Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: The Exotic J-Phone Discussion Thread V9
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Handphones and Communications > Phone-Specific Discussion
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51
Chocobos
personal preference maa, hype or not tongue.gif
silentz
p905i gold 1k!

sure got many ppl wan =(
panasonic88
i read it again, realised that it is a bidding leh sweat.gif

somemore, phone only, not full package plus no hypersim.
silentz
QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Jul 31 2008, 09:29 PM)
i read it again, realised that it is a bidding leh sweat.gif

somemore, phone only, not full package plus no hypersim.

yea... with 1gb mmc
but plus charger + hypersim total arnd 1.3k oso ok geh

btw p905 n sh905 max mmc support how many g?
yupio
condition 100% working but cosmetics hmm.gif

need to see pics
sasuke123
hm
i think they support till 2gb
yupio
QUOTE(silentz @ Jul 31 2008, 09:31 PM)
yea... with 1gb mmc

IIRC max 2G
vodafone
QUOTE(tiffneedle @ Jul 31 2008, 05:25 PM)
great, most likely my bypass sim dead already...
is it bare hand is forbiden to touch the chip on the bypass sim?

Nope, did you notice any bending on the bypass film? If yes, then you might break the circuit on the film.

QUOTE(silentz @ Jul 31 2008, 09:31 PM)
yea... with 1gb mmc

If you need higher capacity, go for microSDHC which could go at least 4GB or even 8GB.

Seaedge
lol.. alot of ppl selling and getting their J phones...

sad.gif i hope i can get mine soon....
silentz
QUOTE(yupio @ Jul 31 2008, 09:33 PM)
IIRC max 2G

QUOTE(vodafone @ Jul 31 2008, 09:36 PM)
If you need higher capacity, go for microSDHC which could go at least 4GB or even 8GB.

IIRC n microSDHC is da type of da mmc?
microSDHC is more exp rite?

anyone wanna buy my 903sh red? laugh.gif
sasuke123
haha buy for wat?
no one gonna buy urs.
seaedge come buy my so905ics...
1.3k only la bro
Seaedge
i wan Jphone that has HSDPA unlocked... got?

sasuke, kenot la.. tongue.gif this month boh lui...
i sure got ppl buy from u de... smile.gif
panasonic88
QUOTE(sasuke123 @ Jul 31 2008, 09:15 PM)
zzz watse of time hahaha
y get sh905?....
dont understand u la haiz
should get more hype stuff

QUOTE(sasuke123 @ Jul 31 2008, 09:54 PM)
haha buy for wat?
no one gonna buy urs.
seaedge come buy my so905ics...
1.3k only la bro

dun being so mean la, you are jeopardizing your own sales only!
sasuke123
lols hahaha.
din mean to hurt sum1.
may be i will sell to those mamak indians
Ryuuga
QUOTE(yupio @ Jul 31 2008, 09:04 PM)
Personally, I won't be too keen on having J-phone if my focus is on music. Note that j-phones do not support MP3 playback (except the SO series e.g. SO905i...which I think supports MP3). Most J-phones accept WMA and AAC and I normally have my collection in MP3....converting them to suit my phone would be  sweat.gif  rclxub.gif

For me, I am a sucker for movies and my SH906iTV should be on tonight's Japan Airlines....hopefully  drool.gif

Thanks for the suggestion, i guess my focus should be somewhere else then huh. I have my home AV set for movies and DSLR for camera so i'm not so into those. I just want a portable-on-the-go music player since I'm always travelling.
thanks alot ^^
katak
QUOTE(silentz @ Jul 31 2008, 09:48 PM)

how much u 1 2 sell?
i'm still searching 4 a Jphone
so can poison GF brows.gif
Snuffykl

i saw jack7155 selling a new 1 8gb for RM 140 with micromate reader .
yupio
QUOTE(Ryuuga @ Jul 31 2008, 10:58 PM)
Thanks for the suggestion, i guess my focus should be somewhere else then huh. I have my home AV set for movies and DSLR for camera so i'm not so into those. I just want a portable-on-the-go music player since I'm always travelling.
thanks alot ^^

hehehe well, if u can bear with conversion MP3 -> WMA then the audio quality of J-phones should satisfy the normal listeners.....japanese sure don't make their products to be so-so and they excel in tech...so who knows you might like the sound coming out of it....but the main pull factor is the uniqueness of the j-phone, the design, the features (although many are not usable doh.gif ), and most significantly its something u don't see around you everyday which I also believe many users in here will agree. We wanna be different from the crowd hehehe thumbup.gif sweat.gif
ilikehandphones
congrats on ur purchase synthesia.....the sh905i is a damn cun phone....
Synthesia
QUOTE(Chocobos @ Jul 31 2008, 08:58 PM)
Congratulations Synthesia  rclxms.gif
I think I know from whom u bought it from  laugh.gif
can tell a bit bout the happiness aaa
cos now I'm torn between J-Phones and another one  rclxub.gif

lol, i'm very happy. I've been searching for about 2 months? lol and at last smile.gif
J-phone is the best , trust me. Pictures are not everything, u have to see it to believe how good it is. Well if you dont like the japanese user interface, then you should get the other phone.
sasuke123
QUOTE(ilikehandphones @ Jul 31 2008, 11:24 PM)

dont be jealous.
Synthesia
QUOTE(ilikehandphones @ Jul 31 2008, 11:24 PM)

smile.gif thanks

Thanks to all smile.gif

Added on July 31, 2008, 11:28 pm
QUOTE(sasuke123 @ Jul 31 2008, 11:26 PM)
dont be jealous.

he has one, lol laugh.gif
yupio

hmm to further elaborate on this...sdhc means SD High Capacity usually SD cards with capacity 4Gb and above will come with sdHC label. Make no mistake, there are devices that do not support sdHC due to its newer algorithm required to work with it.

sdHC also comes with class2, class4 and class6...can do some readup on that for those who likes to know more....search SDHC in Wikipedia.

From the spec of SH905i found here : http://ja.wikipedia.org/wiki/SH905i

I can't read japanese but my rough guess would be that the 905 series supports both SD and SDHC but, may only support up to 4Gb.

I also read in SG forum that 905 series using 4Gb and above renders the phone's performance to be a lot slower....a lot....so get a higher class sdHC if u really going for it (to those wanting to upgrade their micro SD)

the 906 series can support up to 8Gb though : http://ja.wikipedia.org/wiki/SH906i
sasuke123
QUOTE(yupio @ Jul 31 2008, 11:28 PM)
hmm to further elaborate on this...sdhc means SD High Capacity usually SD cards with capacity 4Gb and above will come with sdHC label. Make no mistake, there are devices that do not support sdHC due to its newer algorithm required to work with it.

sdHC also comes with class2, class4 and class6...can do some readup on that for those who likes to know more....search SDHC in Wikipedia.

From the spec of SH905i found here : http://ja.wikipedia.org/wiki/SH905i

I can't read japanese but my rough guess would be that the 905 series supports both SD and SDHC but, may only support up to 4Gb.

I also read in SG forum that 905 series using 4Gb and above renders the phone's performance to be a lot slower....a lot....so get a higher class sdHC if u really going for it (to those wanting to upgrade their micro SD)

the 906 series can support up to 8Gb though : http://ja.wikipedia.org/wiki/SH906i

btw u seems to know alot...
u hav alot of jphones?
MorningBoyz
QUOTE(Synthesia @ Jul 31 2008, 11:25 PM)
lol, i'm very happy. I've been searching for about 2 months? lol and at last smile.gif
J-phone is the best , trust me. Pictures are not everything, u have to see it to believe how good it is. Well if you dont like the japanese user interface, then you should get the other phone.

rclxms.gif congratz on ur J-Phone atleast better than me oni 2 months. i suffer for 3months doh.gif
yup i agree wit u, pics are not everything. u will really be wow....when u see it wit ur own eye. same goes when i get my whitey P905i wub.gif
sonic_cd
QUOTE(lkylyk @ Jul 31 2008, 12:39 PM)
are u in/experienced tis situation? lolz...

dunno last i count i do have 40+ phones lol .

now what phone should i bring on saturday . hmm.
ilikehandphones
...still waiting 4 a buyer for me sh905i....keeping me company is my violet 904sh and yellow d905i for now....wanna upgrade to 923sh brows.gif
Synthesia
Yeahh, can anyone tel me how to change ringtones/wallpaper and watch video?? Basically, how to customize it?
katak
QUOTE(Synthesia @ Jul 31 2008, 11:25 PM)

congrat to u 4 having a j phone liao
i'm still searching arr....
but too bad coz sabah dun hav ppl sell
Synthesia
QUOTE(katak @ Jul 31 2008, 11:39 PM)
congrat to u 4 having a j phone liao
i'm still searching arr....
but too bad coz sabah dun hav ppl sell

Sabah don't have, but i think sarawak got ppl selling their sh905i icon_rolleyes.gif
yupio
QUOTE(sasuke123 @ Jul 31 2008, 11:30 PM)
btw u seems to know alot...
u hav alot of jphones?

hate to say this but i dun have any J-phone...yet....hehehe

my SH906iTV is on the way though....if I am lucky, I should be holding it next weekend drool.gif

nevertheless...I've done quite some research on them so that I am ready for it when it comes hehe.

good luck in your SO905 sale bro....your promo posts never fails to amuse me.... laugh.gif in all honesty....I would personally choose to have a J-phone rather than the two thousand dollar sandal lol....maybe I m not mature enuff to appreciate comfort walks yet....but don't u dare poison me with those sandals ya....

1 month back I never even give any thought on J-phones until I clicked on the V8 thread and I m hooked doh.gif and now I have to part with over 2k for a J-phone sweat.gif yahhhhhhhhh just ignore all my grumbles everyone.....dunno what i m saying shakehead.gif
katak
QUOTE(Synthesia @ Jul 31 2008, 11:40 PM)
Sabah don't have, but i think sarawak got ppl selling their sh905i  icon_rolleyes.gif

mayb..
but buy 2nd u really nid COD n confirm the phone condition ma...
so hard to me go bek 2 perak jz 4 1 phone oli
the air ticket expensive arr!!
Ryuuga
QUOTE(yupio @ Jul 31 2008, 11:20 PM)
hehehe well, if u can bear with conversion MP3 -> WMA then the audio quality of J-phones should satisfy the normal listeners.....japanese sure don't make their products to be so-so and they excel in tech...so who knows you might like the sound coming out of it....but the main pull factor is the uniqueness of the j-phone, the design, the features (although many are not usable  doh.gif  ), and most significantly its something u don't see around you everyday which I also believe many users in here will agree. We wanna be different from the crowd hehehe  thumbup.gif  sweat.gif

actually, its MP3>AAC. Also, the japanese aren't at all dumb cause AAC is actually a better format than MP3s!! its just that MP3sis more widely supported whereas AAC are only supported by PSPs, PS3, Wii an other next-gen stuff.
I just think it might be a pain converting at least 8Gbs of stuff everytime i want to put them in the phone =/

But i gotta agree with you. We wanna be different from the crowd. Like i said before, to me, phone is a very personal thing. I believe everyone should have their OWN individual phone heh.

Maybe i will have to consider more... quoting some guy from another forum:

i will just have to consider converting MP3 to a better AAC format >.<
ilikehandphones
if u ever bring ur keitai to japan....turn on ur 1-seg....sure can work regardsless of sim that is in the phone....fren of mine bring her 911t there...surprisingly can watch...very clear also....will be testing my d905 next year... brows.gif
katak
QUOTE(ilikehandphones @ Jul 31 2008, 11:45 PM)
if u ever bring ur keitai to japan....turn on ur 1-seg....sure can work regardsless of sim that is in the phone....fren of mine bring her 911t there...surprisingly can watch...very clear also....will be testing my d905 next year... brows.gif

wah!! so rich, can go japan jz for test ur d905 sweat.gif
yupio
QUOTE(Ryuuga @ Jul 31 2008, 11:42 PM)
actually, its MP3>AAC. Also, the japanese aren't at all dumb cause AAC is actually a better format than MP3s!! its just that MP3sis more widely supported whereas AAC are only supported by PSPs, PS3, Wii an other next-gen stuff.
I just think it might be a pain converting at least 8Gbs of stuff everytime i want to put them in the phone =/

But i gotta agree with you. We wanna be different from the crowd. Like i said before, to me, phone is a very personal thing. I believe everyone should have their OWN individual phone heh.

Maybe i will have to consider more... quoting some guy from another forum:

i will just have to consider converting MP3 to a better AAC format >.<

hmm...I read WMA (windows media audio) will sync properly (no need to rename file and album art will sync accordingly too) into the J-phone directly using WMP (windows media player).

ahh the AAC is definitely much better than MP3s why? bcoz AAC is supposed to succeed MP3....its the next generation from MP3...both are lossy though but MP3 based on MPEG-1 standard whereas AAC based on MPEG-2 and MPEG-3 spec. All the movie files encoded using H.26x and DIVX had their audio in AAC.....but I m not gonna dwelve too deep into this....its not the rite thread to be talking bout codecs ehehehehehe

but yeah...if u dun mind the hassle, converting to AAC rather than WMA would be preferred but don't expect the sound quality to be improved if ur source is MP3. wink.gif
sonic_cd
whichever way , as long can play whatever song (in whatever format ) that we like as a ringtone is fine enough by me tongue.gif
yupio
QUOTE(ilikehandphones @ Jul 31 2008, 11:45 PM)

IIRC 1 seg can work even you dun hav sim inserted...its like an independent thing...do not rely on phone line / bandwidth. Keitai is like phone with TV tuner receiver...

Guys, if u are into TV, be informed that U mobile is going to launch its mobile TV broadcast pretty soon... you'll need special mobile phone to receive it...at present, i think one nokia model is coming out with the receiver. A receiver needs to be able to support DVB-H broadcast.

Too bad all the keitai wont be compatible coz Japan uses diff broadcast system, the ISDB-T. Haih.

Added on July 31, 2008, 11:59 pm
QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Jul 31 2008, 11:55 PM)
whichever way , as long can play whatever song (in whatever format ) that we like as a ringtone is fine enough by me tongue.gif

i think j-phone only supports midi ringtone lo...all the nice nice music tones cannot work unless u r in japan and using i-mode lo
ilikehandphones
me going there for a long planned holiday...will be going for the sakura season...maybe by that time newer season phone release already drool.gif
awong
QUOTE(lkylyk @ Jul 31 2008, 04:26 AM)
SOLD~
now wanna sell off my 803T...
seems like no body interested in it already...all rich ppl aim for luxury type ler..

and you have a white 803t, nice color, gl on sale, tempting, but looking at european version of 902t and w900i since friend is reserving his whitey w900i for me.
yupio
QUOTE(ilikehandphones @ Aug 1 2008, 12:00 AM)
me going there for a long planned holiday...will be going for the sakura season...maybe by that time newer season phone release already  drool.gif

wahh how lucky u.....me jealous...its a nice country to visit...heard visa now harder to get....

when's the sakura season by the way? me plans to save enuff moolahs to one day visit jpn too...hoping it will come true hehehe
awong
QUOTE(yupio @ Jul 31 2008, 10:57 AM)
IIRC 1 seg can work even you dun hav sim inserted...its like an independent thing...do not rely on phone line / bandwidth. Keitai is like phone with TV tuner receiver...

I've been wondering if 920sh with media unlock would work with one-seg in japan...still annoyed 911t has no gsm, or I would be using that
ilikehandphones
for malaysia...me not sure....but as a malaysian working in singapore....it is easier to go there as u can have a singaporean become ur guarantor or sponsor 4 u to go japan...thus it is a little less stringent to go japan.
Ryuuga
QUOTE(yupio @ Jul 31 2008, 11:57 PM)

Guys, if u are into TV, be informed that U mobile is going to launch its mobile TV broadcast pretty soon... you'll need special mobile phone to receive it...at present, i think one nokia model is coming out with the receiver. A receiver needs to be able to support DVB-H broadcast.

Too bad all the keitai wont be compatible coz Japan uses diff broadcast system, the ISDB-T. Haih.

Added on July 31, 2008, 11:59 pm
i think j-phone only supports midi ringtone lo...all the nice nice music tones cannot work unless u r in japan and using i-mode lo

got mobile TV but watch what wor? >.< TV3? lol theres nothing interesting to watch on local channels anyways haha

I thought there is a workaround to make the phone play small chunk of your mp3 converted to mmf as ringtone? thats what i read i think...
cloudaeris
guys im using so905i, got the bbsim from bearbrick, my old sim doenst work with it so i got a new one, good thing is calling, receiving calls, receiving sms all work, but i cant send out sms

whenver i boot up the phone, it says "dialing/packet connection is restricted with this UIM", same thing pops out whenever i press the send button for sending sms.

now i cant send out any sms, any help here?
yupio
QUOTE(awong @ Aug 1 2008, 12:08 AM)
I've been wondering if 920sh with media unlock would work with one-seg in japan...still annoyed 911t has no gsm, or I would be using that

hmm...no idea on softbank though...go there and hav a try...report back here hehehehehe

QUOTE(ilikehandphones @ Aug 1 2008, 12:15 AM)
for malaysia...me not sure....but as a malaysian working in singapore....it is easier to go there as u can have a singaporean become ur guarantor or sponsor 4 u to go japan...thus it is a little less stringent to go japan.

jealous jealous jealous cry.gif

QUOTE(Ryuuga @ Aug 1 2008, 12:15 AM)
got mobile TV but watch what wor? >.< TV3? lol theres nothing interesting to watch on local channels anyways haha

I thought there is a workaround to make the phone play small chunk of your mp3 converted to mmf as ringtone? thats what i read i think...

U mobile wont host TV3 me thinks...should be something from their cable tv, cnn and such. i once read their press statement, the channels offered quite interesting...u can try google for the press statement though...haih when docomo announces its stake in u mobile, i was optimistic that docomo will bring in their phones and imode to MY...i was wrong vmad.gif

I read the converted mmf as ringtone can only sound like midi too IIRC. will try it on my phone when it arrives though.

heads up guys...picture's up in : http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/755721
awong
QUOTE(yupio @ Jul 31 2008, 11:26 AM)
hmm...no idea on softbank though...go there and hav a try...report back here hehehehehe

yeah not sure yet, thought i read on chinese forum that it did work, but its going to have to be media unlocked. 911t, 920t work for sure with oneseg in japan
yupio
QUOTE(cloudaeris @ Aug 1 2008, 12:19 AM)
guys im using so905i, got the bbsim from bearbrick, my old sim doenst work with it so i got a new one, good thing is calling, receiving calls, receiving sms all work, but i cant send out sms

whenver i boot up the phone, it says "dialing/packet connection is restricted with this UIM", same thing pops out whenever i press the send button for sending sms.

now i cant send out any sms, any help here?

might wanna PM sasuke123, he uses the same model
katak
really hope one day all j phone can unlock n all nice function can use
yupio
QUOTE(awong @ Aug 1 2008, 12:29 AM)
yeah not sure yet, thought i read on chinese forum that it did work, but its going to have to be media unlocked.  911t, 920t work for sure with oneseg in japan

hmm...j-phones works in japan without simcard.....their phone account seems to be preprogrammed into the phone itself....920SH might be media locked when used with simcard....but it might become unlocked if switched on in japan without any simcard....but then again, not many ppl wanna try that...if the phone starts re-provisioning, you're done for.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.