Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: Installing Windows Vista Theme
Lowyat.NET > Computers > Desktop Customization
wypua
Anyone knoes how to install the windows vista theme ? I have donwloaded some from the deviantart website. But i am not sure how to install those files. Anyone can help ? blink.gif
Ryeeson
are you using win xp or win vista as ur os?
wypua
Vista. I wanna add some themes that i donwloaded from http://www.myvistathemes.com/category/skins-and-themes/
asusfreak
hmmm..what type of file?extract n just instll
wypua
Tat's the problem. I dun find any file tat can be installed. Got few folders and dll files as well as the visual style or sumthing liddat. Mayb u can download and hav a look. biggrin.gif
ivanlmh
Depends what file is it? Some themes requires you to download a certain software..if im not mistaken
wypua
I heard sumthing bout windows blind 6. But after installing it, i still can't manage to relate the program with the file i donwload. icon_question.gif
cyew86
http://www.myvistathemes.com/faq/
keaizer
QUOTE(cyew86 @ Jun 29 2008, 11:36 AM)

thanks for that bro...now i know how to change my theme...hehe
wypua
I have went to the webbie, but still can't manage to figure out how to install the themes i downloaded. So complicated. sweat.gif
xk2
some theme require to change the .dll files in window system32.
menmissed
to install 3rd party vista theme, jz like winxp, uxtheme
VistaGlazz
install it and run it to replace.
songbo
QUOTE(menmissed @ Jun 29 2008, 04:00 PM)
to install 3rd party vista theme, jz like winxp, uxtheme
VistaGlazz
install it and run it to replace.

good one~ thumbup.gif
xin_star
i tried before, but tat time i hvnt upgrade, and it moved slowly,
now after added RAM, it gone smoother tongue.gif

even juz theme it does heavier rite?
crapp0
Is there a site where i can download just one file (theme) file and it will change the look for windows vista?

So far all the sites i;ve gone to either need a third party software or they dont include a simple theme file for windows vista to just simply change it.

I'm looking for vista basic themes since i feel that windows aero bogs down my system plus i dont need fancy transparency effects
qwertyuioped
QUOTE(wypua @ Jun 29 2008, 12:23 AM)
Anyone knoes how to install the windows vista theme ? I have donwloaded some from the deviantart website. But i am not sure how to install those files. Anyone can help ?  blink.gif

im assuming you downloaded theme which got thethemename.msstyles and a shellstyle.dll file rite anot?you just copy them to C:\WINDOWS\Resources\Themes and it should works like mine thumbup.gif
crapp0
QUOTE(qwertyuioped @ Jul 9 2008, 08:53 PM)
im assuming you downloaded theme which got thethemename.msstyles and a shellstyle.dll file rite anot?you just copy them to C:\WINDOWS\Resources\Themes and it should works like mine thumbup.gif

Ive already copied it into the theme folder, but i get no selection since it doesnt come with a *.theme file. So how am i suppose to change the theme without the "theme" file? will the windows visual style file do it?

Since i;ve double click on the windows visual style file but nothing happens.
qwertyuioped
QUOTE(crapp0 @ Jul 10 2008, 12:51 PM)
Ive already copied it into the theme folder, but i get no selection since it doesnt come with a *.theme file. So how am i suppose to change the theme without the "theme" file? will the windows visual style file do it?

Since i;ve double click on the windows visual style file but nothing happens.

just double click the *.msstyles file and a pop-up will appear.Or...
you go to your desktop ,rught click go to appearance tab and there should be a theme selection on windows and button menu.If it dun works hmm.gif ,ithink the theme file is corrupt or maybe u hav to use uxpatcher(just google it). thumbup.gif
CelciuzX
In order to change your Vista theme. You need to patch your uxtheme.dll.
Just google it & you'll find it.

Then place the file in C:\Windows\Resources\Themes

If it's a Windows Blind file then install Windows Blinds & install the theme through it.
crapp0
QUOTE(CelciuzX @ Jul 11 2008, 03:11 PM)
In order to change your Vista theme. You need to patch your uxtheme.dll.
Just google it & you'll find it.

Then place the file in C:\Windows\Resources\Themes

If it's a Windows Blind file then install Windows Blinds & install the theme through it.

Oh ic, ok i'll try it. Why didnt the webiste which supplied the skins mention that earlier. I thought it would be simple since vista supports themes natively.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.