Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: why i use vista my pc always hang? on xp ok jer..
Lowyat.NET > Computers > Software > Windows Vista
zangun
when i use windows vista on my pc it's always hang n i need 2 turn off my pc n start over again but still it's always hang..
but when i use windows xp my pc dun hang..
i dunno wut 2 do..
i want 2 play games in directx 10..
huhuhu..
juz dpt main dmc 4 directx10 for a while jer..
xpuas..
huhuhu..
my specs on my pc is :

amd athlon x2 4400+ plus using artic freezer 64 pro
2gb ddr2 800mhz corsair xms2 cl4
gigabyte 8500gt 512mb
abit nf-m2s
80gb maxtor
160gb western digital
500 watt stock psu comes with my avf casing

so anyone noe's wat problem i'm having..
i think my pc dun enough power..
did i need 2 change my psu?? rclxub.gif
Turnip
ah same happens to my brothas Dell XPS.I wonder why too hmm.gif
yujin86
my under vista is ok .....
but after dl sp1 keep shut down itself de lo
so sien
adie82
happened to me also.

at first i tot must be something wrong with PSU because it is cap ayam 450watt only, so cabut @ pasang balik all the stuff like ram, dvd-rw, vga, HDD, sound, TV card...

my solution.

instll fresh new vista SP1
install latest driver (vga, cipset, sound)
install latest amd dual core optimizer
remove norton AV switch to AVG

finally i foind out taht my pioneer DVDrw cause the problem...
after i cabut the drive, no more hang!

but in xp not hang la pulak!
MX510
I am using Vista SP1 and loving it so much smile.gif
adie82
QUOTE(MX510 @ Jul 21 2008, 02:37 AM)

me too.. bye bye xp! icon_rolleyes.gif
u served me well for almost 8 years! thumbup.gif
zangun
QUOTE(adie82 @ Jul 21 2008, 02:37 AM)
happened to me also.

at first i tot must be something wrong with PSU because it is cap ayam 450watt only, so cabut @ pasang balik all the stuff like ram, dvd-rw, vga, HDD, sound, TV card...

my solution.

yeah..in xp dun have a problem at all..vista is quite complicated i think.. vmad.gif

Added on July 21, 2008, 11:35 am
QUOTE(MX510 @ Jul 21 2008, 02:37 AM)

i want 2 use vista 2 n say bye bye 2 xp but 4 now still can't..huhu..
Nine9
vista is only good for HTPC and laptop with 3GB rams, it improve the battery life and picture will display more nicer, so far i think 1 thing have to improve in vista is the network discovery, it is slow when detecting network pc or storage~
fesick
my laptop only use 1gb also no problem
asellus
For your VGA drivers, try using drivers that is not version 17x.xx. Make sure that the driver is WHQL-signed.
zangun
QUOTE(asellus @ Jul 21 2008, 06:13 PM)
For your VGA drivers, try using drivers that is not version 17x.xx. Make sure that the driver is WHQL-signed.

but all the drivers for my vga is version 175.19 at the internet..
so where can i find the others version beside 17x.xx??..
rclxub.gif
what is WHQL-signed??
icon_question.gif
asellus
QUOTE(zangun @ Jul 21 2008, 11:53 PM)
but all the drivers for my vga is version 175.19 at the internet..
so where can i find the others version beside 17x.xx??..
rclxub.gif
what is WHQL-signed??
icon_question.gif

Go to nVidia website and find the older drivers there. If you download from there, they should be already WHQL-signed. If you download from sites like guru3d, it may not.
zangun
QUOTE(asellus @ Jul 22 2008, 01:12 AM)
Go to nVidia website and find the older drivers there. If you download from there, they should be already WHQL-signed. If you download from sites like guru3d, it may not.

at nvidia website also give version 175.19..
adie82
try my steps la. maybe u got lucky, try to disconnect drive...
asellus
QUOTE(zangun @ Jul 22 2008, 01:21 AM)
at nvidia website also give version 175.19..

I can find your drivers there, get the 163 version.
Kiemi
WHQL is Windows Hardware Quality Lab Testing is the process of testing hardware, software form third party (non-microsoft product) such as hardware driver smile.gif
zangun
QUOTE(asellus @ Jul 22 2008, 01:48 AM)

I can find your drivers there, get the 163 version.

if i use 163 driver on vista..
so d problem will solve eh?
n can i still play games in directx10?

Added on July 22, 2008, 2:26 pm
QUOTE(Kiemi @ Jul 22 2008, 06:48 AM)
WHQL is Windows Hardware Quality Lab Testing is the process of testing hardware, software form third party (non-microsoft product) such as hardware driver smile.gif

oh..
i see..
so if dun have WHQL d driver 4 hardware can't work properly in windows eh?
thanx 4 d info..
Kiemi
It can work properly on old windows such as 98 coz the security not 2 tight as the newer one (Windows XP and vista). Sometime it can't work properly on newer windows. Correct me if i'm wrong smile.gif
zubai
Izzit a bsod crash? What's the crash message?
asellus
QUOTE(zangun @ Jul 22 2008, 02:24 PM)
if i use 163 driver on vista..
so d problem will solve eh?
n can i still play games in directx10?

Added on July 22, 2008, 2:26 pm
oh..
i see..
so if dun have WHQL d driver 4 hardware can't work properly in windows eh?
thanx 4 d info..

Have you tried it?
Iskandar Zulkarnain
QUOTE(zangun @ Jul 21 2008, 01:04 AM)
when i use windows vista on my pc it's always hang n i need 2 turn off my pc n start over again but still it's always hang..
but when i use windows xp my pc dun hang..
i dunno wut 2 do..
i want 2 play games in directx 10..
huhuhu..
juz dpt main dmc 4 directx10 for a while jer..
xpuas..
huhuhu..
my specs on my pc is :

amd athlon x2 4400+ plus using artic freezer 64 pro
2gb ddr2 800mhz corsair xms2 cl4
gigabyte 8500gt 512mb
abit nf-m2s
80gb maxtor
160gb western digital
500 watt stock psu comes with my avf casing

so anyone noe's wat problem i'm having..
i think my pc dun enough power..
did i need 2 change my psu??  rclxub.gif

I have seen several cases of this graphic card hanging after using either anti-aliasing or dx-10 in vista after a short period of time in modern games.

In any case, the 8500gt is not powerful enough to run DX10 smoothly in the first place - even my old 8600GT which is significantly faster struggles in that mode.

I advice sticking to DX-9 with your card. And avoiding anti aliasing.

If there's something you need to change, its your graphic card.

A Geforce 9600GT and an Ati4850 are going for a steal these days. Provided you have the necessary funds of course.
linkinstreet
Iskandar, nVidia is slashing price this week IIRC. When you are going to sell me your 9600GT for Rm200?? :3
Iskandar Zulkarnain
QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Jul 23 2008, 04:03 PM)
Iskandar, nVidia is slashing price this week IIRC. When you are going to sell me your 9600GT for Rm200?? :3

When Vienna comes out :3
zangun
QUOTE(asellus @ Jul 23 2008, 08:11 AM)
Have you tried it?

yup!
i have tried it..
but i use 175.19 WHQL for my vga driver..
n now i use vista dun have problem anymore..
n i do already download mobo driver for vista before i install vista..
so now everything going smooth on my vista..
thanx 4 ur help all my fwens!!
icon_rolleyes.gif
thumbup.gif
REDFlELD
QUOTE(adie82 @ Jul 21 2008, 02:37 AM)
happened to me also.

my solution.

I have pioneer DVD writer also & having the same problem also... will try to disconnect the DVD writer & see if it solves my problem.
adie82
QUOTE(REDFlELD @ Jul 24 2008, 12:53 AM)
I have pioneer DVD writer also & having the same problem also... will try to disconnect the DVD writer & see if it solves my problem.

same problem like me? try la, maybe same solution! icon_rolleyes.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.