metalz
Aug 29 2008, 10:13 AM
I'm using D80 with Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8, so far so good and not really give me problem but only facing slow focusing. And don't forget that transformer sound. But well, what you can expect from the price you get. Nikor memang ok but have to coup extra money la.
Delirium
Aug 29 2008, 10:31 AM
QUOTE(metalz @ Aug 29 2008, 10:13 AM)
I'm using D80 with Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8, so far so good and not really give me problem but only facing slow focusing. And don't forget that transformer sound. But well, what you can expect from the price you get. Nikor memang ok but have to coup extra money la.
How slow is it anyway? Bearable or it makes you wanna scream?
metalz
Aug 29 2008, 11:01 AM
QUOTE(Delirium @ Aug 29 2008, 10:31 AM)
How slow is it anyway? Bearable or it makes you wanna scream?
It's bearable but when you shoting candid that's the problem. By the time it's focus, your object not the way you like.
Kabadi84
Aug 29 2008, 07:31 PM
waa thanks fr the reply i definetetly gonna buy one ...nikkor hoo so expensive 4+ woo ...anybody tried phonttix bat grip before
yewkhuay
Aug 29 2008, 09:58 PM
T17-50mm works fine for me.
benlaw
Aug 29 2008, 10:41 PM
any d80 wan go shooting outing???
merdeka holiday 3 day rest
go go go
Added on August 29, 2008, 10:43 pmu all use any 3rd party d80 batt?
canrecommend??
edan1979
Sep 3 2008, 11:06 AM
got 1 topic asking about this last week i think... you can browse to find it...
hahaboy
Sep 3 2008, 09:56 PM
i m considering buy a new dslr , considering d80 and 450d, which 1 recoomend ? d80 seems a old model
razuryza
Sep 3 2008, 10:09 PM
QUOTE(hahaboy @ Sep 3 2008, 09:56 PM)
i m considering buy a new dslr , considering d80 and 450d, which 1 recoomend ? d80 seems a old model
u asking and then u answered it urself...
darthbaboon
Sep 3 2008, 10:20 PM
QUOTE(hahaboy @ Sep 3 2008, 09:56 PM)
D80 old model then buy D90 then!
edan1979
Sep 4 2008, 07:10 AM
yeah d90 is coming up... but i wont shift up yet... at least not for another year...
yewkhuay
Sep 5 2008, 12:37 AM
If shift oso won't shift to D90 jor lu....
razuryza
Sep 5 2008, 03:00 AM
QUOTE(yewkhuay @ Sep 5 2008, 12:37 AM)
If shift oso won't shift to D90 jor lu....
yeah..shift to D700 la..
ifer
Sep 5 2008, 08:52 AM
or shift to D400 in a couple of years time
mazaziman
Sep 5 2008, 09:46 AM
QUOTE(Delirium @ Aug 28 2008, 02:54 PM)
I thought the Tamron 17-50mm is a problematic lens?
yeah. i just read it somewhere on a photography forum. especially the new batch with built in AF motor. it seems that the problem occur when attached with D80. nobody reported about the problem with other Nikon DSLR. i'll try to find thread about this issue and i will posted it here.
Added on September 5, 2008, 9:49 amQUOTE(edan1979 @ Sep 4 2008, 07:10 AM)
yeah d90 is coming up... but i wont shift up yet... at least not for another year...
me too. i just love my D80. never think to change to the new D90. however i do think about upgrading to D300. hahaha
calvin_gsc
Sep 5 2008, 09:51 AM
QUOTE(mazaziman @ Sep 5 2008, 09:46 AM)
yeah. i just read it somewhere on a photography forum. especially the new batch with built in AF motor. it seems that the problem occur when attached with D80. nobody reported about the problem with other Nikon DSLR. i'll try to find thread about this issue and i will posted it here.
Added on September 5, 2008, 9:49 amme too. i just love my D80. never think to change to the new D90. however i do think about upgrading to D300. hahaha
Myself now having a D300 but wish I could have some of D90's features.
I may consider downgrading.
utopian86
Sep 5 2008, 09:52 AM
is D80 recommended for newbie?
Whats the pricing?
goldfries
Sep 5 2008, 09:53 AM
QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Sep 5 2008, 09:51 AM)
wow. what's so good a feature that you wish to downgrade? the video ability?
darthbaboon
Sep 5 2008, 09:54 AM
QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Sep 5 2008, 09:51 AM)
What specific feature does the D90 have that the D300 doesn't that makes you wanna downgrade? Movie?
mazaziman
QUOTE(mazaziman @ Sep 5 2008, 09:46 AM)
found the link
Tammy 17-50 problem
darthbaboon
QUOTE(goldfries @ Sep 5 2008, 09:53 AM)

Lol... same thoughts, phrased differently. ;p
mazaziman
Sep 5 2008, 09:55 AM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Sep 5 2008, 09:53 AM)

that's must be it. rite calvin?
darthbaboon
Sep 5 2008, 09:56 AM
QUOTE(utopian86 @ Sep 5 2008, 09:52 AM)
is D80 recommended for newbie?
Whats the pricing?
Even the D3 is recommended for newbie. ;p
It all depends on your budget bro, and your willingness to learn. If you are rich, just get the BEST and slowly learn from there. You don't have to worry about limitations anymore.
And yes the D80 is not bad a camera!
goldfries
Sep 5 2008, 09:57 AM
QUOTE(darthbaboon @ Sep 5 2008, 09:54 AM)
Lol... same thoughts, phrased differently. ;p
yeah i'm surprised also. 1st part and 2nd part also same content.
Added on September 5, 2008, 9:58 amQUOTE(darthbaboon @ Sep 5 2008, 09:56 AM)
And yes the D80 is not bad a camera!
if i go Nikon. it's D80 or higher. tried D40 and D60. didn't like them.
rather take D50 (which was actually the camera that i wanted in the first place) than whatever else available now.
calvin_gsc
Sep 5 2008, 10:00 AM
I participate in a lot of social activities and also occasional traveling. I don't want just to document my trips/activities with pictures only, but video too.
Besides that, the D90 has improvements with in-camera retouching and also straightening.
I think it has vignetting control, which is available on the D3 but not D300.
darthbaboon
Sep 5 2008, 10:11 AM
QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Sep 5 2008, 10:00 AM)
I participate in a lot of social activities and also occasional traveling. I don't want just to document my trips/activities with pictures only, but video too.
Besides that, the D90 has improvements with in-camera retouching and also straightening.
I've nothing against the video... which is prolly a good enough justification (not to mention the D90 is lighter too if you travel a lot).
I'm not so for the in-camera retouching features though. IMO, even a 3" LCD can't really tell you what's good and what's not, and you're likely to mis-touchup a photo or accidentally delete a good one. Nothing beats a good 17" (or bigger).

Vignetting control... get a better lens, or crop the edges. ;p
calvin_gsc
Sep 5 2008, 10:17 AM
QUOTE(darthbaboon @ Sep 5 2008, 10:11 AM)
I've nothing against the video... which is prolly a good enough justification (not to mention the D90 is lighter too if you travel a lot).
I'm not so for the in-camera retouching features though. IMO, even a 3" LCD can't really tell you what's good and what's not, and you're likely to mis-touchup a photo or accidentally delete a good one. Nothing beats a good 17" (or bigger).

Well, the retouching I want would only be straightening, distortion control and fish eye effect (yeah poor man's solution) and you can have fun with your photos.
What things do you expect the D90 to touch up which requires a big screen? I don't think there are any retouching feature that will require a big screen. If not mistaken among the retouching features are only filter effects, red eye correction, d-lighting, b&w and color balance.
Delirium
Sep 5 2008, 10:19 AM
Just bought the D80 wheee.
mazaziman
Sep 5 2008, 10:19 AM
QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Sep 5 2008, 10:00 AM)
berapa mau tolak itu D300?

Added on September 5, 2008, 10:20 amQUOTE(darthbaboon @ Sep 5 2008, 10:11 AM)

or shoot in RAW perhaps?
calvin_gsc
Sep 5 2008, 10:20 AM
QUOTE(mazaziman @ Sep 5 2008, 10:19 AM)
berapa mau tolak itu D300?

haha... It i tolak also will be sold in USA.
Market here now is US$1300-1400
goldfries
Sep 5 2008, 10:21 AM
back to prosumer, but with qualities of a DSLR.
so in video mode, the shutter have to open for a long time. any idea on how this affects the shutter lifespan?
calvin_gsc
Sep 5 2008, 10:23 AM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Sep 5 2008, 10:21 AM)
back to prosumer, but with qualities of a DSLR.
so in video mode, the shutter have to open for a long time. any idea on how this affects the shutter lifespan?
It shouldn't matter much right? It's like taking a long exposure photo. Still open once and close once also. I think there wont be any adverse effects.
darthbaboon
Sep 5 2008, 10:23 AM
QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Sep 5 2008, 10:17 AM)
Well, the retouching I want would only be straightening, distortion control and fish eye effect (yeah poor man's solution) and you can have fun with your photos.
What things do you expect to touch up on the D90?
Who me? Nothing really. I don't really PP in-camera unless the WB is wayyy out (which I usually recompose, set the WB and reshoot), otherwise seeing if the image is blurred enough to delete is more than sufficient for me. Everything else can be done after I download the photos.
For me the D90 appeals cause of weight (as compared to the D300, 205g lighter), and "supposedly" the same sensor capabilities of the D300. I'm no video fan, and everything else doesn't appeal compared to the D300.
calvin_gsc
Sep 5 2008, 10:24 AM
QUOTE(darthbaboon @ Sep 5 2008, 10:23 AM)
Who me? Nothing really. I don't really PP in-camera unless the WB is wayyy out (which I usually recompose, set the WB and reshoot), otherwise seeing if the image is blurred enough to delete is more than sufficient for me. Everything else can be done after I download the photos.
For me the D90 appeals cause of weight (as compared to the D300, 205g lighter), and "supposedly" the same sensor capabilities of the D300. I'm no video fan, and everything else doesn't appeal compared to the D300.
I don't think there are any retouching feature that will require a big screen. If not mistaken among the retouching features are only filter effects, red eye correction, d-lighting, b&w and color balance.
Any other form of retouching will definitely need a computer.
darthbaboon
Sep 5 2008, 10:27 AM
QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Sep 5 2008, 10:24 AM)
I don't think there are any retouching feature that will require a big screen. If not mistaken among the retouching features are only filter effects, red eye correction, d-lighting, b&w and color balance.
Any other form of retouching will definitely need a computer.
From experience using the D300 and D40X LCD viewing, photos that seem "wow" on the LCD would almost always turn out differently when viewed on big screen. Which is why I'd rather leave things alone and save my comments and retouching for when I download my photos => Time spent in the field is used to take more photos rather than retouch existing ones (even if to "tweak" shots).
But again, that's just me... my lappy travels with me everywhere, so it's pretty easy to download and clear the card, and hop out and shoot again.
calvin_gsc
Sep 5 2008, 10:33 AM
QUOTE(darthbaboon @ Sep 5 2008, 10:27 AM)
From experience using the D300 and D40X LCD viewing, photos that seem "wow" on the LCD would almost always turn out differently when viewed on big screen. Which is why I'd rather leave things alone and save my comments and retouching for when I download my photos => Time spent in the field is used to take more photos rather than retouch existing ones (even if to "tweak" shots).
But again, that's just me... my lappy travels with me everywhere, so it's pretty easy to download and clear the card, and hop out and shoot again.
I must agree, the screen is sometimes pretty deceiving.
mazaziman
Sep 5 2008, 10:35 AM
QUOTE(darthbaboon @ Sep 5 2008, 10:27 AM)
agree with u. sometimes on the LCD looks, wow, nice pics, when viewed on a bigger screen the image actually blur a bit. i always happen to me like that wif my D80
goldfries
Sep 5 2008, 10:35 AM
LCD to me is only to check on those confirm even on LCD look blur shots or composition.

if it looks nice on LCD - just don't be too sure. suddenly view it can see OOF la, slight shake la. aihhh.
darthbaboon
Sep 5 2008, 10:39 AM
Which brings us back to the point... unless you *swear* by in-camera touchup, otherwise, "downgrading" to a D90 just for that isn't too appealing.
The Video mode is a good reason though.
goldfries
Sep 5 2008, 10:40 AM
would be fun to video in UWA or macro mode.
calvin_gsc
Sep 5 2008, 10:43 AM
QUOTE(darthbaboon @ Sep 5 2008, 10:39 AM)
Which brings us back to the point... unless you *swear* by in-camera touchup, otherwise, "downgrading" to a D90 just for that isn't too appealing.
The Video mode is a good reason though.

What kind of major touch is is available on a nikon dslr besides d-lighting? You make it sound like there is a whole bunch of photoshop tools available.
Having extra features wont be any harm I'd say.
darthbaboon
Sep 5 2008, 10:52 AM
QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Sep 5 2008, 10:43 AM)
What kind of major touch is is available on a nikon dslr besides d-lighting? You make it sound like there is a whole bunch of photoshop tools available.
Having extra features wont be any harm I'd say.
The D90 has this new Extra High Mode D-Lighting that the D300 doesn't have. Again, we're just talking reference to downgrading from a D300 to a D90.
Yes, having extra features is always good, but only if you will use the features. One might say that we would use it "eventually", but what's to keep one from waiting longer for more features if one wishes to change simply based on features alone?
I'm still on the page of justifying D300 => D90 in my posted comments, but at the end of the day, it's your money mate... if you find that D300 => D90 is justified, go for it and enjoy!
utopian86
Sep 5 2008, 02:10 PM
i just check the web. D80 dont have live view. :-/
goldfries
Sep 5 2008, 02:12 PM
looking at this thread, i just realize there's Pocoyo and Pato.
sorry, off-topic.
QUOTE(utopian86 @ Sep 5 2008, 02:10 PM)
of course la. D80 released how many years back?
mazaziman
Sep 5 2008, 09:57 PM
QUOTE(utopian86 @ Sep 5 2008, 02:10 PM)
sorry, but u just realize that? rite now only D90, D300, D700 and D3 in nikon DSLR line up have live view. others, no
edit: sorry,
D60 don't have liveview
scorgio
Sep 5 2008, 10:34 PM
QUOTE(mazaziman @ Sep 5 2008, 09:57 PM)
sorry, but u just realize that? rite now only
D60, D90, D300, D700 and D3 in nikon DSLR line up have live view. others, no
This is new. Since when D60 got live view?
asfax
Sep 5 2008, 11:56 PM
Huh since when D60 have live view ... mine DONT HAVE he he he
benlaw
Sep 6 2008, 10:29 AM
who wan selld80 extra batt
pm me lo
mazaziman
Sep 7 2008, 06:39 AM
QUOTE(asfax @ Sep 5 2008, 11:56 PM)
Huh since when D60 have live view ... mine DONT HAVE he he he
owh? dun have ar? sorry, my mistake.
jungle_boy
Sep 7 2008, 11:47 AM
i'm also d80 user...

hurm...have anyone try phottix battery grip...?is there any big different from ori mb-d80...?
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.