ben3003
Jul 4 2008, 08:14 AM
Seem like alot of ppl is having HD4850, i just make a thread to see how we OC the card. For me, i oc'ed the card to 690/1050 rock stable. Later we can see any sifu out there can teach how to Vmod or do better overclocking

ATI HD4850 user:
1. ben3003- Sapphire HD4850 512MB DDR3@ 690/1050
HD4850 Bios Database:
http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/index.p...face=&memSize=0What i've heard from them is MSI bios is better at overclocking due to the increased voltage. Grab 2008-06-05 16:52:00 one.
cyloh
Jul 4 2008, 08:29 AM
Whoa... the radeon 4800 series oc'ing
this should get things going ->
4850 volt modJust yesterday I saw one happy dude with his gainward 4850 walking at lowyat. Then see him again buying
xigmatek battle axe for his gc....
AMDAthlon
Jul 4 2008, 08:31 AM
It should be 4000 Series.If 4850 only,later other user will create HD4870,HD4650 and so on.
ben3003
Jul 4 2008, 08:38 AM
This is solely for 4850 only, just like 8800gt got their own, 9600gt also. Becos different thing ma, later ppl confused. Anyway,
khaidani
Jul 4 2008, 08:41 AM
i'm getting gecube 4850 tonite, what cooler r u using?
ben3003
Jul 4 2008, 08:55 AM
I am using accelero s1+xigmatek 120mm fan. Very nice combination, full load wont exceed 55c.
Added on July 4, 2008, 8:56 am@700/1100
coolice
Jul 4 2008, 09:06 AM
@ben3003
bro,do u mind to do a 3Dmark06 run at 700/1100 for me?
ben3003
Jul 4 2008, 09:20 AM
oh, wait i need to install the software. Btw, is my score pretty good? I tried 690/1100 the GPU mark is 100 lower.
coolice
Jul 4 2008, 09:21 AM
QUOTE(ben3003 @ Jul 4 2008, 09:20 AM)
oh, wait i need to install the software. Btw, is my score pretty good? I tried 690/1100 the GPU mark is 100 lower.
yeah..my score really odd..same clock speed as urs but gpu score 1k lower..zzz
got to try again next week and with cf..hopefully good
ben3003
Jul 4 2008, 09:23 AM
Lolz, yalo, i saw ur gainward review, quite low. But i compare my score with guru3d, theirs also around 1k lower than me at stock.
Added on July 4, 2008, 9:23 amAnother thing is, 3dmark06 is quite low for 4850, becos the SM2.0 score super low.
coolice
Jul 4 2008, 09:30 AM
QUOTE(ben3003 @ Jul 4 2008, 09:23 AM)
Lolz, yalo, i saw ur gainward review, quite low. But i compare my score with guru3d, theirs also around 1k lower than me at stock.
Added on July 4, 2008, 9:23 amAnother thing is, 3dmark06 is quite low for 4850, becos the SM2.0 score super low.
vista 64 and driver?
wat do u get for sm2 and sm3?
ben3003
Jul 4 2008, 09:36 AM
I am on vista 32bit, ati 8.7 beta driver. The AMD tweaking tools not really good, it screw up with the clock speed becos ati powerplay will switch the whole card into 500/750, but u tweak it, u are tweaking the idle clock to that desired one.
Added on July 4, 2008, 9:53 amI am getting wat driver prob when i ran 3dmark06, but i dont have that prob with 3dmark vantage T.T, is it becos of 8.7beta?
Added on July 4, 2008, 10:04 amI cant run 3dmark06 at 700/1100, keep on say wat ati driver got error, so i ran it at 690/1100.
3dmark score: 11540
SM2.0: 5044
Sm3.0/HDR: 6113
CPU score: 2334
Sanko
Jul 4 2008, 03:49 PM
ben, care to run everything stock just to compare. my score with coolice gap is too big. no idea what i'm doing wrongly. 3DMark06 only.
ben3003
Jul 4 2008, 03:57 PM
Kk, i try.
Added on July 4, 2008, 3:57 pmNow my card 700/1100 scan artifact got artifact one, wah so unstable one this card.
Added on July 4, 2008, 4:10 pmi got 10914 mark only, sm2.0 4739, sm3.0/hdr 5717, CPU 2256. 3dmark depend on CPU one, ur CPU good, ur sm2.0 and sm3.0/hdr mark sure shoot up one. U wan see see 3dmark vantage.
Added on July 4, 2008, 4:32 pmStock vantage score:
P5821, GPU 6415, CPU 4556
ah_khoo
Jul 4 2008, 04:53 PM
QUOTE(ben3003 @ Jul 4 2008, 03:57 PM)
Kk, i try.
Added on July 4, 2008, 3:57 pmNow my card 700/1100 scan artifact got artifact one, wah so unstable one this card.
Added on July 4, 2008, 4:10 pmi got 10914 mark only, sm2.0 4739, sm3.0/hdr 5717, CPU 2256. 3dmark depend on CPU one, ur CPU good, ur sm2.0 and sm3.0/hdr mark sure shoot up one. U wan see see 3dmark vantage.
ati never guarantee that 4850 can run 700/1100 for all 4850 rite? i think heat is d main problem for 4850, if u wanna oc, make sure u do ya homework 1st, in this case, cool d heat monster...
most stock cooler are known for slow fan speed, u gotta change it even ur not doin any overclocking as d default speed is not sufficient enough to cool d core.
ben3003
Jul 4 2008, 05:10 PM
Lol'ed at ur statement, i am running with accelero s1, the max i can reach when LOAD 3dmark vantage is 48c.
Silverfire
Jul 4 2008, 05:18 PM
How many stream processors does HD4850 have?
ah_khoo
Jul 4 2008, 05:24 PM
QUOTE(ben3003 @ Jul 4 2008, 05:10 PM)
Lol'ed at ur statement, i am running with accelero s1, the max i can reach when LOAD 3dmark vantage is 48c.
my bad, didn't see that earlier.
if that's d case it's volt mod time for u if ur aimin for higher clock.
ben3003
Jul 4 2008, 05:56 PM
it's ok

, Artifact problem can be solved by tune up the voltage?
Added on July 4, 2008, 6:02 pm@Silverfire,
It has 800sp AFAIK while 3870 has only 320sp.
pikacu
Jul 4 2008, 06:03 PM
QUOTE(Silverfire @ Jul 4 2008, 05:18 PM)
How many stream processors does HD4850 have?
800SP
OC4/3
Jul 4 2008, 08:51 PM
Vmod can allow you to clock higher and help stabilize higher clock.I guess vmod will give you another 100mhz
ben3003
Jul 4 2008, 09:09 PM
But i don dare to Vmod, void warranty le... CAn i rub off the the pencil stain if i don need it anymore? How about add voltage thru bios?
IcEMoCHa
Jul 4 2008, 09:11 PM
QUOTE(ben3003 @ Jul 4 2008, 09:09 PM)
But i don dare to Vmod, void warranty le... CAn i rub off the the pencil stain if i don need it anymore? How about add voltage thru bios?
pencil mod even worst cuz hard to tune the voltage.. use resistors can desolder and send for warranty...
coolice
Jul 4 2008, 09:28 PM
QUOTE(ben3003 @ Jul 4 2008, 09:09 PM)
bios voltage mob not working..
pencil mod,measure the stock resistance first and after done pencil mod
ben3003
Jul 4 2008, 09:53 PM
oh, where to get the conductor pen? I heard they say use pen the thickness of the strip u applied will affect the voltage, i no multimeter also. Can recommend any? So coolice, my score ok bo?
coolice
Jul 4 2008, 10:01 PM
QUOTE(ben3003 @ Jul 4 2008, 09:53 PM)
oh, where to get the conductor pen? I heard they say use pen the thickness of the strip u applied will affect the voltage, i no multimeter also. Can recommend any? So coolice, my score ok bo?
at tat clock speed,me and longsiew(vrzone) got similar score for sm2 and sm3..ur cpu bottlenecking perhaps?
rlhc17
Jul 4 2008, 10:15 PM
ATI HD4850 pencil modded to Vgpu 1.26v & Vmem 2.1v
Running@785core 1200mem
coolice
Jul 4 2008, 10:26 PM
1.26v idle or load boss?
ben3003
Jul 4 2008, 11:31 PM
wah nice nice. Can u try 3dmark vantage?
Added on July 4, 2008, 11:32 pmBut how come my vantage score like 1k higher than urs?
rlhc17
Jul 4 2008, 11:56 PM
QUOTE(coolice @ Jul 4 2008, 10:26 PM)
1.26v idle or load boss?

1.26v load 3D
ben3003
Jul 5 2008, 12:15 AM
I have heard about MSI bios is giving higher voltage, is it true? And can my sapphire flash to MSI bios? I scare like last time i flash my 9600gt from galaxy to evga one and it screw things up
coolice
Jul 5 2008, 12:16 AM
QUOTE(ben3003 @ Jul 4 2008, 11:31 PM)
wah nice nice. Can u try 3dmark vantage?
Added on July 4, 2008, 11:32 pmBut how come my vantage score like 1k higher than urs?
tats the part i don understand..zzz..gonna try 32bit 2008 next week
ben3003
Jul 5 2008, 12:35 AM
Lolz.. another thing is, seem like my Vantage GPU score are better than most of the review site, even they have superior CPU, i also dunno why haha. I went to saw those ppl score, mine also slight higher lolz.
k3et
Jul 5 2008, 03:50 AM
anybody tried to overclock 4870?
goldfries
Jul 5 2008, 04:10 AM
QUOTE(ben3003 @ Jul 4 2008, 09:36 AM)
I cant run 3dmark06 at 700/1100, keep on say wat ati driver got error, so i ran it at 690/1100.
3dmark score: 11540
SM2.0: 5044
Sm3.0/HDR: 6113
CPU score: 2334
i'm on XP.
680 / 1050 - 3dmark06 i get 11892
my processor is a little faster than yours i suppose, E2140 @ 3.2ghz.
unfortunately 680 / 1050 doesn't pass lost planet test.

default fan speed. is yours on default fan speed?
ben3003
Jul 5 2008, 09:02 AM
mine is on accelero s1+xigmatek 120mm fan running at full speed i think becos i straight plug into the molex one. Ur processor owes pull out better 3dmark06 score. But i think 3dmark a little bit processor dependant, when processor is better, the sm2.0 sm3.0 mark sure pull up by 300-400 one. Like if i oc my proc to 3.0ghz, sure i can get better score. But my PSU not enuf juice for me to oc both the card. Btw, i uploaded MSI bios that techpowerup forum said it come with higher voltage than normal one.
Added on July 5, 2008, 11:15 amanother question is, is e2160 more powerful than e6300? Or only faster in benchmarking but not in gaming? I tot 2160 only have 1mb cache while e6300 have 2mb cache.
ben_panced
Jul 6 2008, 08:59 AM
mine cannot get past 675/1050..
700/1100 fails artifact scanning, btw im waiting for factory oced 4850 bios, maybe the vgpu is higher
ben3003
Jul 6 2008, 09:58 AM
Tweak ur bios, use 1.2v. NOw my 1.2v rock stable i think, becos before that, i cant run 3dmark06, stuck at the firefly there, last night i change to 1.2v, it ran 3dmark06 sucessfully.
coolice
Jul 6 2008, 10:07 AM
QUOTE(ben3003 @ Jul 6 2008, 09:58 AM)
Tweak ur bios, use 1.2v. NOw my 1.2v rock stable i think, becos before that, i cant run 3dmark06, stuck at the firefly there, last night i change to 1.2v, it ran 3dmark06 sucessfully.
bios voltage mod actually working??
ben3003
Jul 6 2008, 10:42 AM
It worked until 1.2v and not higher than that, U can try and see, i dont have multimeter to see it really works or not. I saw ppl from techpowerup forum said so and they tested it. Normally the card only hit 1.1-1.5v.
Added on July 6, 2008, 10:43 amMy card black out at 700/1100 when playing age of conan lolz. Probably more Vmem is needed for 1100 to rock stable. I gonna try 700/1050 for the time being.
Hyde`fK
Jul 7 2008, 01:48 PM
What's the default vGPU BTW? 1.1v or 1.15v?
ben3003
Jul 7 2008, 02:48 PM
1.5v is for MSI bios, normal is 1.1v, i got a 4850 bios from tweaker at techpowerup. 160/500 idle, 720/1000 1.2v at load.
rlhc17
Jul 7 2008, 02:58 PM
Pencil it a bit more..... now 3d Vgpu=1.33vgpu

Sapphire HD4850 running 840core 1200mem
ben3003
Jul 7 2008, 03:41 PM
NIce nice!!
Added on July 7, 2008, 6:11 pmThe clock i am using is currently stable, 720/1000. Maybe later will try 720/1050.
glock88
Jul 11 2008, 08:28 PM
does vmod for the core helps stabilizing the rams too?? like when u do pencil mod.. its for the core only rite? or is it including the rams
ben3003
Jul 11 2008, 08:29 PM
u can pencil mod Vmem, it will help to stablize memory clock.
glock88
Jul 11 2008, 08:31 PM
oh i see. lol i almost thought u cant vmod for the mem.
sukhoi37
Jul 11 2008, 08:33 PM
QUOTE(rlhc17 @ Jul 7 2008, 02:58 PM)
Pencil it a bit more..... now 3d Vgpu=1.33vgpu

Sapphire HD4850 running 840core 1200mem
****!
Stop tempting me...
bugpakoo
Jul 11 2008, 09:25 PM
wow..this card seem interesting....gonna get it soon
AMDAthlon
Jul 11 2008, 10:43 PM
Mine 750/1050 not stable sia..Got artifacts.Is it not enough voltage?
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.