Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Acer Aspire 4530 - is this a new model?
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Mobile Computing
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11
denver
I was going from shops to shops earlier today looking for laptop to buy, and I saw a new Acer model which I've never seen before, it's the Acer Aspire 4530. The specs are something like this:

Acer Aspire 4530-5267

Processor: AMD Athlon 64 X2 QL-60 / 1.9 GHz ( Dual-Core )
Cache Memory: 1 MB, L2 cache
RAM: 2 GB (installed) / 4 GB (max), DDR II SDRAM, 667 MHz ( 2 x 1 GB )
Card Reader: 5 in 1
Hard Drive: 160 GB
Optical Storage: DVD±RW (±R DL) / DVD-RAM, integrated
Display: 14.1" TFT 1280 x 800 ( WXGA ), 24-bit (16.7 million colors), CrystalBrite
Graphics Controller: NVIDIA GeForce 9100M G
Networking: Network adapter, Ethernet, Fast Ethernet, Gigabit Ethernet, IEEE 802.11b, IEEE 802.11g
Wireless NIC: Acer InviLink 802.11b/g
Notebook Camera: Integrated

http://reviews.cnet.com/laptops/acer-aspir...308.html?hhTest
http://www.superwarehouse.com/Acer_Aspire_....048/ps/1529901

The price is only RM1999...!! Plus the colour is all black, which looks very cool because I absolutely hate the white/grey keyboard. I checked Acer Malaysia's website, and the above model is not listed. I only found this model in Acer US's website.

So, my question is, is this a new Acer (Malaysia) model, or is this a grey import? The specs and price are extremely tempting. I'd like to get confirmation because I'm thinking of getting Acer's extended warranty. But if this is a grey import, then I might be paying for nothing (i.e. shop's warranty only). Does anyone know or heard about this model? Is it good, any problem with it?
fcuk90
i think it is amd puma?
shoduken
i tot amd puma has intergrated graphic that is branded as ATI instead of nVidia?
trio
amd puma can support up to 8gb ram woooo. But that processor is new la.
wadieq
amd puma only with rm1999 ?? i dont think so

this model maybe imported version and not under local distributor

acer without warranty ?? (damn scare)
NYC.com
QUOTE(denver @ Jul 6 2008, 05:56 PM)
I was going from shops to shops earlier today looking for laptop to buy, and I saw a new Acer model which I've never seen before, it's the Acer Aspire 4530. The specs are something like this:

Acer Aspire 4530-5267

Processor: AMD Athlon 64 X2 QL-60 / 1.9 GHz ( Dual-Core )
Cache Memory: 1 MB, L2 cache
RAM: 2 GB (installed) / 4 GB (max), DDR II SDRAM, 667 MHz ( 2 x 1 GB )
Card Reader: 5 in 1
Hard Drive: 160 GB
Optical Storage: DVD±RW (±R DL) / DVD-RAM, integrated
Display: 14.1" TFT 1280 x 800 ( WXGA ), 24-bit (16.7 million colors), CrystalBrite
Graphics Controller: NVIDIA GeForce 9100M G
Networking: Network adapter, Ethernet, Fast Ethernet, Gigabit Ethernet, IEEE 802.11b, IEEE 802.11g
Wireless NIC: Acer InviLink 802.11b/g
Notebook Camera: Integrated

http://reviews.cnet.com/laptops/acer-aspir...308.html?hhTest
http://www.superwarehouse.com/Acer_Aspire_....048/ps/1529901

The price is only RM1999...!! Plus the colour is all black, which looks very cool because I absolutely hate the white/grey keyboard. I checked Acer Malaysia's website, and the above model is not listed. I only found this model in Acer US's website.

So, my question is, is this a new Acer (Malaysia) model, or is this a grey import? The specs and price are extremely tempting. I'd like to get confirmation because I'm thinking of getting Acer's extended warranty. But if this is a grey import, then I might be paying for nothing (i.e. shop's warranty only). Does anyone know or heard about this model? Is it good, any problem with it?

need more information about it~
kit173
this is acer new model,is not puma.

new look all black ,better then older model,

fcuk90
this one cool design...wonder the geforce9100 performance
denver
Well, apparently this is a new Acer model. Either way, I think it doesn't matter to me because the Acer 4530's design, the specs and the price are just too attractive to pass up.

Anyway, I already bought the laptop. biggrin.gif I've taken some photos of my new laptop, here there are:

Acer Aspire 4530

Profile View

Nvidia Geforece 9100M

Specs

Side View

Integrated Webcam

Front view

Came with FreeDos, but installed Windows XP

LordGrimm
Looks like a good deal for it's category

How heavy is it?
zwzw
Impressive!!!! nice one, where did u buy it?
How's the warranty matter?
wadieq
does it come with xp driver ?
fcuk90
QUOTE(wadieq @ Jul 10 2008, 02:48 PM)

you can check on the acer website.. but i think you need to download from acer website coz acer usually no provide the driver cd i think
denver
QUOTE(LordGrimm @ Jul 10 2008, 02:18 PM)
Looks like a good deal for it's category

How heavy is it?

I think it's about 2.4kg....about the normal weight for a 14" screen laptop.

QUOTE(zwzw @ Jul 10 2008, 02:38 PM)
Impressive!!!! nice one, where did u buy it?
How's the warranty matter?

I bought it from one of the shops in the IT Centre at Alam Sentral shopping mall, in Shah Alam. Funny thing is, before I bought it, I went to Digital Mall in PJ and none of the shops there know about this model, let alone have it. Anyway, this was several days ago. I don't know if Digital Mall has it now. As for the warranty, the shop is trying to get the extended warranty for me.

QUOTE(wadieq @ Jul 10 2008, 02:48 PM)

No, I think there is only the Vista driver in the box. But I really haven't checked the content of the CDs that came in the Acer box because Windows XP SP2 was already installed, and everything worked. smile.gif

GunMetalX
How's the heat emitted by the processor? Does it run cooler than the 4520 or the same? What about the battery life?
wangwangi
QUOTE(GunMetalX @ Jul 10 2008, 05:35 PM)
How's the heat emitted by the processor? Does it run cooler than the 4520 or the same? What about the battery life?

i'd checked in shop with BenQ R45, this aspire 4530 run much more cooler and quieter

Added on July 10, 2008, 6:04 pm
QUOTE(denver @ Jul 10 2008, 02:10 PM)
Came with FreeDos, but installed Windows XP

i plan to buy one and install XP, could you please back up ALL the XP driver and zip it then post it here??

use http://www.drivermagician.com to backup the drivers not contained by Windows itself(the one with red fonts).

and upload to your favorite file sharing service and post the link here...

thank you very much for saving others time who bought and wish to install XP!!!!

PLEASE... notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
denver
QUOTE(wangwangi @ Jul 10 2008, 05:53 PM)
i plan to buy one and install XP, could you please back up ALL the XP driver and zip it then post it here??

use http://www.drivermagician.com to backup the drivers not contained by Windows itself(the one with red fonts).

and upload to your favorite file sharing service and post the link here...

thank you very much for saving others time who bought and wish to install XP!!!!

PLEASE... notworthy.gif   notworthy.gif   notworthy.gif

I dont have the XP driver because the shop has pre-installed Windows XP on the laptop. When I asked the shop to give me a CD with the drivers (in case I need to re-format), the shop said they don't have it because they engaged external technician to do the installation. Dunno la true or not....but I was quite dissapointed because I didn't get the XP drivers.

When you're buying the laptop, you can ask the shop to give the XP drivers to you. If you manage to get it, can you share the driver with me too? Thanks. smile.gif

By the way, where are you going to buy laptop?
GunMetalX
got benchies for the integrated 9100 gfx?
wangwangi
QUOTE(denver @ Jul 10 2008, 06:35 PM)
I dont have the XP driver because the shop has pre-installed Windows XP on the laptop. When I asked the shop to give me a CD with the drivers (in case I need to re-format), the shop said they don't have it because they engaged external technician to do the installation. Dunno la true or not....but I was quite dissapointed because I didn't get the XP drivers.

When you're buying the laptop, you can ask the shop to give the XP drivers to you. If you manage to get it, can you share the driver with me too? Thanks.  smile.gif

By the way, where are you going to buy laptop?

aiyoh....u misunderstand me here.

please download and install the free driver backup software http://www.drivermagician.com

run the application and back up the driver.

zip them and upload to file sharing site like http://www.rapidshare.com

post the download link.

THANK YOU VERY MUCH!!!

OK or not?? notworthy.gif
denver
QUOTE(wangwangi @ Jul 10 2008, 06:40 PM)
aiyoh....u misunderstand me here.

please download and install the free driver backup software http://www.drivermagician.com

run the application and back up the driver.

zip them and upload to file sharing site like http://www.rapidshare.com

post the download link.

THANK YOU VERY MUCH!!!

OK or not??  notworthy.gif

Ooh, okay, now I understand what you mean. blush.gif I'll try to do it....but it may take a few days / a while due to time constraints. Thanks for the link, I never knew such software existed. At least this way I can make a backup driver for myself as well. smile.gif
wangwangi
QUOTE(denver @ Jul 10 2008, 06:46 PM)
Ooh, okay, now I understand what you mean. blush.gif I'll try to do it....but it may take a few days / a while due to time constraints. Thanks for the link, I never knew such software existed. At least this way I can make a backup driver for myself as well. smile.gif

this is the screen shot of the software.

u need only to check the red one, no need to backup built-in drivers

fcuk90
how it perform compare to geforece 6150 ?
Hyde`fK
The notebook comes with driver CDs with both XP and Vista drivers. Don't worry. My working place already sold one unit.
zamanjaafar
QUOTE(denver @ Jul 10 2008, 04:49 PM)
I think it's about 2.4kg....about the normal weight for a 14" screen laptop.
I bought it from one of the shops in the IT Centre at Alam Sentral shopping mall, in Shah Alam. Funny thing is, before I bought it, I went to Digital Mall in PJ and none of the shops there know about this model, let alone have it. Anyway, this was several days ago. I don't know if Digital Mall has it now. As for the warranty, the shop is trying to get the extended warranty for me.
No, I think there is only the Vista driver in the box. But I really haven't checked the content of the CDs that came in the Acer box because Windows XP SP2 was already installed, and everything worked.  smile.gif

hi bro. i dont quite understand the bolded part. do u mean that it is shop warranty only and NOT acer malaysia warranty? Maybe u can ask them if the unit can be sent to Highpoint service centre for warranty. If yes, then its Acer Malaysia warranty.
wangwangi
QUOTE(Hyde`fK @ Jul 11 2008, 01:18 AM)
The notebook comes with driver CDs with both XP and Vista drivers. Don't worry. My working place already sold one unit.

XP driver cd?? are u sure?? shocking.gif
ricadoe
Have u tried to play crysis with it?
denver
QUOTE(GunMetalX @ Jul 10 2008, 06:36 PM)
got benchies for the integrated 9100 gfx?

I haven't done any benchmark yet. What software to use for benchmark....got link?

QUOTE(zamanjaafar @ Jul 11 2008, 03:56 AM)
hi bro.  i dont quite understand the bolded part.  do u mean that it is shop warranty only and NOT acer malaysia warranty?  Maybe u can ask them if the unit can be sent to Highpoint service centre for warranty.  If yes, then its Acer Malaysia warranty.

The laptop comes with 1 year Acer International Warranty. I am trying to get the 3 years extended warranty...the shop is helping me to register and get the service pack thingy. I called Highpoint Subang and they confirmed that the Acer 4530 is a new model, and they can service this model.

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Jul 11 2008, 01:09 AM)
how it perform compare to geforece 6150 ?

No idea, I never used 6150...and i haven't play crisis or any other games either for that matter.

Here's some more info on the geforce 9100m gc:

http://news.cnet.com/8301-17938_105-9957486-1.html?hhTest=1
http://www.nvidia.co.uk/page/geforce_m_series.html
http://www.nvidia.co.uk/object/geforce_9100m_g_mgpu_uk.html
wangwangi
what is your comment with this http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/718180 ??

ACER so bad meh?? unsure.gif

still waiting for your drivers... blush.gif
Musafir_86
-One our fellow forum member already selling this : http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/739005. Anyway, it's really AMD Puma and nVidia 9100M G supports CUDA and PhysX!!!

Regards.
dantwt
mind to share which shop is selling this model?
wangwangi
QUOTE(dantwt @ Jul 11 2008, 10:17 PM)
mind to share which shop is selling this model?

I saw that in "House of Notebook" and several others.
shoduken
this is strange.. it's really PUMA? But why is it paired with nvidia? -.- isn't the puma suppose to be paired with the new intergrated ATI graphic chipset for better performance?

and oh btw, the Puma + Ati platform beats Centrino platform in video editing http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wcDhoVBNjPo&feature=related

cheers smile.gif
fcuk90
QUOTE(Musafir_86 @ Jul 11 2008, 04:27 PM)
-One our fellow forum member already selling this : http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/739005. Anyway, it's really AMD Puma and nVidia 9100M G supports CUDA and PhysX!!!
Regards.

typo error by the ts lar whistling.gif
dantwt
means its not PUMA afterall?
Miyabi
very impressive. gotta love the price. do tell us more about it.
even notebookreview doesnt have this notebook review yet XD
redken
WTH is AMD Lion?

Anyway, can TS pls post some benchmark figures for us to gauge performance? Well i believe if the figures are persuasive enough, maybe alot of us will take the plunge despite it being ACER *shudders*.
LordGrimm
QUOTE(redken @ Jul 13 2008, 12:43 AM)
WTH is AMD Lion?

Anyway, can TS pls post some benchmark figures for us to gauge performance? Well i believe if the figures are persuasive enough, maybe alot of us will take the plunge despite it being ACER *shudders*.

AMD Puma - quite sure there isn't a AMD Lion (yet).

It's a new chipset from AMD. Given that it's an AMD chipset, I think everyone is surprised it is carrying a Nvidia GPU in this Asus model. I am not sure whether it really is AMD Puma after all (as in it will give the same performance)

Anyway, the AMD Puma (with the integrated ATI HD3200)'s graphic performance is comparable to the Nvidia 8400M. So integrated card = a low end discrete GPU hence much better value for money, especially considering the heat issues around 8400M.

You can read a review of a AMD PUMA machine here
mousepad87
Aspire 4530 is new model woo...
this Tuesday im going to my supplier place to take desktop order... and try to get this 4530 flyers...
nice graphic card and nice design easy for me to boost my sales icon_idea.gif
hope not out of stock.. big company always borong high demand laptop such as eee pc... sweat.gif

ops!!!!!!!
just check with my supplier!!!!!
acer 4530-1G ram - RM1950 thumbup.gif
acer 4530 - 2G ram - RM1999 just like TS buy..
warranty by acer malaysia
and fast selling model sweat.gif
redken
QUOTE(LordGrimm @ Jul 13 2008, 09:00 AM)
AMD Puma - quite sure there isn't  a AMD Lion (yet). 

It's a new chipset from AMD.  Given that it's an AMD chipset, I think everyone is surprised it is carrying a Nvidia GPU in this Asus model.  I am not sure whether it really is AMD Puma after all (as in it will give the same performance)
Anyway, the AMD Puma (with the integrated ATI HD3200)'s graphic performance is comparable to the Nvidia 8400M.  So integrated card = a low end discrete GPU hence much better value for money, especially considering the heat issues around 8400M. 

You can read a review of a AMD PUMA machine here

Now that is a handsome notebook. Havent seen this particular HP notebook in Msia though. Anyone?
Hyde`fK
QUOTE(wangwangi @ Jul 11 2008, 07:43 AM)
XP driver cd?? are u sure?? shocking.gif

I'm a technician, I installed WinXP and company have already sold a few units. How sure you want me to be? XD
Perfect-Stranger
Eh, TS, nice baby you have over there ! It definitely a good deal after all =)
SeanConnery
Bought two today, each for less than RM1900 but with only 1G DDR2. Definitely looks nice, and the drivers are supplied. Less troublesome to install compared to a V series Compaq.

One thing though, set the HDD from AHCI to IDE in BIOS. Won't install XP otherwise.
Duckies
Lol that model i think normal shop don hav..coz i check with the acer website and called some of the shop..they said never heard that model be4..so tat 1 is definitely imported from foreign country..one of the website u provide stated that the pc's localisation is USA..i guess hard to find such a good pc with low price...u bought the pc where??

Anyhow i would say u make a good deal..hard to find such a good lappie with this price..some more a good graphic card..with that graphic card any lappie would cost more than 4k..i envy u ><

By the way the only thing i dont like abt this lappie is the processor..AMD Athlon..i dont hav good impression abt AMD Athlon..i prefer Intel Duo 2 Core...coz my old lappie is an AMD Athlon..giv me lots of problem..
fcuk90
izzit it is a amd puma ?
expertester
it is lion, not puma.

And the processor is RM-70 not QL.
The ss show 2 GHz not 1.9

Seem Malaysian spec is better than US spec....weee

Detail on this awesome CPU :
http://products.amd.com/en-us/NotebookCPUDetail.aspx?id=438

Comparison between TL 60 (4520), false model QL60 and actual model RM70
http://products.amd.com/en-us/NotebookCPUS...6&id=437&id=438
mitodna
Is it a good deal with this price? 2gb, hehe, 1999myr or less.
denver
QUOTE(Duckies @ Jul 15 2008, 08:36 PM)
Lol that model i think normal shop don hav..coz i check with the acer website and called some of the shop..they said never heard that model be4..so tat 1 is definitely imported from foreign country..one of the website u provide stated that the pc's localisation is USA..i guess hard to find such a good pc with low price...u bought the pc where??

I was told that this is a new model. Anyway, as mentioned before, I already called Highpoint in Subang and they said they cover this model in warranty. Plus, I just activated my 3 years extended warranty (Super Care 1) for this model. I checked Acer's website and my laptop model and serial number are already registered for 3 years warranty. smile.gif
azadsan
have you guys tested this model while playing game?how was it?smooth?hows the heat, is it ok without cooler?
awe 9
QUOTE(SeanConnery @ Jul 15 2008, 07:39 PM)
Bought two today, each for less than RM1900 but with only 1G DDR2. Definitely looks nice, and the drivers are supplied. Less troublesome to install compared to a V series Compaq.

One thing though, set the HDD from AHCI to IDE in BIOS. Won't install XP otherwise.

rclxms.gif ya.. me oso bought this yesterday at rm1899@melaka,, but make sure before formated it change HDD from AHCI to IDE in BIOS.. or, it cant be install with XP or VISTA..

thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif *pic of my acer aspire 4530 with vista ultimate OS thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
expertester
I bought this unit from MugMug....

Very nice notebook and performance gain in graphic department really impressive compare to 4520.

This notebook already run almost 20 hours non-stop. Formating, setuping, benchmarking and finally imaging. No heat issue, let alone over heat.

Note : I do not use any laptop cooler.

Complete review with vista benchmark : HERE
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.