Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: LYN Guitar Phreaks Club v8.1
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Audiophiles > Musicians
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46
quarantined
Haha a V with P-90s? nice! I always like that kinda odd stuff. Was asking the guy in Woh Fatt to bring in some SX P-90s models but too bad he say "no market here lah..." =(
echobrainproject
any idea when those digital wireless units from line 6 are hitting our shores?
enteryourusername
some questions here.

i always change my guitar strings gauge from 0.09 to 0.1 to 0.09 back and forth. will it cause my neck to warp? if it will, will it reach a certain level that i cant recover my guitar neck to optimum performance anymore?

p/s: i'm living at mlk, n i dun think mlk has any nice guitar tech, n i'm quite bz to send it to kl. sad.gif

thnx.
RustReaver4D1
QUOTE(enteryourusername @ Aug 10 2008, 03:26 AM)
some questions here.

i always change my guitar strings gauge from 0.09 to 0.1 to 0.09 back and forth. will it cause my neck to warp? if it will, will it reach a certain level that i cant recover my guitar neck to optimum performance anymore?

nah. I don't think it will warp your neck since the difference in gauge is so small.

But it may affect your intonation...

thumbup.gif
Everdying
on one of my SGs i used to go between 10 to 11 and back, cos that time 11 gauge not easy to find.
basically no real noticeable problems.
Mr. Z
i wanted to switch to 0.11 as well, but the hassle of readjusting my trem heights and all puts me off.. coz i might change back to 0.10 if i cant handle it..
crysania

For me, I'm using .008 & .009.
Reli dunno the difference.

Cheers...
SweetTooth
.008 blink.gif
i cant play strings that thin haha
blacktrix
The last time I used .008, it always snaps.
That's why you have to toughen up and upgrade to .009 or heck .011

Or just downgrade to a Bass tongue.gif
enteryourusername
thnx all. smile.gif then i can stop worrying bout my guitar edi, can change watever strings i can find when i need. biggrin.gif

n blacktrix, why switch to bass from guitar is a downgrade? tongue.gif
Dead Eye
i tink he meant thicker strings
Mr. Z
once i tasted the adrenaline of using 0.1, i never turned back..
lol..
I was hoping to build up to 0.11, but laziness got me, i dun feel like setting up my guitar again, it was a chore..
SweetTooth
i feel like changing my 10's to 11's also, but i bought a whole box of 10-52's from blacktrix already
blacktrix
............which he still hasn't collected tongue.gif
Mr. Z
what string have u bought sweettooth?

Added on August 10, 2008, 10:57 pmbtw, does anyone know why my 1st and 2nd string sounds out of tune when i bend the 3rd one? But sounds normally when played normally?
I m using a strat btw..
evalshtog
d addario 140's thumbup.gif
sean392
QUOTE(Mr. Z @ Aug 10 2008, 08:44 PM)
once i tasted the adrenaline of using 0.1, i never turned back..
lol..
I was hoping to build up to 0.11, but laziness got me, i dun feel like setting up my guitar again, it was a chore..

=/
I've swapped gauges from .10s to .11s
Then after bout a year or two of playing .11s I dropped down to .09s. (Floating bridge ba)
Tonally .11s is fuller, but requires a lot of finger stamina, which I didn't really have =(
.09s are nice now haha!!
I used to think .09s were for whimps
I'M A WHIMP NOW cry.gif but I like it =p
echobrainproject
was walking around bentley today and realised that i dont want anything besides the mesa amps.
gosh, my GAS has gotten so bad that things there dont appeal anymore. (but then i'll never afford)
sean392
Anyway, what do you guys think about the Marshall Guv'nor 2 plus?
I heard a quite few clips, and I find it to my liking, around the same tone as my UK model on the Vox AD.
I'll be leaving to study abroad, so I won't be able to bring my amp, so I'm looking for a Brit type distortion alternative and I want to be able to bring around with me.

@gappy
that guys crunchbox got prob =(
Guv'nor original UK and Bluesbreaker out of my budget

Everdying
the marshall guvnor is the only marshall pedal im interested in.
but why dont u just take out abit more and get the line6 pocketpod?

since ur going overseas, that one is a better buy.
sean392
QUOTE(Everdying @ Aug 10 2008, 11:58 PM)
the marshall guvnor is the only marshall pedal im interested in.
but why dont u just take out abit more and get the line6 pocketpod?

since ur going overseas, that one is a better buy.

Gatal stompbox thats y =p
i was thinking if really kenot get
then maybe i just get a UX2
won't disturb room/housemates if use headphones ba,
but teh GAS for a stompbox!!! itchy!!!=p
Everdying
ux2 is more expensive than pocketpod.
pocketpod also can use headphones.
gapnap
QUOTE(sean392 @ Aug 10 2008, 11:50 PM)
I heard a quite few clips, and I find it to my liking, around the same tone as my UK model on the Vox AD.
I'll be leaving to study abroad, so I won't be able to bring my amp, so I'm looking for a Brit type distortion alternative and I want to be able to bring around with me.

@gappy
that guys crunchbox got prob =(
Guv'nor original UK and Bluesbreaker out of my budget

? crunchbox was going for RM500 rite ...

early september i will have some 3-4 marshall bluesbreakers coming in..gonna sell em @ 550 or round there ..still thinkin bout the price ..

its not super hard to reach lor

anyway , 008 gauge easy to snap ? funny ..

my 008 never snaps ..but my 010 and 009 snaps often ..
Everdying
the only time i ever held a 008 string gauge was when tuning it, and it snapped tongue.gif
i also cant play on 008...009 is somewhat ok.
valkyrie1232
QUOTE(sean392 @ Aug 10 2008, 11:26 PM)
=/
Then after bout a year or two of playing .11s I dropped down to .09s. (Floating bridge ba)
Tonally .11s is fuller, but requires a lot of finger stamina, which I didn't really have =(
.09s are nice now haha!!
I'M A WHIMP NOW  cry.gif but I like it =p

Please don't say that...009s FTW!!!! \m/
sean392
QUOTE(gapnap @ Aug 11 2008, 12:26 AM)
? crunchbox was going for RM500 rite ...

early september i will have some 3-4 marshall bluesbreakers coming in..gonna sell em @ 550 or round there ..still thinkin bout the price ..

its not super hard to reach lor
anyway , 008 gauge easy to snap ? funny ..

my 008 never snaps ..but my 010 and 009 snaps often ..

tgk how la
i quite hooked to the gv-2 sound
cuz.... it sounds nearly identical to my ciplak tone =p xD
Mr. Z
QUOTE(sean392 @ Aug 10 2008, 11:26 PM)
=/
.09s are nice now haha!!
I'M A WHIMP NOW  cry.gif but I like it =p

lol, u reminded me of finger stamina, i think i shud stick to .10s, i cant even play fast on a .10
Dun worry, if whimps can goreng other machos, then who is the whimps in the end? biggrin.gif
Everdying
to me, if the guitar is set up right nice and low...
it shouldnt be that much harder to play from 9 to 11...the only thing different is of cos when u try to bend strings.
Mr. Z
btw, no one answered my questions previously yet,
Why is my 1st and 2nd string sounds out of tune when i bend the 3rd string?
Its in tune if i dun bend the 3rd string.

Anyone can answer this?
Everdying
cos ur trem is pulling up la.
standard, unless u put more springs or screw the back screws further in.

and if ur trem is floating, then too bad u just gotta bear with it.
SweetTooth
what string have u bought sweettooth?

d addario 10-52's thumbup.gif

its not just about the bending, i tend to pick pretty hard as well so i feel somewhat safer playing thick strings. somehow 9's feel too thin to me
blacktrix
I actually use .9 for my RR3 (I now dub my RR3 "Shreddy"), but changing up to .10s soon.

Will have to look for an OFR Pro unit first though....... as good as the licensed floyd on Shreddy, I don't have much confidence in it after awhile.
evalshtog
hey i was thinking ,would guitars be cheaper in singapore??????cos im goin there end of this year and if it is cheaper, ill get the jackson rr24 there
ffrulz
Toneport UX1 or GX? I don't need the mic port.
enteryourusername
QUOTE(sean392 @ Aug 10 2008, 11:50 PM)

eh so nice? where u going? if jap, straight away buy there la. ishibashi, watnot.
western country.... hmm... hmm.gif

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Aug 10 2008, 11:30 PM)
was walking around bentley today and realised that i dont want anything besides the mesa amps.
gosh, my GAS has gotten so bad that things there dont appeal anymore. (but then i'll never afford)

me too. the only thing that attracts me there, is the marshall jvm 215c. kekeke.
sean392
QUOTE(valkyrie1232 @ Aug 11 2008, 12:44 AM)
Please don't say that...009s FTW!!!! \m/

indeed ftw \m/

Added on August 11, 2008, 6:22 pm
QUOTE(blacktrix @ Aug 11 2008, 05:31 AM)
I actually use .9 for my RR3 (I now dub my RR3 "Shreddy"), but changing up to .10s soon.

Will have to look for an OFR Pro unit first though....... as good as the licensed floyd on Shreddy, I don't have much confidence in it after awhile.

the edges jt580 bridge should be quite good
do you lube it when you change strings?
it helps, ALOT
Mysterious X12
hey guys..any of you tried Vox DA5 ? or own one ?...I wana get a small practice amp coz the 15w i have is apparently too loud...so it's between the microcube and the da5 which i know nothing about...how is it compared to the microcube and whats the price difference ?
evalshtog
i havent tried the vox but i think the roland is bout 400 and the vox is bout 600
SweetTooth
depends on what kind of sound you wanna get actually. go for the microcube if you play a lot of metal and fancy high gain, go for the vox if you prefer a warmer, more classic rock kinda sound
ffrulz
Nobody tried out the Toneport GX? Wanting to get an interface, what are the major differences between this and the Guitarport?
evalshtog
anyone knows how much is the price for the pod x3?
ffrulz
QUOTE(evalshtog @ Aug 11 2008, 09:14 PM)

Around 2.2k over here in JB IIRC.
evalshtog
thtas way outta my budget.guess ill have to save
sean392
bout 1.8k MYR @ CK music i think
Mr. Z
QUOTE(Everdying @ Aug 11 2008, 02:34 AM)
cos ur trem is pulling up la.
standard, unless u put more springs or screw the back screws further in.

and if ur trem is floating, then too bad u just gotta bear with it.

ah icic, my trem is a std strat trem.. maybe i shud put more springs in it.
echobrainproject
QUOTE(enteryourusername @ Aug 11 2008, 06:05 PM)

me too. the only thing that attracts me there, is the marshall jvm 215c. kekeke.

well ive got 2 units of jcm900 to play with but sadly it isnt mine. it does however make me GAS for more of what i already *dont* have.

guys, any nice guitar tutorial sites to go to? need some inspiration
Dead Eye
QUOTE(evalshtog @ Aug 11 2008, 09:14 PM)

about 1.6k @ Dead Eye Music aka Incognita rclxms.gif
Mysterious X12
QUOTE(SweetTooth @ Aug 11 2008, 08:48 PM)
depends on what kind of sound you wanna get actually. go for the microcube if you play a lot of metal and fancy high gain, go for the vox if you prefer a warmer, more classic rock kinda sound

then I believe I'll be heading to the vox..i dont fancy high gains at all..I'm a mellow player..lol
question is now how much would it cost and is there any sales before the year end sales at CK ?
blacktrix
Like someone said before, you're looking at around RM500-600.
oxalato
I didn't know line6 acoustic guitars are so expensive until i check it out at city music recently
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.