arm_audioslave
Jul 17 2008, 12:53 PM
The Power Mac G5 1.6GHz
1GB RAM
320GB (upgraded from standard 80GB)
Dual Layer SuperDrive (upgraded from standard SuperDrive)
New Apple mouse (never used, always used Microsoft mouse)
Keyboard
DVI-VGA Adapter
Power cord
USB Extension cord
Mac OS X 10.2 Jaguar
*Based on the spec given, how much is the price for this lappie?
my friend want to sell it to me, but i dont know the price,
can anybody help me
xjukie
Jul 17 2008, 01:37 PM
below 2k
Timber
Jul 17 2008, 03:39 PM
Power Mac G5 lappie? Kakakaka.
There is no Mac laptop with a G5 processor. Check with your fren again.
arm_audioslave
Jul 17 2008, 03:44 PM
sori, its desktop, my mistake
ennyong1985
Jul 17 2008, 03:44 PM
Hmmm... That's right... It must be a PowerBook G4... Oh... Not bad ma... How old is the machine? I think should only be around RM1000 to RM1500
arm_audioslave
Jul 17 2008, 04:24 PM
bout 4-6 months i think...
ennyong1985
Jul 17 2008, 05:03 PM
Are you kidding me? It was first release in June 2003.
ChopSuey
Jul 17 2008, 05:46 PM
About 900 sing.
I did a brief price check on mac2sell.net
These old powermacs are still desirable.
edit:
I believe the current mac mini c2d is
more powerful than the powermac and
more futureproof too.
-yap
chasiupau
Jul 17 2008, 11:54 PM
QUOTE(arm_audioslave @ Jul 17 2008, 12:53 PM)
The Power Mac G5 1.6GHz
1GB RAM
320GB (upgraded from standard 80GB)
Dual Layer SuperDrive (upgraded from standard SuperDrive)
New Apple mouse (never used, always used Microsoft mouse)
Keyboard
DVI-VGA Adapter
Power cord
USB Extension cord
Mac OS X 10.2 Jaguar
*Based on the spec given, how much is the price for this lappie?
my friend want to sell it to me, but i dont know the price,
can anybody help me
It should be around RM2.5k, minus out the monitor & Mac Tiger.
Oh, by the way, if you buy, dun install Leopard on it,install Tiger instead.
Leopard's kinda sluggish on Power chips.
pmsoo
Jul 18 2008, 09:55 AM
I think i mention this before
As person A and person B evaluate things differently, 2nd hand value works on the basis of buyer willing seller willing. It is difficult to gauge the "correct" 2nd hand value for it. as Mac2sell.net is a reference bench based on spec and age, nothing else.
Like what ChopSuey said, mac mini c2d is a cheaper option with better specs. Hence my personal opinion is that if this PowerMac is more than 2k, its not worth it. If i were to purchase it myself, i would only play 1.5k at most.
Honestly, i think powermac G5 retains its value because it looks like the current powermac.
b48753
Jul 18 2008, 11:51 AM
QUOTE(chasiupau @ Jul 17 2008, 11:54 PM)
Oh, by the way, if you buy, dun install Leopard on it,install Tiger instead.
Leopard's kinda sluggish on Power chips.
Even better if you could install Panther..more faster..
xaw5126
Jul 18 2008, 11:52 AM
arm_audioslavewe do trade-in now @ Machines.
If you're interested, you may email the specifications to tradein@machines.com.my
Please visit our trade-in site for more details
agn1048
Jul 24 2008, 11:35 PM
QUOTE(xjukie @ Jul 17 2008, 02:37 PM)
if below 2k, pm where can i get it. interested here.
chizzu
Nov 22 2008, 01:31 AM
ok sorry to dig out old thread here.
but recently i was offered a PowerMac G5 Quad 2.5 with 1.5gb ram (not sure about other specs) with 30" ACD. actually i am really interested in the 30" ACD only but my friend insist of selling both.
How much would you think it will cost for the PowerMac and 30" ACD?
Eithanius
Nov 22 2008, 01:54 AM
i can imagine this...
Quad G5 full load...

ACD 30" full brightness...

electricity bill...

how much is he asking for...?
chizzu
Nov 22 2008, 03:31 AM
around 1500GBP which should be around 9000MYR
is it worth it? i still need to pay for the transportation fee. Furthermore the powermac is in his office and used to surf web on safari. what a waste of resource

The spec is as below:
Powermac G5 Quad 2.5Ghz
1.5gb ram
500gb hard disk
30" Apple cinema display
is it worth the price he is asking for?
i just want the ACD
nanjakorya
Nov 25 2008, 04:54 PM
is ir worth getting a PPC based Mac nowadays? as OS X Leopard will be the last OS X that supports PPC archiecture.
b48753
Nov 25 2008, 05:12 PM
QUOTE(nanjakorya @ Nov 25 2008, 04:54 PM)
is ir worth getting a PPC based Mac nowadays? as OS X Leopard will be the last OS X that supports PPC archiecture.
Still worth if your software is old version like Final Cut Studio, not ver. 2. And as momento of last PPC architecture is quite worth it, maybe can try to run Cinema 4D 64bit on G5..
Added on November 25, 2008, 5:14 pmQUOTE(chizzu @ Nov 22 2008, 03:31 AM)
around 1500GBP which should be around 9000MYR
is it worth it? i still need to pay for the transportation fee. Furthermore the powermac is in his office and used to surf web on safari. what a waste of resource

The spec is as below:
Powermac G5 Quad 2.5Ghz
1.5gb ram
500gb hard disk
30" Apple cinema display
is it worth the price he is asking for?
i just want the ACD

Looks like price wise is quite high..maybe you could ask for bargain..especially on CPU itself.
chizzu
Nov 25 2008, 07:04 PM
i am not sure how much will a used 30" ACD will worth. I have checked the CPU its around 400-440 pounds here for a used unit. i guess i could bargain if i know the price for a used 30" ACD.
vailance
Nov 26 2008, 01:16 AM
i just bought a g5 dual 1.8ghz, running leopard compare to tiger , leopard i think still fast but u need a GPU at least ati 9600 or above else the candy eye on leopard will be lagging/slow.. and u need a fast hdd and at least 2gb ram to make it smooth.
compare with my new alu macbook, g5 just bit slow on certain stuff but running programs like aperture/final cut or photoshop still quite fast.
my spec were
dual 1.8ghz
2gb ram
2x 160gb HDD raid0
leopard
ATI 9800 pro 128mb
oh ya price, i bought it over ebay + shipping almost 3k
b48753
Nov 26 2008, 09:34 AM
QUOTE(vailance @ Nov 26 2008, 01:16 AM)
i just bought a g5 dual 1.8ghz, running leopard compare to tiger , leopard i think still fast but u need a GPU at least ati 9600 or above else the candy eye on leopard will be lagging/slow.. and u need a fast hdd and at least 2gb ram to make it smooth.
compare with my new alu macbook, g5 just bit slow on certain stuff but running programs like aperture/final cut or photoshop still quite fast.
my spec were
dual 1.8ghz
2gb ram
2x 160gb HDD raid0
leopard
ATI 9800 pro 128mb
oh ya price, i bought it over ebay + shipping almost 3k
Malaysian seller or International?
vailance
Nov 27 2008, 01:27 PM
the seller from US. Thats why shipping so expensive.
b48753
Nov 27 2008, 06:16 PM
QUOTE(vailance @ Nov 27 2008, 01:27 PM)
the seller from US. Thats why shipping so expensive.
Aiyoo..Just now found someone here want to sell G5 with good price..
vailance
Nov 27 2008, 06:34 PM
QUOTE(b48753 @ Nov 27 2008, 06:16 PM)
Aiyoo..Just now found someone here want to sell G5 with good price..

ya i also see but sudden the topic gone d.. lolx.
but still 3k plus lar if im not mistaken.. bro pm ur phone number i lost d.. got some question need to ask u pro.
chizzu
Nov 27 2008, 07:19 PM
hmmm. so how much should i offer the price for PowerMac G5 Quad with 30" ACD? Well, i am in UK so transportation shouldnt be a problem. I just need to know that i pay for what i get
vailance
Nov 27 2008, 08:50 PM
for quad i seen around ebay selling almost RM4k ringgit.. u think lor..
chizzu
Nov 27 2008, 08:56 PM
lol i need to know the price for 30" ACD. i roughly know that quad G5 cost like 450-500 GBP but would an used 30" ACD cost 1k to justify the price my friend offered?
using current conversion rate it will be around rm5.5k
vailance
Nov 28 2008, 12:28 AM
for both i think acd ask him sell u RM5k then should be ok.. acd if still under warranty then be good. else soon u find out got dead pixel then gg, no acpp to protect u .
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.