Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Freelance Designer Pool
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Arts & Designs
Alternation
Hi all!

I’m looking for a pool of web designers, web programmers and also graphic designers who are interested and available to do freelance design jobs.

Basically I’m an IT consultant and my field earns me an extensive network. From this network I’m assigned to many projects by my clients and instead of giving these projects to design companies, I’m channeling it to freelancers who can take it up with professional responsibility.

You can be a student interested in earning some income to supplement your studies or fresh grads and experts in your field as long as you are interested to generate extra income.

Students and fresh graduates will be given technical and career guidance on becoming a better designer or to be better-prepared to enter the job market if they need one.

Everyone who is interested can submit their portfolio and among the pool, I will select the most suitable one or few depending on the scale of the projects which are assigned to me. The selection process will be based on the suitability of your design style and hopefully you guys are so good everyone will get a chance. Once selected, I will inform you and if you are interested, we will set an appointment so I can brief, discuss and meet you.

A simple documentation/contract will be prepared once you agree the fee which i'm going to pay you for your work and also ready to start. Payment will be quite handsome depending on the project. A bonus will be given to good performance and he/she will be front running to receive more projects.

To submit yourself to the pool, please provide

Name:
Availability: Immediately/1 week notice/etc
Graduated from:
Specialization:
Command of Softwares:
Address:
LYN nick:

Please also provide your own portfolio. Do send me your info to my email at: albertyeoh05@yahoo.com

I would appreciate it if you guys can intro some talented designer friends too.

For your own privacy, please do not disclose your personal information here.

edit: if you wish, you can include your LYN nick too when you submit your details. Thanks
subsonique
well count me in.
GameFr3ak
"A simple documentation/contract will be prepared once you agree the fee" fishy :?
Alternation
QUOTE(GameFr3ak @ Jul 1 2008, 03:43 PM)
"A simple documentation/contract will be prepared once you agree the fee" fishy :?

For any dealing there must b a form of documentation or contract once details like price, duration and etc. This contract is to protect the two dealing parties. Meaning i must pay by specific date once the work is done and so on. Failing to do so, you can bring this documentation/contract to get me to sue me. On my part, it will protect me that the freelancers will not simply abandon the project halfway after he/she agreed to take on the project.

Once we agree on all the details and the documentation/contract is prepared, you can further choose to accept it or not. This contract is a simple contract which is designed to protect all the parties involved. Its much simpler and flexible than your average employee contract.

Added on July 1, 2008, 4:26 pm
QUOTE(subsonique @ Jul 1 2008, 02:48 PM)
well count me in.

I've received ur details and portfolio. Thanks for getting the ball rolling.

oh btw i grad from the same uni as u too
streetfx
Can we have more details about your company name and background?Thanks
zeist
QUOTE(streetfx @ Jul 1 2008, 05:35 PM)

Tipu ah? I thought you solo? tongue.gif
streetfx
QUOTE(zeist @ Jul 1 2008, 05:45 PM)
Tipu ah? I thought you solo?  tongue.gif

Just asking for more info,since gamefreak said its fishy haha
Alternation
QUOTE(streetfx @ Jul 1 2008, 05:35 PM)

Basically i'm an independent IT consultant for a few companies and through my client network, i'm also assigned to multimedia projects which i usually channel to few local design companies. After some not so pleasant dealings with them, I decided to start a base for freelancers to earn some extra cash. All dealings will be done through Sklipz Creative, a company which is registered for the sole purpose of dealing officially and legally with freelancers.

As for the fishy part, i guess GameFr3ak has some misunderstanding when i mention about the contract. To explain further, every dealing will be done contractually as you would with your employer, only it is much simpler and flexible. All the contracts will be drawn accordingly to agreement between both party.
goldfries
i don't think there's any misunderstanding yet. he just express that it looked fishy but not in anyway accusing you of hanky-panky yet. smile.gif

people are cautious these days, thinking twice before parting personal details.

anyway, just do your best to convince - meaning on your side, perhaps even providing actual details such as company and co reg number - so on so forth.

just a suggestion. smile.gif
Alternation
QUOTE(goldfries @ Jul 1 2008, 06:49 PM)
i don't think there's any misunderstanding yet. he just express that it looked fishy but not in anyway accusing you of hanky-panky yet. smile.gif

people are cautious these days, thinking twice before parting personal details.

anyway, just do your best to convince - meaning on your side, perhaps even providing actual details such as company and co reg number - so on so forth.

just a suggestion. smile.gif

No prob. Basically the company is called Sklipz Creative. reg number is 001710717-U.
GameFr3ak
A simple documentation/contract will be prepared once you agree the "fee" as in the fee that the designer need to pay or ? Cause it's not very clear that why i said fishy.
[+]
u got PM flex.gif
zeist
QUOTE(streetfx @ Jul 1 2008, 06:12 PM)
Just asking for more info,since gamefreak said its fishy haha

Yea, at first when I read the "fee", I thought need to pay some small fee for it. But I tried reading the sentence a few times, don't think so there is a fee involved. tongue.gif
Alternation
QUOTE([+�)
,Jul 1 2008, 07:37 PM]
u got PM  flex.gif

Yup, received. thx.

Added on July 1, 2008, 9:07 pm
QUOTE(GameFr3ak @ Jul 1 2008, 07:02 PM)
A simple documentation/contract will be prepared once you agree the "fee" as in the fee that the designer need to pay or ? Cause it's not very clear that why i said fishy.

hmm.gif i think i need to rephrase it. Thanks for pointing out smile.gif

Added on July 1, 2008, 9:14 pm
QUOTE(zeist @ Jul 1 2008, 08:32 PM)
Yea, at first when I read the "fee", I thought need to pay some small fee for it. But I tried reading the sentence a few times, don't think so there is a fee involved.  tongue.gif

sweat.gif the only fee involved is from me to the freelance designer smile.gif
subsonique
oh goodness gracious i have no idea why the word fishy came into place. i read all he posted and i understood everything. of course there will be an agreed price, then comes the contract to be signed. if no agreed price, how to sign la? i reckon his posting was pretty simple, straight to the point.
shoguniphicus
Count me in too. Will send you my stuff in a few days time.
Alternation
QUOTE(shoguniphicus @ Jul 2 2008, 06:37 PM)
Count me in too. Will send you my stuff in a few days time.

No prob. Do email them to me when u have them ready. Thanks smile.gif
zeist
Alternation: Just wondering, what is the exact no. of people that you are going to hire? rolleyes.gif
Alternation
QUOTE(zeist @ Jul 3 2008, 06:52 PM)
Alternation: Just wondering, what is the exact no. of people that you are going to hire?  rolleyes.gif

I'm not hiring. Jst gathering a pool of designers whos interested in doing freelance job. Once there's an opening which is suitable for any of them, i will inform them. I'm not looking at any specific number, the more they are, the more i will market their services to my clients.

I hope u'll understand, this venture is still quite new and if God's will is for it to go big and i need to expand, i will give priority to the people from this pool when i need to hire fulltime. As what i can guarantee now, there is nothing to lose to be in this pool. No hanky panky stuff. Straight business.
Hishgraphics
I've just thrown my card into the pool.

Thanks for the opportunity.
Alternation
QUOTE(Hishgraphics @ Jul 5 2008, 03:47 PM)
I've just thrown my card into the pool.

Thanks for the opportunity.

yup, received. Thanks for your interest!
shoguniphicus
Well, mine sent.

Added on July 6, 2008, 6:15 pmI want a project! Arrrhhhhhhh....

*ahem. tongue.gif
fresh_ideas
need to pay commision?
Alternation
QUOTE(fresh_ideas @ Jul 19 2008, 12:27 AM)
need to pay commision?

U mean u pay me? shocking.gif No! But if u insist i dun mind laugh.gif

There is no joining fee or anything, the only payment is from me to you. I will pay u once you finish a project assigned.
GameFr3ak
Is this still available? lol
NeoMnemonic
Im interested in doing Environmental Graphics, Signage and Wayfinding. biggrin.gif
Jcizz
Thrown in my card
Thanks in advance for the opportunity
Alternation
QUOTE(GameFr3ak @ Jul 21 2008, 04:17 PM)
Is this still available? lol

Yup, its available anytime. So far ive assigned 2 projects to 2 different person based on their suitability of the project. Any 1 can still submit their info to be include in the pool.

QUOTE(NeoMnemonic @ Jul 21 2008, 04:29 PM)
Im interested in doing Environmental Graphics, Signage and Wayfinding.  biggrin.gif

Err ... to be frank currently none of my clients are doing that. Based on your capability, i guess ur a graphic designer? I could include you in the pool if there's ever a need accordingly to your expertise.

QUOTE(Jcizz @ Jul 24 2008, 12:53 AM)
Thrown in my card
Thanks in advance for the opportunity

Received, thanks.
nikeshock
hey, just sent mine to u. please confirm with me ya
queenkie17
HI. MY bf like web designer, internet marketing. although he is not grade frm this fields. will pm u his details. thx.
Core-
by any chance will u need a 3D visualizer?
subsonique
QUOTE(Core- @ Aug 22 2008, 12:29 AM)

just join the pool bro. i reckon 3D artistes will still fall under art & design jurisdiction at some point hehe.
cymon
QUOTE(subsonique @ Aug 23 2008, 04:45 AM)
just join the pool bro. i reckon 3D artistes will still fall under art & design jurisdiction at some point hehe.

well, this is how malaysia treat artist/designer.
they are not much exposed as they are at oversea.
the ts should highlight the company and the why need of our info/data.
but most of designer will be very happy once someone want to collect their
contact/data. coz they know they might land on big project later.
this is unhealthy thinking. no offense here.
the true professional will never exposed their data/contact to some
unknown company. and most info based on personal message(pm).

i remember i went to boston, united state for siggraph at few years ago, and me was greet well by other friends of same fields people.
they even come from giant company like ILM, BLUR STUDIO, DREAMWORKS, STUDIO X, SONY IMAGEWORKS and lots more.
they do have collect data of us too.
but much more transparency.
at least we know the proper company who need our data for it.
Alternation
QUOTE(Core- @ Aug 22 2008, 12:29 AM)

Yup, personally i dont need a 3d visualizer right now but i could ask around my contacts. They needed a few months ago but i'm not sure now. I can help u ask and if they r in need i can recommend u.

Added on September 7, 2008, 3:11 am
QUOTE(cymon @ Aug 23 2008, 06:34 PM)
well, this is how malaysia treat artist/designer.
they are not much exposed as they are at oversea.
the ts should highlight the company and the why need of our info/data.
but most of designer will be very happy once someone want to collect their
contact/data. coz they know they might land on big project later.
this is unhealthy thinking. no offense here.
the true professional will never exposed their data/contact to some
unknown company. and most info based on personal message(pm).

i remember i went to boston, united state for siggraph at few years ago, and me was greet well by other friends of same fields people.
they even come from giant company like ILM, BLUR STUDIO, DREAMWORKS, STUDIO X, SONY IMAGEWORKS and lots more.
they do have collect data of us too.
but much more transparency.
at least we know the proper company who need our data for it.

Basically i need some info and portfolio to allow me to gauge their ability. Infact these info are sometimes not sufficient enough to assure me that specific person is capable or responsible enuff when the project is given to them. This is the risk i have to take and failing to deliver means i will have to take full responsibility and compensate that particular client. So asking for basic info is the least i can do.

2ndly, yes i'm always on a look out to get bigger projects and i dont understand ur meaning of it being unhealthy? Yes i got to admit my company is definitely not even 1/100th of say the giants u mentioned earlier but does that means i cannot collect data and outsource my business to interested candidates here? Oh besides being small and have no rights to do business here, u also accuse my company not being proper?

Ur offensiveness is noted but somehow i laugh at ur biased view against anything which is not from the states.
Andrewyah
Is it the pool is still available by right?

I am actually interested to become a freelance designer but I am study in other field. doh.gif

I've form up my own portfolio and most probably in sketching. Do you need this kind of freelancer?

Learning design was my self-educated and I major in sketch buildings, cars with front elevation, side sections, plan and 3D view with full dimension as well. Lolx~

Below are just curtain part of my work. smile.gif
(That house complete set will be togather with interior 3D view as well as exterior 3D view too)
Alternation
QUOTE(Andrewyah @ Sep 7 2008, 06:42 AM)
Is it the pool is still available by right?

I am actually interested to become a freelance designer but I am study in other field.  doh.gif

I've form up my own portfolio and most probably in sketching. Do you need this kind of freelancer?

Learning design was my self-educated and I major in sketch buildings, cars with front elevation, side sections, plan and 3D view with full dimension as well. Lolx~

Below are just curtain part of my work.  smile.gif 
(That house complete set will be togather with interior 3D view as well as exterior 3D view too)

Nice sketching skill u have there. What softwares you are well-versed to?

Again for as for a non design fella to draw like that, i got to admit i can do no better than u even with all my life drawing classes ages ago sweat.gif
Andrewyah
QUOTE(Alternation @ Sep 7 2008, 06:28 PM)
Nice sketching skill u have there. What softwares you are well-versed to?

Again for as for a non design fella to draw like that, i got to admit i can do no better than u even with all my life drawing classes ages ago sweat.gif

Erm...2 softwares only...AutoCAD and photoshop.

Lolz~ you're so humble...might be your skill much more better than me but just you don't wanna be swanky.. nod.gif
cymon
QUOTE(Alternation @ Sep 7 2008, 02:51 AM)
Yup, personally i dont need a 3d visualizer right now but i could ask around my contacts. They needed a few months ago but i'm not sure now. I can help u ask and if they r in need i can recommend u.

Added on September 7, 2008, 3:11 am

Basically i need some info and portfolio to allow me to gauge their ability. Infact these info are sometimes not sufficient enough to assure me that specific person is capable or responsible enuff when the project is given to them. This is the risk i have to take and failing to deliver means i will have to take full responsibility and compensate that particular client. So asking for basic info is the least i can do.

2ndly, yes i'm always on a look out to get bigger projects and i dont understand ur meaning of it being unhealthy? Yes i got to admit my company is definitely not even 1/100th of say the giants u mentioned earlier but does that means i cannot collect data and outsource my business to interested candidates here? Oh besides being small and have no rights to do business here, u also accuse my company not being proper?

Ur offensiveness is noted but somehow i laugh at ur biased view against anything which is not from the states.

ok, at least wit your company name, address and tel/fax.
that is basic .
it is not matter with small company or big.
you can collect data and outsource.
just let everyone know some of the company info.

imagine some stranger ask you for something will you give it straight without asking info/data?

until now i don't really see any transparent at it.
you just avoid to put up the company info.
at least every designer who submit their profile/portfolio also know what company
is helping for them.
and seriously i don't see any humour/joke at here.

thanks smile.gif
sarcast
will we be very busy if there's any project?.. especially for the student..
this is a great opportunity for us to gain experience with the real design world out there...

im in the multimedia design field.. if have time might send my portfolio to u. some picture and my satisfied assignment done at school...

design software.. will this work with these softwares?.. photoshop, illustrator, InDesign(just use for a magazine assignment), flash (love it and know it but definately not pro yet)
Benny-T
i cant believe people actually thrown in their personal info to an unknown company
i dont see any transparency here
just a company name and registered number
what does that mean?
didnt even explain much about the company
no info no whatsoever

heck your company site was even suspended
hmm.gif hmm.gif
couldnt even maintain a website
wonder how are you going to handle projects
sklipz creative?
go google it

i couldn't help it but to see students and freelancer lunging their head without doing research on the company
etsuko
Now, let's not go creating wars in other people's thread. But many thanks for sharing this and I hope the matter doesn't resolve into something resulting in a locked thread.

Anyway, just incase anyone didn't know. Because your 'handler' is dealing with the Client, he/she may have already included his commission into the project.

So most importantly, charge accordingly or take projects only which is worth your time. Or, if you are in need of quick cash. LOL! tongue.gif
Andrewyah
Alternation, may I know you're looking for what type of designer?
Alternation
QUOTE(cymon @ Sep 7 2008, 06:55 PM)
ok, at least wit your company name, address and tel/fax.
that is basic .
it is not matter with small company or big.
you can collect data and outsource.
just let everyone know some of the company info.

imagine some stranger ask you for something will you give it straight without asking info/data?

until now i don't really see any transparent at it.
you just avoid to put up the company info.
at least every designer who submit their profile/portfolio also know what company
is helping for them.
and seriously i don't see any humour/joke at here.

thanks smile.gif

Please go to the 1st page to read all the details.

I'm an independent multimedia consultant for a few clients and BAT is among them. Besides consulting my job is to source technical expertise for projects assigned. Instead of fully outsourcing these projects to production houses, i do outsource to interested freelancers too. In order for it to be legal and proper, i registered a company for tht sole purpose to deal with freelancers.

Address and phone numbers are my personal residence and my personal phone. I will not reveal it here nor i expect any1 interested in the pool to reveal in the open forum to keep our privacy. And for ur info, i do not collect these info if those who r interested do not wish to provide. Only those who are given projects will have my personal contact ... apart from those i have dealt with here. So no hanky panky stuff.

Added on September 9, 2008, 3:56 pm
QUOTE(etsuko @ Sep 8 2008, 12:58 PM)
Now, let's not go creating wars in other people's thread. But many thanks for sharing this and I hope the matter doesn't resolve into something resulting in a locked thread.

Anyway, just incase anyone didn't know. Because your 'handler' is dealing with the Client, he/she may have already included his commission into the project.

So most importantly, charge accordingly or take projects only which is worth your time. Or, if you are in need of quick cash. LOL! tongue.gif

Yup, surely i do earn some commission from the projects which i outsource to freelancers which i normally dont get if i outsource them to production houses. But rest assure i'm not slaving any1 with cheap pay here laugh.gif I've even gave a LYN freelancer my clients contact and to deal with my client directly because their budget is too small and if i take a commission out of it ... then the designer will not earn.

Btw i've been wondering for a long time if u r who u r. I think i used to play CS with u last time at netempire tmn mayang? hmm.gif smile.gif

Added on September 9, 2008, 4:03 pm
QUOTE(Benny-T @ Sep 8 2008, 08:04 AM)
i cant believe people actually thrown in their personal info to an unknown company
i dont see any transparency here
just a company name and registered number
what does that mean?
didnt even explain much about the company
no info no whatsoever
heck your company site was even suspended
hmm.gif hmm.gif
couldnt even maintain a website
wonder how are you going to handle projects
sklipz creative?
go google it

i couldn't help it but to see students and freelancer lunging their head without doing research on the company

Yes, the website is www.sklipz.com but the hosting company/individual which i host the site screwed up. That's wht u get for being a cheapskate! doh.gif Dont worry, it will be up soon with a 'premium' charging hosting company. I cant afford to let such interesting site die like tht laugh.gif

As for the explanation on why the company is founded and its contacts, pls refer to 1st page or all the replies on the same question earlier.

Added on September 9, 2008, 4:14 pm
QUOTE(Andrewyah @ Sep 8 2008, 06:26 PM)
Alternation, may I know you're looking for what type of designer?

When i see Andy lau and i tell every1 he's so good looking compared to me, i'm merely telling the truth and not being humble sweat.gif

So when i can say u can draw better than me means u really can draw better than me laugh.gif

I'm looking for any kind of designers. Frankly most of my projects are graphic and web based projects. But for starting a pool like this, few of my friends who r in the industry do contact me when they r in need of designers. I will intro and not charge them or the freelancer.

Again i do not 1 2 give high hopes to those who r in the pool. I cant promise any 1 with any project and majority wont get any from me because i really need to ensure the chosen one has the quality and responsibility to undertake the project. For those who r not selected all i can say is u do not lose anything at all and i appreciate your effort and interest in submitting to the pool.
Andrewyah

Added on September 9, 2008, 4:14 pm
QUOTE(Alternation @ Sep 9 2008, 03:47 PM)
When i see Andy lau and i tell every1 he's so good looking compared to me, i'm merely telling the truth and not being humble sweat.gif

So when i can say u can draw better than me means u really can draw better than me laugh.gif

I'm looking for any kind of designers. Frankly most of my projects are graphic and web based projects. But for starting a pool like this, few of my friends who r in the industry do contact me when they r in need of designers. I will intro and not charge them or the freelancer.

Again i do not 1 2 give high hopes to those who r in the pool. I cant promise any 1 with any project and majority wont get any from me because i really need to ensure the chosen one has the quality and responsibility to undertake the project. For those who r not selected all i can say is u do not lose anything at all and i appreciate your effort and interest in submitting to the pool.

Lol~ Okay biggrin.gif
Sze Mun
.......Sent mine.......... biggrin.gif
StrayBullet90
um alternation, im still in college, currently 17 years of age, is it possible to join your pool still? coz the extra cash can really come in handy.. biggrin.gif:D:D

Added on November 5, 2008, 11:23 amalternation, i've sent my stuff.. thanks alot.

Added on November 5, 2008, 11:26 amoh yeah, everyone please feel free to check out my topic car art, in the art and design forum. thanks!
Alternation
QUOTE(StrayBullet90 @ Nov 5 2008, 10:54 AM)
um alternation, im still in college, currently 17 years of age, is it possible to join your pool still? coz the extra cash can really come in handy.. biggrin.gif:D:D

Added on November 5, 2008, 11:23 amalternation, i've sent my stuff.. thanks alot.

Added on November 5, 2008, 11:26 amoh yeah, everyone please feel free to check out my topic car art, in the art and design forum. thanks!

Hi there. Sorry for the late reply and want to tell u that i've received it. Thanks for your interest.

Btw i'm impressed by ur interest in the field judging by ur tender age. Ur still so young! take the advantage to learn and gain as much experience and when u graduated, u'll have a head start and way mature design head. The cars rendering are nice but with better perspective, it'll look better. Learn life drawing.

Thanks again for submitting.
StrayBullet90
QUOTE(Alternation @ Nov 6 2008, 12:48 AM)
Hi there. Sorry for the late reply and want to tell u that i've received it. Thanks for your interest.

Btw i'm impressed by ur interest in the field judging by ur tender age. Ur still so young! take the advantage to learn and gain as much experience and when u graduated, u'll have a head start and way mature design head. The cars rendering are nice but with better perspective, it'll look better. Learn life drawing.

Thanks again for submitting.

hey, no problems dude. thanks for d comments. will deeply consider them haha.I actually planned to go to one academy, but my mom wanted me to complete Alevels first, so i still can choose.um, am i still included in the pool?
Alternation
QUOTE(StrayBullet90 @ Nov 10 2008, 03:16 PM)
hey, no problems dude. thanks for d comments. will deeply consider them haha.I actually planned to go to one academy, but my mom wanted me to complete Alevels first, so i still can choose.um, am i still included in the pool?

Yup. Anyone who is interested will be included and if there's a project which suits your ability, i'll inform you.

The One Academy is good. They are producing some of the better designers i know now. But basically everything very much depends on your own interest. A good student or even designer will never stop learning and self learning is the best way to keep yourself in the trend.
aizen
count me in. i hv sent my info to ur email.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.