yeah_guyz
Jul 14 2008, 11:54 PM
Ok, i've decided to start my own journal too, too ease the tracking of my workout progress
Yeahz's Current Stat2008 July 14
Name: yeah_guyz
Height: 171cm
Week 12 Status-2008 October 5Weight: 81.7kg
Body Fat: 28%
Skeletal Muscle: 36.1%
BMR: 1816Kcal
BMI: 27.9
Visceral Fat Level: 10
Measured at 2008 July 14
Chest 39"
Waist 37"
Hips 40.5
Week 1 Status-2008 July 14Weight: 77.7kg
Skeletal Muscle: 35.9%
BMR: 1756Kcal
BMI: 26.6
Visceral Fat Level: 9
Week 2 status-2008 July 21Weight: 77.2kg
Body Fat: 27.4%
Skeletal Muscle: 36.3%
BMR: 1750Kcal
BMI: 26.4
Week 3 status-2008 July 28Weight: 77.7kg
Body Fat: 27.2%
Skeletal Muscle: 36.4%
BMR: 1759Kcal
Own Reference» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... «
Personal Log» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... «
12nd August 2008- Started Rippetoe Strength Workout from week 5
29th October 2008- Bought 1 tub of On's Whey-Double rich Chocolate and started consuming
4th November 2008- Bought 1.5kg of Glucose Polymer and started consuming
Goals: Weight:70Kg
Body Fat: less than 20%
Better body shape
34" Waist
Weekly Workout Monday: Strength workout
Tuesday: Swimming workout
Wednesday: Strength workout
Thursday: Swimming workout
Friday: Strength workout
Saturday: Swimming workout
yeah_guyz
Jul 14 2008, 11:55 PM
Week 1,Day 1
Monday, 2008 July 14today will be the 1st day i started my program,but it was a bad day, as i had a insomnia night..only able to sleep at 5am =.= , awaken at 2pm
Strength WorkoutDeadlift with 2 dumbbell
1x12x10kg(2x5kg)
1x12x6kg(2x3kg)
p/s 1st attempt of deadlift

, i nearly exhausted after 1st set, so reduce to lighter weight
Dumbbell Squat
1x12x10kg
1x12x6kg
Dumbbell Lunges
2x12x6kg
Concentration Biceps Curl
2x12x6kg
Dumbbell Kickback(Triceps)
2x12x6kg
Push Up
2x12
Cross-knee Crunch
2x20
Quarter sit-up
2x12
Diet2pm Brunch: 2 slice of whole wheat bread with peanut butter, 2 slice of whole wheat bread with Salmon spread
6.15pm Strength workout
8pm Dinner: Rice with vege+pork+taofu
11pm Supper: A slice of Salmon spread whole wheat bread
JIB-89
Jul 15 2008, 12:22 AM
how do you deadlift with 2 dumbells?
and how do you curl your triceps?
yeah_guyz
Jul 15 2008, 12:38 AM
QUOTE(JIB-89 @ Jul 15 2008, 12:22 AM)
how do you deadlift with 2 dumbells?and how do you curl your triceps?

Why not?
http://youtube.com/watch?v=j8YJ_tfLPJQp/s she has a nice hips
haha, mixed up btw bicep and triceps
edited, thanks for enlighten
StrikeZ
Jul 15 2008, 08:48 AM
You sure one day is enough for your body to rest ?
Sp00kY
Jul 15 2008, 09:12 AM
I would recommend a split body workout.
yeah_guyz
Jul 15 2008, 09:54 AM
QUOTE(StrikeZ @ Jul 15 2008, 08:48 AM)
You sure one day is enough for your body to rest ?
yeah, swimming is not a intense excercise
i will only swim at low pace
QUOTE(Sp00kY @ Jul 15 2008, 09:12 AM)
i am just a beginer, Total Body 1st, after few weeks, will move into Split body
pizzaboy
Jul 15 2008, 10:00 AM
QUOTE(Sp00kY @ Jul 15 2008, 09:12 AM)
why?
yeah_guyz
Jul 15 2008, 10:06 AM
QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Jul 15 2008, 10:00 AM)
i guess that he think split workout can has more rest
pizzaboy
Jul 15 2008, 10:18 AM
yeah_guyz, you're a beginner I assume?
Go and train hard like hell. Just train like mad, and keep training past the muscular pain. Stop believing in overtraining and god knows what when you're a beginner. It doesn't happen so easily. If you swim, I assume your GPP is already reasonably good.
Don't worry so much about overtraining, and all the rest. Just makan, tidur, train, swim. It's not that easy to overtrain.
Sp00kY
Jul 15 2008, 10:30 AM
QUOTE(yeah_guyz @ Jul 15 2008, 09:54 AM)
yeah, swimming is not a intense excercise
i will only swim at low pace
i am just a beginer, Total Body 1st, after few weeks, will move into Split body

It is ur wish to do total body or split body. The reason i recommend split body is because i find it more effective on me.I tried total body and realized that i do not know how to properly trigger the correct muscles which results in wrong training. Training is about urself on which u think suits u, this is my thinking la, u can keep trying and see which is the best
yeah_guyz
Jul 15 2008, 11:48 AM
QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Jul 15 2008, 10:18 AM)
yeah_guyz, you're a beginner I assume?
Go and train hard like hell. Just train like mad, and keep training past the muscular pain. Stop believing in overtraining and god knows what when you're a beginner. It doesn't happen so easily. If you swim, I assume your GPP is already reasonably good.Don't worry so much about overtraining, and all the rest. Just makan, tidur, train, swim. It's not that easy to overtrain.
haha, i love your post

Bravo!!!
current workout already made me exhausted...lol
i think will stick to my program 1st, and increase intensity per week/month
yeah, i am new in Strength workout, what's is GPP?mind to enlighten?
QUOTE(Sp00kY @ Jul 15 2008, 10:30 AM)
It is ur wish to do total body or split body. The reason i recommend split body is because i find it more effective on me.I tried total body and realized that i do not know how to properly trigger the correct muscles which results in wrong training. Training is about urself on which u think suits u, this is my thinking la, u can keep trying and see which is the best

You are what you think...haa
pizzaboy
Jul 15 2008, 12:03 PM
General physical preparedness. It refers to your ability to do physical tasks. Some people will low GPP find themselves tired and unable to perform their exercises explosively as they reach the later part of their training. It sort of like, stamina, endurance strength.
Many powerlifters and weightlifters will recommend that you do something to increase your GPP. Such as car push/pull, flipping a tire round and round and drag it about, doing Crossfit workouts (google if you don't understand what it means).
All these activities increase your cardiac strength and endurance abilities which will then translate to increase work capacity, which helps you involve more exercises in one session without getting tired too quickly. Yes ultimately you'll get tired, but the question is when? Within 15 minutes? Within 1 hour? 2 hours?
Ppl with higher GPP capacities are able to perform more tasks in a given amount of time. A beginner would struggle past a 45 minute heavy compound workout, but a higher level trainee would have no issues going past 1 hour of heavy training, then doing a little explosive finishing work. Eventually your GPP will increase and you'll be able to squeeze more explosive movements in a session.
And hey presto, a more powerful, strong, explosive athlete. Mind you though, this doesn't happen overnight, requires some real sweat and mental strength to push the limits.
jones007
Jul 15 2008, 01:08 PM
QUOTE(yeah_guyz @ Jul 15 2008, 12:38 AM)
nice ass. but bad form
JIB-89
Jul 15 2008, 01:29 PM
What kind of strength routine you on? keep in mind that when you start to get more serious with it, you cant afford to train that often and you're gonna need more time to recover
Dont be to focused on split body routines unless you intend to do a BB routine
John91
Jul 15 2008, 02:35 PM
Are you a guy or a girl? 5kg dumb bell is too light... I'm 17 and I lift 10kg per hand easily. Plus you do too little sets. You gotta do hell lot more than that to lose weight.
P.s: Not meant as an insult, pointing out only.
yeah_guyz
Jul 15 2008, 10:15 PM
QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Jul 15 2008, 12:03 PM)
General physical preparedness. It refers to your ability to do physical tasks. Some people will low GPP find themselves tired and unable to perform their exercises explosively as they reach the later part of their training. It sort of like, stamina, endurance strength.
Many powerlifters and weightlifters will recommend that you do something to increase your GPP. Such as car push/pull, flipping a tire round and round and drag it about, doing Crossfit workouts (google if you don't understand what it means).
All these activities increase your cardiac strength and endurance abilities which will then translate to increase work capacity, which helps you involve more exercises in one session without getting tired too quickly. Yes ultimately you'll get tired, but the question is when? Within 15 minutes? Within 1 hour? 2 hours?
Ppl with higher GPP capacities are able to perform more tasks in a given amount of time. A beginner would struggle past a 45 minute heavy compound workout, but a higher level trainee would have no issues going past 1 hour of heavy training, then doing a little explosive finishing work. Eventually your GPP will increase and you'll be able to squeeze more explosive movements in a session.
And hey presto, a more powerful, strong, explosive athlete. Mind you though, this doesn't happen overnight, requires some real sweat and mental strength to push the limits.
thanks for the great info
QUOTE(jones007 @ Jul 15 2008, 01:08 PM)
lol, sure nice
bad form? i am following her form
so any better form for deadlift? Link?
QUOTE(JIB-89 @ Jul 15 2008, 01:29 PM)
What kind of strength routine you on? keep in mind that when you start to get more serious with it, you cant afford to train that often and you're gonna need more time to recover
Dont be to focused on split body routines unless you intend to do a BB routine
yeah, thanks
QUOTE(John91 @ Jul 15 2008, 02:35 PM)
Are you a guy or a girl? 5kg dumb bell is too light... I'm 17 and I lift 10kg per hand easily. Plus you do too little sets. You gotta do hell lot more than that to lose weight.
P.s: Not meant as an insult, pointing out only.
LOL, you're so cute
yeah_guyz
Jul 15 2008, 11:09 PM
Week 1, Days 2
Tuesday, 2008 July 15yeah, swimming, i love swimming, dont you?
Today was a bad day too, as the fcking insomnia at yesterday night, only slept 3 hours
Swimming WorkoutWarm up
2x50(:15 Swim
4x25(:15 Kick
1x500(:60 Swim
2x50(:Drill
2x50(:Kick
2x50(:Pull
Warm-down
2x50(:Loosen
Stretch
Total: 1100m
Diet8am: Breakfast- A cup of coffee, 2 slice of Salmon WW bread, 3 spoon of oat
11am: Snack- 1 Slice of WW bread
2pm: Lunch- Rice with vege,taofu,chiken
5.30pm: A cup of milk
7pm: Swimming workout
9pm: Dinner- Roti Canai, Omelette, Fried Chiken Breast
11.30pm: A cup of milk
yeahs4.1
Jul 16 2008, 09:33 AM
QUOTE(jones007 @ Jul 15 2008, 01:08 PM)
yeah, it looks weird to me too. maybe because of the dumbbell, or different version of the deadlift that we normally do which is stiff-leg deadlift..
refer to this one:
http://stronglifts.com/how-to-deadlift-wit...oper-technique/http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/wotw52.htmrefer to "MATTA114'S Write Up", there are video for a proper deadlift under "WORKOUT A"
p/s: i'm thinking that it's her boobs that makes it looks weird, lol

anyway, your shouldn't take roti canai into your diet, dinner somemore. dont take heavy carb meal in your last meal, especially dinner. increase your protein intake too
yeah_guyz
Jul 16 2008, 07:29 PM
QUOTE(yeahs4.1 @ Jul 16 2008, 09:33 AM)
yeah, it looks weird to me too. maybe because of the dumbbell, or different version of the deadlift that we normally do which is stiff-leg deadlift..
refer to this one:
http://stronglifts.com/how-to-deadlift-wit...oper-technique/http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/wotw52.htmrefer to "MATTA114'S Write Up", there are video for a proper deadlift under "WORKOUT A"
p/s: i'm thinking that it's her boobs that makes it looks weird, lol

anyway, your shouldn't take roti canai into your diet, dinner somemore. dont take heavy carb meal in your last meal, especially dinner. increase your protein intake too
lol, i bet that you guy eying at her boob more than her form..haha
thanks for the link,it's help alot
today is my rest day ..1st strength workout made my muscle so sore, still not recover yet
JIB-89
Jul 16 2008, 07:48 PM
how long u been training? Is this Your first time lifting weights?
yeah_guyz
Jul 16 2008, 08:45 PM
QUOTE(JIB-89 @ Jul 16 2008, 07:48 PM)
how long u been training? Is this Your first time lifting weights?
yup, 1st attempt in deadlift,lunges,Squat
yeah_guyz
Jul 16 2008, 10:08 PM
Week 1,Day 3
Wednesday, 2008 July 16
Rest Day
Diet
3pm: Brunch- Salmon spread 2 slice of WW Bread, LF milk, Omellet(2 egg),vege
5.30pm: Apple
8.15pm: Fried chicken breast, vege,1 broiled egg
yeah_guyz
Jul 17 2008, 03:01 PM
lol, i am having my great lunch,yeah it tastes good
Frittata!!!

beware,, dont click the spoiler, otherwise hunger can lead you to death
iamyuanwu
Jul 17 2008, 03:13 PM
Oi, you post pictures but no recipe!!!
Apa ni.... make me hungry lah!
Recipe... recipe... recipe... recipe... recipe... recipe... recipe... recipe... recipe... recipe... recipe... recipe... recipe... recipe... recipe... recipe... recipe... recipe... recipe... recipe... recipe... recipe... recipe... recipe...
XD
yeah_guyz
Jul 17 2008, 03:22 PM
QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Jul 17 2008, 03:13 PM)
Oi, you post pictures but no recipe!!!
Apa ni.... make me hungry lah!
Recipe... recipe... recipe... recipe... recipe... recipe... recipe... recipe... recipe... recipe... recipe... recipe... recipe... recipe... recipe... recipe... recipe... recipe... recipe... recipe... recipe... recipe... recipe... recipe...
XD
lol, refer to here
recipehttp://busycooks.about.com/od/sausagerecip...confrittata.htmInstructionhttp://busycooks.about.com/od/breakfastrec...afrittatast.htmbut i didnt follow all the recipe, i dint use pasta
once all the thing done, i just remember that i forgot to put yogurt and milk...lol WTF
but it's still taste good, and easy to cook too
Sp00kY
Jul 17 2008, 03:54 PM
looks damn good lo, I am hungry now...
yeah_guyz
Jul 17 2008, 04:05 PM
QUOTE(Sp00kY @ Jul 17 2008, 03:54 PM)
looks damn good lo, I am hungry now...
try and cook it, my 1st attempt..took me only 30min
and it taste good and healthy food, u can use any recipe as you like
Sp00kY
Jul 17 2008, 04:06 PM
I dont have an oven...maybe i should try using the microwave one
yeah_guyz
Jul 17 2008, 04:09 PM
QUOTE(Sp00kY @ Jul 17 2008, 04:06 PM)
I dont have an oven...maybe i should try using the microwave one

deng, microwave will do la
alot method actually, i saw there is people using gas to cook it with the pan and cover
try youtube, there alot method..lol
Sp00kY
Jul 17 2008, 04:20 PM
Well, as an egg lover, as long as there's egg in it, everything will taste perfect. I was bored with plain chicken with bread, and I did omelet with strips of chicken!!! Nice!
yeah_guyz
Jul 17 2008, 11:12 PM
QUOTE(Sp00kY @ Jul 17 2008, 04:20 PM)
Well, as an egg lover, as long as there's egg in it, everything will taste perfect. I was bored with plain chicken with bread, and I did omelet with strips of chicken!!! Nice!
i got no chicken in my fridge, tomorrow gotta go Jusco to get some
yeah_guyz
Jul 17 2008, 11:56 PM
Week 1, Day 4
Thursday, 2008 July 17
yeah, swimming day again
Swimming Workout
Warm up
2x100(:15 Swim
Stretch
1x400(:60 Swim
8x25(:10 Kick
8x25(:20 Drill
8x50(:20 Pull
5x100(:30 Swim
Warm-down
2x50(:20 Loosen
Total Distance: 2000m
Diet
9.15am: Breakfast- A cup of coffee, 2 slice of Salmon WW bread, 1 slice of PB WW bread, 1 half-boiled egg
12am: Snack- Apple
3.15pm: Lunch- Frittata,tomato,vege
5.30pm: Tea- A cup of milk,oat
7pm: Swimming workout
9.15pm: Dinner- 2x Fried Chiken Breast,tomato,vege
10.30pm: Durian...lol
12.00am: half cup of milk
11.30pm: A cup of milk
yeah_guyz
Jul 19 2008, 12:27 AM
Week 1,Day 5
Friday, 2008 July 18
Strength Workout
DB Deadlift
2x12x12kg(2x6kg)
Alternating Shoulder Press
2x12x6kg(2x3kg)
Lateral Raise
2x12x6kg(2x3kg)
DB Squat
2x12x12kg
DB Lunges
2x12x12kg
DB Press
2x12x12kg(2x6kg)
Cross-knee Crunch
2x20
Quarter sit-up
2x12
Push Up
2x12
2x12x6kg
Triceps Overhead Press
1x12x6kg
2x12x3kg
Diet
1.30pm Brunch- sugarfree coffee,1 slice of WW bread with SalmonSpread, Frittata, tomato, cabbage
5pm Teatime- half cup of LF milk, oatmeal
5.45pm Strength workout
7pm Apple
8.30pm 1 slice of WW bread with SalmonSpread
9pm Dinner- Water-boiled Chicken breast, cabbage, broccoli,sugarfree coffee
12pm Supper: biscuit, half cup of LF milk
yeah_guyz
Jul 20 2008, 01:50 AM
Week 1, Day 6
Saturday, 2008 July 19yeah, swimming day again
Swimming WorkoutWarm up
1x200(:35 Swim
Stretch
1x400(:60 Swim
4x50(:20 Drill
8x25(:10 Kick
8x50(:20 Pull
Warm-down
2x100(:20 Loosen
Total Distance: 1600m
Diet2.30pm: BrunchA cup of coffee, 2 slice of PB WW bread,2 half-boiled egg
4.15pm: Tea 2 oat biscuit
5.15pm: Tea A cup of LF milk
Oatmeal
6.15pm: Swimming workout 6pm: Swimming workout
8.15pm: Dinner 2x Fried Chiken Breast
Frittata
so full after having this meals, probably taking too much
2am: Supper
1 cup of milk, 2 oat biscuit
yeah_guyz
Jul 20 2008, 09:27 PM
Week 1, Day 7
Sunday, 2008 July 20Rest DayToday, treat yourself to something you love and enjoy every bite.
Diet2pm: BrunchA cup of coffee
2 slice of PB WW bread
2 hard-boiled egg(wanted to cook half-boiled...but overcooked

)
4.15pm: Tea 1 oat biscuit
5pm: Tea Apple
2 oat biscuit
6pm: Snack 2 slice of PB WW bread
8.15pm: Dinner Nescafe ice
Popiah
Sizzling pork yi mee
yeah_guyz
Jul 21 2008, 10:03 PM
today right after i awake from my dream, the 1st thing i did is stepped on my Weight and body fat scale
i am using Omron HBF-500
click spoiler for the pic
so happy, after 1st week of workout, it's showed positive figure, i lost some body fat and gain some muscle at the same time
Week 1 status
Weight: 77.7kg
Skeletal Muscle: 35.9%
BMR: 1756Kcal
Week 2 status
Weight: 77.2kg
Body Fat: 27.4%
Skeletal Muscle: 36.3%
BMR: 1750Kcal
BMI: 26.4
yeah_guyz
Jul 22 2008, 01:22 AM
Week 2, Day 8
Monday, 2008 July 21
Strength Workout
Warm-up
5min robe jumping
Full Body Stretch
DB Deadlift
2x12x14kg(2x7kg)
Alternating Shoulder Press
1x12x14kg(2x7kg)
1x12x10kg(2x5kg)
Lateral Raise
1x12x14kg(2x7kg)
1x12x10kg(2x5kg)
DB Squat
2x12x14kg
DB Lunges
2x20x14kg
DB Press
2x12x20kg(2x10kg)
1x12x9kg
1x12x7kg
DB Kickback
1x12x5kg
1x12x4kg
Cross-knee Crunch
2x20
Quarter sit-up
2x12
Plank
2x30s
Push Up
2x12
Warm-down
Full body Stretch
Diet
2pm: Brunch
A cup of coffee
3 hard-boiled egg
Chicken Breast
Broccoli
5pm: Tea
2 Sweet Potato
A cup of milk
6pm: Strength workout
7.45pm Snack
An Apple
8.15pm: Dinner
A cup of coffee
Broccoli
Chicken Breast
2 Hard-boiled egg
1am: Supper
A cup of milk
Biscuit
JIB-89
Jul 22 2008, 07:54 AM
not trying to be an ass here but how is this a strength workout?
Did you design this program by yourself or get it off a website/magazine?
yeah_guyz
Jul 22 2008, 03:06 PM
QUOTE(JIB-89 @ Jul 22 2008, 07:54 AM)
not trying to be an ass here but how is this a strength workout?
Did you design this program by yourself or get it off a website/magazine?
anything wrong with it?
Desvaro
Jul 22 2008, 03:27 PM
QUOTE(yeah_guyz @ Jul 22 2008, 03:06 PM)
anything wrong with it?

That is NOWHERE near a strength workout
Sp00kY
Jul 22 2008, 03:52 PM
I think you are doing too light and too little. I am curious on whether is it difficult for u to complete your entire workout? Well, I do not know how strong you are but your weights used are a bit too light. However, I am no one to judge on that too.
Just my 2 cents la, I think it is a bit too light. My definition of workout is really working out where I really have to use strength to complete it. How do I know if i did workout? I will feel the soreness and muscle tightening after the workout and sometimes the sore can last for a few days.
I THINK a lot of people are working out the wrong way ( I may not be right), they are exercising instead of working out. Eg, I used to workout by doing pushups, but I dont do it now as my body weight is not sufficient to "trigger" the muscles and I call the pushups cardio exercises haha. (well, unless u are doing some 100 reps of pushups). Some of them are not even growing and it is not the food they take, but it is the effort and how hard they push. If you dont push, u wont gain.
I am not trying to flame.....2 cents worth..
I think this is a good article, and I planned my workout based on this fellow
Armin "biggest arms" Scholz"Do not focus on the weights you will lift, they do not matter. Instead your goal should be to pump up your arms to a point where they are so saturated with blood that they have temporarily lost all flexibility and you can’t even reach for the back of your head anymore."<--- this is what happens after my workout
[/quote]
yeah_guyz
Jul 22 2008, 04:10 PM
QUOTE(Sp00kY @ Jul 22 2008, 03:52 PM)
I think you are doing too light and too little. I am curious on whether is it difficult for u to complete your entire workout? Well, I do not know how strong you are but your weights used are a bit too light. However, I am no one to judge on that too.
Just my 2 cents la,
I think it is a bit too light. My definition of workout is really working out where I really have to use strength to complete it. How do I know if i did workout?
I will feel the soreness and muscle tightening after the workout and sometimes the sore can last for a few days.I THINK a lot of people are working out the wrong way ( I may not be right), they are exercising instead of working out. Eg, I used to workout by doing pushups, but I dont do it now as my body weight is not sufficient to "trigger" the muscles and I call the pushups cardio exercises haha. (well, unless u are doing some 100 reps of pushups). Some of them are not even growing and it is not the food they take, but it is the effort and how hard they push. If you dont push, u wont gain.
I am not trying to flame.....2 cents worth..
Armin "biggest arms" Scholz"Do not focus on the weights you will lift, they do not matter. Instead your goal should be to pump up your arms to a point where they are so saturated with blood that they have temporarily lost all flexibility and you can’t even reach for the back of your head anymore."<--- this is what happens after my workout
yeah, thanks for the talk,it's helps
yap, it might be to too light for others, BUT i am just a beginner, as you can see i am slowly adding more poundage
and yeah, every of my workout did made me feel the soreness after the workout and sore for few days
and i having a bad form of few workout, so i don''t wanna put heavy weight until i got a good form
and i done it at Home, i dont feel like going to gym,
more comment is welcomed
yeahs4.1
Jul 22 2008, 04:22 PM
hmm, i dont feel that. in fact, i never try stretching my arms after i workout to see if they can touch each other. but most of the time, after an intense workout, my muscles are like pulling each other, very tight. it's very obvious for arms, especially biceps and forearm. i can feel that blood pumping into them and my elbow doesnt stay in straight if i dont force it to become straight. for quads, abs, traps, shoulder they feel like burning for a short period.
Sp00kY
Jul 22 2008, 04:35 PM
QUOTE(yeah_guyz @ Jul 22 2008, 04:10 PM)
yeah, thanks for the talk,it's helps
yap, it might be to too light for others, BUT i am just a beginner, as you can see i am slowly adding more poundage
and yeah, every of my workout did made me feel the soreness after the workout and sore for few days
and i having a bad form of few workout, so i don''t wanna put heavy weight until i got a good form
and i done it at Home, i dont feel like going to gym,
more comment is welcomed

Take pictures of yourself to track if you are growing or not. That is the best way to see if the effect of your workout. If you don't see any changes then you should do something:). Just keep your training as long as you know what you are doing. It is good that you are increasing the weights. Yeah, it is very important to workout at a good and correct form. If you dont, you might train it the wrong way the worst if you injured yourself. Keep testing and trying to find something that suits you. I tried full-body workout but I don't really like it:). Good luck mate...
QUOTE(yeahs4.1 @ Jul 22 2008, 04:22 PM)
hmm, i dont feel that. in fact, i never try stretching my arms after i workout to see if they can touch each other. but most of the time, after an intense workout, my muscles are like pulling each other, very tight. it's very obvious for arms, especially biceps and forearm. i can feel that blood pumping into them and my elbow doesnt stay in straight if i dont force it to become straight. for quads, abs, traps, shoulder they feel like burning for a short period.
I like that feeling.....hard muscles... hahah..
JIB-89
Jul 22 2008, 04:56 PM
"Do not focus on the weights you will lift, they do not matter. Instead your goal should be to pump up your arms to a point where they are so saturated with blood that they have temporarily lost all flexibility and you can’t even reach for the back of your head anymore."<--- this is what happens after my workout
If your goal is really strength than you have to ignore this. thats why its important to periodize, if you're new to training than there's a high chance you'll mess things up and achieve little if you try to train for two goals at once. Unless you really understand the science behind it, diet and training etc etc, best you focus on one first.
and my point was never based on your poundages. its more on your workload and choice of exercises
but if all of it is performed at home than i guess that explains it
If you wanna get a better idea for your training try reading Maximum strength by Eric Cressey, i got it at borders, it's simplified so beginners can understand it
yeah_guyz
Jul 23 2008, 12:35 AM
Week 2, Day 8
Tuesday, 2008 July 22
Rest day
Diet
2pm: Brunch
A cup of coffee
3 hard-boiled egg
Oatmeal
An apple
6pm: Tea
A cup of milk
Apple
7.45pm Dinner
Fried Kuey Teow
Fried Chicken Breast
Teh Ice
12.30am: Supper
A cup of HL milk
Biscuit
Sp00kY
Jul 23 2008, 09:18 AM
QUOTE(JIB-89 @ Jul 22 2008, 04:56 PM)
If your goal is really strength than you have to ignore this. thats why its important to periodize, if you're new to training than there's a high chance you'll mess things up and achieve little if you try to train for two goals at once. Unless you really understand the science behind it, diet and training etc etc, best you focus on one first.
and my point was never based on your poundages. its more on your workload and choice of exercises
but if all of it is performed at home than i guess that explains it
If you wanna get a better idea for your training try reading Maximum strength by Eric Cressey, i got it at borders, it's simplified so beginners can understand it
Thanks Jib,
btw, can you elaborate more on "periodize"?
Besides, what are the difference between strength and muscle training?
Yeah I am new....
JIB-89
Jul 23 2008, 09:32 AM
QUOTE(Sp00kY @ Jul 23 2008, 09:18 AM)
Thanks Jib,
Yeah I am new....
periodize meaning you set periods to focus at one goals. meaning you could focus on bulking this month and cutting the next, then strength rather than achieve all at once
BB is what you would call "muscle training" with hypertrophy as the main focus, strength would be the by product
programs like westside is strength, hypertrophy comes as a by product, most of them focus on lifting your absolute max within ranges from 1-3 reps
Obviously if you're just trying to get stronger, you'll have better progress with routines like westside
pizzaboy
Jul 23 2008, 09:51 AM
QUOTE(Sp00kY @ Jul 23 2008, 09:18 AM)
Thanks Jib,
Yeah I am new....
There was a course offered in Tennessee Tech University that had a whole semester touching on the concepts of periodization. It explained about the benefits of periodization compared to congjugate training, how it works and why it works, is it better in comparison to work on two things or just one at a time, how muscle fibers are connected and god knows what other schmalongey
Here I shall simplify the entire semester of reading that I still sometimes can't understand a thing of two.
Periodization - Simply doing one thing at a time.
Period 1:To increase your work capacity so you can endure the harsh trainings of weightlifting or strongman.
Period 2:To increase your muscle/hypertrophy via the participation of compound bodybuilding routines to hit a particular weight
Period 3:To increase strength via compound movements but in a differing rep range, % calculation
Period 4:To increase speed and explosiveness via more plyometric based training
Period 5:To peak, maximizing 1RM training if in weightlifting. Or peak in endurance/strength based training for strongman
Extra elaboration, PAY ME! Nah, you don't need to know anymore, other than that it's more for trainers and coaches to understand. After this things can get REALLY complex.
How the fcuk do I know all this!???? ArghH! I need to get a life.......
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.