Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Overclock MacPro 2.66 & 2.88Ghz (1st & 3rd Gen)
Lowyat.NET > Special Interest > Apple Byte
76radius

Extracted from ZDnet : http://www.zdnet.de/enterprise/mac/hardwar...192217-1,00.htm

I haven't tried on mine, but the entry level of current Mac Pro with a 2.80 GHz processor (RM10,299/-) can runs significantly faster after overclocking than the most expensive at 3.20 GHz (RM16,799). The price difference between these two machines is RM6,500/-. So any risk takers?.

asusfreak
not gonna buy this...or my pockets will get screwed
ennyong1985
I wonder is it possible to overclock on a laptop?? Say MBP??
b48753
Got problems after overclocking with:

1-Clock time, since Mac system clock based on CPU speed

2-Restart problem, especially on MaC Pro 1.1

3-Sleep Mode problem..need to disable it..
MacDaNife
Since my MacPro is plenty fast (even for an almost two year old machine) I'm not interested in overclocking it.
wei
Neither I felt the needs. Maybe when my current workstation retired to be my 2nd desktop, I might interested.
Suk
eh.. i tot Mac is not able to oc.... i am wrong.
b48753
QUOTE(Suk @ Jul 2 2008, 03:29 PM)
eh.. i tot Mac is not able to oc.... i am wrong.

Can ma....using software in MacOS, much easier than fiddling at the bios... biggrin.gif
Eithanius
I'm kinda happy with mine, though I'm curious about running it on a cooler Harpertown.... brows.gif

Shaving off a few seconds of work at the risk of my warranty...? Nah...! tongue.gif
manutd #1 fan
well... ummm
can OC mbp? mine is core duo 1.83.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.