Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: how to choose a good spec..
Lowyat.NET > Roundtable Discussions > Health & Fitness
jiant
same as title...for study and computer...how much price?
youngkies
go and ask optician.

it depends on frame and type of lenses you have chosen.

a cheap frame cost around rm100 only, a a typical non-reflection coated lens cost about rm150 only.

for 400-500 degree, i would suggest to go for thinner lens which cost abt rm100-200 on top.

go to an optician, see for yourself and ask them really.
navilink
go for hoya lens (which will be thinner), also ask for this coated lens (non-reflective) and protection layer for computer user (dunno what they call that)...
David83
I'm using aspheric lens. They claim a clearer vision with an improvement of 20 to 30%.
clngu
my eye also between 400 - 500 degree. last time I used Hoya frame and Hoya lens. recently I changed a new one. Mont Blanc frame and thinnest lens (couldn't remember the brand). bear in mind, lens is not cheap. my thinnest lens is RM1200.
navilink
QUOTE(clngu @ Jun 30 2008, 09:47 PM)
my eye also between 400 - 500 degree. last time I used Hoya frame and Hoya lens. recently I changed a new one. Mont Blanc frame and thinnest lens (couldn't remember the brand). bear in mind, lens is not cheap. my thinnest lens is RM1200.

wow...that's overkill!!! ur's only 400-500...mine like 600-700 so must cost a bomb for that lens!!! shocking.gif
IcedNyior
well u dont want ppl to look at you every time u put on your specs and say "wahh..so thick ahh ur specs". I get that everytime im too lazy to put on my lenses and go out with my specs.

Get the thin lenses (depending on your budget) and a light frame. Make sure it sits comfortably on your nose/face.
jiant
for around RM 400 which spec can i get?

for frame normal also can but the len which is prefer?

anti crack
colour
anti steam and etc???
navilink
QUOTE(IcedNyior @ Jul 1 2008, 08:20 AM)
well u dont want ppl to look at you every time u put on your specs and say "wahh..so thick ahh ur specs". I get that everytime im too lazy to put on my lenses and go out with my specs.

Get the thin lenses (depending on your budget) and a light frame. Make sure it sits comfortably on your nose/face.

well u can choose a thicker and bolder frames...it will cover/hide a bit thickness of the lens...
yingjee
QUOTE(navilink @ Jul 2 2008, 09:39 PM)
well u can choose a thicker and bolder frames...it will cover/hide a bit thickness of the lens...

good idea, navilink.. some look pretty nice ^^ i wouldnt recommend heavy/tight ones though.. it puts pressure on the nose bridge and the part above the ear which isnt good.. causes headaches for some people.. thinning of the lenses for high powers is a good way to make your lenses thinner and lighter.. doesnt look that bad too brows.gif but may cost alot x.x mine was about RM 100-200 which is still ok i guess..
BridgestoneRE711
mine is 375 both eye .

did one is south city plaza , comes with UV-protection lens . RM95 . including frame .

i did mine at eye-cabin south city . not a very high tech shop , but i bring my old lens along to bench mark the accuracy .
David83
I believe power beyond 400 should go for thinner lens. It has several specs. No need to go for the thinnest.

Most of my specs are priced between RM 350 to RM 400. My power for both eyes are between 400 to 450.
youngkies
yes exactly. 400 degree. the medium thin one will do just fine. no point to go for the thinnest one which costly, might as well save the money to change specs annually.

usually cost rm100-150 extra on top of the basic price of the lens. scratch resistant and anti-reflection coating is usually included.

with rm400, you can get quite a decent lens on decent frame.

navilink
how about which shops to buy from? i always go to A-Look, its cheap...i seldom go other shops, but i know Focus Point and England Optical quite expensive one...
jiant
QUOTE(youngkies @ Jul 3 2008, 04:56 AM)
yes exactly. 400 degree. the medium thin one will do just fine. no point to go for the thinnest one which costly, might as well save the money to change specs annually.

usually cost rm100-150 extra on top of the basic price of the lens. scratch resistant and anti-reflection coating is usually included.

with rm400, you can get quite a decent lens on decent frame.

which brand model or type of len is good??at my working place easy for me to get scratch ...and forr study or hobby i use computer more...which is prefer??
Chester
A-Look where got? MV? 1U? SS2?
navilink
QUOTE(Chester @ Jul 3 2008, 09:06 PM)
A-Look where got? MV? 1U? SS2?

Sunway Pyramid got also la...so prepare to get one! icon_idea.gif
jiant
any body can tell me got how many type of len for shortsighted?which is prefer for my use?is it expensive?
David83
QUOTE(navilink @ Jul 3 2008, 08:06 AM)
how about which shops to buy from? i always go to A-Look, its cheap...i seldom go other shops, but i know Focus Point and England Optical quite expensive one...

England Optical is more expensive I believe.

jiant
may i know got how many type of len that suitable for my situation??need advise
David83
QUOTE(jiant @ Jul 6 2008, 08:04 AM)
may i know got how many type of len that suitable for my situation??need advise

Why are you so particular?

Go to any shops, give them your budget. Tell them I want thinner and computer (some sort of radiation protection) lens.

They'll quote you and ask to choose the frames.
jiant
which type of lens is prefer...my place optical shop non have the anti scare len?
David83
Is anti scare or scratch important first? Do you throw your specs everywhere? If you're those who simply dump your spec anywhere which is convenient when you're not using it, perhaps this is considered vital to you.

Otherwise, I rather invest in lens which offer protection, clearer vision and thinner.
jiant
QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 24 2008, 10:50 PM)
Is anti scare or scratch important first? Do you throw your specs everywhere? If you're those who simply dump your spec anywhere which is convenient when you're not using it, perhaps this is considered vital to you.

Otherwise, I rather invest in lens which offer protection, clearer vision and thinner.

it is quite important...my job some time got collide with ...

any way
if non anti scare or scatch??

1. what type of protection u mean and clearer vision??
David83
QUOTE(jiant @ Jul 25 2008, 10:30 PM)

any way

Protection - UV radiation, CRT monitor radiation <--- this is quite standard noawdays.

Clearer vision - aspherical lenses as I mentioned earlier <--- up to 20% of clearer and wider vision.

Lighter - thinner lenses since at the power 400 to 500, normal lenses tend to be thicker.
Disciple
choose the frame that is comfortable, and make sure it suits your face...
as for the lens, it depends whether you want plastic or glass...
aiyoyoyo
for lens i'l greatly recommend PLASTIC , altho easier to get calar compared to glass but its much more tahan lasak compared to glass.
for power ard 400-500 , juz use a 1.56 or 1.55 index lens it wont look too thick which cost rm150 n comes wif UV,EMI,MC .
if u wanna go for thinner lens its rm180or200 if not mistaken its index is 1.60
for power below of 600 , at index 1.6 and higher index such as 1.7( thinner).... from my comparism chart its onli 6% thinner( which cant be seen from our naked eye)

frame its all up to u. anything u can ask me too, i works in a optical shop(helper)
navilink

any way

what job u doing? something to do with welding? if collide with spectacles then u should have get a protection mask or something like that...
mofonyx
Whalau you're damn annoying man. Just reading your posts.

If you want something good. Hoya is fine, but Nikon would give you a warranty on their lenses. If the lenses scratch, you get to replace them F.O.C.

However, I opted for Hoya anyway because it's *almost* RM 100 difference (IIRC) for that 'warranty'

jiant
QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 26 2008, 01:06 AM)
Protection - UV radiation, CRT monitor radiation <--- this is quite standard noawdays.

Clearer vision - aspherical lenses as I mentioned earlier <--- up to 20% of clearer and wider vision.

Lighter - thinner lenses since at the power 400 to 500, normal lenses tend to be thicker.

thank u very much for u help...what is aspherical lenses?

QUOTE(aiyoyoyo @ Jul 26 2008, 11:08 PM)
for lens i'l greatly recommend PLASTIC , altho easier to get calar compared to glass but its much more tahan lasak compared to glass.
for power ard 400-500 , juz use a 1.56 or 1.55 index lens it wont look too thick which cost rm150 n comes wif UV,EMI,MC .
if u wanna go for thinner lens its rm180or200 if not mistaken its index is 1.60
for power below of 600 , at index 1.6 and higher index such as 1.7( thinner).... from my comparism chart its onli 6% thinner( which cant be seen from our naked eye)

frame its all up to u. anything u can ask me too, i works in a optical shop(helper)

thank...u say 400-500 is around rm 150 is it with clearer vision and thinner lens?
than how about 550- 650...is it only little diffrent is price?
David83
QUOTE(jiant @ Jul 27 2008, 10:28 PM)
thank u very much for u help...what is aspherical lenses?
thank...u say 400-500 is around rm 150 is it with clearer vision and thinner lens?
than how about 550- 650...is it only little diffrent is price?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aspheric_lens
jiant
QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 26 2008, 01:06 AM)

Aspheric lens are plastic or glass len?
yuktsi14
for me
plastic lens will be good enough
dokidoki

any way

there are no such thing for anti scratch...if scratch mean scratch..no such thing as 0 scratch..if u afraid of scratching ur lens..then dun go for plastic lens..no matter u pay rm1k or 2k..if u didnt take care of it...u will scratch it...

there is something where they claim it actually anti glare...and the proper way to call the coated lens is call multi-coated which it will consist of anti-glare function and block 99% of uv ray...if u want thinner lens..then u can ask for high index lens..those thinner than high-index is call super high index..if u use high index lens for plastic..it actually still thicker than high-index glass lens..

if u want the lens auto turn darker color when u go outdoor..then u need to ask for photochromic lens...

a pair of high index+ multi coated + photochromic plastic lens will cost u more than rm400..if u ask for super high index..then it will be more expensive~
jiant
QUOTE(dokidoki @ Jul 30 2008, 10:27 PM)
there are no such thing for anti scratch...if scratch mean scratch..no such thing as 0 scratch..if u afraid of scratching ur lens..then dun go for plastic lens..no matter u pay rm1k or 2k..if u didnt take care of it...u will scratch it...

there is something where they claim it actually anti glare...and the proper way to call the coated lens is call multi-coated which it will consist of anti-glare function and block 99% of uv ray...if u want thinner lens..then u can ask for high index lens..those thinner than high-index is call super high index..if u use high index lens for plastic..it actually still thicker than high-index glass lens..

if u want the lens auto turn darker color when u go outdoor..then u need to ask for photochromic lens...

a pair of high index+ multi coated + photochromic plastic lens will cost u more than rm400..if u ask for super high index..then it will be more expensive~

thank...u look profesional...ar u opticalist?

1. the hightlighted available in plastic len?
how about the Aspheric lens...is it got for plastic lens?how much price normally?
dokidoki
QUOTE(jiant @ Jul 31 2008, 07:38 PM)
thank...u look profesional...ar u opticalist?

1. the hightlighted available in plastic len?
how about the Aspheric lens...is it got for plastic lens?how much price normally?

the aspheric lens u refer to is more a like to high index lens...price i am not sure...i m not a optician but my uncle is...i use to work at his shop since primary school~ tongue.gif

about the price...dun ask me...u need to go survey la...my glasses i always get from my uncle's shop foc tongue.gif
noien
for me,framless spec is the best.and my lens will be ultra thin.it will make my spec lighter.if a spec that is heavy will always slight down my nose.and i have to push it up again
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
All Rights Reserved 2003-2006 Vijandren Ramadass
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.