Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: APPLE ibook G4 1Ghz
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Apple Byte
redbluez18
i m apple user and fren due to limited budget i plan to go for 2nd hand apple ibook G4. My fren is selling his APPLE ibook G4 1Ghz for rm1800k.

the spec:
•14" LCD screen,
•32MB ATI Mobility Radeon 9200 graphics,
•640MB memory, 160GB hard drive, DVD burner aka "SuperDrive",
•2x FireWire 400 ports, 2x USB 2.0 ports, 56k V.92 modem,
•10/100BASE-T Ethernet, MAXPower 802.11n USB Wireless Adapter,
•Runs Mac OS 9.22 as well as the latest Mac OS X 10.5 "Leopard"!
reva
wow so expensive ucan get that for 1500
with 1 gb ram
b48753
Ya lor..too expensive..

I Remeber someone in eBay selling PowerBook G4 1.5GHz for RM2.3k
Balok
RM 1800k = RM 1800,000

are you serious? tongue.gif

I think 1.2k is a good price
kin
Your fren is try to con you. Hehe. Sorry that specs can only fetch around 1k.

If you intend to run leopard with that machine, you can probably just surf net, word processing, watch movie. Still a great machine if you are looking to do just those simple things. Else use Tiger, you can do more with an older OSX.
b48753
...or even Panther.. biggrin.gif
redbluez18
i m using it to do design work; running adobe photoshop and illustrator. i alreay promosie i wanna get frm him as far as i knw he is really take care or maintain his ibook. my goodness.. i already let him knw i m goin to get it frm him 2 weeks frm nw. well.. dude.. can u gimme an idea how m i goin to bargain frm him.. i m just apple noob that only knw how to use.. blink.gif
sonnettech-asia
I think every seller has is looking for a higher price when they are selling their computer. But most of the time, the price that they offer are not realistic because they are not sure how much their computer worth.

My advise is to do a google search or go to Ebay to check the price.
that gives you a good indication of the price to purchase.

redbluez18
QUOTE(sonnettech-asia @ Jul 1 2008, 11:31 AM)
I think every seller has is looking for a higher price when they are selling their computer. But most of the time, the price that they offer are not realistic because they are not sure how much their computer worth.

My advise is to do a google search or go to Ebay to check the price.
that gives you a good indication of the price to purchase.

i already google, lelong or ebay... oni a few i got.. and all r like different spec/price/country... hard to make comparison..hmm. wat is the most reasonable price for this ibook .. i will say the condition is superb n like new. thx ppl
pmsoo
Well, you shouldn't compare prices between ppl values their mac like gold with ppl who values their mac like gold.

Anyway this website always give me a good estimation of 2nd hand value of a mac

http://www.mac2sell.net/

**Sorry, either my net is super lousy now or the website is down. Try again later smile.gif

kin
I do agreee on pmsoo, everyone give 2nd mac different value. Those who love them will say they worth the price, those who dont will advice you getting a cheap laptop PC; which neither of them is wrong.

Maybe I was a bit harsh, it shouldn't worth just 1k. But I can't justify buying PowerPC Macs if you are planning to do real work with it. I have a iBook G4 1.2. Compared to newer intel based. Huge different.
cill
QUOTE(kin @ Jul 1 2008, 09:54 PM)
I do agreee on pmsoo, everyone give 2nd mac different value. Those who love them will say they worth the price, those who dont will advice you getting a cheap laptop PC; which neither of them is wrong.

Maybe I was a bit harsh, it shouldn't worth just 1k. But I can't justify buying PowerPC Macs if you are planning to do real work with it. I have a iBook G4 1.2. Compared to newer intel based. Huge different.

1. i think that if the price is in between rm1 000 to rm 1 500 and the lappy is really been taken care with, then you may consider.

2. Do check battery status of the laptop. You do not want to buy one that can survives merely an hour without charger.

3. And, yes, i do agree with Kin that power pc is MAYBE a bit slow, compared to Intel based processor. Your patience may be tested if you heavily use photoshop and illustrator.
gtafan
luv tis book
superb
h_bib
how much Ibook G4 2nd hand price now?
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry18411226

please help me..
unasville
izit worth? well it depends..

i had been using both powerbook and ibook G4 (1Ghz) and it really fulfill my desire as a programmer whose addicted to tv shows and do some shell programming. With ibook g4 (1Ghz) you can :
- use leopard ( i upgrade my powerbook to 2gig of ram and 250gig of hdd already tongue.gif )
- install office 2004 (2008 not recomennded)
- watch tvshow, movies,hentai blabla (except for mkv files, which contains h.264, damn laggy)
- play with ilife 08 (except for imovie 08 which need more cpu power)
- use adobe product ( i use cs3 without no problem)
- play with UNIX
- show off your ibook tongue.gif

but with 1.8K u can get Compaq C700 (intel core duo or amd processor) also capable of :
- use leopard (yes, please read osx86 project)
- use xp ( although no support from hp websites, must find the driver yourself)
- use Linux,freebsd or any other Unix osses that u like, just create dualboot or tripleboot.

as i said before, it depends on your needs.. icon_rolleyes.gif
yuktsi14
u get a Q6600 with tat amount of money
IvanKang
I got a Macbook 2.0GHz 1 year for 2.2k
manutd #1 fan
@TS:
you bought already or not.
FYI, i just get this great deal from one of the store on LYP.
macbook pro core duo 1.83GHz, 2GB RAM, 80GB HD for RM 3000.
this one is for your consideration only since mine & your is only rm 1000+ difference.

but back to how people value their belonging. if your friend find it very valuable & he/she want to sell it that price then can't say anything. icon_rolleyes.gif
redbluez18
MAJORITY of my fren advise me to go for macbook 2.1ghz. I might go for that rather than sticking to an old laptop. Thanks everybody for feedback.
b48753
...if not go to lelong.com.my. Someone over there selling his Powerbook G4 1GHz...
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.