sengwee1988
Jul 22 2008, 06:09 PM
I had a problem with my 60gb ps3, everytime i turned it on it says that my harddisk is corrupted and I need to format the harddisk, even after I formatted and restart it still says the same, and it will hang at the XMB screen or when I am loading game, I bought it from a shop in sg wang so i took it back there for repairs, after about a week they say that they checked its a problem with a faulty memory IC chip or something like tat and needs to be replaced, since the warranty they provide dun cover spare parts, they say it costs RM300... So is it worth it to repair?? Will I still face the same problem next time??
snipersnake
Jul 22 2008, 09:52 PM
the f***er is lying. I think your hdd is spoilt. if you dont believe me, take another hdd put inside your ps3.
Mgsrulz
Jul 22 2008, 09:59 PM
QUOTE(snipersnake @ Jul 22 2008, 09:52 PM)
the f***er is lying. I think your hdd is spoilt. if you dont believe me, take another hdd put inside your ps3.
OP,try this first^
if still got problem take to another shop.
since your warranty is dead,no point going back to the same shop
jasjas
Jul 23 2008, 03:43 AM
which shop in sg wang u purchase from?
PhoenixByte
Jul 23 2008, 10:05 AM
sg wang? figures...@_@
ruztynail
Jul 23 2008, 10:13 AM
guys... why is it people dont read forums, do research bfr buying? took me 3 months after launch bfr i bought my ps3.. u dont do yr research..thn theres plenty of problems.. hassle..
for all u know thy go change the lense or HDD thn whn spoil u surely bring there for service.
TS change the HDD first thn check. thy not so smart to change other hardwares
sengwee1988
Jul 23 2008, 11:05 AM
thx for all ur opinions, actually I did research already around the internet, but seems like not many ppl has this kind of problems and I cant find a fix, I tried taking out the HDD and format it using my computer and put it back into the ps3 but the same problem still happens, I dun have an extra sata HDD so i cant try changing it with another 1...
Added on July 23, 2008, 11:54 amany1 noes any reputable ppl in LYN that noes how to repair ps3??
snipersnake
Jul 23 2008, 11:59 AM
its not about reformatting,,u will have to try with another hdd.
rm300 is a price of a new hdd u know..not some IC kononnya..all bullshit i tell u.
aaron5829
Jul 23 2008, 12:10 PM
Yeah, new 250GB 2.5" SATA HDD wont cost you RM300 either... Worth giving a try.
sengwee1988
Jul 23 2008, 04:20 PM
damn, guess i kena conned, shud have lend some HDD from somewhere first before I take for repairs
TWH
Jul 23 2008, 04:59 PM
QUOTE(sengwee1988 @ Jul 23 2008, 04:20 PM)
damn, guess i kena conned, shud have lend some HDD from somewhere first before I take for repairs
at least urs is hard drive..mine got struck by lightning..
network card not working...have to trade in new one..
sengwee1988
Jul 23 2008, 05:21 PM
QUOTE(TWH @ Jul 23 2008, 04:59 PM)
at least urs is hard drive..mine got struck by lightning..
network card not working...have to trade in new one..
how much it costs to trade in for new 1?
TWH
Jul 24 2008, 02:11 PM
QUOTE(sengwee1988 @ Jul 23 2008, 05:21 PM)
how much it costs to trade in for new 1?
initialy the guy say he need to order the spare part from somewhere but
after waiting for two weeks with no progress , i go to another shop to enquire about repair.
the shop suggest to trade in.. sell my old unit RM 500 , while pay the balance ..
40g was RM 1300 that time i think..
but bear in mind..my unit was working fine..only the wifi thingy not working..
unrealweapon
Jul 24 2008, 03:02 PM
QUOTE(TWH @ Jul 24 2008, 02:11 PM)
initialy the guy say he need to order the spare part from somewhere but
after waiting for two weeks with no progress , i go to another shop to enquire about repair.
the shop suggest to trade in.. sell my old unit RM 500 , while pay the balance ..
40g was RM 1300 that time i think..
but bear in mind..my unit was working fine..only the wifi thingy not working..
if i , i would take out the Blue Ray drive and the hard disk, and.... arggh.. wth.. buy a new PS3, Old one find a way to convert it to something special..
imagine ur HDD/BlueRay is still surviving..
TWH
Jul 24 2008, 05:00 PM
QUOTE(unrealweapon @ Jul 24 2008, 03:02 PM)
if i , i would take out the Blue Ray drive and the hard disk, and.... arggh.. wth.. buy a new PS3, Old one find a way to convert it to something special..
lucky the guy want it..he put it for display at the shop
i swap my hardrive actually..
mine is actually a 60g unit...sayang also
but when consider the cost of repairing/shipping ..the price to repair is not worth it..
but in the end of the day...it's all about playing online....
unrealweapon
Jul 24 2008, 05:18 PM
i had my PS3 for over a week.. nvr bothred to play online

.. some here told me it's a waste and it's .. i enjoy the story mode for MGS4.. online play is not that important to me...
foong89
Jul 25 2008, 10:30 AM
QUOTE(sengwee1988 @ Jul 23 2008, 11:05 AM)
thx for all ur opinions, actually I did research already around the internet, but seems like not many ppl has this kind of problems and I cant find a fix, I tried taking out the HDD and format it using my computer and put it back into the ps3 but the same problem still happens, I dun have an extra sata HDD so i cant try changing it with another 1...
Added on July 23, 2008, 11:54 amany1 noes any reputable ppl in LYN that noes how to repair ps3??
I think the PS3 and your computer formats the HDD differently
sonic_cd
Jul 25 2008, 12:15 PM
QUOTE(unrealweapon @ Jul 24 2008, 03:02 PM)
gut the ps3 , and make this . lol
http://www.instructables.com/id/Blu-Ray-Laser-Phaser!/
mecca-cola
Jul 25 2008, 12:21 PM
QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Jul 25 2008, 12:15 PM)
Perhaps after this got LIGHT SABER....
TS, ur hdd spoilt ler....just chnage another harddisk and it settle. Unless if got lightning striking and yeah need change part...
ntahsaperaku
Sep 8 2008, 02:47 PM
guys...

i wanna ask something...my ps3 been infected with RED LIGHT BLINKING !!!

... i bought it at sg wang...my console is 60gb and hong kong version... waranty finished already... how much does it cost to repair..?i need my ps3 b4 hari raya... life empty without ps3...
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.