PC, where it's actually functional. We're still focusing on making it work on PS3, so it's difficult to know how long the process of taking it to 360 will take."

Thanks to the new PC development platform, Kitase added, "Now that we're developing on a PC base, the pace is going a bit faster," Kitase said. "We haven't introduced new footage of the game, but we should be able to show something new in the near future."

Square Enix showed the beautiful pre-rendered trailer for Final Fantasy XIII at the end of the Microsoft press conference. The publisher has a big event scheduled for Tokyo next month where the first new information will be revealed on all Final Fantasy titles. Previously, the publisher released its online game, Final Fantasy XII, on Xbox 360 and PC.

Source: http://www.nzone.com/object/nzone_e30802_home.html

NIce to all pc gamer who are waiting for the game since FF8, but too bad i got my 360 and i only will play it on that platform, console game is still a console game, play on console more feel i think. Like Mass effect, i finished the 360 one then i tried pc version. I didnt like the key mapped on keyboard.
Ruff Bark
Uh, it doesn't actually say anywhere in the article that the game will be ported to PC.
ben3003
LOL, read the 1st sentence ya.

Square Enix has gone PC. On the first day of the show, the Japanese game publisher announced that Final Fantasy XIII is coming to PlayStation 3, Xbox 360 (in Europe and North America only) and PC.

Added on July 23, 2008, 8:14 pmI think becos ppl love to skip the 1st sentence and read the middle and end part. Not good not good.
Dark Steno
In my opinion, FF series are too Japanese, thoroughly. Be it characters, world or even those religious stuffs. To be exact, the Squaresoft. Well, I know they're now Square Enix. So, yeah. I am not that impressed with FF games anymore. If it is 7-8 years ago, I might be interested.
Ruff Bark
Hmm...even so, I haven't heard or read any other news that the game is actually coming to PC. Kitase in the article said that the game was being developed on the PC platform, but that doesn't mean it will come to the PC.

If the game was indeed going to be ported to PC, other gaming blogs and news sites would have picked it up (it's big news after all). But so far, the only news on FFXIII from E3 is about its availability on the Xbox 360. This seems to be more a slipup on NVIDIA zone than an actual confirmation of the title for the PC.

NecrosavaNt
yeah if this was announced at e3, every game website/blog would be talking about it. but ive only seen the news that it was gonna be released on the xbox360, not pc
ulwan25
hoping 4 pc! please be true!
Abyssio
Wow FF on PC.....a few days a go i just said PC gaming is dying to console lol. This is great news! i hope the source is really accurate!
ben3003
trust or not depend on u, there stated clearly it is out on PS3, XBOX 360 and also PC. Maybe it is a hoax, i dont know. Nvidia zone arent Fudzilla where news are owes inaccurate. Or maybe nvidia wanna die edi they put up news to let ppl to go there and increase their traffic? Lolz.
allvin
well dono it is hoax or not. one thing i can say that since FF13 is port to xbox360. That's mean it got a higher chance that will port to PC as well. As some developers had said that xbox360 game is easy to port to PC as well.
Archaven
They did release Final Fantasy 7 & 8 on PC many years ago. I guess due to piracy the title didn't perform well in PC. Hence from that day onwards, no more FF for PC anymore. If they are going for PC platform, most likely it will be some sort of MMO otherwise they won't bother releasing it as it's most likely releaseing free games to pirates
lamusiqa
The only announcement regarding FFXIII that SquareEnix made at E3 was that it's coming for Xbox 360. I havent heard anything about a PC version. It being developed on a PC, yes. But not for release on that platform.

Otherwise pc.ign.com would be all over it.
ccm
finally we can have square-enix rpg games on PC
always look at Playstation got so many nice rpg..
always no chance to play..now can play FF series smile.gif nice nice..
and all their future games will build on pc base 1st then only transfer platform. haha..nicenice..
Zmir
Final fantasy has turned from entertainment to just plain art!
FF7 with its bullshit graphics was a great game, but look at todays ff:crysis core, it looks fantastic but oh my the gameplay is horrible!
I see FFXIII graphics is fantastic, just hope the gameplay is just as fantastic!

IMHO! smile.gif
skylinegtr34rule4life
good news 4 RPG-ers i guess laugh.gif rclxms.gif
temptation1314
Should I email Square Enix to cancel the plan of porting it to PC due to piracy? tongue.gif
frags
Developed on the PC doesn't mean it will be released on the PC. It seems to me the writer jumped to conclusions in that article.FF13 hasn't been confirmed on the PC or announced.

http://www.shacknews.com/onearticle.x/53828

Rumor Control: Final Fantasy 13 Developed on PCs, Actual PC Release Unconfirmed
by Chris Faylor Jul 23, 2008 12:27pm CST tags: Final Fantasy XIII, Rumor, Square Enix
Acclaimed Japanese developer Square Enix has revealed that its much-anticipated RPG Final Fantasy XIII (PS3, 360) is being built on PCs, though contrary to reports from other outlets, this news does not necessarily confirm that FF13 will be released on PC.

Much like Capcom's MT Framework technology, Square's PC-based Crystal Tools engine lets the company easily develop for multiple platforms using the same toolset.

"[Final Fantasy XIII] is being built on PC, where it's actually functional," producer Yoshinori Kitase said Square Enix's E3 press conference, according to Nvidia's Nzone. "We're still focusing on making it work on PS3, so it's difficult to know how long the process of taking it to 360 will take."

Though the console editions of FF13 can run on Square's PC development units, this does not confirm that the title will be released for PC, especially as a full-fledged PC version would require additional testing and texture work to ensure compatibility across a broad range of non-standardized PC hardware.

The additional challenges of a full-fledged PC port are familiar to Capcom. Though titles such as Lost Planet and Devil May Cry 4 were developed using the PC-based MT Framework tools, the respective PC releases trailed those of the console editions.

Furthermore, not all of Capcom's MT Framework titles have been released on the PC, with Dead Rising continuing to stay an Xbox 360 exclusive.

Certainly, Square Enix's comments suggest that a PC release of Final Fantasy XIII is possible, especially given that Square's history of bringing Final Fantasy VII, VIII and XI to the PC, along with the recent revelation that the Unreal Engine 3-powered RPG The Last Remnant is now slated to arrive on both consoles and PC.

However, the company has yet to make any official announcement of a PC edition of Final Fantasy XII.

dfcloud
demmit frag dry.gif
im just late 1min
slepth
I wonder how many dvds will it need? MGS4 already 50 gig, how big will FF be?
Archaven
QUOTE(frags @ Jul 24 2008, 12:46 PM)
Developed on the PC doesn't mean it will be released on the PC. It seems to me the writer jumped to conclusions in that article.FF13 hasn't been confirmed on the PC or announced.

http://www.shacknews.com/onearticle.x/53828

laugh.gif .. I would have guessed so since they have never release any FF version on PC past FF8. The sole reason that time were due to poor sales mainly because of piracy.

FF XIII is built on PC but if they never plan to release a PC version, that tells you how pissed they are with the pirates. After all, many will just pirate the game if it will be released on PC doh.gif
Abyssio
QUOTE(Archaven @ Jul 24 2008, 06:28 PM)
laugh.gif .. I would have guessed so since they have never release any FF version on PC past FF8. The sole reason that time were due to poor sales mainly because of piracy.

FF XIII is built on PC but if they never plan to release a PC version, that tells you how pissed they are with the pirates. After all, many will just pirate the game if it will be released on PC  doh.gif

hmm i beg your pardon but aren't all games are developed on a PC? i mean can you have a special machine that only use to develop console games that's not a computer?
Archaven
QUOTE(Abyssio @ Jul 24 2008, 06:54 PM)
hmm i beg your pardon but aren't all games are developed on a PC? i mean can you have a special machine that only use to develop console games that's not a computer?

And i beg your pardon did i say console games are not developed on a PC? Whether if console games are developed using the PC is non relevant to what i'm saying.
ulwan25
hey, u all seems didn't wanna have it on pc. yeah, piracy kills the industry but, they could think of somethin' (better not having secuROM, babies can creck that stuff)

lets just hope ok, enough yadda yadda, they do the work, not us.
Thunderbolt
It will hit the consoles first before heading to PC which might be many years later. Don't hold your horses for this one. SE are in deep shit due to financial crisis. Releasing it simultaneously on PC will kill their sales on the consoles. Common sense are highly required when reading such news laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
lamusiqa
Good news for the PC gamers! They are making the PC version after all. They're making the PS3 version first, followed by the PC version and then the Xbox 360 version.

Read here: http://kotaku.com/5028961/of-course-final-...iii-is-pc-bound
Archaven
QUOTE(lamusiqa @ Jul 25 2008, 02:38 PM)
Good news for the PC gamers! They are making the PC version after all. They're making the PS3 version first, followed by the PC version and then the Xbox 360 version.

Read here: http://kotaku.com/5028961/of-course-final-...iii-is-pc-bound

If it is really coming for the PC, that will be great news... and indeed great news to pirates too. Hopefully those who pirates, please buy the game if you really like it.
soitsuagain
QUOTE(ulwan25 @ Jul 24 2008, 07:42 PM)
hey, u all seems didn't wanna have it on pc. yeah, piracy kills the industry but, they could think of somethin' (better not having secuROM, babies can creck that stuff)

lets just hope ok, enough yadda yadda, they do the work, not us.

Piracy killing the industry? Serious shit...no farking way! Just look at Bioware forum for Mass Effect. Only crap developers blames on piracy. They should blame on their execution in the first place.
Lynixx
Yeah!!!
no need to waste money to buy ps3 cuz of this game anymore rclxm9.gif
frags
QUOTE(soitsuagain @ Jul 25 2008, 07:18 PM)
Piracy killing the industry? Serious shit...no farking way! Just look at Bioware forum for Mass Effect. Only crap developers blames on piracy. They should blame on their execution in the first place.

Right.... of course....lol rolleyes.gif

Anyway it will be good if FF13 comes out for the PC. Its a nice change from seeing many move away from PC. Meh we dont need force unleashed. rclxms.gif But personally i dont really like ports...but Capcom has been doing well on their PC ports...heard good things about Lost Planet and the new DMC4...Hope Square Enix gives it a proper version instead of the previous port versions of FF...
Archaven
QUOTE(frags @ Jul 25 2008, 07:32 PM)
Right.... of course....lol rolleyes.gif

Anyway it will be good if FF13 comes out for the PC. Its a nice change from seeing many move away from PC. Meh we dont need force unleashed. rclxms.gif But personally i dont really like ports...but Capcom has been doing well on their PC ports...heard good things about Lost Planet and the new DMC4...Hope Square Enix gives it a proper version instead of the previous port versions of FF...

I was wondering... If we can check how well or how many copies a game being sold? Was wondering how well DMC4 PC sold.
Lynixx
hopefully this game does not need game pad to play laugh.gif
LaiN87
O.o This just made my day T.T Babai new gen consoles.. PS2 is the last console I'm buying. THANK YOU SE!!! XD

(Anyway of course they are releasing for PC... Using Unreal engine they can release in multi platforms easily and more platform release = more money to be earned..)
pikacu
oh shit !

i lvoe this news

p/s : @TS, change the title to moar attractive title brows.gif
ashburn98
If it's coming to PC then great news. Never played FF series before.
Archaven
QUOTE(ashburn98 @ Jul 25 2008, 08:15 PM)
If it's coming to PC then great news. Never played FF series before.

FF7 and FF8 really nice games... I finished them all drool.gif
eugoreez
yay, a dream come true drool.gif

and as a side note.. IMO the real killer to pc gaming is....

high system requirement!!

then only piracy...

LaiN87
QUOTE(eugoreez @ Jul 25 2008, 08:34 PM)
yay, a dream come true  drool.gif

and as a side note.. IMO the real killer to pc gaming is....

high system requirement!!

then only piracy...

It wouldn't be that high. Lets assume it would be Assassin Creed's graphics. AC on PS3 and XBOX looks the same on PC and the req isn't that high. Don't go around assuming you need a SLI or CF com to play it =)
pikacu
QUOTE(LaiN87 @ Jul 25 2008, 08:40 PM)
It wouldn't be that high. Lets assume it would be Assassin Creed's graphics. AC on PS3 and XBOX looks the same on PC and the req isn't that high. Don't go around assuming you need a SLI or CF com to play it =)

Assassin Creed requirement is high for high setting tongue.gif

the game u should compare is DMC4, great on console, even better on PC, the req. is not high smile.gif

JTxj
I'd still would love FF staying a Sony exclusive, but whatever it is, I'm still gonna play it one way or another, PC or 360.
LaiN87
QUOTE(pikacu @ Jul 25 2008, 08:45 PM)

Assassin Creed requirement is high for high setting tongue.gif

the game u should compare is DMC4, great on console, even better on PC, the req. is not high smile.gif

=P My com can play high settings.. Haven't tried DMC though.. Going to "buy" that game soon.
Crusnik04
why u wanna square enix to cancel ff games on pc if it true to be release?i'm abig fan of ff series since i was young,it will be great if it come top pc platform.i dont have the ps3 or xbox360 just a good pc that can play great games like crysis or cod4..but my true dream game is FINAL FANTASY.i play the the started at ff7 and the latest..i hope it will really be release on pc version smile.gif
eugoreez
QUOTE(LaiN87 @ Jul 25 2008, 08:40 PM)

lol.. i didnt say that (the SLI and CF part)..
btw.. i do agree dmc4 needs low req.. but superb graphic thumbup.gif
Ill be happy if all games is like dmc 4 in term of graphic and req.. biggrin.gif
Thunderbolt
Update (July 25, '08): Square Enix has informed us that the game is not coming to the PC and will be available on the Xbox 360 and PS3.
http://www.actiontrip.com/rei/comments_news.phtml?id=072308_6 ://http://www.actiontrip.com/rei/comme...ml?id=072308_6
Despite a slew of reports “confirming” Final Fantasy XIII for Windows in the past 24 hours, Square Enix has told VG247 this morning that nothing of the sort is planned.

“We have no current plans to release Final Fantasy XIII for PCs,” said a company rep.

The chatter appears to have arisen from the fact Square devs said the game was being developed on PCs after the 360 reveal in Microsoft’s E3 press conference, seemingly to explain that porting the game to the console is easy meat.

Read the Square statement again. See?
http://www.videogaming247.com/2008/07/25/s...i-on-pc-claims/

What have i told you ? Common sense are necessary when reading such news! Kotaku editor messed up big time, readers overexcited big time, AC lah, DMC 4 lah, paranoid spec requirement lah, ULTIMATE PWNAGE there!!! laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
frags
QUOTE(Thunderbolt @ Jul 26 2008, 12:39 AM)
http://www.actiontrip.com/rei/comments_news.phtml?id=072308_6 ://http://www.actiontrip.com/rei/comme...ml?id=072308_6 ://http://www.actiontrip.com/rei/comme...ml?id=072308_6
http://www.videogaming247.com/2008/07/25/s...i-on-pc-claims/

What have i told you ? Common sense are necessary when reading such news! Kotaku editor messed up big time, readers overexcited big time, AC lah, DMC 4 lah,  paranoid spec requirement lah, ULTIMATE PWNAGE there!!!  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

Geez...Kotaku cant be trusted as much doh.gif What a bunch of speculators...
mdzaboy
ohh noeeesss.... doh.gif
Thunderbolt
QUOTE(frags @ Jul 26 2008, 12:43 AM)
Geez...Kotaku cant be trusted as much doh.gif What a bunch of speculators...

"kitase says they're currently running it on a pc, so they don't know the work load of getting it on the 360. they are putting priority on the PC version."
That is where the misunderstanding surfaced, bad choice of words. Priority have always been on PS3 since day one, impossible priority on PC version tongue.gif
alwizbthere
if it does come to pc, it should be on a bluray disc also....
how many ppl will have a bluray drive by the time it's out?
for the money u have to spent on the drive alone, u can get a premium ps3 package already...
Archaven
Lol.. it gets all the PC fans hyped out including myself ... and the pirates too laugh.gif.. Square Enix sold more than enough copies on console than they need it in PC for their past FF series. They've tested the popularity on PC platforms on FF7 & FF8. Guess it didn't sold well due to god knows what reason it is.

They must be real pissed with PC gamers seeing that the game was developed using the PC and probably much easier to make it available to PC platform and they'd still refuse a PC version.
soitsuagain
And your point is? I can't even get ori FFXII in Malaysia.
Edison83
QUOTE(Crusnik04 @ Jul 25 2008, 11:43 PM)
why u wanna square enix to cancel ff games on pc if it true to be release?i'm abig fan of ff series since i was young,it will be great if it come top pc platform.i dont have the ps3 or xbox360 just a good pc that can play great games like crysis or cod4..but my true dream game is FINAL FANTASY.i play the the started at ff7 and the latest..i hope it will really be release on pc version smile.gif

Probably some of them are console fans and not keen to PC....

Added on July 26, 2008, 2:07 pm
QUOTE(alwizbthere @ Jul 26 2008, 01:13 AM)
if it does come to pc, it should be on a bluray disc also....
how many ppl will have a bluray drive by the time it's out?
for the money u have to spent on the drive alone, u can get a premium ps3 package already...

LOL, PC and Console different la.. We store our games in HARD DISK, unlike PS3 or Xboc360 which their game data are store in DVD/BLURAY DISC. Even later it come with 5 DVD, we just install it to our HDD.... I dont see there reason to made in bluray format.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.