Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: LYN Guitar Phreaks Club v8.1
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Audiophiles > Musicians
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46
mingdynasty
wah u all like living dictionary only .. @.@
sean392
QUOTE(Everdying @ Jul 30 2008, 11:56 PM)
i also dont really like the maple in LPs...tho i dont hate it.
guess thats why i use SGs tongue.gif

5A flame/quilt top
OMG how can you not like em
so pretty!
=p

teh dreams of owning a pretty lp and sg

haha
Everdying
no la, we all just gibson fanboys tongue.gif

Added on July 31, 2008, 12:02 am
QUOTE(sean392 @ Jul 31 2008, 12:00 AM)
5A flame/quilt top
OMG how can you not like em
so pretty!
=p

teh dreams of owning a pretty lp and sg

haha

see, sometimes its easier to have a certain model all looking like plain janes...like all SG '61 reissues.
i had a LP std before...but you ALWAYS keep looking around and see 'that flame is nicer la', 'that color is nicer la'...
LP owners are never satisfied until they think they get THE ONE...but it is never THE ONE...cos there will always be another with prettier flame etc tongue.gif

i think if i do get a LP again, it will definitely be a black LP custom...

...with gold racing stripe and maltese cross...
echobrainproject
QUOTE(Namqul @ Jul 30 2008, 08:48 PM)
went to smx today. tested breedlove. and man~ i guess u guys are rite. feels a bit heavier compared to others, but really nice~

but heres a question, why is it that it is mik, but priced more then 3k. dang~

see thats the problem. its really good, and its priced right at 3k, but still, MIK makes people go: sad.gif
sean392
QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Jul 31 2008, 01:07 AM)
see thats the problem. its really good, and its priced right at 3k, but still, MIK makes people go: sad.gif

yeah, Problems is a good way to put it.

Rather than bragging rights =p

but seriously 3K for MIK of that quality i think is perfectly acceptable =/

@everdying
haha yeah, always looking for the ONE lol
gapnap
QUOTE(sean392 @ Jul 30 2008, 11:38 PM)
eh?
haven't even got to the good part yet

its MIJ, its for the UK market, sure there are differences in the headstock

I'm not sure wat model is it, cause i seldom look at custom models but
from what i know, custom models might not have a maple cap, IE an all mahogany body
but if it does have a maple cap, it'll have a cap lah, tone wise, only if you're an absolute tone-wh*** you'd be able to tell the differences in the higher registers else they both sound great.

You might wanna try out the neck, this should follow a Gibson 50's neck quite closely, having quite a thick neck and an even thicker neck joint.
but it's quite a good guitar.
I don't see fret edge bindings, and the truss rod cover, so i'd guess it's an early 90's tokai LC-60
genereal specs would be all mahogany body and rosewood fingerboard

should be a great guitar, tokai makes very very good lp copies

the Tokai Les paul is from the mid 80's ...with a long tenon neck (it seems like the most important thing for me eh? tongue.gif ) ...

uhhh..can't remember about the maple cap ..so long ago ..

but , i remember the pearls on the headstock were amazing...pics ..***digging hard drive pics****

Mr. Z

Similarly, Farida sounds ok, but its MIC and kinda expensive for a non-solid top (Rm900 and above IIRC). The minute MIC is mentioned, they goes sad.gif
Personally i think its abit unjustifiable to pay such a price for an non solid top MIC.
blacktrix
Er, I just paid nearly 6k for a MIK Razorback....... how does THAT make me feel? Pretty stupid I know....... but wait till you see and hear it.

If it's good..... It's good. Doesn't matter where it's made.
Namqul

well, breedlove is from the us rite? i was expecting it to be MIA. it made me wonder ler, never sad.gif. it really is good. no doubt about that

QUOTE(sean392 @ Jul 31 2008, 01:10 AM)
yeah, Problems is a good way to put it.

Rather than bragging rights =p

but seriously 3K for MIK of that quality i think is perfectly acceptable =/

well, i am looking for one guitar to settle down with, so i need the 'bragging right' to be in the package that comes with the guitar. lol~

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Jul 31 2008, 06:31 AM)
Er, I just paid nearly 6k for a MIK Razorback....... how does THAT make me feel? Pretty stupid I know....... but wait till you see and hear it.

If it's good..... It's good. Doesn't matter where it's made.

yup. i agree with if its good, its good. but out of curiosity, would uve done the same if its MIC?
Rossie
Blacky:
RM6k for the 255? I think you got ripped off?
IIRC, the last time I checked them out at Music Theme, they were only SGD2k, slightly less than RM5k...
enteryourusername
QUOTE(Everdying @ Jul 31 2008, 12:01 AM)
see, sometimes its easier to have a certain model all looking like plain janes...like all SG '61 reissues.
i had a LP std before...but you ALWAYS keep looking around and see 'that flame is nicer la', 'that color is nicer la'...
LP owners are never satisfied until they think they get THE ONE...but it is never THE ONE...cos there will always be another with prettier flame etc tongue.gif

me too finding for THE ONE.... -.-
Rossie
QUOTE(Namqul @ Jul 31 2008, 09:18 AM)
well, i am looking for one guitar to settle down with, so i need the 'bragging right' to be in the package that comes with the guitar. lol~

Trust me, if you have an expensive guitar, you would keep it as low-profile as possible...
blacktrix
Well 6k, but I had some discounts thanks to Mesa tongue.gif

And I almost dropped 4k for a MIC Razorback last year.
gapnap
whats with everybody and "IIRC" ...kena influence by Everdying ?

oh yea..you can never settle down for 1 guitar .. nod.gif you will always want some sex variety
echobrainproject
QUOTE(enteryourusername @ Jul 31 2008, 09:44 AM)
me too finding for THE ONE....  -.-

well i'm finding minimum FOUR.
one main axe, one backup. 2 acoustics.

God help me! GAS
Rossie
QUOTE(gapnap @ Jul 31 2008, 10:55 AM)

Nothing to do with anybody whatsoever.
Namqul
QUOTE(Rossie @ Jul 31 2008, 09:47 AM)
Trust me, if you have an expensive guitar, you would keep it as low-profile as possible...

well, im not crazy enough to go and brag and show off with everyone. my skill and honestly, my ears are not worthy enough for an expensive one. but now that im earning, trying to find excuse to make myself happy. the bragging will be with close friends for sure. now that is what im looking forward too. lol~

oh yea..you can never settle down for 1 guitar .. nod.gif you will always want some sex variety

well, sadly, i have no options but to do so or it will never end. plus im not much of a guitarist. just simple strumming and singing. so, i guess for me, i can.
blacktrix
Trivium fans, you better head here: http://www.roadrunnerrecords.com/shogun/index.aspx

Download their latest single, Kirsute Gomen. It's only open for 10 hours more, so quickly download it!

Lots of classic Trivium growling lyrics blended with his new singing voice, metallica-ish riffs (ala Crusade) and then nice melody (ala Ascendancy) in the middle.

If this is any indication of the new album, it seems like the blended the best of both album type! Good job!
Mr. Z
Namqul, just start with a good entry level. I started with an admira malaga many years ago, maybe 6 - 7 years, it lasted me until now, and i never NEED to change to upgrade to another guitar although i do GAS for it.. lol

I ve never regretted that purchase, its a good buy for me.
shauno
hmm..was wondering, is a flame maple top only for looks or will it influence sound as well?
i understand that maple has a brighter sound, so when coupled with a mahogany body, will it produce a slightly brighter sound as compared to a mahogany only body?
trying to decide between an S670 and S470.. only diff i see is one has FM, one doesn't
fatboythin
Trix, you paid 6k for the 255? Isn't that quite expensive? I tought they should be retailing at RM5K+ at most? Anyway, get it fast and post lotsa pics for us. Which colour are you getting? biggrin.gif
enteryourusername

haha, yea true. i tot i would be settled down after i get my epi lp, now i'm gassing for other lps. tongue.gif

QUOTE(Rossie @ Jul 31 2008, 09:47 AM)

erm, u flashed ur ebmm jp model, means its not expensive enuff? tongue.gif
blacktrix
Got it in Dimeslime tongue.gif If I bought it from Singapore, I couldn't get it in THAT color.
sean392
QUOTE(shauno @ Jul 31 2008, 02:45 PM)
hmm..was wondering, is a flame maple top only for looks or will it influence sound as well?
i understand that maple has a brighter sound, so when coupled with a mahogany body, will it produce a slightly brighter sound as compared to a mahogany only body?
trying to decide between an S670 and S470.. only diff i see is one has FM, one doesn't

Maple only affects tone when their 1/4" or thicker, any less it's just to make the guitar pretty

Ibanez? I don't think any of their models now have maple caps, just very thin veneers.

So, to answer your question regarding that 2 models, no, no contribution at all.

I want to add tho, S-series Ibanez tend to sound RG-like to me. So......
You go decide properly lah =p
Everdying
the ibanez SZ320 and SZ520 have actual maple caps.
shauno
eh? maple caps? what are those? i think the S look cooler that RG's cos of how thin it is. sacrificing 2 frets tho..
Rossie
QUOTE(enteryourusername @ Jul 31 2008, 03:35 PM)

erm, u flashed ur ebmm jp model, means its not expensive enuff? tongue.gif

I don't go to every forum I know and post pics.
blacktrix
Unless of course you go for the s5470 Prestige with 24 frets tongue.gif
Was my dream guitar for a while...... but put on hold for my Razorback and soon, a Semi-hollow.
shauno
QUOTE(blacktrix @ Jul 31 2008, 08:30 PM)
Unless of course you go for the s5470 Prestige with 24 frets tongue.gif
Was my dream guitar for a while...... but put on hold for my Razorback and soon, a Semi-hollow.

haha. based on my current level, i don't think i'll be holding a prestige anytime soon blush.gif
we'll take it one step at a time eh?
evalshtog
lucky guy.. got demmeliton v
sean392
QUOTE(Everdying @ Jul 31 2008, 06:33 PM)
the ibanez SZ320 and SZ520 have actual maple caps.

No shi-??
But they didn't sound that great when I tried the SZ520 at bents

Everdying
QUOTE(sean392 @ Jul 31 2008, 10:01 PM)
No shi-??
But they didn't sound that great when I tried the SZ520 at bents

i was surprised too until someone i know with an SZ520 told me theres an actual cap under it...tho the flame maple top is a veneer...that should be obvious else it wouldnt be that cheap.

apparently, even the MIC LP's now have actual maple caps and no more alder.
sean392
yeah i know bout the MIC ones
plaintop model only if iirc

enteryourusername
guys, i m not goin for the orville nemore. sad.gif
thou its very tempting, even says that can let go in installment (wtf?).

sean u wan? hehehe.
sean392
don't GAS me!!!!
but i like burst finishes more
amber / lemondrop fav

i don't really fancy customs..... yet

want of course lah, but i don't deserve more guitars now
heh
SweetTooth
i'm so GASing for that demmelition V >.<
corey beaulieu's V is really awesome too, wonder how much that'll cost rclxub.gif
blacktrix
Should be around the same price as the Razorback 255.......
MSRP:$1,689 w/ Dean hardshell case

MSRP is usually reduced a few hundred bucks for street price.
Dead Eye
yeah the demmelition V is awesome!
enteryourusername
strange, as much as i think those V's are awesome, i dun feel a single bit of GAS for them. hahaha.
blademaster
QUOTE(blacktrix @ Aug 3 2008, 09:33 AM)
Should be around the same price as the Razorback 255.......
MSRP:$1,689 w/ Dean hardshell case

MSRP is usually reduced a few hundred bucks for street price.

No way it's that cheap. I think all singature models are made in US.

blacktrix, have you tested an ML? How does it compare to a razorback?
evalshtog
hey anyone knows where to get the peavey 5150/6505 combo .i heard it in action yesterday and it blew me away.
satchman
QUOTE(evalshtog @ Aug 3 2008, 12:45 PM)
hey anyone knows where to get the peavey 5150/6505 combo .i heard it in action yesterday and it blew me away.

The last time I saw a Peavey 5150 was at SLC Music but that was way back and the shop has since closed!! Singapore is probably a good bet...
evalshtog
so ill have to go to singapore then .tx

Added on August 3, 2008, 1:09 pmdo u know how much is it?
satchman
QUOTE(evalshtog @ Aug 3 2008, 01:08 PM)
so ill have to go to singapore then .tx

Added on August 3, 2008, 1:09 pmdo u know how much is it?

Can't remember but I think it was between 5-10K!!! I'm not selling my Kancil for that... tongue.gif
sean392
QUOTE(evalshtog @ Aug 3 2008, 12:45 PM)

You're a little late to hear the Peavey's heh
but finding a brand new 5150 is bout as rare as finding restaurant having roasted dodo for a dinner set.
6505 may be possible though.

But you're lucky, Bugera amps have arrived in malaysia, and they are basically clones of most peavey amps, the XXX, 5150 and 6505 are few they "cloned". To identify them, pay attention to their model number orientation. 5150 = 6260 something like that, and IIRC the bugera 6260 is supposed to be the 5150 copy.

There's a shop in KL which carries them, but can't recall it on such a short notice, perhaps someone would fill this later.

heh good luck
blacktrix
Er, the Trivium guitars are probably MIK (like where their Razorback 255 is made). And it's THAT cheap:

http://news.harmony-central.com/Newp/2008/...ure-Models.html

http://www.gearhounds.com/index.asp?PageAc...PROD&ProdID=592

And I Have tried the ML a few years back. Found the tone pretty much like an explorer, but a bit more "fat" to it. Razorback is heavy and all out brutal... also the body is MUCH bigger.
evalshtog
yea pretty late.tx anyway but is the bugera feel same as the peavey

Added on August 3, 2008, 4:42 pmany peavey dealers around here?
fatboythin
I think the Bugera's are in a shop in Cheras, can't really recall where exactly. Its named AEV or AVE Electronics or something like that, not too sure. Also, i just went to Bents Mutiara and played the Demmel AGAIN. Didn't realise it was extremely light. And they sold off the RR5FR and one Demmel. Now there is only ONE Demmel and ONE RR24M left in stock. So anyone interested in them better act fast! Haha.

trix- Did you find out whether GC stocks the RG50TC?
evalshtog
fatboy demmel got black colour ?
blacktrix
Ah crap....... forgot all about your Randall.......

But didn't see any of the Randall tubes...... Especially the 50w one.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.