Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: ctrl-V suddenly fails in Excel 2007
Lowyat.NET > Computers > Software
senyum
HISTORY
I have lots of data in XML format. I can open the XML with Excel 2007. I have been copying with Ctrl-C from XML and then going pasting it usign Ctrl-V in an Excel 2007 worksheet. Things were working fine. When suddenly...
NOW
Ctrl-V doesn't paste anymore. I have restarted Excel, shut down PC, restarted all that I can think of, it still fails. cry.gif

SYMPTOMS
Ctrl-C gets it into the Excel clipboard but Ctrl-V doesn't paste it. Instead I think it replaces it with a new cell. I have to open the clipboard and manually select the item to paste it. This is very inconvenient because there are lots of data here and there that I need to select, copy and paste.

ACTION
I did a check in the internet and I found that there is a hotfix relating to this (from microsoft website as well as others) but the hotfix is mainly for the calculation error that was found out in Excel 2007 recently. But when I run the Excel 2007 hotfix, my notebook blush.gif says the expected version of the product was not found in the system.

icon_question.gif
navilink
try right click and Paste or select Paste from menu bar? or ur CTRL or V on keyboard spoilt d?
senyum
Paste from menu right mouse button doesn't work too.
But I think I might have the solution.
Excel 2007 behaves this way when the file has too many data in it. Even if the PC goes through restart, it still behaves the same way because maybe it's the file that is too heavy. Not the buffer memory.
The reason why I say this: when I cut and transfer half the data to elsewhere, the newly created file works.
ubsacc2004
wow yes yes u so smart lah. its the files is too large. it onli can support 65,536 rows.
AskDS
Hmm, TS is using Excel 2007 so it should be able to support up to 1million rows.
songbo
control key rosak??
navilink
TS wonder how many RAMs on ur PC, why can't copy paste the entire data file?
senyum
I am using the Acer Aspire 4720. RAM upgraded to 1G.
I don't think it has reached 1 million rows (I don't know how 1 row is defined in a worksheet. I assume 1 row is across the entire worksheet.).
But there are a lot of data (around 50,000 cells used in 3 worksheets). And some formatting as well.
Excel file works fine except that it doesn't do ctrl-V directly.

In Excel 2007, I noticed that if you have too many words in the title bar of your chart, the formatting of the words can also change.
Maybe these things happen when the memory allocated for that special task is exceeded.

Thanks guys.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.