Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Expensive cables
Lowyat.NET > Lifestyle > The Fast & The Furious > ICE
Bliz
I found out that there are a lot of really expensive RCA/speaker cables, are they really worth the $$? Providing that u have semi decent component, i guess decent cables like belden are pretty good already, aren't they? Can any pros clear out my confusion? rclxms.gif
dirsly
better signal,less distortion..for music freak is worth every money spend..but normal type also guud...ths is just much more better...
bafukie
TS: by asking, u will get more confuse..biggrin.gif... the cables thingy have been centuries old debate whether they are worth that much... there is no definite answer here.
ckmoy007
haha, most ppl with hi end ICE will wan to have hi end connections as well... smile.gif
driftmeister
spend 10% from ur total budget will do wink.gif
afterall, a better cable does not really give u significant different if its inaudible to you
dirsly
QUOTE(ckmoy007 @ Jun 30 2008, 10:22 AM)
haha, most ppl with hi end ICE will wan to have hi end connections as well... smile.gif

yeah its true... org kaya meh... tongue.gif
kenlimfornication
well, there's a big debate in the audio world of monster cable Vs clothes hanger. google it and read.

To be honest, i don't really know. I chose these Belden's because they are not as expensive, they come with durable heads, and also it looks alot tidier than those cheaper ones.
loon1031
If you can deference it... that mean worth lo
bafukie
time to put it to acid test.... blindfold a/b comparison... biggrin.gif
MobyDick
QUOTE(Bliz @ Jun 29 2008, 11:10 PM)
i guess decent cables like belden are pretty good already

Belden cables are more than adequate for cao audio & they themsef do not come cheap for the full setup. No point having some RCA Belden & some normal ones as you'll be wasting $$.
kenlimfornication
Oh believe me, Belden are considered cheap.

mattchin
belden user here... low price wif moderate quality.. worth every penny spent on it..

if u haf spent rm5000 into de system, u won't mind spending rm250 for de cables..

Added on July 1, 2008, 6:30 pmo maybe more...
dirsly
QUOTE(mattchin @ Jul 1 2008, 07:30 PM)
belden user here... low price wif moderate quality.. worth every penny spent on it..

if u haf spent rm5000 into de system, u won't mind spending rm250 for de cables..

Added on July 1, 2008, 6:30 pmo maybe more...

thts how the music movee..!
ivanlmh
Yeah, i mean..it really depends on the budget allocated. I just build at 2.5k ICE..but i'm still using on normal cable..unless you are looking at 5-6k ICE, then hell yeah..another 200-300 on cables wouldn't hurt
egiewan
Anyone heard of Audison cables? How is it? smile.gif
waihung82
QUOTE(egiewan @ Jul 3 2008, 11:58 AM)
Anyone heard of Audison cables? How is it? smile.gif

I am using it now......moderate lo....
ckmoy007
cables r crucial to bring out the full potential of a hi end system...
kenlimfornication
Do you mind sharing the cables u are using now, ckmoy?
Bliz
Speaker cable still ok, but RCA cables are really expensive sad.gif
ckmoy007
my cables, haha... very cheap one. i think when i installed, they charged me rm6 per metre for speaker cable. Power cable not so thick one. Brandless i think. tongue.gif Not going to change yet cos still driving old car, wait till i graduate and get new car onli i change the whole thing.
bafukie
wat i learn from cables is that if ur looking for details.. go for silver cables. Pure silver.. biggrin.gif
Bliz
QUOTE(bafukie @ Jul 4 2008, 06:02 PM)
wat i learn from cables is that if ur looking for details.. go for silver cables. Pure silver.. biggrin.gif

Pure silver the best? Or Alu? Copper? rclxub.gif Or Hybrid?
loon1031
QUOTE(bafukie @ Jul 4 2008, 06:02 PM)

Pure silver.. price also best laugh.gif
ckmoy007
Extreme price... too extreme for me. tongue.gif
driftmeister
not really
u get wat u paid
ckmoy007
i get wat i paid for if, that's a big IF, i can afford wat i wanted... haha.
mADmAN
for me....i wouldnt go for pure silver cables honestly....they tend to make the sound very bright...

id go with silver plater copper (SPC) or plain copper.

imho, expensive cables may or may not be worth it...GOOD cables are. even if theyre cheap like the Canare or Belden cables. though i dont mind paying a lil more for GOOD cables.
thien211
QUOTE(driftmeister @ Jun 30 2008, 09:22 AM)
spend 10% from ur total budget will do wink.gif
afterall, a better cable does not really give u significant different if its inaudible to you

not really. better cable can reduce resistancy, less unwanted noise. if u hv a nice amp and good output, of cos need better cable.

by Xe. smile.gif

Added on July 5, 2008, 7:52 pmhmm... of cos, silver wire are expensive due to low it spec.. less power loss, low resis, less unwanted noise... walla!

buy oxy-free copper wire is good enough for me, haha.. for power wiring, bigger size(gauge) also make it better.

give some comment, my jbl w15gti mkII woofer, use how many gauge? 0 gauge very big in size le!

by Xe. smile.gif
mnkh27
A good pure silver cable is by no means bright sounding. If you do not believe, I can loan you some.
craziechild
no matter what material the cables or the wires is... just have to know whether the sound is what you wanted to bring out of your system...

as some sifu may have experienced it different material poseses different characteristics... its not how costly is the cable... its how you mix match the system based on your taste.. and only can be done through personal experience... not that people say pure silver nice then you go buy pure silver... i personally using tinned copper...

cheers...
dirsly
im also use copper wire... but wil rethink back of buying silver type...

the best electric conductor stil GOLD.....
mnkh27
Gold cables can sound very rich and has plenty of weight but some can sound overly dense, lacks the detail and dynamics of top notch silver cables. Some companies combine gold with silver to get a better mix of performance/character.

I've just listened to a silver palladium cable over the weekend and I must say it blew me away!

Are cables important? Well, just remember your system is as good as its weakest link. Cables are not accessories. They are a component in the sound system that is equally important to the rest of the equipment chain.
dirsly
yep realy important..i also heard bout joining silver and gold to get max efficiency of conductor...
hushymushy
so much discussed bout cables but yet to achieve any conclusion

in my opinion...it all depends on your current hardware

if u r using cap ayam players and speakers....putting a Transparent cable wont convert ur system to a very transparent sound

so first of all, your hardware gotta have certain standards and ur listening level has gone to stage where u can see the difference

by putting in a brand new cable...it needs time to run in...
in most of the shops we visit, the demo set is often nicer...thats bcoz its run in alot....

plus they might have also used stuffs like VDH oil or demagnetizing and so on...

at the end of the day...its wat the pocket can afford and what quality u r willing to except
StratOS
then about QED cables.. i guess also super expensive 1 lor.. any1 using it oredy?
hushymushy
QED is ok.....i would really support their Silver Anniversary speaker cables

Hv tried their Qunex 3 & 4....not bad....

buy in singa land...cheaper
StratOS
yea.. Silver Anniversary cables the sound produced very nice.. so far i heard 1 car using QED cables only.. coz not much people would spend tat much on their cables..
Tachikoma
the best electric conductor stil GOLD.....

If electric conductivity is proportional to price, platinum or some extremely rare isotopes of caesium or what not would be more conductive, no?

In terms of conductivity, Silver > Copper > Gold.
hushymushy
QUOTE(StratOS @ Jul 23 2008, 07:50 AM)
yea.. Silver Anniversary cables the sound produced very nice.. so far i heard 1 car using QED cables only.. coz not much people would spend tat much on their cables..

have a heard few cars with it.....i used to use it too
StratOS
im still using StreetWires haha.. old but nice cable.. for entry level SQ it sounds nice.. RM125 per pair.. 2channel interconnects..
moo moo
cables are like ur arteries... it helps ur "blood"/signal to flow smoothly from ur "brain"/HU to ur "heart"/amp and distribute around to ur respective speakers..
so yeah.. i'd invest in good cables.
MobyDick

Have to admit that I'm totally not familiar at all in these cable topic which requires some 'experience' guys here for help & share their experience. As for me, interchanging with various type of RCA & speaker cables have produced improvments to an existing particular setup weather in ICE or home-audio, no doubt about it. On a normal ppl's question who usually have a cable-upgrade in mind but worry about the huge cost implications.

But can anybody here give us the 'insights' into the type of cables available in our local market minus those 'ultra' expensive which I've also used before. What's the price like(use home audio setup ratios) for instance for a pair of say 500mm length RCA & a pair of 2m length speaker cable.

What is also the recomended cable cost factor $$ for a home-audio as per the above lengths in % cost in relation to amp/speaker cost for example amp $2,500 + speaker $2,000 = ?? RCA+Speaker cost.

hushymushy
a rough guideline to cables spending

20% of ur equipment price...but this is just guideline

when ur equipment has reached a certain stage....then it doesnt go by ratio but by matching

running most expensive cables with most expensive equipment may not be d best

on an entry level system to mid entries, good cables bring the best out of ur equipment

as usual....branding is very subjective to personal taste

i prefer using XLO nowadays....am running the Ultra 2 with Aego M...
now thats an over kill..but it does bring the best out of Aego M...

i'm using d XLO Ultra 2 with Aego M bcoz i'm running in the cable now

i'm using XLO Pro in the car....and that has changed my soundstage significantly....

there r lots of cables out there...i suggest u choose those within ur very own budget....

find the densen demagnetizing cd and demagnetize ur system....u'll be surprised

brands & modesl that i have used and some currently using

1. Chord Calypso and Carnival - great entry level cables
2. AudioQuest Turqoise, Ruby, Alpha Snake - rcas
3. QED Qunex 3 & 4(rcas), 25th Silver Anniversary (spk)
4. Wireworld Terra 5 (spk cables)
6. Supra HDMI HF100
7. Monster Cables M100 rca for DVD player, Z1 Reference speaker cables for subwoofer
8. Hisago rcas
9. XLO Pro rcas & speaker cables / Ultra 2 RCAs and spk cables
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.