Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: LYN Guitar Phreaks Club v8.1
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Audiophiles > Musicians
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46
blacktrix
Blah. But I AM tempted to sell the RR3 for the RR5...... will see how.
Everdying
why get the RR5? go straight for RR1 tongue.gif
fatboythin
That's one thing i don't get though. Why the steep difference in price between the RR3 and RR5FR? Both MIJ Pro Series, both 22 frets, both same SD pickups. The only diff is the neckthru and OFR on the RR5FR. But i don't think that costs like RM3k more. sad.gif

Or am i missing anything?
Everdying
RR24 is already 5k rite...so i guess the RR5FR should be priced similar.
fatboythin
Yup, the RR5FR in Bents is 5k.
Everdying
for RM5k can get a used gibson LP.
lol, choices for blacktrix tongue.gif
fatboythin
Haha, if its a used Gibby ZW LP, then it would tempt him.
blacktrix
er, right now, priority is a semi-hollow, or P-90 guitar (Like the BFG).
Shredding guitar is already done, so back to a tone guitar.
sean392
QUOTE(Everdying @ Jul 29 2008, 01:22 AM)
why get the RR5? go straight for RR1 tongue.gif

Kevin Bond RR ftw
dig a route n smack on a floating trem xD
Everdying
QUOTE(blacktrix @ Jul 29 2008, 04:54 AM)

why not get a semi-hollow with p-90s?
like the hagstrom?
this yr is the 40th anniversary of the 68 special tongue.gif

QUOTE(sean392 @ Jul 29 2008, 10:20 AM)
Kevin Bond RR ftw

yea, but that one i bet sure RM10k++++++++ tongue.gif
SkylineFreak
QUOTE(blacktrix @ Jul 29 2008, 04:54 AM)

Or you can get the B.B King Lucille. =D
blacktrix
Ever.... that sounds even MORE tempting.... tongue.gif
Mr. Z
lol, blacktrix i tot u are on ur "all-in-one swiss blade guitar" hunt?
blacktrix
Just sent my LP-100 for a MAJOR overhaul.
But the only thing is, I need to find another Tune-O-Matic.
Anyone knows where to get one?
Everdying
QUOTE(blacktrix @ Jul 29 2008, 01:33 PM)
Just sent my LP-100 for a MAJOR overhaul.
But the only thing is, I need to find another Tune-O-Matic.
Anyone knows where to get one?

woh fart.
fatboythin
QUOTE(sean392 @ Jul 29 2008, 10:20 AM)
Kevin Bond RR ftw

Haha, why the hardwork and extra cost? Might as well get a RR24 straight.
mingdynasty
take blacktrix guitar.. put at wall shoot 7 bullets(not sure actually amout) then can lo... lucile buatan malaysia kan bagus
sean392
QUOTE(fatboythin @ Jul 29 2008, 05:57 PM)
Haha, why the hardwork and extra cost? Might as well get a RR24 straight.

RR24 lacks appeal compared to KBRR =p

but nothing beats an amber lp with 5A tiger flames maple top xD
fatboythin
Well, nothing beats the price of an amber LP with 5A tiger flames maple top too. biggrin.gif
Dead Eye
well i would go for the RR24 over the kevin bond sig cheers.gif
sean392
QUOTE(fatboythin @ Jul 29 2008, 08:05 PM)
Well, nothing beats the price of an amber LP with 5A tiger flames maple top too. biggrin.gif

Aye, we all can dream right?
xD

Get a luthier made LP and RR
settle!! with brand to boot!!

ergh.... more cash down the drain =p
IpohBoY
I've got a question here about boss pedals. How are these effect different from each other , MD2, MT2 and ML2. And how are these 3 different from DS2? Cz I already have a DS2 and plan to get a more distorted pedal,
blacktrix
just go to Bossus.com and check out the audio clips.
SweetTooth
when is guitar phreaks club v8 coming back online ?
sean392
QUOTE(IpohBoY @ Jul 29 2008, 10:47 PM)
I've got a question here about boss pedals. How are these effect different from each other , MD2, MT2 and ML2. And how are these 3 different from DS2? Cz I already have a DS2 and plan to get a more distorted pedal,

They differ in terms of what they are designed for. For a better perception on how each would sound, go and try them yourself. It'd be the best to trust your own ears, cause we all have individual preferences in tone.

People say that the MI Audio Crunchbox is a Marshall in a box, I sometimes wonder how true is that xD
dang.... =p
crysania
QUOTE(sean392 @ Jul 29 2008, 08:32 PM)

ergh.... more cash down the drain =p

Not down the drain,should be more cash to investment..hehe

Cheers...
enteryourusername
QUOTE(sean392 @ Jul 30 2008, 12:01 AM)
They differ in terms of what they are designed for. For a better perception on how each would sound, go and try them yourself. It'd be the best to trust your own ears, cause we all have individual preferences in tone.

People say that the MI Audio Crunchbox is a Marshall in a box, I sometimes wonder how true is that xD
dang.... =p

have u tried the crunchbox? if u dont, u muz ! lol.
i hav 1, n i'm totally loving it. *eh i sounds like a whore*
so far its the best sounding distortion pedal i've ever tried. =p *now i sounds like a fanboy* tongue.gif

QUOTE(SweetTooth @ Jul 29 2008, 11:55 PM)
when is guitar phreaks club v8 coming back online ?

eh ya ! totally forgotten bout it. tongue.gif
but since we're having nice time spamming here, y go back? kekeke.
blacktrix
Yuppers. v8 is dead. long live v8.1!
SkylineFreak
Do you guys think that the LTD FX260 SM guitar is a good buy? I saw it at GC in Sunway Pyramid. I need your opinions.

These are the specs:

-Set-Neck
24.75” Scale

-Mahogany Body

-Spalted Maple Top

-5 Pc Mahogany/Maple Neck

-Rosewood Fingerboard

-42mm Standard Nut
Thin U Neck Contour

-22 XJ Frets

-Black Nickel Hardware

-ESP Tuners

-TOM Bridge & Tail

-ESP LH-301 (B&N) p.u. w/ Push-Pull Coil Tap on Tone Control

-Finish: NS
blacktrix
How much are they charging you?
Personally, for that specs, I'd go for a Jackson dinky already.

Added on July 30, 2008, 12:42 pmThis is just too brutal:

http://news.yahoo.com/nphotos/Italian-fria...s1NlzvUp9eYExkF
fatboythin
SkylineFreak - GC generally jack up their prices quite a bit, not worth getting it from there. For LTDs, just PM DeadEye, he gives good prices. And also, GC aren't the most knowledgeable/honest dealers around. My friend bought an ESP M-II from them 2 months ago, they said it was 2007 model and had SD JB/59 pickups. But after he traced the serial number last week and e-mailed ESP, they said it was i think either a 3-4 year old model and had stock ESP LH-300 pickups. Needless to say, things between him and GC Sunway Pyramid are getting quite rough. bruce.gif
sean392
QUOTE(enteryourusername @ Jul 30 2008, 01:14 AM)
have u tried the crunchbox? if u dont, u muz ! lol.
i hav 1, n i'm totally loving it. *eh i sounds like a whore*
so far its the best sounding distortion pedal i've ever tried. =p *now i sounds like a fanboy* tongue.gif
eh ya ! totally forgotten bout it. tongue.gif
but since we're having nice time spamming here, y go back? kekeke.

i know!
i'd like to get one, but see how heavy i can get my pocket to be lah =p
Mr. Z
I might be going to singapore on the 15th with my fren for a day or 2 trip,
might be dropping by swee lee during the trip. Anyone have anything they need?
fatboythin
My friend just did a demo of his new Jackson Demmelition V on Youtube. Check it out. biggrin.gif

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vp0EX_j2Akg
blacktrix
Pft. RR5FR Bullseye FTW!

fatboythin
Haha, i find the pink finish on the RR5FR quite cool. Cooler than the Bullseye at least. biggrin.gif

*runs away from trix*

opfish
Guys,

Spread the words. Please support our local music scene. LYN, i-bands, jamtank: no difference. we are musicians afterall.

JAMFEST 2008 - presented by jamtank.net

See you guys! cool.gif
Namqul
went to smx today. tested breedlove. and man~ i guess u guys are rite. feels a bit heavier compared to others, but really nice~

but heres a question, why is it that it is mik, but priced more then 3k. dang~
sean392
QUOTE(Namqul @ Jul 30 2008, 08:48 PM)
went to smx today. tested breedlove. and man~ i guess u guys are rite. feels a bit heavier compared to others, but really nice~

but heres a question, why is it that it is mik, but priced more then 3k. dang~

Heavy? Never really noticed that.
Why is it MIK but priced over 3k?
Listen to the guitar sing? Justifies it altogether.
mingdynasty
takai lp custom??? any 1 can review on price/value and quality??? need help plz plz got ppl offer 2.3k
sean392
Tokai or Takai?
If it's Tokai, what model?
LS-1? LS-50? LS-150?
Everdying
i think its the tokai thats on jamtank now.
i also have no idea what model it is.
sean392
oh, that tokai is for UK market
MIJ arnd late 90s i think
but from the aging headstock bindings, it looks alot older than late 90s =/
mingdynasty
ok thanks guys... great help..its tokai..paiseh
sean392
eh?
haven't even got to the good part yet

its MIJ, its for the UK market, sure there are differences in the headstock

I'm not sure wat model is it, cause i seldom look at custom models but
from what i know, custom models might not have a maple cap, IE an all mahogany body
but if it does have a maple cap, it'll have a cap lah, tone wise, only if you're an absolute tone-wh*** you'd be able to tell the differences in the higher registers else they both sound great.

You might wanna try out the neck, this should follow a Gibson 50's neck quite closely, having quite a thick neck and an even thicker neck joint.
but it's quite a good guitar.
I don't see fret edge bindings, and the truss rod cover, so i'd guess it's an early 90's tokai LC-60
genereal specs would be all mahogany body and rosewood fingerboard

should be a great guitar, tokai makes very very good lp copies
Everdying
the original 50s gibson LP customs didnt have maple caps.
the LP that LP himself prefers and plays also doesnt have any maple cap.

if not mistaken, the custom shop '57 reissue LP custom also doesnt have a maple cap.
sean392
QUOTE(Everdying @ Jul 30 2008, 11:39 PM)
the original 50s gibson LP customs didnt have maple caps.
the LP that LP himself prefers and plays also doesnt have any maple cap.

if not mistaken, the custom shop '57 reissue LP custom also doesnt have a maple cap.

Yeah, I recall many of the best LPC didn't have any maple caps
but it didn't make them any lighter? Used the heavier mahogany?
Everdying
mahogany is lighter than maple.
iirc, at the very early beginning gibson at first was messing around the idea of a full maple LP...but realised was too friggin heavy...so they made the maple thinner and used mahogany to bring the body to the thickness they wanted.
sean392
yeah i know
maple is shi- heavy
iirc, gibson wanted to do a solid maple guitar with a mahogany cap
reversed, that's what i recall reading lah =/

actually i think its the thick maple cap that makes the lps weight "unbearable" =p
Everdying
i also dont really like the maple in LPs...tho i dont hate it.
guess thats why i use SGs tongue.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.