Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Nikon D80 thread V3 ! Yes, V3 already... :D
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Photography, Digital Imaging & Video
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17
razuryza
QUOTE(utopian86 @ Sep 30 2008, 12:28 PM)
thanks ktcy.
Will be looking forward to eat. How much is tripod? Hopefully can get as free gift. smile.gif

can.. can.. usually buying new set got free.. but the tripod.. hehe whistling.gif
zio
QUOTE(pstan82 @ Sep 29 2008, 01:31 AM)
i'm using the JENIS brand battery grip wif LCD n few function.. only RM300.. bought from digi color... not bad thought...but for sure the handling comfort is not as good as nikon's

Interesting grip. Does it fit nicely with the camera? Hows the vertical shutter?
KTCY
QUOTE(hubbykinz @ Sep 30 2008, 08:15 AM)
Hey Guys...

I just got my D80 from Sg Wang after scouting for almost a week for the best package.

Here's what I've got

D80 (body)
18-105 VR Lense
SB600 Flash
8GB SanDisk Extreme III
Bag

All for 4k...

Could get a little cheaper actually tongue.gif

D80 body - RM 2,000
18-105 VR - RM 900
SB-600 - RM 770
8gb Extreme III - RM 180
Bag - FREE

tongue.gif
hubbykinz
QUOTE(KTCY @ Sep 30 2008, 02:22 PM)

D80 body - RM 2,000
18-105 VR - RM 900
SB-600 - RM 770
8gb Extreme III - RM 180
Bag - FREE

tongue.gif

Eh really? Which shop? I checked in LowYat and Sg Wang last week and thats the best price I've got.. you sure yours is not the grey set pricing?
greggs
must be penang price.. haha.. KTCY always give penang price one..
pstan82
QUOTE(zio @ Sep 30 2008, 03:21 PM)
Interesting grip. Does it fit nicely with the camera? Hows the vertical shutter?

check this link :- JENIS official
zio
QUOTE(pstan82 @ Sep 30 2008, 04:16 PM)
check this link :- JENIS official

I did, was looking for a more personal feedback smile.gif I've read feedbacks that the MD-D80 wobbles a bit on the D80 and the vertical shutter is a bit sensitive (which is the same feedback for the MB-D10). So just wondering if the Jenis version is the same or better.. smile.gif
utopian86
Is it better if i get D80(body) + VR lenses?
KTCY
Depends on you mate. If you're shooting at low light, VR will give a helping hand. But I'd prefer at 2.8 lens tongue.gif
utopian86
i'm still new in dslr stuff, i'll go tru reading the iso and the light.
So basicly, the d80 kit lens is enough for me as normal user?
I will mostly take scenery pics.
pstan82
QUOTE(zio @ Sep 30 2008, 05:25 PM)
I did, was looking for a more personal feedback smile.gif I've read feedbacks that the MD-D80 wobbles a bit on the D80 and the vertical shutter is a bit sensitive (which is the same feedback for the MB-D10). So just wondering if the Jenis version is the same or better.. smile.gif

the dial is slightly stiffer than ori.. other than that.. everything ok.. it comes wif time, date, timer, auto shutter release with timer, continuous shooting...etc... oh ya.. the lcd come wif very cool blue backlight as well!!

out look so so lor.. not as good & as nice as ori.. but overall is acceptable.. i like it alot!! hehehehe ...

Added on October 1, 2008, 12:43 am
QUOTE(utopian86 @ Oct 1 2008, 12:27 AM)
i'm still new in dslr stuff, i'll go tru reading the iso and the light.
So basicly, the d80 kit lens is enough for me as normal user?
I will mostly take scenery pics.

definitely the 18-135mm kit lens is enough as a travel lens as well... if u dont mind...
speedguy10
QUOTE(KTCY @ Sep 30 2008, 02:22 PM)

D80 body - RM 2,000
18-105 VR - RM 900
SB-600 - RM 770
8gb Extreme III - RM 180
Bag - FREE

tongue.gif

Mind to tell us which shop you get this price?
hsienming
@pstan82
mind posting some pics of your JENIS batt-grip?
pstan82
no camera wor.. or juz battery grip only?
handphone camera i dont think nice lor...
KTCY
Just use your D80 snap the battery grip will do smile.gif
pstan82
ok.. no problem...
whack !
guys..im looking to buy my new SLR..im thinking of D80 and Canon 450d..now im really leaning towards d80..the standard kit lens for d80 doesn't have VR rite? just wanna confirm with u guys..if it does have VR then i think i'll most prolly go for Nikon...
thx guys
KTCY
Just get the body and get the new 18-105 VR then smile.gif
GodsLove
Hey guys, i will be going to Gunung Kinabalu soon and would like to know what are the safety measure i should take to protect my camera as the weather is different then in KL i.e cold and wet conditions...anyone has experience and can help me?
utopian86
Wah, nice! Have fun at Mount KK.
I went there last dec, it was fun but i didnt get any dslr camera yet sad.gif
Andy0625
How to snap my camera when I only have one single dslr ? unsure.gif
psp _BOY
QUOTE(Andy0625 @ Oct 6 2008, 09:31 PM)
How to snap my camera when I only have one single dslr ? unsure.gif

Snap the SLR's own picture using a mirror.

or use a phone.

D80 owner here, but now as a backup, doing my first party with 2 bodies in a couple weeks time. should be fun smile.gif
mazaziman
QUOTE(GodsLove @ Oct 6 2008, 02:11 PM)
Hey guys, i will be going to Gunung Kinabalu soon and would like to know what are the safety measure i should take to protect my camera as the weather is different then in KL i.e cold and wet conditions...anyone has experience and can help me?

wrap it up with plastic. my fren used to do that when taking photo @ snowy area
adeas
should i buy d80 for entry level?
razuryza
QUOTE(adeas @ Oct 7 2008, 06:51 PM)
should i buy d80 for entry level?

is D80 entry level category?
zio
QUOTE(razuryza @ Oct 7 2008, 07:26 PM)
is D80 entry level category?

All cameras are entry level because you can always enter at that level tongue.gif

But I think D80 is categorised at advanced entry-level if there is such a thing tongue.gif
adeas
QUOTE(zio @ Oct 7 2008, 07:32 PM)
All cameras are entry level because you can always enter at that level tongue.gif

But I think D80 is categorised at advanced entry-level if there is such a thing tongue.gif

oh ok...so need to consider others
whack !
guys...got a ques need ur guys opinion
im getting a d80 body 2gether wif 18-105 VR lens...that is as far my budget can stretch...but i was thinkin isit better to get a 50mm f1.8 lens 1st den only buy a better zoom lens..i was thinkin if i get the 18-105 VR lens and then get the prime lens and then get a better zoom lens den my 18-105 will be a waste...need d sifus opinion

thx!
KTCY
QUOTE(whack ! @ Oct 8 2008, 02:27 AM)
guys...got a ques need ur guys opinion
im getting a d80 body 2gether wif 18-105 VR lens...that is as far my budget can stretch...but i was thinkin isit better to get a 50mm f1.8 lens 1st den only buy a better zoom lens..i was thinkin if i get the 18-105 VR lens and then get the prime lens and then get a better zoom lens den my 18-105 will be a waste...need d sifus opinion

thx!

50mm is a great start but do you snap landscape ? FYI, 50mm isn't that wide.
darthbaboon
QUOTE(KTCY @ Oct 8 2008, 09:13 AM)
50mm is a great start but do you snap landscape ? FYI, 50mm isn't that wide.

For cropped sensor, 50mm = 75mm... so not wide at all. tongue.gif

There's a current discussion going on for Prime & Zoom users @ http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/810575

I believe at the end of the day it all boils down to one's shooting style. Zooms are very versatile and if you have a good range you can take anything from wide angle to tele shots.

The few popular walkabout Nikon zoom lenses with good ranges are as below (Prices fished from shashinki.com) :

16-85mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR DX AF-S Nikkor - Jan 08, RM 2.1k
18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX VR Nikkor - D60 Kit lens, Nov 07, RM 800
18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF AF-S DX Nikkor - D70 Kit Lens, Oct 05, RM 1.1k
18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR AF-S DX Nikkor - D90 Kit Lens, Aug 08, RM 1.2k
18-135mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED AF-S DX Nikkor - D80 Kit Lens, Aug 06, RM 1.1k
18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED AF-S DX VR Nikkor - Nov 05, RM 2.5k

The newest of these, the 18-105, 16-85 are getting quite good reviews.

The downside to these would be the variable apertures, which some (like myself) are more particular about.

The "better" zooms would be the fixed aperture ones (usually f2.8), and the new Nikkor ones cost a bomb (5k+). Third party f2.8 zooms are pretty reasonably priced about RM 1.35k for the 17-50mm f2.8 Tammy, RM 1.6k for the 24-70 Siggy.

The downside to these constant aperture lenses is they are usually much bigger (thus heavier), and their zoom ranges are limited compared to the variable aperture ones. If there were ever a 18-200mm f2.8, I'm sure it will look like an anti-aircraft cannon and priced like one too tongue.gif

All boils down to what you intend to shoot. But for maximum versatility, it's for sure one of those kit lenses.
whack !
hey guys..just got my d80 2day with 18-105 VR Lens..hehe..damn happy...got a ques here..how long do i need to charge the camera for d 1st time..couldn't find anything in d manua..i've been charging for about 3 hrs plus now
sallyyp
hi,
may i know whether Nikon D80 suitable to take picture for moving object?
like animals? or any other suggestion?
tqtq..
darthbaboon
QUOTE(sallyyp @ Oct 9 2008, 10:31 AM)
hi,
may i know whether Nikon D80 suitable to take picture for moving object?
like animals? or any other suggestion?
tqtq..

Any camera is suitable to take pictures of moving objects... including the D80.

If your shutter speed is fast enough, you can freeze the object in movement.

Or you can try a panning shot. tongue.gif
ahmadpi
I'm using D80 for 1 month++ now. Before this I'm using D50. I notice 2 negative things on D80 (compared to D50):
(1) Noise more obvious even at ISO400
(2) Picture not that sharp even with 50mm F1.8

Anybody having same issue? (or its just my feelings ... hmm.gif )
KTCY
QUOTE(ahmadpi @ Oct 9 2008, 11:35 AM)
I'm using D80 for 1 month++ now. Before this I'm using D50. I notice 2 negative things on D80 (compared to D50):
(1) Noise more obvious even at ISO400
(2) Picture not that sharp even with 50mm F1.8

Anybody having same issue? (or its just my feelings ...  hmm.gif )

Your hand problem ? tongue.gif
shinchan^^
D50 is darn sharp

D80 -> picture control +2

Added on October 9, 2008, 11:41 amstill not sharp
it is ur handshake or DOF not enough
ahmadpi
QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Oct 9 2008, 11:37 AM)
D50 is darn sharp
D80 -> picture control +2

Added on October 9, 2008, 11:41 amstill not sharp
it is ur handshake or DOF not enough

ok .. I'll try this setting.
alimony
what is the market price for D80 w/ 18-200 VR now?
KTCY
QUOTE(alimony @ Oct 9 2008, 02:42 PM)
what is the market price for D80 w/ 18-200 VR now?

D80 - RM 2,000
18-200 RM 2,xxx
mazaziman
kasi masuk racun skit... D80 pan shot

hsienming
u took that standing on the highway or your car also moving?
KTCY
QUOTE(mazaziman @ Oct 10 2008, 03:38 PM)
kasi masuk racun skit... D80 pan shot

Too small to judge the photo sharpness tongue.gif
Bigger reso please tongue.gif
mazaziman
QUOTE(hsienming @ Oct 10 2008, 09:10 PM)
u took that standing on the highway or your car also moving?

i'm standing on d divider.

btw, image not that sharp.
hsienming
wah so daring...
sherdil
QUOTE(ahmadpi @ Oct 9 2008, 11:54 AM)
ok .. I'll try this setting.

I had a D50 and sold it..now looking into D80.
Yes the D50 is better at higher ISO, but the D80 is
a better overall camera.

I thought the D80 only came with the 18-135mm lens, did
you buy separately and how much, if you dont mind.

Cheers
whack !
QUOTE(sherdil @ Oct 11 2008, 02:46 AM)
I had a D50 and sold it..now looking into D80.
Yes the D50 is better at higher ISO, but the D80 is
a better overall camera.

I thought the D80 only came with the 18-135mm lens, did
you buy separately and how much, if you dont mind.

Cheers

think ur ques is not directed to me but anyway i got my d80 with 18-108 VR which is the d90 kit lens from YL Photo at Pudu Plaza for RM3k
sherdil
QUOTE(whack ! @ Oct 11 2008, 03:17 AM)
think ur ques is not directed to me but anyway i got my d80 with 18-108 VR which is the d90 kit lens from YL Photo at Pudu Plaza for RM3k

I think its the 18-105mm VR.
Hows the lens, anything you would like to add, for my knowledge.
Thanks for the info.

Cheers
whack !
sorry..i meant 105..hehe..the lens is pretty good for general usage..but def hafta get a better lens..50 mm or a zoom lens with constant aperture
sherdil
QUOTE(whack ! @ Oct 11 2008, 12:44 PM)
sorry..i meant 105..hehe..the lens is pretty good for general usage..but def hafta get a better lens..50 mm or a zoom lens with constant aperture

I was thinking of the 16-85mm VR2, and its RM2,100.00.
Read that its a good lens, where it covers the wide side and also
a slightly better zoom.
Of course you cant touch the f2.8 or better lens but sometimes
it amazes me what some of these budget lens can do in the hands of
a good photographer.

Right now maybe look for a D80 used with low SC and get a 18-105mmVR and of course
i still have my Tokina 12-24mm f4 which is a great lens.
Looking at the 17-50mm f2.8 range but the only one within budget is the
Tamron and it doesnt have a longer reach, its one of the reasons i wont buy it.
I had a couple of lenses and sold them, quite tiring to change lenses...hehe..getting old la.

Cheers
hsienming
since u have wide angle get the tele then 70-200 VR brows.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.