Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: AntiVirus,FireWall,Spyware,Adware
Lowyat.NET > Computers > Software > Security & Privacy
terrycyk1981
Can anybody explain me what is the differentiate between AntiVirus,FireWall,Spyware, Adware and others..

I bought a laptop, so what type of software should i installed...and which one is the best...

Thank You
old_calculator
If freeware :

Antivirus : Avira Antivir
Firewall : Comodo Firewall
Anti-Spyware : Spybot Search and Destroy
Anti Adware : Ad-Aware Free Edition

Antivirus : blocks and remove virus in your system
Firewall : devices configured to permit, deny, encrypt, or proxy all computer traffic between different security domains based upon a set of rules and other criteria.

Thats all i can explain. I dun know much biggrin.gif
rebelsoul76
Antivirus
- software that protect your computer from viruses. Has several components; virus shield that stays in memory and scans when a file is accessed/written, scanner, updater, quarantine, scheduler

Firewall
- software that acts as your computer's security guard, permitting or denying access of all other programs to/from the internet or local area network

Spyware
- a program/keylogger that installs itself without your knowledge or permission and may collect and send out your personal details such as password and bank account info

Adware
- a program/part of a program that is installed to display advertisement
- normally pops out to display latest advertisement, hoping that you will click on it
- more of a nuisance than real problem
Axell
all answers can be found at Wikipedia smile.gif
terrycyk1981
Thanks for your explaination in details

If i got a laptop,so what type of antivirus,firewall,adware,spyware should i installed...
mfaiz89
i recommend u to installed Eset NOD32 / Smart Security...
http://www.eset.com/products/compare-NOD32...competition.php

or

Kaspersky antivirus / Kaspersky Internet Security...
http://www.kaspersky.com/compare
tan_pang
QUOTE(terrycyk1981 @ Jul 24 2008, 11:10 AM)
Thanks for your explaination in details

If i got a laptop,so what type of antivirus,firewall,adware,spyware should i installed...

You want to install adware and spyware too?? shocking.gif

You still don't know what is adware and spyware after rebelsoul76 have explained to you??

Added on July 24, 2008, 1:10 pmAbout anti-virus, anti-spyware, and firewall recommendation, please refer to the pinned thread
eXPeri3nc3
I would suggest TS to read up on each title mentioned in google. Nothing explains better than those articles out there.
mfaiz89
QUOTE(tan_pang @ Jul 24 2008, 01:10 PM)
You want to install adware and spyware too?? shocking.gif

ha ha ha ha.... laugh.gif
terrycyk1981
Thanks everybody

i try to read and do some reseach first
mfaiz89
thats ok terrycyk1981...

try to understand them...

good luck!
terrycyk1981
The Eset NOD32 / Smart Security is it a freeware?....can download and update?
bazet
Jaring's version of Kaspersky Antivirus + Internet Security
https://www.jaring.my/kaspersky/contact.cfm?cont=trial

Internet Firewall works like this

Your PC have 65500 open ports installed by default. In Linux, the system admin will closed the port using iptables and only allow few ports to be running.

In Windows, you have to rely on products like Kaspersky Internet Security to watch the 65000 ports for you.

Each virus/trojan will use one or more port to talk to thier host server. Say thier server in china, and you pc infected by one of thier trojan. Antivirus alone can't block the port, so internet firewall have to do the task blocking suspicious port.

What is trojan ?

Imagine you type you Wordl Of warcraft username and account, the trojan will keylog ( same as when I run ethreal on my network and watch the incoming packet ).....say you username is

"kambing" password is "k4mb1ng" ...the keylog will send the data thru the port and the receiving host got your account.

So lets tighten our security by installing internet firewall...like norton 360 or Kaspersky Internet Firewall

Download free from jaring malaysia
mfaiz89
QUOTE(terrycyk1981 @ Jul 25 2008, 09:21 AM)
The Eset NOD32 / Smart Security is it a freeware?....can download and update?

Eset NOD32 / SmartSecurity is not freeware... but shareware... u should to buy it if u want to use it...

contact me if u want to buy it...

anyway, u can use it for trial 30 day... test drive it first...

of course can download and update... get it here http://www.eset.com/download/free_trial_download_int.php

Eset NOD32 / Smart Security is the best to me...
st3vi3
QUOTE(mfaiz89 @ Jul 26 2008, 07:31 PM)
Eset NOD32 / SmartSecurity is not freeware... but shareware... u should to buy it if u want to use it...

contact me if u want to buy it...

anyway, u can use it for trial 30 day... test drive it first...

of course can download and update... get it here http://www.eset.com/download/free_trial_download_int.php

Eset NOD32 / Smart Security is the best to me...

how can i get the free patch or crack the antivirus??
Digifriend07
QUOTE(st3vi3 @ Aug 30 2008, 02:57 PM)
how can i get the free patch or crack the antivirus??

Ayak, support original @ genuine product, bro. Respect others intellectual properties...
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.